BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
The Snake River Region

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers plumbing services, bathroom remodeling, pipe leaks repair, hot water heaters, drains and septics for both residential and commerical.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that A-1 Plumbing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for A-1 Plumbing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

11 Customer Reviews on A-1 Plumbing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 4
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 7
Total Customer Reviews 11

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 01, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1984 in ID Business under new ownership as of: 04/08/2008
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Idaho Division of Building Safety
1090 E Watertower St., Meridian ID 83642
www.dbs.idaho.gov
Phone Number: (208) 334-3950
jrayne@dbs.idaho.gov

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Marty Cullen, Owner Mr. Dan Long, Business Consultant
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Marty Cullen, Owner
Business Category

PLUMBING CONTRACTORS

Alternate Business Names
Mbmc Inc
Additional Information

The operations manager of A-1 Plumbing, Bob Haycock, requests that customers contact him at his number 208-376-7473  prior to filing a complaint with the BBB.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

A-1 Plumbing has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 119 E 42nd St

    Boise, ID 83714 (208) 376-7473

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information

Complaint Detail(s)

2/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/10/13 I called A1 to unfreeze my 85 year old mothers house pipes She lives on my property in a manufactured home. The plumber showed up and said where the water entered the house we had left a cap on a faucet and it froze down to where the water entered the house. He told me I would have to wait until weather warmed up before it would thaw out. I was charged 149.00 to diagnose this problem which I knew about and then said it would be another 39.00 for a service call. No help on unfreezing pipes. I went and got a heat tape and put it on the pipe and insulated the pipe and we had water the next day. If these are plumbers then this company is hiring any one off the street. I called A1 on 12/10/13 at 1:30 and talked to ******* about this and she said since they didn't tell me about the 39.00 service charge they would reimburse me for this. I have never received the 39.00. So I am saying not only is this a lousy plumbing company but they also are not to be trusted.

Desired Settlement: They should not only send back the $39.oo which they said they would and if they cannot defrost frozen pipes then they should be honest upfront with people who call in What a racket when you can charge 149.00 for telling the person yup your pipes are frozen and do nothing but say you"ll have to wait until the weather warms up. I am 65 and I fixed the problem and am no plumber.

Business Response: ********* *** ********* ******** **** *** ********: We went out to the customer’s home on December 10, 2013 to defrost her pipes. When the appointment was booked our Customer Service Specialists explained our diagnostic fee for frozen pipes of $149 and our dispatch fee of $39 which she accepted. Our Technician arrived to her home and located where the pipe was frozen at. According to our Technician the pipe was not well insulated and was under her manufactured home. Defrosting the pipes with -11 temperatures would have been a temporary solution and froze again. When the call was booked we were told the customer had a backup water supply. According to our Technician the customer asked what else they could do and he told them about heat tape and they opted to do the work themselves. I spoke to the Customer’s Daughter today and resolved her complaint. We stand by our 100% satisfaction guarantee and have refunded her the full amount. Ensuring our customers are satisfied with the service they receive from our company is important to us as a business. ********* ****** ***** ****** ** ******** *** ******* *** ******** ******* *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ** *** ** ************ ** **** ** ******** ** ******** **., and I am writing to you on behalf of my wife, ***** *******. As set forth below, she has a Complaint against A-l Plumbing and its method of doing business.
** **** ** **** ** ******** ****** ****** ***** *****. We needed to replace the garbage disposal in the kitchen. We went to **** ***** and purchased one. Decided to purchase a new faucet set up as well.
***** called A-l Plumbing to get a quote on how much it would cost for installation alone. The receptionist refused to give one over the phone, saying too many variable. She would not give an hourly charge. ***** decided to book an appointment.
The technician needed to reschedule once or twice which was fine. He arrived on Wednesday and inspected the sink, and underneath which ***** had cleared out. He then said she needed to write him a check before he would start. He stated that it had to be over $300. ***** said that seems high and he responded that it was what his “book” said to charge and that if she did not authorize the work, then she would have to pay $69 for him just showing up. Neither the receptionist nor the website mentions this tactic, and it says the show-up fee is only $59. Being unfamiliar with this and feeling intimidated, she wrote the check. After receiving a check in the amount of $3 15, he started work. He finished in about 45 minutes. He then tried to persuade her to pay for installing the faucet....for $409. The technician then informed her that they charge $500 an hour. She declined.
When I got home, I was a bit upset because it seemed like she’d been cheated. So I called A-l  Plumbing that night. Today, Friday, I received a return call from ******. I voiced my concern. He insisted that they do not charge $500/hour so I asked where do the prices come from. He said “a book” to which I asked “which one” so I can call around and see what other plumbers say. He would not give me the name, only saying some nebulous third-party created it. No way to independently verify. I then said that the $315 charge corresponded to $500/hour. Silence. So I asked ****** “what’s going on.” He responded that he was looking at “the book.” He would not give me the name. More silence so I asked “so what now.” More silence and then he said “I’m looking at ‘the book. It was now readily apparent that he was not going to address my complaint or give me the name of “the book” so I could look it up.
These tactics are absolutely atrocious. They amount to a shake-down, what with refusing to quote over the phone, and then when arriving at a residence, demanding a check and saying that if you (homeowner) do not pay me to do the work, then you have to pay me for driving out here. Add the size difference between a man and a housewife, and it is not nice. All in all, these tactics seem to be a violation of the Idaho Consumer Protection Act.
I am curious as to how/if A-1 Plumbing responds. They should, and should tell the truth which will verify everything I have said. And finally, I am real curious as to who wrote “the book” and Why ****** refused to give me the information so I could read it myself.
Thank you for your time.
 

Desired Settlement: See Complaint

Business Response:

At A1 plumbing and Perfect Air we pride ourselves on answering calls 24/7 with a well trained staff of professionals. In order to ensure consistency in our call center we utilize scripts which have been designed to provide complete information about the dispatch fees we charge and the process our techs will go through when they arrive.   We do not provide pricing over the phone for repairs as it is impossible for our office staff to properly diagnose problems sight-unseen.  With systems as complex and unpredictable as the home plumbing or HVAC system, a diagnosis over the phone does not serve the customer with accurate information.  In addition to using scripts, we record our calls to monitor how well we are doing in setting expectations. We have reviewed the recording of the call referenced in this complaint with the BBB.  The call included a thorough explanation of the $59 dispatch fee and there was no discussion or questions about pricing on the recording.

As for pricing and hourly rates, we do not charge by the hour therefore we do not have an hourly rate. We provide a full, up-front price to complete the work the customer authorizes.  Our charges are based on the many factors that go into providing 24/7 red carpet service with a 100% customer satisfaction guarantee and industry leading warranties.  We strive to offer more than one option to our customers for solving any given issue. Pricing is included on each option so customers are able to make educated choices about how to proceed.  We do not require payment for service work prior to completing the job.  Additionally, we require our technicians to get a signature stating the work was completed to customer’s satisfaction at the time of collection. I have reviewed the invoice and there is a signature stating the work was completed in a satisfactory manner and that the premises were left in satisfactory condition.

All that being said, at A1 Plumbing and Perfect Air we offer a 100% satisfaction guarantee up to the complete price of the service performed.  Though we feel we have performed as promised, we are willing to go even further to satisfy this customer.   We have attempted to contact the party making this complaint several times to determine what it will take to satisfy his complaint and are waiting for a response.

Marty Cullen

President and CEO

A1 Plumbing and Perfect Air

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

BBB Comments: On October 4, 2013  the parties came to an agreement that a $115.00 refund would resolve the complaint. 

6/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We recently had a water heater leak and need replacing. As we had a maintenance contract with A1 Plumbing we called their service and arranged for a replacement. This was on a Saturday and the response was prompt. Our concern is with the billing arrangement and lack of timely response to our questions after the installation. The charge was for $1,400, without differentiation for parts, labor, etc. I went to A1 the following week with the receipt and was told by a receptionist that there is no way to itemize their billing, but I could talk to a service manager. Of course, he was not available. My husband called repeatedly and then was told by the manager that the job was "put out to bid", and they could not provide us with the specific charges. Our questions are these:- this heater sells for $650, and the job took 90 minutes, so $750 for his time?- our service contract exempts us from emergency fees, was this taken into consideration?- we feel we had the right to know the job was out for bid and apparently impacted the cost and ability to see just what we were paying for - we would like an itemized accounting for the heater and work.

Desired Settlement: An explanation of their repair policies and a copy of the receipt detailing cost of heater, parts, labor and other charges to total $1,400. Thank you.

Business Response:

Our company received a complaint that was submitted to the Better Business Bureau on 5/14/2013 and was assigned an ID of *******.  I’m following up with you to let you know that we take these seriously and have given every effort to resolve the customers concern directly with them.

Our Service Manager contacted the customer on May 16, 2013 and resolved the following customer concerns:

1.       Customer requested an itemized statement for her water heater replacement that was completed on April 6, 2013.  An itemized statement was emailed to her on 5/16/2013.

 

2.       Customer mentioned they returned their CO Detector they were charged for and received during their installation.  Due to the customer being dissatisfied with it and our 100% satisfaction guarantee we issued a full refund and a check was mailed to her. 

 

3.       Our Service Manager also found out during his conversation that they were a Military family and provided her our 5% Military discount.  She will receive an additional check in the amount of $73.  This information was also entered into our system so it should be a proactive discount moving forward. 

 

4.       The customer had concerns regarding how much we charged her versus the time we were at her residence.  Our company has flat rate pricing so our process is to first provide several different options to our customer and allow them to make the best choice that works for them and their budget.  All prices are given upfront and we don’t start any work until the customer has given their full approval.  We generally don’t itemize our invoices as it’s rather difficult to account for the items that aren’t seen while on the job.  Our Customer Service Department is available to take your call 24 hours a day 7 days a week.  We staff our licensed and trained Technicians to be available in most cases within a two hour window.  We pride ourselves on being able to be there for our customers when they need us most.  We also have 100% customer satisfaction guarantee which is the absolute best in the area.  All of our Technicians are licensed, drug tested and pass a background check .  Our technicians arrive to a customer’s home in a uniform with a  fully stocked company truck so we can complete the job in most cases on site.  Our Dispatcher sends out a Technician’s Biography prior to us coming out so the customer knows who they can expect.  We include a small cost on every call which covers gas and maintenance on our vehicles.  Our overhead is approximately $346.80 per day which includes rent, office staff salaries, insurance, warranty, bonding, training, advertising and office supplies.  At the end of the year we hope to be at a 10% profit but that has not been achieved for quite some time.  As you can see a lot goes into our pricing and our flat rate pricing allows us to provide the service our customers prefer which is beneficial knowing how much the job will cost up front.

 

We believe we have met our customer’s needs and addressed all of their concerns and hopefully built a customer for life.  If there is anything else we need to do please don’t hesitate to give me a call.  Our customers always come first which is how we’ve stayed in business the past thirty years. 

 

Sincerely yours,

 

***** ******

Customer Service Manager

A1 Plumbing and Perfect A1R

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I found them on BBB website as a great company. I asked about quotes over the phone for a toilet install they would not give me a quote. They said they had to send out a tech. Which I was fine with. They should up and was trying to charge me over $600 to install a toilet that is way over priced. The tech left trying to sell me more thing that there company does. I can't believe that they are trying to get more and more money out of money. Then I call and cancel the tech install and I get charged $59. They lie to you on the phone to get you to pay money.

Desired Settlement: I should not have to pay the quote fee

Business Response: I discussed this issue with *** ******* last week and resolved this.  He requested a quote over the phone for installation of a toilet.  We have customer service agents answering our customer phone inquiries and do not have plumbers answering the phone.  The plumbers are plumbing.    The representatives are not qualified to give an accurate quote over the phone as there are numerous issues that inevitably show up that the customer is not aware of.  We feel providing a quote over the phone is rarely accurate and can often be seen as misleading.  Most of our customers expect an accurate price from a licensed technician who is personally viewing the situation.  Our technician visited *** *******, provided a quote up front before any work was done.  *** ******* declined to have us do the work.  This is perfectly fine and we understand that some people may prefer to do work themselves than to have a licensed plumber do the work.  We charged him the $59 dispatch fee that was quoted over the phone.  After having a very amiable discussion with *** ******* I told him we would refund the $59 dispatch fee to him.


*** ******* ******* *******
A1Plumbing & Perfect Air

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/1/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint involes the advertisement by A1 plumbing on the internet. This to me is false advertising. The reason is that I assumed that the price given in the ad was the cost I would be paying for services. The cost advertised was $99.00 plus for drain cleaning. But, this price was referring to the main drain only, which is only specified in fine print.This ad is misleading.Note: Even when you click on the link, it doesn't mention anything about the main sewer drain until you get the Pre-Purchase Inspection paragraph. Referred to as main lateral sewer. An estimated price of over $500 plus was given just to snake the vent.

Desired Settlement: I would like the cost to me be as stated in the advertisement on the internet, which is $99.00 plus taxes.

Business Response: I did talk to *** ****** ** **** and resolved this to his satisfaction.  We adjusted his bill to $125 from $253.   Details of the call and more information:·         The advertisement is very clear that the $99 applies under certain conditions and directs customer to call for details. ·        *** ****** stated that the $99 applied only to “main drain cleaning” and that this is only specified in “fine print”.  This is not accurate and there is no reference that this applies only to main drains.  The $99 applies to main lines and what we call “branch lines” (kitchen sink drains, etc.).  However conditions still apply.·         We don’t list all of the conditions that apply because it would be nearly impossible to list all the scenarios in every person’s household.·         When a customer calls and asks for $99 special, or they tell the technician at their home they want $99 special, the customer is informed that the $99 is for easy access clearings:o   There is an outside clean outo   The drain can be cleared without disassembling pipes, climbing on roofs, cutting access lines, removing toilets, etc.)o   there are no chemicals in line (like Drano)·         If there is a charge above $99 then the technician gets approval for this before they do the work.·         If a customer does not want us to proceed after receiving the price then they are charged nothing… not even a trip charge.·         In *** ******** case, the only way to clear the line was for the technician to climb on the roof with heavy equipment and clear through a roof vent.  The technician quoted his price up front which was $253.  *** ****** then approved the work and paid for it.  He could have said no thanks if he thought the price was high or ad was misleading. 
Thank you. *** ******* A1 Plumbing & Perfect A1R

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/11/2011 Problems with Product/Service