BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In The Snake River Region

This Business is not BBB accredited

LW Johnson

Additional Locations

Phone: (208) 629-7658 314 S. 9th St. Ste, 100, Boise, ID 83702 http://www.lwjohnson.net

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides construction/remodeling, general contracting and home building services.

BBB Accreditation

On 8/22/2013 the business's accreditation from BBB was revoked.

The revocation was due to violation of BBB Accreditation Standards:

6A. Promptly respond to all complaints forwarded by BBB by:

  1. Resolving the complaint directly with the complainant and notifying BBB, or
  2. Providing BBB with a response that BBB determines:
    • is professional,
    • addresses all of the issues raised by the complainant,
    • includes appropriate evidence and documents supporting the business' position, and
    • explains why any relief sought by the complainant cannot or should not be granted.

6B. Make a good faith effort to resolve disputes, which includes mediation if requested by BBB. Other dispute resolution options, including arbitration, may be recommended by BBB when other efforts to resolve a dispute have failed. BBB may consider a business' willingness to participate in recommended dispute resolution options in determining compliance with these standards.

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for LW Johnson include:

  • 7 complaints filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 3 complaints filed against business
  • 2 complaints filed against business that were not resolved
  • BBB Accreditation was revoked because the business failed to honor its accreditation agreement with BBB.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on LW Johnson
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 13, 2012 Business started: 05/01/2002 in ID Business started locally: 01/01/2007
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Idaho Contractors Registration Board
Idaho Bureau of Occupational License, Boise ID 83702
https://secure.ibol.idaho.gov/IBOL/Home.aspx
Phone Number: (208) 334-3233

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Lawrence Johnson, Owner
Business Category

CONTRACTORS-GENERAL HOME BUILDERS CONSTRUCTION & REMODELING SERVICES

Service Area
Treasure Valley

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    314 S. 9th St. Ste, 100

    Boise, ID 83702 (208) 629-7658

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4477 Cartwright Rd.

    Boise, ID 83714 (208) 590-3551

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information

Complaint Detail(s)

11/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had contracted with LW Johnson on May 16, 2013 to complete a bathroom remodel that was supposed to have been completed on or about June 16, 2013. It has been almost 5 months and they have only worked a total of 4 days. The project is far from completion. The bathroom is unusable and the contractor won't tell me when he will be able to finish it.

Desired Settlement: I either want the project completed in the next 10 days or a refund of my deposit.

Business Response: *** ********* has been a customer of ours for several years. L.W.Johnson had several changes recently and *** ********* and his job have been neglected and not up to L.W.Johnson Standards. L.W.Johnson will be sending *** ********* a refund check this coming week. *** ********* from the bottom of my heart I apologise completely. You are a good person, and great customer. We will send you the check.

 
Lawrence Johnson

BBB's Final Determination: The business failed to resolve the complaint issues.

10/28/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had Lawrence and his crew paint my house 2 years ago. I paid extra for a 25 year warranty. Within months I noticed some trim that was peeling and didn't seem to have been painted. Lawrence finally came out the next spring and agreed that it needed attention. His foreman was to call me, which never happened. Subsequent phone calls conveyed miscommunications between Lawrence and his foreman, but I was not contacted. Since then, I have noticed other areas that clearly were never painted and all my efforts to contact Lawrence have been unsuccessful. The person who referred Lawrence to me has since had him paint her interior with no complaints, but she had no other contact info for me, only suggested that since he was running for City Council, perhaps he was too busy. He lost the election and has not been responsive to emails, voicemail, etc. Most recently the cell number I have gives me a recording stating the mailbox is full. The business number is out of service. I don't know what recourse I have at this time. Thanks for any help you might be able to provide.

Desired Settlement: I want my paint job finished.

Business Response: **** ******* was a wonderful customer. Her house was beautiful before and look fantastic now. When finished with a paintjob, L.W.Johnson always does a final walk through with the customer to make sure there completely satisfied before they make there final payment. This was the case with her job. We have been back once close to the finish of the project to do some more touchups, which is totally fine. The 25year warranty **** received is for the super paint from ******* ******** ***** **. This warranty is for the product. However, now that I have her phone number I will be calling to schedule a walk through with her to get this issue resloved.

 
Lawrence

Consumer Response:

I filed a previous complaint, assigned number 9714055. Mr. Johnson indicated on Sept. 23 that he would call me to resolve the issue of the incomplete paint job, now over 2 years in dispute. As of today, I have heard nothing from him and wonder what my options might be. Thank you for your assistance.
I want him and his crew to finally finish the paint job!
 

 

BBB's Final Determination: The business failed to resolve the complaint issues.

9/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: L.W. Johnson collected my deposit of 50% for my bathroom remodel and never showed up to do any of the work. I call the owner ******** *******, the Sales Rep **** *******, and the project manager ******* ***** and non of them return my calls. I have spoken with ******** once and he lied and gave me some story about how he'd be out soon. It has been Months!

Desired Settlement: I would like to get my deposit back and rid my hands of this "fly by night" contractor.

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern:


When we were contracted by ***** we were fully intending to do the work. Some other opportunities came up as well as some employees leaving us and we did not have the time or resources to get around to his job. As for employees of this company telling him they would get to it, we truly did intend on it. But recently realized that it wasn't going to happen. My name is **** and I am the Administrative Assistant for L.W. Johnson Construction and Development, LLC. And a few weeks back when we came to that realization that we would be unable to do the work he had paid us for I began to call him to set up a time and day for him to pick up the deposit that he had paid. The contact number that I have for him has no voicemail so I continually called several times in the past 2 weeks with no response or call back. We are unable to give a customer a refund if they do not intend on answering the phone. If he would like his money back he needs to contact our office at ###-###-#### and we will take care of the situation. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They have promised to help me finance and get a roof on my house since January. On April 27, 2013, **** ******* came to my home and collected a check for $400 and he asked for $300 in cash which I gave him. The check has cleared. He promised I would be put on the the list for new roofs and they would start right away. They did not start when he said. I kept calling he kept putting me off. I asked to speak to his boss. His boss called me and we agreed that he would send me a check. The check did not come when promised. **** called and said he would bring it to my house. He did not come when he said he would. I emailed him. He said he would mail it. That has been a week ago.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money back.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

7/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed 2 contracts 1 for painting and 1 for re-roofing. None of the prep work agreed on in the paint contract was done. Only part of the deck was painted. Areas that were not to be painted were sprayed. After 2 days the paint was already peeling. They agreed that it needed to be repainted and the prep work done, but no one has made any effort to resolve this. They were paid in full. After my roof was torn off, they informed me that they had not checked to see if it was skip sheathing prior to writing the bid and I now needed to sign a new contract and pay an additional $4,700, the original bid was $8,000. They could not proceed until I wrote a check for the additional amount. My roof was left exposed without tarps and the old roof left in my driveway without a trailer. There were nails and staples on all 4 sides of my house. I called 2 other roofers to find that my roof was not skip sheathing and did not need to be covered with plywood, and LW Johnson measured my roof to be 45 square ft. The other roofers and my insurance co measured it at 35 square ft. They were charging me $1.10/sq foot to cover the roof in plywood, this is a difference of about $1,000. After I called and told them I would pay for the tear off, but not sign a new contract, they abandoned the job. My roof was left in the driveway, there was no trailer so the nails were all over the driveway and lawn. I had to hire another company to haul it away. I have called Lawrence Johnson who said he would get back to me, but didn't. I have emailed several times. Sent photos, but no response. Called the supervisor of the job who also said he would get back to me and didn't. The job has since been finished by another co. and I have to pay again. Lawrence won't answer my calls and his voice mail is full. ****, the supervisor doesn't have voice mail set up. They cashed my check 4/1/13, it is now 5/5/13 and they have made no effort to settle with me. This has cost me more due to the way it was handled. I feel scammed.

Desired Settlement: I have paid $6,500. I am willing to pay $500 for the painting of the side of the house, the only satisfactory part of the job. I have to have the deck completely redone, and had to hire others in an emergent situation to clean up the roofing and get my roof covered before real damage occured. I would like a refund of $6,000.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

7/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1