BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
The Snake River Region

BBB Accredited Business since

Butte Fence, Inc.

Phone: (208) 884-0203 Fax: (208) 884-8929 2049 E. Wilson Lane, Meridian, ID 83642 http://www.buttefence.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides fencing-sales, service & contractors as well as decks/patios, docks, awnings & canopies.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Butte Fence, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Butte Fence, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Butte Fence, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 02, 2003 Business started: 11/01/1995 in ID Business incorporated: 10/26/1995 in ID
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Idaho Contractors Registration Board
Idaho Bureau of Occupational License, Boise ID 83702
https://secure.ibol.idaho.gov/IBOL/Home.aspx
Phone Number: (208) 334-3233

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jared Bell, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jared Bell, President
Business Category

FENCE DOCK BUILDERS PATIO & DECK BUILDERS AWNINGS & CANOPIES

Hours of Operation
Monday through Friday: 8AM-5PM Saturday: 9AM-1PM
Method(s) of Payment
Credit Cards, Cash, Checks
Service Area
Southern Idaho, Oregon & Nevada.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Butte Fence, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2049 E. Wilson Lane

    Meridian, ID 83642 (208) 884-0203

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information

Complaint Detail(s)

5/13/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/29/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a gentleman come out to get a quote for fencing. I had to call a week later to get the quote emailed to me as they hadn't sent it yet. When they did I was pleasantly surprised by the quote so I called to verify that the quote was for the complete install of my entire fence. I was told it was. I had decided at that price to not look any further and to go ahead with Butte Fence as it was such a great deal. While I was working on financing I called Butte Fence a number of times to assure that the price quoted was the correct price and to let them know we were just working on our financing and we were planning to go through them. Every time I talked to a gentleman named ***. Everytime he assured me that was the correct price and that they just needed half down to get started. Once our financing was complete I had my husband go put the half down. Not much later he got a phone call from Butte Fence telling him that the quote we were given was a quote for only HALF of our fence!! In complete shock since I had called to verify this so many times, I called and talked to *** to figure out what was going on and why we were misled and all he said was that he apologized and we could come get our money since he wasn't going to give us half our fence for free. He never once sounded sincere about his apology, or like our business even matters. He basically just dismissed my complaint and my business. I would think that when a customer calls to verify a quote that you would thoroughly verify it. And not just once but 3 different times!!!!

Desired Settlement: I would like Butte Fence to either honor what I was told a number of times or to atleast attempt to resolve this in some way. I put in the work to get financing based on the quote that I was given 3 different times and I feel as though they are completely dismissing their mistake and responsibility here as a company. I would like to be contacted by the owner to discuss this and at the very least get the sincere apology I deserve.

Business Response:

**** ** ** ******** ** * ********* **** ** *** ****** ******** ****** ** **** ***** ********

 I sincerely apologize to **** ******* for any misleading statements I might have made during our phone conversations. I can assure you I never intended to obfuscate the total cost of her fence project at any time. I take as many as 40 phone calls in any given day and I do not recall speaking with **** ******* regarding the fence quotes issued to her by our *** ******* ****.   

Quote #39224, 39225, 39226 and 39227 were E-Mailed to **** ******* at “************* on 9/24/13 at 10:30 A.M and were in her possession at the time of her request for funds from ************

Butte Fence welcomes the opportunity to continue working with **** ******* on this project or any future project.     

Sincerely,

 Tom Billingsley

Butte Fence, Inc.             

**** **** ****** ***** ********* ***** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired this company to build a small vinyl fence and gate across our driveway. First, they put the posts in wrong. We told the installer that the posts were not correct so he dug them up and put them in again. Again, they were not straight or sunk deep enough. Also, the holes for the rails did not lineup. It took us 2 weeks to get them to send someone out to look at the mess. Finally, someone came out and said they would redo them, which they did a few days later. Then they said they would be back to hang the rails and gates this week, now they say it will be next week...maybe, because they are having trouble getting the paint to seal. We paid 1/2 up front and all we get is excuses.

Desired Settlement: I want the fence up no later than Tuesday 08/6/13, which is the "current" promise date. I also want some kind of compensation for all the phone calls, headaches, and delays that we have had to deal with. If the owner/supervisor had come to look when we first told him the job wasn't correct this could have been avoided, but he said he was too busy and we had to keep calling for 2 weeks! We are still having to keep calling and all we get are excuses

Business Response:

I have talked with my staff to get up to speed on this project. I understand that the crew went out to the job the day we were scheduled. The posts got installed incorrectly. We wanted to get it correct so we sent a new crew out there and puled them and reset them correctly. We could not order the custom made steel gate frames until the posts were set right. Once they were set correctly we ordered the gates to be made. The customer was told this was a couple week process due to the gates needing to be powder coated. This is something that is outsourced and is out of our hands as far as how quickly they get turned around and back to us. The customer calls several times a day thinking that this will speed things up and it just simply doesn't work that way. We have tried to keep the customer apprised to the status. we were told the gates would be done on Tuesday the 6th of August. We will pick them up and get them to our shop so we can add the vinyl portion to the gate. We will then have the crew out there to finish the project on Wednesday the 7th of August.

Jared Bell

President

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Butte Fence did not show up or call on the scheduled day to install our fence. My husband called them at the end of the day and they told him we were actually scheduled for the following day (which was wrong) and that they would be out between 10 and 11 in the morning. So the following day came and they didn't show up or call - again! I called after hours when I got home from work and left a message and asked to be called first thing in the morning by someone in management. I waited for 20 minutes after they opened and didn't get a call, so I had to call. They connected me with *****, who is supposedly a manager of some kind, but he sounded like a young guy who just woke up and could have cared less about my complaint. He did call his installer and called me right back (the only positive in the whole situation). He said his installer would be out between 10 and 11. I asked what happened and how they were going to make it right. He said his installer must have gotten behind and should have called, but he didn't. I told him it was an inconvenience for us because they are not the only contractors with are working with currently, and it was only then that he FINALLY apologized. He said all they could do is come out and do the install and that he understands it's an inconvenience but... oh well, I guess?

Desired Settlement: Being a business owner myself, customer service is a TOP priority. I think there should always be good communication (which there was not); a sincere, immediate apology (which there was not); and ultimately it would have been nice to receive some sort of discount for the inconvenience and lack of consideration, like 10% off our installation or something. We don't feel valued by this company at all. I wish our hard earned money would have gone to a company who cared about their clients.

Business Response:

I am responding to the complaint submitted on May 16th from a ******** ******. I have tried contacting Jennifer to address the issues she discusses in her complaint. She has not called me back to discuss the issue. We talked about the complaints she had with our company in our weekly meeting this morning. We take customer service very seriously. We felt badly about the fact that we didn’t start her job on time. **** in our office did tell her that the crew was running one day late. She seemed ok with that at the time but then later called in after hours and left a message stating how unhappy she was. ***** our Operation Manager did talk with her and apologized that there was a delay. We are sorry she didn’t feel it was heartfelt. I assure you that it was. I am willing to discuss this with her but she has yet to call me back. Let me know if there is anything else you need from me.

 

Thanks

 

Jared Bell

President

Butte Fence, Inc.

2049 E. Wilson Lane

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******. I have since been able to get a hold of the business contact (he had left me a message, I had left him one...) and we had a nice, calm discussion about the complaint. He apologized and assured me that their business does indeed take customer service very seriously and they do value me as a customer. He did offer to extend a 10% discount for the inconvenience, which I was very appreciative of. 

Regards,

 

 

******** ******

 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/2/2011 Problems with Product/Service