BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In The Snake River Region

BBB Accredited Business since

Green LawnCare and Landscape

Phone: (208) 376-4967 Fax: (208) 321-0581 P.O. Box 4181, Boise, ID 83711 http://www.greenlawncareinc.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Green LawnCare and Landscape meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Green LawnCare and Landscape include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Green LawnCare and Landscape
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 03, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1985 Business started locally: 01/01/1985 Business incorporated: 08/08/2001 in ID
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Agriculture, Dept. of
2270 Old Penitentiary Rd, Boise ID 83712
www.agri.idaho.gov
Phone Number: (208) 332-8500

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Sarah Soto, Office Manager Mr. Gary Banse, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Sarah Soto, Office Manager
Business Category

LAWN MAINTENANCE LANDSCAPE CONTRACTORS


Additional Locations

  • P.O. Box 4181

    Boise, ID 83711

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information

Complaint Detail(s)

2/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The service of Sprinkler blow-out was performed by an employee of the company on 10/08/2013. We never asked the company to perform the service. The employee entered the property without permission, and proceeded with the task. My wife was home, albeit alarmed, she stepped out of the house to ask what he was doing. She was informed that this was a scheduled service, by the previous owners,if we did did not want it performed we would have to call in to the office of the company to take our residence off of their list. This conversation occurred after the work was begun. On 11/11/2013 I contacted the office concerning a bill for services rendered. I do not feel obligated to pay this bill as the services were not requested by my family for our residence. In fact I had no intention of using the company the previous owners used as there was water damage from frozen lines that were discovered when we fired the system in the spring.The person with whom i spoke to at the company informed me that they could come back out and turn the water back on. While undoing their mistake seems appropriate we do not desire to have them re-enter the property. There was no mention that if they performed a restart that the bill would be negated. She did state the policy of contacting the owners via the phone to confirm that they wished to have the service performed. Unfortunately they never contacted us because we are the current owners of the property.

Desired Settlement: I request that the bill for services provided on 10/08/13 be considered paid in full by the company.

Business Response:

On 10/07/13 we placed a call advising we would be out to do the sprinkler blow-out on 10/08/13, we did not reach the customer however we did leave a message stating if they did not want the services done to please call back and let us know. We did not receive a call back so we proceeded with the service. We were unaware that the residence was now occupied by someone else. When we were there doing the service we were approached by the customers wife whom wanted to know why we were there and what we were doing, we explained to her what we were doing and that we had called to advise we were coming. At no time were we asked to stop the service or to leave the property, if we had been we would have happily obliged and there would have not been any charge. We then received a call on 11/11/13 concerning the bill for services rendered, in which we were asked to waive the fee since it was not a service that was requested by him but by the previous owner. We advised him that the charges would not be waived because the blow-out was performed however we could come out, turn the water back on and in doing so we would credit the charge. The customer asked why would he want us to come back and turn it on when turning the water off and blowing out the sprinklers was a needed service but that he shouldn’t be charged because he did not ask for the service. We informed him that because the service was done and we were not asked to stop the blow-out when his wife approached us during the service, the charges will not be waived. At that point he was told again that we would be happy to come out and reverse the service and the charge would be credited/negated but he declined.

 

***** ****

Office Manager

***** ******** **** ******** ************************** ************************

 


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

As you appreciate, a telephone call to the previous owners was placed on 10/07/13.  It is not there responsibility to contact the current owners.  There was a conversation between the worker who performed the service and a resident.  She made the correct choice, she contacted her husband immediately to discover if he had scheduled the service.At no time during the discussion I had with the representative from Green lawn care concerning the bill was it mentioned that the invoice would be waived if they returned to the property to tun the water back on


Green lawn care sent a representative to my residence to perform a service that I did not ask them to perform.  I see no reason to pay for a service I did not order. 


In a related note, I have been in contact with a separate company that performs annual service to my residence.  They were out last week after I made contact with them for service.  Their policy is to make positive communications in the affirmative that service is requested.  Had Green Lawn Care contacted me concerning sprinkler blow-out I most likely would have gave them the go ahead to perform the service. However they did not, they just showed up one day at a persons house that had never once contacted them for service. 


 

 

Regards,

**** *****

 

 

Business Response: Bill has been written off.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is the second year in a row that this company has come and blown out my sprinklers without my consent, and no prior notification. This year I came home to a notification that my sprinkers had been blown out on 10/8/13. Last year I assumed it was an oversight that I was not called to ask if I wanted the service again (I had, indeed requested the service 3 years ago, but did not sign a contract to continue). When I called the company on 10/10/13 to complain, I was told that "******* had called me ahead of time to discuss blowing out my sprinkers. I told the woman on the phone that I had received no such call, and she assured me that I had. The bill I received says that my sprinklers were blown out by "******** The conversation bothered me because the woman was implying that I was not telling the truth about never receiving a call about the service. I was also bothered because I have a dog, and if my dog had bit ************* when he came (without my knowledge or permission, as I stated), I would have been held liable. I do not feel that I should have to pay for a service I did not request or authorize. I am a single mom and am careful about who I allow on my property, and never consented for ************* to be on my property on 10/8/13.

Desired Settlement: I am not paying my bill, and would like to receive an apology from the company, and a statement showing that I owe no money for a service I did not request or authorize.

Business Response: On 10/07/2013 our sprinkler department ******** ******* called the customers that were scheduled to have their sprinkler systems blown out on 10/08/2013, including the complainant. When we call them to let them know we will be out, we leave them a message if they do not answer. In the message we include the statement "if you do not want the service please call us back at 376-4967 so we may remove you from the blow out list". This customers was scheduled for the annual blow out due to the fact we have been blowing out the sprinklers for her since 2011 with no mention of wanting to be removed from or have this service cancelled. Once a customer has this service done, because we guarantee our work and it is a service that is needed annually because of freezing conditions causing pipes and backflows to rupture, the customer is added to the list of customers that we call and schedule blow outs with annually. Which is what was done in this case and has been done since the first service in 2011. When the customer called in on 10/09/2013 to complain of the service being done this information was given to her as well as that ****** the manager called to let her know we would be out and that Robert was the technician that was out and blew out the system. We also advised her that we could come out, turn the water on and run it through the system. In doing this all charges would be void and there would be no balance on the account. The customer declined and informed us at this time to remove her from the list and to never do service for her again, which has been noted and we will comply.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I am disappointed that Green Lawn Care & Landscape, Inc. is not accepting responsibility that ****** *** ******* never actually called and left me a message notifying me that my sprinklers would be blown out.  I received no message stating that I could call a phone # and cancel the service, or I would have done so.  


I was not told, when I called to complain, that ****** was the one who blew out my sprinklers.  I was simply told that ****** called me, which I disagreed with.  The first time I came across the name ****** was when I received a bill for a service I did not request, and did not agree to.


I was not told, when I called to complain, that I could have the company come out to turn my sprinklers back on, and have no charge from the company.  


I am very disappointed that Green Lawn Care & Landscape, Inc. is creating further misinformation.


I completely disagree that a company should feel at liberty to continue a service that was requested once in 2011, with no contract signed. Even if the company had left a message for me prior to this unwanted sprinkler blowout, as they errantly claim to have left, if I had been out of town, or otherwise unable to check messages, I would expect that such a business would not come onto my property without my permission.  


I request an apology and a statement noting that I will not be charged for this service.


Regards,

***** *****

 

 

Business Response: We have been doing this customers blow outs since 2011 with no request to cancel the service. Had she called and requested the service cancelled we would have been happy to remove her from the list. When a customer calls in and complains that they did not want the service that was performed we are more than happy to come out and reverse the service which in turn voids the charges. Green Lawn Care and Landscape is sorry that she feels this way however we have been in service for many years doing our blow outs in the same fashion every year. We schedule the blow out place a call to the customer letting them know when we will be in the area to perform the service and if we do not reach the customer we leave a message letting them know to call us and cancel if they do not want the service done.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Green Lawn Care & Landscape continues to defend its business practice of coming onto my property 2 years in a row, without me having signed a contract, and without scheduling an appt., or having my permission to come blow out my sprinkers.  I strongly disagree with this business practice.  When I request a window washer, tree trimmer, or lawn service, and do not sign a contract, they do not return to my property without my permission, and use the excuse that I never "canceled their service."  


As I stated before, I have a large dog, and it is also a personal liability for me to have a person on my property, unscheduled, without my permission, when my dog could bite the person.


Green Lawn Care has incorrectly stated that I had a message left on either of my phones stating that my sprinklers would be blown out on 10/8/13.  I received no such message, and phone records would support that.


Even if I had received a message, I could have been out of town, or otherwise unable to check my messages, and as a rule do not allow people on my property unless I authorize it at a scheduled time.  This is, in fact, the law.


Green Lawn Care incorrectly stated that when I called on 10/9/13 to complain that they had blown out my sprinklers without my permission, that they 1) told me the correct person who had done it (the woman told me ******, not ******), and 2) that they had informed me of my right to have my sprinkler system turned back on and have the charge reversed.  I was never informed of that option.  I was only told that I was in the wrong, as a customer, for questioning their business practice of coming onto my property to perform a service I never consented to, and subsequently billing me.  I was told that because I had requested the service once, in 2011, that I should expect it to occur yearly unless I canceled (although I never signed a contract).


I received a Christmas postcard from Green Lawn and Landscape, Inc. yesterday.  It makes me wonder if I was ever even taken off of their list, as I requested, on 10/9/13.


I expect an apology for this business coming onto my property, not under contract, without my permission, and billing me for a service that I did not request.

Regards,

***** *****

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I do not accept their offer of paying 1/2 of the bill.  I feel strongly that I should not have to pay anything to Green Lawn Care when I did not request the sprinkler blowout service in 2013, never signed a contract, and they came onto my property without my permission.  

Regards,

***** *****

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

BBB Comments: The business offered to split the bill as a good will offer with the consumer the consumer did not accept that offer.   The BBB closed the file

11/28/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/9/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/11/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
1