BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In The Snake River Region

This Business is not BBB accredited

Canyon Legal Forms

Phone: (208) 461-4981 Fax: (208) 461-4984 1015 Caldwell Blvd., Nampa, ID 83651 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.canyonlegalforms.com/

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides legal forms.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Canyon Legal Forms include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Canyon Legal Forms
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 20, 2012 Business started: 07/13/2000 in ID Business incorporated: 07/25/2008 in ID
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Brenda Cameron, Owner
Business Category

LEGAL FORMS PROCESS SERVICEERS

Hours of Operation
Monday through Thursday: 9AM-5PM Friday: 10AM-5PM Evens & weekends by appt.
Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Credit Cards, Checks
Service Area
Idaho

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1015 Caldwell Blvd.

    Nampa, ID 83651 (208) 461-4981

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information

Complaint Detail(s)

6/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We went into Canyon Legal Forms on Feb 28, 2014. We spoke with ***. She quoted us two prices for a divorce. $150.00 for divorce without service and $200.00 for with. We told her that we would like the $150.00. Put a $100.00 deposit down on papers. $50.00 to be paid when we picked them up. I asked for a receipt and quote *** gave me a copy of the credit card and cash register receipt. After not being available for a scheduled appointment that we made with this company we had the papers emailed to me. In April we received an invoice for $200.00. I called and spoke with **** and after explaining what happened he AGREED with the $150.00 and said they would credit account. On 6/20/14 I received another invoice stating We owe the $50.00. I called and spoke with some gentleman. He said he would get back with me. On 6/23/2014 I got a call from the accountant stating we owed the balance. I told them that they dishonest and I would file a complaint with the BBB. Then ****** got on the phone. She actually laughed at me and said I owed the money. I told her exactly what I thought of her company and hung up. At this point it is my word against theirs. She also told me she has never had a complaint. I saw two on this site alone. Horrible customer service and dishonest company.

Desired Settlement: To stand by they original agreement of $150.00. Which was paid in full.

Business Response: *********  Thank you for taking the time to voice your thoughts and opinions.   I would like to take this opportunity to respond, address and clarify on what you have shared. 

When we spoke, it was for less than two minutes.  During that conversation, you were extremely upset, cussing and making accusations.  In the first few seconds, I acknowledged your concern, and stated that there was obviously some miscommunication and it may have been on ***** part, but since I wasn't there at the time on February 28, 2014, I needed to figure out what was going on.  At that point, you took control of the conversation, yelling and cussing about the issue.  You were not listening to me, as I was trying to validate your concerns or address the issue.  You did not give me an opportunity to check into your statements or make a decision on the issue.    Furthermore, I did not laugh at you, and tried to explain that my husband had just walked in and I acknowledged him.  I apologize that you misunderstand that as my laughing at you, it simply is not true. 

If you have refrained from yelling, cussing and using the F word, I would have been able to complete the conversation with you.

As far as customer service, we have hundreds of extremely happy and grateful clients for the work we have done for them and the thousands of dollars we have saved them.    For our part with you, we completed the work as requested and allowed you to pay only $100.00 deposit.  We emailed your documents to you as requested.  We waited over two months before you paid the rest owed on your account.  We were patient with you, waiting for payment after we completed your work.  We will write off the $50.00 that is showing as a balance and chalk it up to staff misunderstanding.   ***** *** ** ***** ****** *******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to ********* ** ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

In response to her claims:

****** makes it sound like I was cussing the whole time.  I was not.  I did once at the close of the conversation.  Not at one time during the conversation did she offer to look into the issue.  It would seem her story has changed after I filed this complaint.  She had an opportunity when I ask if we still owe this bill to say she would look into, instead she said "It is up to you if you pay your bills or not."

I have already sent a check because she told me she was not honoring the original agreement we had with her employee and we still owed the amount.  We were not going to get into some great legal battle over $50.  It was the principal of the matter.  I will update if funds are not returned to me.  

 

********

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Tuesday 12/3/2013 about 4:00 pm I was at Canyon Legal Forms in Nampa. I told *** the lady helping me that I thought my daughter could use their services. She told me what I needed cost 300.00 and for me to take the forms to my daughter and have her fill them out, and return them.I figured this was a business endorsed by the BBB, which I had checked on, so I figured they were trustworthy. I paid with my debit card, nothing was said about refunds. I found out later that night that my daughter had taken care of her legal matters already, and did not need this service. Wednesday 12/4/2013 9:00 am I drove back to the business from Middleton, where I live,asked for a refund,and returned their forms. I seen no signs about refunds. I was told by ***** the manager, I would have to come back on Friday and I would get my refund, but 30.00 would be taken out by their bank for refunding. I asked ***** "So I have to pay it?" and she told me yes. So I drove home frustrated. I did not think this was right.Friday 12/5/2013 9:00 am I drove into Nampa back to this business. I see they have put up signs "NO REFUNDS", in the office. I never seen them there the day I was there before. I was then told I was only getting 225.00 refunded, I protested, I was told I would get all but 30.00 back by ***** on Wednesday. The lady then said ok, I will give you 250.00 and that's all. I waited until I received my receipt because now, I do not trust them at all, then I told her it was not right, that there would be trouble over this kind of business, she said " that's fine " and I left. They lied to me about the amount they were going to return to me. I do not think they are telling the truth about their bank charging them to return money, it's absurd. They did nothing for me at all, except take my hard earned money for their own. Maybe it was an inconvenience to make a return, not 30.00 or even 50.00 worth. Other businesses do it all the time, and they do not try to take your money. unbelievable.

Desired Settlement: I want my 50.00 mailed back to me. It is not right.

Business Response: This gentleman came into the office and requested a Divorce package.  He completed a new client questionnaire.  When he was told the price, he took his card out of his wallet and said he wanted to pay for it.  We do not require payment up front for several reasons.   this gentleman stated he wanted to pay the entire amount of $300.00.   *** took his payment, ran it through our merchant card machine and gave him a receipt.  He stated that the work was for his daughter so he would take the divorce questionnaire to her to complete and would bring it back in to our office.  This company has had a no exchange and no refund policy since 1998.  We have always followed the company policy.   We do give in store credits and all of our customers that have received an in store credit, have come back, used their credit and been completely happy with our services.  

 
This man walked back in the next day and said he wanted his money back.  I told him about our no refund policy.  He got mad, raised his voice, demanding his money back.  I offered an in store credit per our policy.  He continued to be agitated and demanding his money back.  Because he had mentioned it was for his daughter and she changed her mind, not him -  I told him that I would make an exception in his case, but that I couldn't give him a refund until the funds were deposited and my office manager was able to calculate the merchant and any other charge for the process.  He was angry, but left. 
 
When he came back the second time, I was the only person in the store and told him that I would refund $225.00 so we could cover our staff time (his information was entered into our database the first night by our data entry employee) and a file was made for the job.  I also explained I needed to cover the merchant fees and as a small company during the slowest part of the year, I had to cover my costs.  He got very upset, demanding his money, saying rude and derogatory things about me personally and our business.  Because he was so intimidating, I agreed to refund $50.00, but again explained our policy and that I was making an exception to refund any money at all and that I had to cover my costs as a small business.  He raised his voice again, threatening me and the company.  I ran his card for a refund and handed him the card and receipt.  He grabbed them out of my hand, and kept making loud rude and derogatory comments on his way out the door.  
 
When our office manager came in that afternoon, I told her what had happened and she told me that she had offered to refund all, but $30.00.  I was not aware of that and would not have agreed to that.  He has wasted our time, (a paid employee's time), yelled, caused a scene, refused to understand our company policy and we had to pay bank and merchant fees.  I would be willing to refund the additional $20.00 to honor my officer managers statement, but will not refund any more than $20.00.  If I had followed policy, he would not have gotten a refund at all - just an in store credit.  
Sincerely,
****** *******

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.?

Better Business Bureau:   ****** does not help this situation by fabricating her stories. I am an easy going person, who believes in doing what is right,I have morals and am a law abiding citizen as to my friends and family will affirm. The inaccuracy and or dishonesty of ****** ******* in her reply for this business is Slanderous at best, and if continued will be dealt with by law, against this business. 50.00 is not enough money to get mad over. It is not worth it. I would have taken the 270.00 and left it at that, but now, with all of the dishonesty and total disregard for the truth, I am forced to pursue my total refund, for myself and the public. My family and I feel this place needs checked out thoroughly.

I did not ask for a divorce package, and complete a "NEW CLIENT QUESTIONNAIRE", as ****** stated. Ask her to produce that paperwork, that was fabricated. I requested forms on child custody, for my daughter, I was told it would be 300.00 so I gave it to them. (I never filled out paperwork.) I was not informed I could pay later.I was not told anything about refunds or seen any information on the matter.That information was not on my receipt.  I was not agitated or angry, that will not help securing a refund.I simply asked. I was told to pick up 270.00 on Friday by *****, I was told the bank charges them, so I would have to pay it. and ****** was there, when I was told. All fabricated by ******. 

****** also stated in her reply to BBB, that My information had been entered into their data base the first night,and a file was made for the job ****** is making this all up. And you can catch her in the act.    

When I returned Friday for my money, I walked in as ***** was walking out, I said"good morning". I just waited for ******, to get what refund, they were going to give me, (standing there with a sling on my left arm). I recently had shoulder surgery, for the second time. ****** then told me she was going to give me 225.00. I asked her about the amount ***** had told me, ****** then said ok, I will give you 250.00. ****** also stated this is when I started yelling and causing a trouble, and that I was saying derogatory and personal things to her, really? that is an outright lie !  If I would have acted like that, she would have called the police, and if you ask the people who really know me, you will find the truth.

First of all, it's only 50.00 not 5000.00 it is not worth it. I am not so dumb as to be saying something hateful to a person I expect to give me MY money back, that too has been fabricated by ******. I waited till she gave me my money and this is what I said on my way out the door, "This is some business,doing people this way, expect trouble. and ****** yelled back "Fine !"  ****** and her actions will cost this company dearly, It could have been a business, that I would go back to, but with all the dishonesty on ******'s part, there is no way My family,My friends or I will ever seek them out.        


Regards,

*** *******

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

12/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1