BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In The Snake River Region

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tru-Green, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Tru-Green, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Tru-Green, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 01, 1982 Business started: 01/01/1969
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jason Baker, Branch Manager Ms. Yvonne St. Cyr, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jason Baker, Branch Manager
Business Category

LAWN MAINTENANCE TREE SERVICE


Additional Locations

  • 2393 E Commercial St

    Meridian, ID 83642 (208) 888-3133

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information

Complaint Detail(s)

7/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Last year I contracted for 4 tree and shrub services. These 4 services were completed and I asked you to stop and do no more since the contract was fulfilled. I have called you 3 times and have asked you to stop. You have called me numerous times and have sent mail asking me to continue with your services and I have given you an emphatic "NO". With my last payment I sent a note saying this is my last service from you and I will no longer pay for your service.I thought this was enough, it wasn't. You will not stop. My last payment was in April. Now it is July 10th and I just arrived home from vacation to see that you have again sprayed. I know I will receive a bill from you even though it was not a contracted service. I called TruGreen about this and spoke to ***. Today,I cancelled once again and she gave me the cancellation ****** ** **********. Please let this be the last contact I ever have with your business.**** **********

Desired Settlement: That I am not billed for this unscheduled spraying and that I am taken off their customer list forever. Also, it would be a pleasure if they never contacted me again.

Business Response: After researching the complaint from **** **********, I found record of her initial call at the beginning of the 2014 season inquiring about the application price on her trees and shrubs, wondering why it was $61 when she thought it had been around $40 the prior year, the price had not changed. No subsequent calls or letters were recorded on her account until this complaint. I have credited the price of the last application due to **** **********'s  dissatisfaction with our service, leaving her account with a zero balance. Per **** **********'s wishes, we have not contacted her regarding this outcome.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to ********* ** ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.   For your information, I have called numerous times and I am sorry that my calls were not recorded.  I cancelled  by mail and by phone (more than once).  Also, I received a call 2 days ago from TRUGREEN stating that they have noticed evidence of spiders around my house and they would like to come out and spray for spiders.  I told them "absolutely not" and please do not call again.  Please take me off of your call list.  Thank you.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a customer of this business for over 3 years. They recently changed they way that they provide their services. In the past you got a postcard of the date they were coming and the treatment they would be providing. Now, they just show up and half the time you have no idea what was done. I recently started questioning my bill because they were doing treatments all the time. Over 2 months ago I requested my original contract of exactly what I had signed up for because my lawn treatments were seeming excessive. I had also requested that they send me a statement of exactly what treatment was done and the date of which it was done. Over 2 months with nothing... now they want their money and proceeded to send me to collection for a balance that I was willing to pay after I double checked the services with my original contract. They say they cannot provide me with my original contract because they need a fork lift to get it down. I have talked to over 25 people in hopes to get this straightened out but seems I always get the run around and then passed to someone else...who then again does not do their job. I would highly suggest that nobody uses this company because at any given time you should be able to get a statement and your original agreement. I do love the fact that instead of handling a problem and fixing it this company would rather loose business and send you off to a collection company than have someone actually do what they are being paid for i.e help your customers. It seems sneaky that they do not want you to know what services are being provided and why they seem to have extra services but will not let you look at your original agreement.

Desired Settlement: I would like to see that I receive a copy of my original agreement and taken out of a collection agency for a balance that I will pay when I get what I have requested. I don't think that you should be able to send someone to a collection agency when it was their employees who did not do their job and get me the information in a timely fashion... It should not take over 25 people with still no results if they were not doing something fishy.

Business Response: Collection action was halted against **** ****** until we could provide her with a copy of her original service agreement. She was made aware on 1/3/2014 that it would take some time to pull her agreement, as her original was from 2010, and is boxed and palletized, required an employee with forklift certification to access. A message was left for **** ****** on Monday, Jan. 6th letting her know that we would halt collections. **** ******* services were not altered from the initial service she signed up for in 2010, aside from the additional tree and shrub services she purchased in 2012.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

They did leave a message however it says specifically that as long as I pay the balance within ten days it won't go to collection. I was also 

told on the 3 rd that there is nothing they could do to take me out of collections. I was also told that my contract was already mailed but still do not have a copy of it. I don't care where they store them or even that they have to forklift it down it should not take over two and a half months.  The point I am making is that I should have received this along time ago and it would of never gotten to this  point.  This company is telling me something and you something else to make them an their employees seem like they are actually doing their jobs.

Regards,

****** ******

 

 

Business Response: **** ****** was supplied a copy of her service agreement, and has since paid the balance owing. No collection action was taken.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau: 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. 

Yes, they did send me something was not my original agreement. I would just like to have it noted that yes, I did pay my balance but they did acknowledge  that they had been doing more services than I had originally signed up for over the last 3 years.  They took off one of the payments and I paid because  I was just plain tired of dealing with it.  Future customers should beware because they pretty much do what they want and charge you for it.  

Regards,

****** ****** 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

8/29/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up for TRUGREEN service in March 2013, Received and welcome letter around 20 March, TRUGREEN said they would be out next week to service the lawn they did not show so I had to call for my first service which took place 11 April 2013, The chemicals did not work and was a very minor service, I called and a reservice was applied 23 April-this time a heavy service was done, weeks later still no improvement in the lawn, I then bought chemicals to destroy weeds and green the lawn and even spread lawn seed- these chemical worked and the lawn started growing and spreading out, another heavy service was done by TRUGREEN on 29 May 2013 over a month later and still their treatments had no results after 14 days, I again bought more chemicals to control weeds and kill bugs etc-these treatments worked, No service was done by TRUGREEN in June 2013 so I applied my own again and they worked in only a few days as before, TRUGREEN finally came back out on July 9, 2013 and I came back from out of town and again the chemicals did not work-I found the note by the door that said they had serviced on 9 July 2013-their application did not work again and again I had to apply my own to keep the weeds controlled and lawn green and bugs controlled etc. On 19 July 2013 I called and cancelled my service with them, but they still want payment for the Service of July 9, 2013 that again failed to work a month after they skipped the June application. I also noted they always come over wen I'm not home to observe them applying chemicals-I found this to be strange that not one time was I home when they came.

Desired Settlement: I think a complete and full refund is appropriate at this time and to discharge any pending cost as this is guaranteed with or without reapplication. TRUGREEN has not ever worked and I have given it more then adequate time to work and I informed them of this. I stated that not even their reapplications work so there is no since to keep calling them back for more and more reapplication until they finally get enough to work-that should be done from the start. They need to just refund all costs.

Business Response:

*** ******** has created a very confusing situation.  *** ******** called us on April 20th to receive a free service call based on a lack of results.  We came out within 72 hours to reapply per his request.  TruGreen came out again in May and July to apply applications based on the spacing agreed to by *** ********.  He never once called us indicating that he would like the applications closer together.  Furthermore *** ******** never called after the application in May to tell us there was no improvement.  *** ******** had to have been aware of our guarantee since he used it in April after his first application.  We would have been more than happy to return and reapply at no charge. 

TruGreen’s guarantee states that we will work with you until you are satisfied or we will refund the cost of your last application.  Since we were unable to please *** ******** we will credit the cost of his last application per our guarantee.  This will bring his balance to $0, however we will not refund the previous applications.  We believe that if in fact *** ******** had issues with our service, he should not have waited 4 months to express his concerns.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I tried TRUGREEN last year and was disappointed. I don't want services this year. Last year I had to call them back out because they weren't treating the whole yard. This spring, they kept calling. It bordered on harrassment. Earlier this week they left a voice mail that they would be out to treat the lawn. I ignored it because I thought it was a "tactic" to get me to call back. However, they came out and treated the lawn yesterday. I found the paperwork on my front door,today. They did not ring the doorbell or knock to tell me they were treating the lawn or I would have stopped them. I called them and was told that because it was "lawn treatment" it had to continue every year unless I contacted them and told them to stop. I told them I did not want the treatment and was told it would be cancelled. I want Trugreed to stop calling. I do not want to be billed for yesterday's services that were done without my consent.

Desired Settlement: No bill for yesterday's unsolicited lawn treatment. I would love to have a refund for last year's poor services but it's too late for that.Stop calling. Stop coming out to the house. Stop sending me stuff in the mail. Stop Harrassment advertising techniques.

Business Response: Trugreen's Policy is that our service continues from year to year unless we are notified otherwise.  On ******* ******* account we have no notes that she contacted us at anytime to stop the service.  We mailed her a confirmation letter in December reminding her that we would be out in the spring of 2013.  We then called her in March to remind her that we would be starting service.  The reason we send out the letter and initiate the phone call prior to service to avoid situations like this.  We have no record of ******* stopping service and as she herself stated she never returned our phone call.  While I feel confident that we gave ******* every opportunity to discontinue service, we will credit the application applied in March at her request taking her balance to $0.  We apologize for any inconvience.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Have asked on several occasions for True Green Services to not contact me as I am no longer interested in their product. I was a customer from 2010 -2011 and cancelled. I was called at the beginning of 2012 and asked not to be contacted ever again, they agreed, even gave me a number to call to be put on the do not call list. today I was called at work to set up route information for this years work. I asked again not to be called. I will contact them again to not be called. This is close to harassment. Calling me at home is one thing, but contact me at my place of employment is clearly a violation of privacy.

Desired Settlement: Assistance in contacting this business to explain that I am not interested in their service. I have chosen other means to care for my lawn, for the reasons that are evident, this company does not respond well to communication.

Business Response:

Per your request, we have added your information to our internal Do Not Solicit list, which includes Do Not Call, Mail or Email. We have taken all steps possible from the corporate level and will do our best to ensure your request is honored to not be contacted by TruGreen in the future. The local office in Meridian, ID is aware of your request and measures have been taken at that location also to ensure your request is honored to the best of our ability.  TruGreen is fully committed to complying with all solicitation laws. If in the future you would like to receive TruGreen service we would ask that you contact us.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/27/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a verbal contract agreement with the salesman that we could pay for the contract in a years time. It was not said that if it was not paid with in a certain amount of days that there would be any additional charges. We have only had the service for a few months and they are not fulfilling their agreement to us which is that they would come out all through out the year. I also have a tree that is dying due to their service in which I have called about and they have done nothing about it. I also lost a tree due to them in which I had to cut it down. I have never lost a tree in the years that I have lived in my home. All my trees were doing just fine until I started using them. I have sent them payments monthly and now they have sent my account to collections. I have called them regarding this matter and the office manager, Yvonne, has refused and will not return any of my calls. I have also contacted their corporate office and spoke with someone their and they were no help. They told me that once it's there that its out of their hands and that they couldn't do anything about it. I also just got another bill in the mail from them for $60.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to re-place the tree that I had to end up removing and the one that is dying. And what I would like most is my account out of collections and taken care of.

Business Response: ****** talked to the customer on 9/14.  She explained to them we could only hold an account for 90 days before it is sent to collections.  Explained that we had completed 3 applications in May and still hadn't received the entire payment for those applications.  Customer agreed to pay the remaining past due balance, let him know we would suspend the collections until the payment is received and then we would cancel his account with the collection agency.  He agreed to pay the remainder of his balance 1/2 in Oct and 1/2 in November and we would resume his service, plus send a technician out to check on his trees and let him know what is going on with them.  Explained to customer we did one tree application an insect spray only on his tree this year.  Whatever caused him to lose the tree wouldn't come from that.  He was fine with our discussion.  I emailed him exactly what we agreed upon and he said he would payment in the mail.  I also went over our payment policy and explained that invoices are due upon receipt.  We are not a yearly company and our services do not work that way. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a Maple tree that is not getting enough iron. I have been a Trugreen customer for years and the issue gets worse every year. For approximately 18 months multiple technicians have been telling me about an Iron treatment that would save my tree for only $150.00 additional. I always say "I think you should save my tree without charging me more than the hundreds of dollars I pay every year already". They say "We will have a manager call you to discuss". This never happens. Finally I got tired of this and called and spoke to a local manager. I gave him the opportunity to do the right thing yet again and save my tree without charging me extra. This didn't happen so we agreed that if I was going to pay $150.00 it should be for something of value like and iron treatment and not the $55.00 I spend 3-4 times a year that have not helped me yet. I cancelled my yearly treatments and scheduled a $150.00 Iron treatment. Then I got yet another in a long series of $55.00 bills for a feeding that was of no value. I decided to go above the head of my local manager and see if that person knew the meaning of customer service. I called and was told that an Operation Manager would call me. This has still not happened and it has been over a week. In the meantime I called someone else for a second opinion. It turns out that my Plum tree that has been dying for years has a beetle infestation that Trugreen missed as well. He also mention that the Dormant Oil that I have been paying for for years is really not effective for the types of insects that attack maple trees. In addition he said unlike Trugreen they don't spray every year for insects unless I actually have an insect problem. Imagine the money I could have saved if I had been with them for 3 years? Plus I could have a healthy Plum tree.

Desired Settlement: How about a refund for all the services I didn't need or were of no value?

Business Response:

The Service Manager, ***** went and met with the customer on his property. Went over his trees and explained what was really happening, was able to show examples. *** ****** was satisfied with the diagnosis. Joel apologized for the communication issues he has had trying to get a hold of us and offered to knock $25 off of an iron treatment for his maple. *** ****** liked that idea, **** emailed him some photos of results we have had with this treatment and he said he would think about doing it, but wants to check with his other tree guy to find out what his treatment entails.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/28/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/9/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/28/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/21/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/18/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
8/19/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1