BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
The Snake River Region

This Business is not BBB accredited

Budget Movers

Phone: (208) 409-8782 Un-Published, Boise, ID 83713

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides moving services.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Budget Movers include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

17 Customer Reviews on Budget Movers
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 16
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 17

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 01, 2012 Business started: 03/03/2011 in ID
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mrs. Joanna Lilly, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joe Gurule, Owner
Business Category

MOVERS

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check, Credit
Service Area
Continental U.S.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Budget Movers has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of F.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Un-Published

    Boise, ID 83713

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information

Complaint Detail(s)

7/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The move took an excessive amount of time which cost me more per the hourly rate. After I checked my furniture I noticed a damaged piece. I called and spoke to the owner, ***, and he was to get back to me about the repair and possible reimbursement of some of the cost. I just called his phone number since I had not heard from him for a week and discovered that he has disconnected his phone. His phone number was ###-###-####...the business address is listed as ***** * ********** *r in Boise, ID.

Desired Settlement: Repair of my furniture piece and reimbursement of an hour and a half at the hourly rate.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

10/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Budget Movers to move me from California to Idaho in July, 2013. When *** ****** showed up at my house he tried to double the price of the moving costs knowing that we had to be out of our current home and moving 1000 miles away. *** was rude, disrespectful and extremely domineering. In the interim***** crew loaded 1 of 2 trucks brought and the next day *** disappeared for the entire day to go "weigh" the truck because he thought it to be over on the legal weight. The truck weight was 500 lbs. UNDER the DOT requirements, and rented Budget trucks that *** showed up with are not required to go through weigh stations because they are not commercial trucks. *** made the crew unload approx. 1000 lbs into the other truck and then called it a day. At this point we are on day 2 of this move of a 2600 sq ft house and we are required to be for the new tenants moving in. ***'s crew feeling terrible, returned to our home on their own time to finish loading. My husband had to rent another truck because there was not enough room. The crew loaded an entire truck in 2 hours and 15 minutes and finished everything completely. Now ***, the owner, is angry and decides they will all leave the next morning. My husband follows them up to Boise and has to pay for the gas in ***'s trucks because he has run out of money. They arrive in Boise and then *** goes to another moving job the next day and then calls my husband to tell him that they will not be bringing our belongings for another 2 days so they can finish the new job they started. 3 of ***'s crew quits that day and the police had to get involved to get our belongings/trucks to our home. Budget movers did not unload ANY of the trucks, nor put our home back together and demanded an additional $3000 (holding the trucks hostage. My husband did pay *** the entire contract amount IN FULL in addition to hotel rooms, food, gas and hired/PAID the crew (that had quit) to unload the trucks at our new home. It was the MOST stressful week EVER!

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimburse $2500 since Budget Movers only fulfilled half of their contract.

Business Response:

Please note and see attached Email that Budget Movers sent to the customer on the same day prior to this complaint being filed ** ****** ** *** ***. Budget Movers had called ** several times to attempt to collect a debt and contact regarding our equipment, We sent the email requesting the past due bill be paid and our business equipment be returned and than received the complaint from the BBB. We have never been called back or emailed in return or contacted from these customers again the only response came as this complaint to the BBB on the same day after we went our email.

Budget Movers was first contacted by ****** ******* in June 2013 to schedule a move. Based on the information that ****** Provided Budget Movers regarding her home size and belongings and moving needs Budget Movers prepared an estimated contract and emailed it to customer approximately June 18, 2013 (see attached copy of email). Budget Movers had several other phone conversations planning and offering moving advise and coordinating customers needs via phone leading to the date of the move. Budget Movers arrived as scheduled with the 2 Budget Trucks truck a full crew of and all needed equipment and supplies as indicated in the estimated contract, customer also was given a Terms and Conditions prior to walk thru. As with every move Budget Movers began with a walk thru of the job, Budget Movers determined that this job would likely require a 3 third truck, Budget Movers offered it's professions opinion and presented the customers woptions. Budget Movers would load drive and deliver the Budget trucks and complete all work detailed in the estimated contract and as planed with the customer, Budget Movers arranged an additions estimate for a the option of an additional trailer or truck, which included additions charge for labor, drive time and fuel. Budget Movers bases the estimated contracts on Truck costs estimated fuel, drive time. labor, supplies and accommodations. Budget Movers began the move as requested by ****** who was attempting to contact her husband ** to make divisions regarding the changes and to pay the deposit since it was required and agreed upon to be paid upon arrival prior to job beginning. Despite not being paid the deposit as agreed upon prior to job Budget Movers began working loading the 1 26 foot Budget truck. Budget Movers completed additional packing and prepping as costumers were not packed and prepared to move. Budget Movers abides by all state and federal laws pretending to the department of transportation and motor carrier division as with all jobs Budget Movers weighs our trucks after loading to ensure compliance and safety of our employees and customers belongings and to maximize fuel capacity. After the walk thru the first day Budget Movers worked diligently loading the first truck, offering additional labor packing and addition packing materials. Budget Movers returned the next day the second day of the move to continue diligently working loading the second truck while the 1 st truck was taken to be weighed. Budget Movers was over the allowed wt limit by 900 lbs Budget Movers returned did unload the correct amount to maintain compliance. See attached weight ticket. By the end of the second day Budget Movers had fulfilled the job that the customers had hired us to complete Both Budget trucks were loaded fully and with in weight compliance Budget Movers was ready to proceed to fulfill the contract for the move, how ever the customers did not want to proceed with the other options Budget Movers provided. The customers had wanted Budget Movers to provide a third truck the labor to load drive and unload as well as the additional fuel costs at no additional cost to the customer. The customers had decided to make there own arrangements to complete the move by renting a truck and hiring one of his own employees and himself would do the loading driving and unloading, ** indicated he did not want to pay any additional costs. Budget Movers was leaving for the day with the intention of returning leaving to Boise with the 2 26 foot trucks first thing in the morning as scheduled. While preparing to eat dinner . ** came to hotel and spoke with to one of Budget Movers employees and made arrangement to hire three of my employees to load the truck he had rented the and unload the all trucks when returned to Boise. Three of my employees did not come to have dinner and left to complete additional work at the time the employees left and did not have dinner with the rest of Budget Movers crew we did not know about the side deal ** and the three had made. Budget movers remaining crew members reported this information in the morning driving back to Boise. Budget Movers felt it best to complete the job at hand and deal with the employees once returned to Boise. ** and his employee he hired drove the truck that AL rented back to Boise Budget Movers had nothing to do with the transaction of the additional truck, driving, loading or unloading or fuel or food, ** and his employee left at the same time as Budget Movers from California and his wife and daughter stayed in California, however were not traveling on the road together and were not stopping for fuel together. Budget Movers drove the 2 26 foot trucks provided for food and fuel as agreed in the estimated contract. Please see all receipts paid for by Budget Movers, not Al. After arriving in Boise, the next morning Budget Movers called the customer to set up delivery time. The customer requested that Budget Movers wait and let AL and his employee unload there truck first and Budget Movers unload our truck the next day, Budget Movers had already had moves scheduled on the date that ** decided to change his unload and since he had hired the three employees I had let go. Due to scheduling conflicts It was decide that ** and his hired party and employee, would unload all the trucks and Budget Movers would drop off one truck at a time and collecting the balance of estimated contract. *** and ****** from Budget Movers went together to handle this issue******** *********) Please see attached amendment where customer signed and hand wrote in the agreement. A release of liability of Aug 1st , as well as an agreement to cancel contract of unloading the 2 26 foot Budget Trucks and an agreement to re fuel the trucks as well as an agreement to return all Budget Movers equipment and furniture pads.

The customer signed and hand wrote his own notes in the agreement. The customer refused to pay the difference in the estimated fuel costs of agreed in original contract and terms and conditions. ** the customer gave *** Budget Movers the checks one in the amount of $2,746.00 check # 12350 see attatched and another check for $500.00 Check * ***** (see attatched) in which the customer put the word incidentals in the memo on check). While Budget Movers was leaving one of the three employees who were let go came out of **** home upset demanding additional pay even though he was let go and now working for ** under there own agreement. I advised the x employee this was not the time or place to discuss this. While leaving leaving ** decided he is going to put a stop payment on the checks and someone in his party yells he is getting a gun. I *** Budget Movers had called 911 ******** ****** *please note we have requested a transcript and a report) and attempted to leave the residence, one of customers party or hired employees jump on the front of the truck preventing me from leaving. I get out still on the phone with 911 operator and get into my personal vehicle to leave and wait for the police as instructed . We left the police arrived and investigated the issue and provided us with information on the laws and advised us of our rights and stood by to offer us protection as we left the 1st of our 2 Budget trucks as well as our equipment and pads with ** and his hired party and employees, we left and returned later that evening when requested with the 2nd Budget truck and again our equipment and pads. Budget Movers returned a third time to pick up the last truck. Which was picked up late in evening full of pads thrown all over the back of the truck and the assurance our equipment was all in the truck ** handed over the keys and re wrote a check in the amount of $2,746.00 ***** * *****, stating he would not pay the remainder of the bill unless Budget Movers proved that they paid the employees who he hired and who had been fired from Budget Movers the day prior. Budget Movers did not get involved with Al’s decision to rent another truck or his agreements with his employees or his agreements with the three employees Budget Movers let go. Budget Movers fully fulfilled the agreement in the original contract until ** breached the contract and due the scheduling was mutually agreed that ** and party would unload the 2 Budget trucks. . Budget Movers tried to show good ethics and business practice by completing to the best of our ability the job at hand and deal with the employees issues separate, we feel we went above and beyond extending extra labor packing, materials, supplies and by extending extra courtesy of leaving our equipment and trucks with out being paid and in a situation that was threatening all the while catering to the customers needs and time. **** **** ******** ******** *** *** ** ******* ** *** ** ****** ******* Budget Movers inventories all pads, dollies, 4 wheelers, tools, and equipment for each job.


Budget Budget Movers only wants to be paid for the additional fuel and expenses that were paid out of pocket for this customers move as agreed upon in the Terms and conditions and for the costs of refueling of the truck again as agrees upon, and requests our business property returned.

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

8/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: when I called Joe Gerule, the owner of Budget Movers in Boise,he denied any and all responsibility for any of the wrongs with the most stressful move I've ever had. Without any attempt at negociation nor even an apology, my notes say that he said I "had signed a written contract and the rest would be his word against mine and my co-mover!" That contract was signed 1 1/2 hrs. into an emotion laden and chaotic move followed immediately by his sudden disappearance from the actual move with no mention of giving us a copy of that contract nor any explanation of why he was not going to be helping nor taking back any excess items as he had promised on the phone. (notes show june 17) Being sarcastic and verbally abusive,(notes again of june 31) he stated that I was being "huffy and that he didn't do business with huffy women"I have many examples of his breaking numerous verbal agreements that he had said would be included in the quoted price and no mention of the $1500 that we had to spend on replacing the items his men refused to take without warning and a bill that was $800 over his repeated quote of $1700 - $1900 total cost of the move.

Desired Settlement: a refund of $800 for overbill of a verbal agreement. An apology would also be nice and a commitment to not sucker others into "the worst move ever!"

Business Response:

**** ******** * ** ***** ** **** *** **** ** ***** *********** *** ****** ** **** *** * **** ** ********** *** **** * *** *** *****.**** **** ******** * ** ***** ** **** *** **** ** ***** *********** *** ****** ** **** *** * **** ** ********** *** **** * *** *** ********** ******** * ** ***** ** **** *** **** ** ***** *********** *** ****** ** **** *** * **** ** ********** *** **** * *** *** ******

Budget Movers recived a call from this customer requesting a move from Pocatello Id to Boise Id. Budget Movers informed this customer of our rates and gave an estimated cost to this customer. Budget Movers made every attempt to work with this customer via long distance to get a sence of what all would be involved in the move. Since we are based out of Boise and this customer is in Pocatello it was not possible to see this customers home and belongings to give gaurenteed estimate. Budget Movers throughly explained the estimated costs and evan offered advise on cost cutting and examples of estimated costs for similer moves. Budget Movers gave an estimated cost based on the information we were given. Budget Movers explained how the cost was based and this customer agreed to hire Budget Movers. Upon arival on agreed time and date for move Budget Movers arived ready to start job and customer was behind schedule in packing prior to Budget Movers loading. Budget Movers did a walk thru home and garage and presented the customer with our terms and conditions which explains our estimated charges this customer signed the terms and conditions and Budget Movers provided all agreed work. Towards the end of the job it was noted by Budget Movers crew leader that not all the customers belongings would fit on the truck. Budget Movers made every effort to work with aranging a trailer or other truck to accomidate the customer, however the customer and did not agree to using a 6x 12 trailer or a 2 nd truck. The customer and the customers husband stated to our crew "it is ok leave the items in the garage and we will figure it out what to do with it". The customers were adimente in our crew leaving Pocatello so that the unload in Boise could take place the next day. For this move Budget Movers provided 3 men 1- 26 foot truck and all equpiment. Load, driving, unloading and staging in place. Our three crew members were there for the entire job from start to finish. Joe the owner came as a courtsey and got the crew started and met with the customer once the job was under way Joe left the job site it is not our usual pratice for Joe to stay on all jobs. At completion of job the customer signed the contract were given a copy customer also paid the bill in full without incident or mention of any issues or dissatifaction. Approxmently a week after the job the customed called very emotional , upset and yelling and screaming demanding only to pay fot what she thought was going to be the cost of the move. Budget Movers advised the customer to " Please calm down and be less huffy and puffy". In attempt to discuss the contract and the agreed upon terms and condirions. Budget Movers appolgizes for any misunderstanding in communication and in no way dose Budget Movers demean customers or women. Budget Movers provided all the requested work for this customer and move and was charged accordingly. Budget Movers made every attempt to accomidate the customers needs and arange for additional accomidations which the customer and her husband declined to use. We sincerly appolgize for any misunderstandings in how the customer precived information.

Joe Gurule

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Budget Movers based on what I was told of the company by the owner. Rates, years of experience and general customer satisfaction. Being retired military, My family have been moved all around the world and this would be our first out of pocket move. *** told me the hourly rate and asked me how many rooms of furniture that we would be moving. I was not exactly sure, so he questioned me to get a better idea. We agreed on a date to move my family 50 miles. Moving day arrived and he had two young men show up on time with a rented truck.The problems began in the first ten minutes when they apparently forgot to bring any boxes or packing materials. I took uppn myself to leave the house and purchase boxes, tape and markers.I had all beds broken down and all appliances disconnected for the move to speed things up.But it was apparent that only after an hour that they would need another truck. They promised my wife that they would get all of her clothes by hanging then accross a cargo strap.That never happened.In all I had to make over 700 miles worth of trips to recover most of what was left behind.Upon arrival at our destination, I immediatly knew something was wrong when as I opened up the house I heard a crash! My sons desk fell out of the truck when they opened the door. It broke into three seperate pieces. Ten minutes later my wifes 6ft tall shelf lamp was on the ground in multiple pieces as well. It got to the point that I had to help these guys even with the injuries that I had sustained on active duty. They apologized for all the stuff that was broken and left at the old address.But the apologies did not alow me to focus on moving in. It only made me feel that the work that I had paid them to do was now resting on my shoulders to complete.*** the owner was notifed immediatly and he promised to make it right back in June.I have heard nothing but excuses and stories of its been a busy month again and again. My wife and I were forced to leave a lot behind.

Desired Settlement: *** offerred me $150.00 for my time and for the exchange of the packing materials that I had purchased. He would tell me 6 times over a 3 month period that he would call me, or to meet with me. I went as far as to drive the items to him as I have to go to the VA hospital weekly. Excuses continued until last Mo nday he promised to call me on his way to his next move a that I was to meet him a location that we both knew. I never recieved a call and I have been wanting to resolve this June.

Business Response:

On approximately 6/26/12. This customer scheduled a move with Budget Movers which included 2 men 1 26 foot truck, and our equipment such as box dollies,  4wheeled dollies  furniture pads, and a loan on used packing materials if available. This move was scheduled 2 days prior to customer’s foreclosure on his home. On 6/28/12 Upon Arrival Budget Movers crew leader *** completed a walk thru of residence and called owner *** to indicate that customer was unprepared as far a packing and organization for move. Customer had requested packing materials be taken to job site, I indicated that I would lend packing materials to customer if available it happened that no packing materials were available to loan for this particular move. Customer did purchase his own packing materials. I agreed to reimburse customer $50.00 for packing materials if he wanted to return them to Budget Movers as long as he had proof of purchase.  Per Budget Movers Protocol *** the crew leader called me to inform me that the job was not able to be completed and that the customer indicated he would pick up the remainder of his belongings that were left at old address as the 26 foot truck was full. *** reported to me that he apologized and asked customer if he wanted Budget Movers to do another load to get the rest of the belongings and customer refused stating he would get the remainder of his belongings that did not fit on the truck. *** also reported  customer attempted several times to assist in move and crew reminded customer several times that they were hired to complete the work. Per Budget Movers protocol *** turned in the contract which the customer did indicate a review of performance Rating system is 1= worst and 5 = best, customer circled a 5, customer notes (pending wife’s inspection).

On 7/6/12 during a follow up call approx 10:30 am Customer gave review indicating “Guys worked very hard and were very professional”, customer indicated one desk and one lamp had been damaged in the move. Customer complained re packing materials customer also indicated he had to make several trips back and forth from ***** to ***** to pick up the rest of his things that were left. I attempted to resolve this situation by offering $ 50.00 reimbursement for packing materials as long as the customer returned the materials to me with proof of purchase. I also offered $100.00 of reimbursement of fuel cost and labor customer agreed and I explained that claims of reimbursements were available 30 days after move as long as customer provided gas and material recites.

Customer did contact me two separate occasions to meet and to be reimbursed, due to a very busy moving season I was unable to accommodate meeting customer, I did call and attempt to reschedule a meeting and customer refused to meet me and refused to be reimbursed on approx 9/4/12 customer called asked again to meet to be reimbursed. I indicated I was doing a job leaving to ********** and would call him if it was not too late, I was pressed for time and left late in the evening. Approx 9/8/12 I called apologized for not being able to meet him and I offered to go to his home to pick up boxes and recites and to reimburse customer a total of $150.00. Customer refused again.

  

Since receiving this complaint I investigated the complaint with the crew who preformed the job. Budget Movers Crew leader *** reported that they did hang 2 straps across the width of the truck with wife’s clothing on hangers. *** assured me that the load was tied down inside of the truck and nothing fell out or off of the truck. *** reported the desk was approx 10 feet back loaded in truck and that the shipment shifted causing pressure to a leg of the desk and the desk did brake; *** reported customer had the crew throw desk into the firewood pile. *** also reported the lamp did not fall at anytime, it was in truck and the damage to the lamp was that the grooves that supported the lamp were striped.

 

10/10/12 appaox 4:39 (My wife witnessed this conversation) I again called the customer and offered my apologizes and offered to reimburse the $150.00, I also offered my free personal labor as customer reported he still was not done unpacking. The customer again refused any and all remedies to this situation. I am truly sorry for this inconvenience and attempted several times to remedy this situation with no avail. I since have initiated a new protocol at Budget Movers the crew leaders on any job that I am not personally present have to call either myself or my wife and report customers review and any issues prior to leaving. I will or Joanna will personally speak with the customer prior to Crew leaving, I feel this way Budget Movers and the customers we serve will have resolve and any issues will be reported before job is closed. Hopefully this will prevent any issues in the future. Budget Movers sincerely appreciates all our valued customers and epically veterans and for the service to our country again I sincerely apologize and will continue to strive to provide a quality service at an affordable price.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.