BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In The Snake River Region

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides home building and land developing services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Coleman Homes, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Coleman Homes, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

9 Customer Reviews on Coleman Homes, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 4
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 5
Total Customer Reviews 9

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 07, 2010 Business started: 01/01/1972 in ID Business started locally: 03/23/2008
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Idaho Contractors Registration Board
Idaho Bureau of Occupational License, Boise ID 83702
https://secure.ibol.idaho.gov/IBOL/Home.aspx
Phone Number: (208) 334-3233

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Thomas Coleman, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas Coleman, Owner
Business Category

HOME BUILDERS


Additional Locations

  • 1859 S. Topaz Way Ste. 200

    Meridian, ID 83642 (208) 424-0020

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information

Complaint Detail(s)

4/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We built a home with Coleman Homes LLC., which was finished on August 12 2013. The home is was poorly built with many mistakes made throughout the process. The problems include issues with: Paint and finish work, structural and framing, irrigation and drainage, handrails not compliant with code, flickering lights, damaged flooring, options promised not delivered (no ceiling fan mount in covered patio), changes to original selections without notification. We moved into the home on 8/12/13 and my son was sitting on the stairs when his 5 year old cousin put his hand on the handrail. The handrail, which was mounted with drywall anchors came off of the wall and hit my son in the head breaking the skin and giving him a swollen forehead above his eye. a couple days later another handrail came off on my son again. We have now been in the home for 1 month and the handrails are still on the floor. We have made multiple attempts to have them installs with no contact from Coleman other than "they said they called". The wall behind the vanity is bowed in causing alignment issue with the floor. The superintendent adjusted the base board trim and filled with caulk, but is still looks bad. The vinyl flooring in the the downstairs bathroom is still damaged along with the master bath. We do not use the master bath tub due to that the fact water could leak into the floor. Every time we walk upstairs our feet are stabbed by tack strips due to the quality of install and carpet. I have left two messages with the warranty line over a week ago with no response and have not received a call from the superintendent responsible for our build since before labor day. At no time has Coleman Homes LLC. made any attempt to compensate us for all of the frustration and mistakes made on the project. We received an apology from one of the representatives in the sales office (not our salesperson) for my son. Overall we are very unhappy with this home. Our blue tape walk is still not complete.

Desired Settlement: We would like all of the above mentioned issues fixed within the next two weeks and would like some kind of apology from Thomas Coleman whom we have never seen or heard from for this very poorly managed and built home. We do not want to be asked again "can you live with this problem"? Fix the problems and stop patching them.It would be nice to have some kind of compensation for the frustration so we might actually like our home.

Business Response:

As per our conversation earlier, we received a notice of this complaint, and it is my understanding that we have now resolved this customer’s concerns. This was an instance where it was a huge benefit to have your office facilitating these types of issues. We were completely unaware of this problem due to a lack of communication from an employee who is no longer with the company. Since receiving notice of the complaint we have been in touch with these customers and I believe all is well. If there is still any outstanding concerns please let me know. Thank you very much,

 

******

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ** ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I have started another complaint that was not resolved. I would like to start an additional complaint as new issues have surfaced. We have not had any follow up with the exception of ***** ******. At this point we still have many problems in the house and don't even feel confident that we could successfully install landscaping without erosion. The problem with this house have absolutely ruined our first home buying experience and we have still not had any family or friends to see it since it is still under construction 7 months after the finish date. Coleman contract states that a Coleman representative will be present in the home when repairs are conducted. No one accompanies the repair contractors and only my wife is home when they come out most of the time. This has resulted in incomplete repairs and miscommunications. I would like to set up a meeting with ***** ******, ****** ******* and ***** ******** to discuss the problems, compensation and final dates for repair completion. Once again, this is the second BBB complaint we have filed and I stated that we would contact a lawyer and file suit if things were not finalized. I will be contacting our lawyer depending on the result of this meeting.

 We would like compensated for the problems in this home and all items to be fixed immediately regardless of contractor availability. Please hire additional contractors if Coleman does not have sufficient resources. List of repairs that we want done:1. Replace and upgrade laminate flooring in home.2. Finish all general repairs including paint, landscaping and concrete cracking by March 14, 2014.

Regards,

***** *** ****** ****

 

 

Business Response: Because of this response, we discovered that we completely dropped the ball in resolving this customer's issues. Since that time, we have contacted and met with them and are working to resolve their concerns. This was a breakdown in communication on our end and we are committed to resolving the issues.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sales Process When I first started working with Coleman Homes, I had been warned by others that had built custom homes about the extra costs that are never disclosed at the beginning of the process. Because I was forewarned and am naturally very detailed oriented, I would not sign on any dotted line until their sales dept. walked me through every possible option in the sales process, in an attempt to finalize the cost of building a home with Coleman. The sales person did say that there would be an estimated dollar amount on the flooring. Otherwise, she stated that the dollar amount she was quoting me would not change unless I initiated changes after signing. This turned out to be far from the truth. Within days of signing the contract, Coleman informed me that the sales representative had underestimated the flooring cost by $7,000. She had also forgotten to add in the cost for the extra bay on the garage. She added a gas stove, without a gas line. Missed the upgraded doorknobs. Misrepresented the size of the trim above the cabinets. They did not notify that I had selected a drainage lot, which caused me to have to pay an additional $10,000 dollars in drainage areas in my backyard to avoid the mounds that made my backyard look like it had gullies. To add insult to injury, after my assigned sales representative had so thoroughly ruined the sales process, I requested to speak with someone else in the company, and I was told it would “take an act of God” to meet with a different person. Soon after, I was told by the Coleman Homes Sales Rep that Thomas Coleman, who usually attends the final meeting to welcome the client home, would not meet with me because he would not do anything for me and “didn’t want to listen to me vent” to him about the headache of working with his team. I was informed if I didn’t like it I could walk away without my earnest money. I would have backed out had I not already invested a lot of time and money. All of these errors turned in to thousands of dollars that I had to pay above and beyond the original quoted cost for the home. If the sales representative did not understand how to price all of the selections for the sales appointments that were made prior to signing, she should not have continued with the process. However, even when I was informed of all of the price discrepancies quoted by their sales person, Coleman Homes did not even pretend to care. Building Process A contractor also stained the garage floor leaving a big brown mark in the cement in the garage that Coleman Homes would not fix. On a crawl space access I asked a Colman homes representative if they could make it larger so that a normal adult could fit through it to gain access to the crawl space, the representative stated that would not be a problem. Later during the building process, they recanted, saying that they only needed to make it big enough for someone to access the water shut off valve. I was informed that a 10 foot single sided gate was not a possibility on a side of my house by Coleman homes representative, and later have been informed by numerous reputable fencing contractors that it is a simple modification. Their representative also promised me a copy of the blue print of my house, which they did not deliver. Warranty Process I Notified Coleman of dented and poorly attached mailbox, The mail box was attached better, but the mailbox still was dented up and now has rusting. I also notified them of multiple areas inside the home that needed paint touch ups, after a couple months of waiting; I just took care of it myself. Colman left paint over spray on the white vinyl fencing that never was fixed, I had to clean myself. I notified Coleman representative that gas oven was somewhere leaking gas when oven was turned on which he confirmed, and have yet to hear back from Coleman and that was two weeks ago. This in my opinion is a safety risk. I have spoken with Coleman numerous times about a pavement crack in entry way to front door and representatives have yet to do anything in 8 months which has caused the crack to go from 2 feet in length to 9 feet. I notified Coleman of vinyl bubbling in two different areas of house and still waiting on repair. Fence cap was blown off on windy day that Coleman has stated that they would replace but have yet to do so. (The Final Straw) Coleman also had a contractor that installed an inadequate heating and cooling system. I informed Colman of the issue numerous times that the system was greatly underperforming in the heating and cooling of the home. It was not till I spoke with numerous neighbors that Coleman was replacing multiple houses systems in the neighborhood that I called again and they decided to re-inspect. Upon inspection Coleman decided that they were only going to replace the furnace unit, install dampers up size the coil in the system. A neighbor a couple houses away with the exact same model and floor plan with the exact same old system got his condenser changed out as well. I then contacted two independent reputable contractors and had them come out and give me an assessment of what they would suggest. Each Contractor stated that a new condenser was also needed to bring the system up to adequate levels of cooling. Coleman still decided that they would not replace the undersized condensing unit. I am shocked about the lack of respect that Coleman Homes has shown me throughout every step of the process with them.

Desired Settlement: The resolution that I am seeking is to have a fair and reasonable compensation for all the mistakes that I have had to pay additional amounts for, along with the repair or replacement of all the issues that have yet to be addressed.

Business Response:

*** ********** * *** ********* ********

 

*We stopped by and reviewed the mailbox today, December 16th and we will replace the mailbox even though mailboxes aren’t covered by your warranty.

 

*We have taken care of multiple paint touch-up requests over the course of *** ************ warranty period. At one point the painters had to make (2) trips to finish the paint touch-up due to no backyard access.

 

*The stain on the concrete was caused from sawdust and we put forth our best efforts to remove the stain with chemicals and pressure washing.

 

*We don’t have any record of this request, but we will get a vendor out to help him.

****** reviewed the concrete concerns with *** ********** originally, but the concrete cracks are not separating far enough apart per the NAHB standards and the concrete is not heaving. We reviewed the concrete today, December 16th and the cracks are still not warrantable. We go by the NAHB standards and the concrete crack doesn’t fall within the guidelines.

 

*We completed the vinyl repair in the utility room and I have emails from *** ********** confirming. The additional vinyl repairs can be reviewed.

 

*We can’t control the weather or the damages it creates, but we will get a new cap for your fence post.

 

 *We received an email from *** ********** on 10.21.13 asking us to call because he had been doing some research on his HVAC system, and had discussed with neighbors on their results on dealing with Coleman Homes. We called and had a reputable vendor review the HVAC equipment and give us their feedback based on the calculations specific to their home. The review indicated the blower and coil was in need of an upgrade and the condenser was the adequate size for his home. We didn’t have to install dampers because per code dampers are not a building code for the **** ** ********. We went above replacing the necessary equipment. We installed the dampers so we could balance the air flow throughout his home. There are several variables calculated for each home and the equipment installed is based off the calculations for the specific home. Homes can be of the same model and size, but require smaller or larger equipment. All homes have their own calculations for specific reasons.

  

*Our contract is not with the independent contractors whom evaluated your equipment and we can only use the information given to us by our reputable vendor. Based on the review the upgraded equipment is adequate and we went above the protocol and added dampers and balanced home to ensure all equipment and home is properly heating and cooling.

 

*We have stood behind our warranty and gone above and beyond from the construction stages through warranty. We are offering to replace your mailbox and fence cap even though these requests are not covered under warranty. In addition to your HVAC concerns, we offered to add dampers and balance your home to ensure your home is functioning at its fullest potential. We will review the additional vinyl concerns and the gas smell by the oven. The HVAC equipment has been replaced to meet the specs of your home and the concrete cracks don’t fall within the national association of home builder guidelines. Therefore, the concrete will not be replaced.

 

 

* While building *** ********** s home we noticed some inconsistencies in the color of the granite tile on the island counter top. Myself and ****** ******* called *** ********** to the house to show him the issue, we then laid out over 20 new pieces of granite tile for him to chose from so we could find the best possible match to replace the pieces that we thought did not quite match. *** ********** was glad that we brought this to his attention and was also happy that we let him chose the replacement pieces. This was at no cost to *** **********.

 Just before we closed on *** ********** home he was worried about his back yard, Coleman homes had ***** *********** come in and regrade his back yard and leave dirt for backfilling a retaining wall that he was going to be installing at a later time. ** ********** did not pay for any backyard landscaping. Coleman homes went above and beyond to help *** ********** in his landscape plan.

 The stain on the concrete was caused from sawdust, and yes we did try extensively to remove it with chemicals and pressure washing. The crawl access was large enough that the building inspector could fit thru (he was 6'2" and 230lbs) The gate, we don't offer a 10" gate. Yes *** ********** asked me for a set of plans, I told him that I could not give him any. The onsite plans from another home just like his disappeared shortly after it was framed.

 Paint- *** ***** ******** went back to *** *********** several times for paint touch up, one of which was after he moved in.

 These are the issues I am aware of. All others I have no knowledge of.

 

 

 

***** ******* ******** ** ***** * ********* ************************** ** ************ *** *** ** ************ ** ************ **** ***** ***** **** ***** *** ********* ** *****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau: 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. 

** ********* *** ** ******

The mailbox was not installed at the time of my move in and was noted on the final walk, and was not installed until well after I had moved into the home. This made any type of quality control on my part impossible and I had no way to prevent Coleman Homes from installing poor quality mailbox, that was dented, and poorly attached. 

 Why would a painter need access into the back yard of the house if the paint touch ups were inside?  The inside paint touch up were requested on the final walk before move in and any type of painter did not show until 6/12/13 (to fix outside paint issues).  I moved into the home in January 2013.  I have had
no locks installed on the gates and use the same latching systems that Coleman Homes installed.  I have no idea why their painters would not have been able to gain access to the back yard.   

Coleman’s response does not pertain to the issue discussed.  

This item was brought to ******* ****** ******** ***** ********) on 10/30/13 at meeting at my house during a HVAC system walk.  I mentioned it to him and he turned on and inspected and agreed with issue with oven and stated he would have vendor right out to fix it.    

I was made aware of the fact that the crack needed a ¼ inch separation or lift or fall for any safety concerns or repair.  I am concerned about the fact that crack that was 2 foot in length is now 9 due to Coleman Homes not being proactive.  Coleman Homes has an exclusion in their Warranty that reads, minor settlement cracks in concrete typical to settling will be excluded from Warranty.  I assumed that moving from a 2 foot crack to a 9 foot would make in no longer minor.   

 That repair was right after move in and was for a tear in the linoleum flooring in the utility room. This again is different issue.  I spoke with ****** ******** on 9/11/13 about the vinyl bubbling along with showing ******* ****** on 10/30/13, where he took pictures.  Both employees stated that they would send a vendor out for repair.  It still has not been addressed.   

 This was not the whole case.  I had also made calls and met with Coleman Homes and one of their vendors on 1/9/13, 1/23/13, 7/1/13.  Each time they stated the system was working properly and that the balancing of the house and inadequate temperatures in the house were normal and should be expected.  The airflow is still inadequate the temperature still varies by 10 degrees from one side of the house to the other.  The vendor they had come out has addressed the problem with a partial new system but has still not fixed the HVAC problems that continue to raise concern.   

 As far as the dampers to balance the home, the home still has a 10-degree difference from one side of the house to the other.  So the above protocol to add dampers has not balanced the home.  As far as reputable vendors the first vendor that Coleman Homes had contracted that installed the system has received an A- on the BBB website.  Not to mention the fact that every vendor has agreed that they installed a completely inadequate HVAC system in not only my home but also a majority of others in the neighborhood.  The second vendor they sent out has 380 complaints issued against them on the BBB website, where the two vendors I called out have had 2 complaints apiece.  Coleman Homes has no right to say that they have addressed the problem and fixed it.  The fact is that they have not fixed the issue and their track record on vendor selection has not been effective. 

  The simple fact is that Coleman homes has not gone above and beyond on the warranty on any stages of the process.  I still have numerous issues not fixed that they stated they would.  Numerous issues that I have had to fix myself, and multiple ones that have been repaired only after months of waiting.  As far as the mailbox refer to previously mentioned paragraph above.  The HVAC System is still not functioning properly and do not meet the specs of the home according to two real reputable contractors.   

 THESE NOTES ARE FROM BRUCE (A WARRANTY & CONSTRUCTION REPRESENATTIVE): 

What does the granite tile have anything to do with the issues raised other then the grout on the tile is breaking apart and cracking, which I notified Coleman Homes on Nov 21st and still have yet to see a repair done.  As far as no cost to me, why would I have paid for granite tile that was completely different coloring?   

This is again a response to a colossal misrepresentation that Coleman had when they sold me the house.  The whole reason for this poor attempt at appeasement was due to the fact that I was not informed by the sales person that I would be in a drainage lot where some of the homes around me would be a total of 4 feet higher then mine creating a issue of either have a back yard that was nothing but hills or have one that was flat with a drainage system to compensate to keep a backyard that was reasonably flat.   The dirt that was left was supposed to be about 5 yards according to ***** on 12/11/12.  They left over three times that which caused me to have to 3 extra dump truck loads taken removed from the property.  This supposed help cost me more money then it would have been without it.   

***** stated on 12/6/12, that he would have the access panel on the west side of the house cut to make it easier access for to the crawl space of the home.  He then later recanted on 12/11/12.  The inspector did not go down that access he went down another.  The fact is that ***** stated he would have them enlarge the access to not only grant access to the water supply shut off but also to the crawl space on that side of the house, he did not deliver that promise.   

 
As far as the plans go I find that this shows the level of caliber of company I am dealing with. I find the last line in their previous paragraph is inflammatory and slanderous.  Insinuating that I took plans that showed up missing at another home that matched mine, is horrible and wrong!  Why would I take those plans when each home is custom built (a fact that Coleman Homes stresses in excess) and has different contractors placing items and laying electrical and plumbing lines in varying different locations.  Why would I take someone else’s plans when I could just submit a request to the city of meridian for them?   

All these were for external paint and caulking issues and had nothing to do with my complaint of inside painting issues that I had to correct myself.    

The other issues were in my complaint.   

1.      Under estimated flooring by $7,000 

2.      Missed added cost of 4 bay on garage. 

3.      Missed added cost of gas line for gas stove. 

4.      Misrepresented trim size on cabinets. 

5.      Missed added cost for upgraded door trim. 

6.      Miss represented that lot I had chosen was a drainage lot causing around $10,000 dollars in drain field modifications 

I appreciate the replacement of the mailbox and fence cap, but these are the least expensive of all issues I have brought to your attention.  Please replace, repair, or compensate me fairly for the other issues previously discussed.   

Regards,

*** **********

 

Business Response: ********* ***** *** *** ************ *** ************ **** *** **********. We appreciate the opportunity to address his concerns. I have read his latest response and I do not believe we have anything new to add. Although he continues to refer to it, *** ********** received exactly what he paid for, and was never charged for anything that was not included in his home. I understand that there some challenges while he went through the process of selecting what to include in his home, but in the end we built precisely the home specified in our contract with him. As stated in our initial response to his complaint, we have and will continue to evaluate and address any warranty concerns he has. However, our warranty is not limitless and we must stay within the bounds of what we promise and contract to do, or we will be out of business. I regret that *** ********** is not satisfied and feels that he is owed some sort of settlement, but I see no basis for that. It is our company philosophy to work diligently to satisfy our customers and to deliver on the promises we make. We do not endeavor to appease discontented customers by paying them off. We will continue to hold up our end of the bargain and provide *** ********** with the top of the line new home warranty he received when he purchased his home from us. ***** *** ***** *** **** **** ** **** ******* *** ****** *** ** **** ** *** **** *** ********** ****** ******* ****** ******* ******* ***** **** ** ***** **** ***** *** ********* ***** ***** ** ***** *** * **** ** ************************

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1