BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
The Snake River Region
Download

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Drake Mechanical provides plumbing, drain cleaning, central vacuum, heating and air conditioning services, from faucets to furnaces and drains to air conditioners and toilets we can handle all of your home or businesses plumbing, heating and air conditioning needs.  Drake Mechanical can also handle all of your water softener, water filtration and water heater needs.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Drake Mechanical, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Drake Mechanical, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

28 Customer Reviews on Drake Mechanical, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 27
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 28

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 03, 1996 Business started: 07/01/1978 in ID Business started locally: 07/01/1978 Business incorporated: 07/20/1978 in ID
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Idaho Division of Building Safety
1090 E Watertower St., Meridian ID 83642
www.dbs.idaho.gov
Phone Number: (208) 334-3950
jrayne@dbs.idaho.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Rick Drake, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rick Drake, President
Business Category

PLUMBING CONTRACTORS HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING

Products & Services

Drake Mechanical, Inc. sells the following brand(s): American Standard, Beam Central Vacuum, Bryant, Carrier, Kohler, Moen, Price Phister, Rheem, Trane, York

Drake Mechanical, Inc. offers the following product(s): Air Conditioners, Central Vacuums, Faucets, Furnaces, Kitchen Faucets, Lavatories, Shower Valves, Showers, Sinks, Tankless Water Heaters, Toilets, Water Filtration, Water Heaters, Water Softeners

Hours of Operation
24/7/365 Emergency Service
Refund and Exchange Policy
Plumbing Warranty
Drake Mechanical has a 100% satisfaction Guarantee associated with all the work they do.  New parts and installations have a 1 year guarantee associated with them from the date of installation.  

Air Condition and Heating Warranty
Drake Mechanical has a 100% satisfaction guarantee and a True 1 Year Test drive on all Bryant Heating and Air Conditioning Equipment, if you are not 100% satisfied with your new York Heating and Air Conditioning equipment in the first year they will buy it back.  Warranty is Manufacturers warranty.
Service Area
Boise Idaho and the surrounding area.
Additional Information

Se Habla


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Drake Mechanical, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 5551 W Gowen Rd

    Boise, ID 83709 (208) 362-6200

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

Discount CouponsX

Discount Coupons for Drake Mechanical, Inc.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (208) 468-9919(Phone)
  • (208) 362-2806 (Fax)
X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information

Complaint Detail(s)

2/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had Drake come out to fix a gas fireplace that wasn't working. They said they fixed the problem and left and approximately four hours later I left to go to the store and came back to smell a gas leak. I called them and told them there was a problem and it took over two hours for the on-call person to call me back, at no point did they ever tell me to ventilate my house or turn off the gas or how to turn off the gas. I figured that out on my own, after my one-year-old daughter was exposed to a gas leak for over four hours. They came and said they repaired the gas leak the next morning, about an hour later I could still smell gas I called them and complained and was told a manager would call me this was on a Saturday. Nobody called. The following Thursday my husband called them and again they said a repairman out for the third time. The fireplace was not fixed our gas was turned off again and the repairman stated they would call the next day with a solution. No one called us back is been four days. I have called them several times and requested a refund I am told someone will call me back and no one returns my calls. I cannot believe that they cannot take a gas leak that they caused seriously, they will not refund our money or return our calls. I want a refund so I can get my fireplace fixed and I want to know what laws if any were broken by causing a gas leak and not fixing it this seems incredibly dangerous and it doesn't seem like anybody cares.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the money that we spent and I would like to know what they plan on doing for the future if they cause a gas leak if it could potentially harm somebody.

Business Response: In regards to your concerns and question about the service for your gas fireplace, I have spoken to both
technicians that had responded to your calls. The following is an account from the technicians for your calls:
January 24, 2014, ***** received the call regarding the fireplace igniter not working and found that the gas
was not turned on. ***** turned on the gas to the fireplace, he inspected the equipment, adjusted the pilot
light and replaced the igniter. ***** verified operations of the equipment and collected the cost of the service
call of $145.00.
January 25, 2014, you contacted our office regarding a possible gas leak. Drake dispatched the first available
technician to your home. The technician, ****, leak tested the gas line and found the gas valve fitting leaking.
The technician tightened this valve and leak tested the line again. There was no leak detected after the
technician tightened the fitting. There was no charge on this service call.
January 30, 2014,' ***** went to your house again and spoke with **** ******** ***** then tightened all of
the fittings and leak tested lines and fittings. ***** did not locate any leaks, but did detect a gas smell. *****
then recommended replacing the gas valve to prevent any future problems. ***** turned off your gas and gave
a price to replace the valve of approximately $300.00. There was no change on this service call as well. ****
********told the technician that this price was a little high, and he would let him know if he wanted to
proceed.
February 3, 2014, I received your voicemail regarding all of the problems and troubleshooting. I was out of the
office sick the 4th and the s" of February. I now have a chance to respond to your complaint. The original
adjustment fee and igniter cost had nothing to do with the subsequent gas leak or smell. The technicians were
unable to locate a leak after all leak tests were done, and a possible solution was offered on January 30th. At
that time, no decision was made for the recommended repair.
****** we are unable to refund your money for the original call, as this covered the cost of the igniter and the
labor to install it. We would like the chance to remedy this for you by replacing the valve and offering you a
free 1 year service agreement.
Please let me know how you want to proceed.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The second tech that came out DID say there was a gas leak! He DID NOT fix it.the original repair DID NOT fix the problem so what is the point of the repair and I was there was ***** told **** that the igniter was not the problem so we essentially paid for a service we didn't need. On top of that ***** NEVER quoted us a price. As far as being sick on the 4th and 5th I also called in JANUARY and was also never called back. Bottom line we didn't have a gas leak you came out and now we have a leak and a still broken fireplace. You did not fix ANYTHING.

 

I am so unsatisfied with this entire situation! I do not accept any of this!

Regards,

***** *******

 

 

Business Response: **** ****** Yes, I agree with you that before Drake arrived on site you did not have a noticeable gas leak in your
fireplace, because your gas was turned off, and not running in the supply line that feeds your fireplace. As my
letter stated, ***** turned on your gas when he arrived January 24th. On this inspection and troubleshoot, he
did find the igniter defective and replaced it.
On the zs". when my technician **** was on site responding to your gas leak, and as stated in my
letter, he located a gas leak on the valve and tightened the valve and performed another leak test. (also see
your service ***** *****, where he lists the diagnosis, indicating a leak, and repair),
On the so". ***** has indicated to me, that yes, he gave your husband a verbal quote to repair the
valve, and ***** has also assured me that he did not mention that the igniter did not need to be changed out.
My technician closed your file out after your husband stated that the proposed amount was too high.
My technician left your house with the gas supply line turned off to your fire place.
As for any other communications you might have had with Drake after the so". as I stated in my letter,
while I was in the office briefly, I received your message, and addressed it the next day when I was actually
feeling well enough to be at work.
You have only been invoiced and have paid for the initial service call and the replacement igniter of
$145.00. The igniter itself has a warranty along with the labor warranty to install.
I am sorry that you believe that Drake caused your gas leak, and we have offered to install the
recommend valve and along with offering you a 1-year heating service agreement.
The only thing I have left to offer is to send a technician to reinstall your faulty igniter and refund you the cost
of the part.
Regardless of your complaint that Drake caused your leak, which I strongly disagree with this
assumption, you will ultimately need to replace your existing leaking valve, and we have proposed to do so,
not only while on site, but in my prior letter to you.
In reviewing your complaint and responses with the owners, we have determined that we are able to
refund you the labor only portion of your original invoice and that you keep the igniter in place and use.
Our accounting office will send you a refund check for the labor on 94359.

Consumer Response:

 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

We will accept the refund of the labor hours and I will accept that with the BBB.  My biggest upset was how no one seemed to care. I did contact the gas company and we do still have a leak. I will have them repair it so we can hopefully use our fireplace in the future.

Regards,

 ***** *******

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/17/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Drake Mechanical on ********* ***** *** **** to put in a service call for my home heater. It was an answering service. I specifically said I did not want an after-hours service call, because I didn't want the expense. I told her it was not an emergency and to just have a Drake Mechanical service tech call me on Monday morning. My wife received a call Monday morning and the tech said he would be there at 3PM. When he finally arrived at 5:30PM, I showed him the condensate trap on the heater that was cracked and leaking. He freaked out and said "You said it was your water heater! I'm not a water heater guy. I will call you in a heater guy." Still not wanting to pay after-hours charges, "I said, well I don't want to pay for an after-hours service call. First of all, you are 2.5 hours late, which isn't my fault. Secondly, your answering service obviously wrote down 'water heater' rather than 'heater'. That also isn't my fault and you might want to train them." The service tech then said he would call his service manager and insure I wouldn't get charged after-hours prices. Finally, at 7:30, the on-call service tech showed up (telling me that his manager told him not to charge me after-hours prices)...after driving from Parma on a previous call. That also is not my fault. I showed him the cracked condensate trap and where it was leaking. He took cell phone pictures of the part and told me he would pick it up in the morning and replace it in about 15 minutes. The next morning he showed up and replaced the part, which he said was about $33.00. He then proceeded to write my wife a bill for $193.92, which she naively signed and wrote a check for.Disgruntled about a $160 labor charge for 15 minutes of work on something I had already diagnosed the cause of is a gross over-charge in my opinion. I mean...that is $640/hour. When I called to complain, the service manager said he had 2 hours of after-hours charge built into the bill...and that they actually under-charged me. Well, I had repeatedly established that I did not want after-hours service. Is business so bad that you have to screw your customers into paying extra? I will never do business with Drake Mechanical again.

Desired Settlement: Drake Mechanical says one thing and does another when it comes to billing. Their service manager is obviously not in touch with his techs in the field.  Requesting Refund

Business Response:

The original call came in through our service stating water coming out of heating unit, it's been like this for a month. **** our Administrative Assistant called and talked to **** ********, ****** wife Monday morning. **** informed Iana that her water heater was leaking; she was informed that we would send out a Plumber and the appointment was set up for after 3:00pm. (Here at Drake Mechanical we do not set up exact times). When our Plumber arrived and found that it was the Furnace, he called the on-call heating Technician who showed up on his way back from his last call of the day in Parma. Upon arrival he found the condensate trap cracked as the customer stated, as it was after hours and all the wholesale houses were closed. The Technician told them he would pick up the part in the morning and come back and make the repair. Upon arrival he gave the price to repair to ****, in which time she signed the service ticket giving authorization to proceed with work. The repair was made and Jody signed the service ticket accepting the work performed and wrote out a check. We charged no After Hour Charges.

When **** left a message on my voicemail, I called him back at 8:00am the next morning. I tried to explain our policies that we are a Flat Rate company he didn’t want to hear it. I then tried to explain the fact I had two hours labor plus materials and that was a fair price along with the fact his wife had ok'd the work and price. His response was **** You Guy’s and I'm going to Slander Your Name all over the Internet then hung up.

We always try and work with customers that are upset. But the price that was given was fare and in line with industry standards. When a customer explodes and uses profanity and hangs up, it is very hard to reason with them.

Service Manager

Drake Mechanical

PLUMBING ' HEATING - BOILER WORK

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On November 6th Drakes Heating and Cooling came out to the home we are renting to look at our furnace. It turned out that the furnace needed to be re-placed so they contacted my Land Lord and got approval to replace it. After replacing the furnace on a Friday, we kept noticing a weird smell in the house the next day we all had headaches and actually ended up leaving to go to our cabin for the weekend and on Sunday when I arrived home it was apparent that the house was filling up with gas all weekend, I called Drake they came out and found that they did not screw one of the bolts tight enough and it caused a gas leak in the house. After they fixed it we waited to re-enter the home for a few hours but kept noticing that the fan to the furnace was always blowing. I thought it was something that was supposed to be like that but when my bill for December hit my power bill had doubled. I then called Drake again and when they came out they had said the unit was wired wrong and it was definitely the reason why are power bill doubled the fan was running constant. I called there office approx. a week later mind you this is right after Christmas so we had been dealing with furnace problems for over a month and I asked for a reimbursement for our power bill for that month due to there error. I never got a call back and I tried to get a hold of the manager 4 times and was always sent to his voice mail or left a message with the receptionist. I feel that the service we were given not only was poor and could have killed us with the gas leak but also cost us an additional $74 dollars during Christmas that was unnecessary.

Desired Settlement: I would like a reimbursement of $74 for the over usage on my power bill.

Business Response: Here at Drake Mechanical we always try and work with our customers at the time of any issues. Our policy is to work with the property owner directly on any service request. We only contact the renters for access in performing the work. We always strive to do the best quality of work but on occasion we are human and do make a mistake. The furnace was installed on November 9"' 2012. The gas leak in question was at a compression fitting on the furnace and at the time of installation using excepted leak Search standards, no leak was found. As soon as we heard about this issue we responded and fixed the problem. The Blower not shutting off was due to a short in the low voltage wiring on the back of the thermostat, in which we had to rewire the thermostat. This was fixed on the 18th of December. We would have responded sooner if we
had been notified sooner.
Being the Service Manager l did try and call ***** the renter back, in what turned out to be phone tag. We pulled a permit on this furnace on 11/9/2012 as of 2f12f2013 the City of Eagle shows this job as Final inspection Failed-Not at Home; they have not been able to Contact anyone. What we needed was a copy of her electric bill to verify the additional charges. Now that we have that information we will be happy to refund the $74 dollars in question.
Drake Mechanical

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved