BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
The Snake River Region

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers general and small engines repairs.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that D & J Small Engine Repair meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for D & J Small Engine Repair include:

  • 14 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for D & J Small Engine Repair include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on D & J Small Engine Repair
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 24, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1980 in ID Business started locally: 01/01/1980 Business incorporated: 03/06/2003 in ID
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. David Haney, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Haney, Owner
Business Category

SMALL ENGINE REPAIR LAWN MOWERS-SHARPEN & REPAIR SAWS-SHARPEN & REPAIR

Products & Services

D & J Small Engine Repair sells the following brand(s): Toro, Husqvarna, Wright, RedMax, Briggs & Straton, Kohler, Kawasaki, Honda, BCS,

D & J Small Engine Repair offers the following product(s): Outdoor Power equipment, Generators, Lawnmowers, Tillers, Chainsaws, Trimmers, HUV's, Commercial & Consumer, Parts & Service

Method(s) of Payment
Cash , Visa, Master Card, AMEX, Discover, Finacing avalable
Alternate Business Names
D & J Small Engines, LLC

Additional Locations

  • 7479 Lemhi St.

    Boise, ID 83709 (208) 362-2122

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information

Complaint Detail(s)

5/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called to have service done to my riding lawn mower. IT had flat when they came to pick it up mentioned it had small leak. They didn't service it week time as stated over phone. I called to see when it would be delivered and amount was more they quoted. I moved out house before its returned. I asked my property manager to check to see if it was returned she said it was but it was flat. She called arranged for it to be picked up. They would not return lawn mower until it was paid for including additional forty dollar charge to pick it up. I called after property manager was frustrated but got same response. They stated because it was fine in shop that it is my responsibility, I say stand behind your work you wouldn't had to make second trip if work was done correctly first time. The lawn mower hadn't been used the property was vacant. Terrible customer service was unwilling to resolve the matter after several attempts

Desired Settlement: Stand by your workmanship refund 40$ plus any additional cost for having pick up riding lawn mower as it wasn't fixed first time

Business Response: Yes we had this mower in for service and we did a service on it. We did check all of the tires and they all held air including the one that was flat when it came in. It sat outside for 4 days after the work was done and it was still holding air just fine. So it was returned. It was 2 weeks later that we got the call that it had a flat tire and we need to pick it up and repair the tire. Witch we did.  Payment is due upon completion of service and we have never worked with this property management company so payment was required at time of delivery or before.  All we did with the tire during the service was inflate it and it seamed to be holding air just fine, so we did not due anything more with it at that time. When we where call to pick-up the mower again the management company was told that there would be a charge for the pick-up and they said that that was fine. If we had done any thing to repair the tire the first time we would not have charged the pick-up fee on the second trip. But we only inflated it.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:* **** ******** *** ******** **** ** *** ******** ** ********* ** ********* ** *********

 

and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

It could have been two weeks later that was because the house was empty.  The property manager tried to resolve matter with them she didnt just say fine she was very disappointed with their service and lack willingness to work through situation. If you would like her contact info I can provide that

 

 

Business Response: If we had actually done a repair to the tire the first time we had the unit in we would have pick it back up at no charge. But all we did was inflate all of the tires and they all held air. We saw no problems with the tires and had not done any work on them. Our warranty is only on the work that we have done not on things that we have not done.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

3/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took in a pressure washer because it was not producing max pressure. A month ago it was working fine. Anyway I took it in because ****** recommended this place and said it was under warrenty. They charged me $37.50 and then told me that it had built up calcium and could not be fixed. I ask the owner of the business if he took the pressure washer apart and cleaned the calcium and he said no. "That I worked on engines for over 30 years and can tell what the problem is by my experience." I found out that he did not open the pump nor did any work on it. I suspect he just turned it on and hooked it up to a water line, and came up with the calcium issue. He probably does know something about his business, but to tell me that he can not scrape off calicum is a little hard to believe. He also told me that all pumps in the valley probably all have the same problems and there is nothing he can do to fix it. I paid $37.50 for him to turn it on and come up with this reason?? I want my money back and I want to report him as an unethical business man and unethical business practice. How does my pump work fine a month prior, and then all of a sudden have calcium buildup?

Desired Settlement: Return my $37.50 and report the company as an unethical business.

Business Response:

*** ***** was told that his pressure washer had calcified in side due to not using a Pump saver product. When the calcium deposits on the internal parts it cusses pitting and is not repairable. I have tried several different thing over the years to fix this problem with no success. I explained all of this to him on the phone. He only paid for the diagnostic time not repair time and he got his diagnoses.

The other point that I would like to bring up his the way he conducted him self when he came to pick-up the unit. He was very argumentative and rude to my counter help. There where other customer that witnessed his action and where up hauled with him. It took calling the police in order to get him to leave. He is one of the worst customers we have ever had.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau: 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ** *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The owner of the business did not address the issue. All he came up with was my attitude! My attitude changed when his secretary would not let me talk to the owner. She told me he went to lunch and she said she did not know when he was coming back. I said I need to talk to the owner because you are not answering my questions. I asked for the owner phone number and she refused to give it to me. This is customer service??

I checked the owners manual about the pressure washer and it did not say anything about calicifacation. All it talked about was putting a protective in the gas to perserve it throughout the winter.

Anyway, the owner still did not do anything on the machine. He even admitted he did nothing. All he said in the email was what he did in the past. Still, if my pressure washer was working a month prior fine. How can it change in a less than a month.

I still want my money back and I still want to tell the public that he is a unethical business owner.

 

Regards,

***** ***** 

 

 

Business Response:

His machine did have a diagnostic check run on it and that is what he paid for. He was not charged for any repairs. The charge he paid is the shop minimum charge and it is clearly posted. We will not give him a refund he paid for what he got and should have been charged a lot more for his bad attitude and behaver.

He asked for my personnel cell phone number and that is not ever given out to customer. I was gone to lunch when he came in and she did not know when I would be back. But he still continued with his ranting until she call the police and witch time he left quickly. His attitude was way over the top BAD he is one of the worst customer we have seen in years and we really do not want him to ever come back.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau: 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ** ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.  

 Again, the owner only talks about my attitude, he does not address his secretary's attitude, or his workmanship, (or lack of). This company will just rip you off. Will not work on anything. Will not address why my machine worked fine a month prior. Calciuim cannot mess up a machine in a month, this is not possible.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

8/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Don't trust D&J Small Engines, especially if you're a woman. My wife took some mowers to them Monday 7/15/2013 to see if they were interested in trading two of them for some repairs on the third one. Dave at D&J off South Cole told my wife he was too busy and to just drop them off. He called with a quote of $150 to repair the one and wasn't interested in either of the others. My wife went to pick them up today, 7/17/2013 and Dave charged her $65. I was furious and went to talk with Dave about it. He basically told me that's the way it is,he needs to make money and he can't just look a stuff for free. I call it a con and I believe he's a crook. Any man of dignity that has an once of ethics in his blood would not have charged an unexpected woman for services not rendered.

Desired Settlement: Refund the $65 unfairly charged

Business Response:

We did a compleat diagnostic on each mower and the Toro was the one that the customer wanted repaired. We do charge $32.50 for diagnostics. In this case we only charged her for 2 of the 3 . We where willing to consider trade on the other 2 but they where in really bad shape and just not worth much. The customer oppted to pick them up and pay the diag. fee on them so we just charged her for 2 of them not all 3.

When her husband came in he felt like we should have done the work for no charge. I tried to explane to him that our Tech. come to work to make a living just like he goes to work to make a living and that they had 1.5 hours or more into checking out the 3 mowers. But he just insited that we had done nothing and that we where just ripping his wife off.

We have the miamum shop rate clealy posted at the counter and we have many customer that feel that we are more than fair.  

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

6/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was having problem with my less than a year old Toro lawn mower starting. It was working fine one day and died in the middle of a job and not able to start back up. Discussed problem with Toro and after troubleshooting they recommended taking it to an "authorized Toro dealer" for the warrantee, which would be D & J Small Engines. It was 4 days later before they could pick it up. I went in and discussed the problem. A full week later I am notified that it is ready and would be delivered to my home on Tuesday 6/11/2013. I waited all day and no lawn mower. At 11:00 am I was told that it should be here anytime. At 1:30 pm I called and they said they did not have the lawn mower. Then they changed their mind and said that the paperwork was in the wrong pile and they could arrange for delivery the following Tuesday for they only delivery days was Tuesday. They were charging 40.00 for pickup and delivery. They kept hanging up on me and I would have to call back. I became very upset and my wife even madder. I told them I would come and pick it up. This was 4:50 pm . I borrowed a trailer from my neighbor to go get the lawn mower. Upon driving off the trailer, the lawn mower died and not able to start again. My wife called them and asked what they are going to do about not fixing the problems. They responded "what the hell do you want us to do about it. We have done all we can do". Taking off the engine cover it was discovered that the fuel pump was just lying in the top and lines not fully hooked up. The fuel line going to the fuel pump had a huge hole in it where it had chafed from the teeth on the wheel. I was lied to by this company and told that my carbonators was junked up and needed rehauling. I was told that I needed to add "stable all" in my gas every month or the gas will junk up the carburetors. I have never put anything but non ethanol gas in the machine and it is less than one year old. The carburetor is out of adjustment and just spews fuel out. (This is after I fixed the fuel line). My lawn mower is in worse shape now than when I started. I was charged $205.21 for all this destruction of my lawn mower and still have to take it to someone for repair. I was continuously lied to, and still have a nonworking machine.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund and my complaint filled with the BBB so that others are aware of the deceitful practices that D& J Small engines has done, warning the public to do bussiness elsewere.

Business Response: We picked up the mower on the 4 June and it was repaired on 6 June. We called to let the ******* know that there machine was repaired and that we could deliver it back to them on the 11 of June but thay needed to call and let us know if that would work for them. We never heard from them untill 1:00pm on the 11th and the deliveries where done for the day. We did start the mower and help them load it when they came to get it. We also only charged them $20.00 for the pick-up becuse they came and picked it up. It ran fine. The repairs have a 30 day waranty if they want us to we will gladly come and get there mower and make the repairs to the fuel system. The delivery problem is partily our fualt and partily there fualty. We are sorry for our part in that. We are also very willing to repair what ever we may have done incorrectly on there fuel system.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently taken a small engine into D & J's for repair, 7-10-12. A simple carb clean out and fuel line clean out. They charged me $75.00. When I went to use the repaired engine, it failed. Same problems as before. I took the engeine back. I decided that I wanted to purchase a new replacement engine. I spoke to ***** about want I wanted. I wanted a 6.5 hp Honda engine. My wife even told him what we wanted. What I got was a 4.8 hp Honda engine. I was not aware of this until I got home and researced the engine model number. **** had assured my wife and myself, that we were getting a engine that would perform as a 6.5 hp. I also paid to have him take off the water pump and air compressor, from the old engine and install them onto the new one. POOR WORKMANSHIP. They some how warped the engine block mount. The water pump was damaged at the impellar. He even stated that he ran the motor with all the equipment attaced, until it started to make a lot of noise. It was not aligned properly. Needless to say it did not work at all. While I was at work, 8-1-12, my wife tried to return the unused new engine and asked for the engine we had requested. He said he could not take it back. He stated that it was a used engine because it had oil and gas in it. We were willing to let him make it right but he refused. He began to verbally berate my wife. Called her names. At this time I still do not have the engine I wanted at the tune of $569.03.

Desired Settlement: I would like a total refund of all my cost. $569.03 and $75.97. I would also like to have them either pay me or order a replacement water pump at which time I will have installed by someone else.

Business Response:

We did install there placement engine for the one that he had. It is a GX160 TX2 that is the onlypump engine in this size range. It was run for a short time once it was installed with no problems. His wife did come in and wanted a refund but due to the fact that the engine had been put into service. I did not call his wife any names at all. I did talk with her at length about the engine and the fact thatit was the only one in the size range I even looked it up and showed her. Weeven started the engine in the parking lot for her. I have tried to do everthing that I can for them but I cannot take the engine back. This engine will do what they need it to and perform better than the other engine that they had on the pump.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/17/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my riding mower in to be serviced on July 24, 2012. They told me the cost would be $70.00 plus what ever the cost for parts would be. I told them I wanted a new air filter, spark plug, oil filter and oil. I also told them to go ahead and replace the belt if it needed to be replaiced. They told me it would be three or four days. I called on Friday the 27th of July to check on the status of the Mower. I was told that it was not ready and that they were waiting on "parts". I told them that the only parts I authorized other than plug, filters and oil was the belt. I also told them they were not to do any other repairs without my permission. They said they were not sure what was being ordered. I was called on July 31, 2012, they left a message that the mower was ready. When I arrived they told me the bill was $249.87. I was shocked and asked why it was so much. They explained that they had replaced both blades and another part and they did the service. I asked why they did the work without permission and he said it must have been a "misunderstanding". I did not want them to have the opportunity to have any more misunderstandings so I paid the bill.

Desired Settlement: I was told the job should not cost over $120.00 and that if it did they would call me first. I talked to them on July 27th. This is when they should have been honest with me and asked for permission to do the other repairs.

Business Response: The Tech that worked on *** ****** mower say that he should have called him. But that when he checked the belt he found that there where problems with the idler arm assy. that was causing the belt damage. He belived that becuse *** ****** had wanted the belt replaced he would want the real problem fixed so he just ordered the parts and fixed the real problem, so that when he got his mower home it would work correctly. He is sorry for not calling him and letting him have the say. But at this time as far as we know his mower is running fine. 

Consumer Response:

This is a "shady" buisness practice that I thought, was against the law.

 

***** ******

 

 

Business Response: We try to give all of our customers the very best service at all times. We do not try to do any thing that is considered shade. We just try to give them a machine that will work for them. Most of our customers appreceat the work that we do for them and are very happy. I do not know what this customer wants us to do for him. He has not asked for any thing so we again are sorry for the miss understanding and hope that he enjoies the equipment that we repaired for him.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/18/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/12/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/8/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/16/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/7/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
8/26/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1