BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
The Snake River Region

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides used auto sales.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Alic Motors, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Alic Motors, LLC include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Alic Motors, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 22, 2011 Business started: 08/28/2009 in ID
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Idaho Transportation Department
3311 W State St , Boise ID 83703
Phone Number: (208) 334-8000

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Asim Alic, Owner Mr. Renato Alic, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Asim Alic, Owner
Customer Contact: Mr. Renato Alic, General Manager
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS-USED CARS

Hours of Operation
Monday through Saturday: 10AM-7PM
Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Credit Card, Check
Service Area
Boise Idaho and the surrounding areas.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Alic Motors, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 8904 W. Fairview Ave.

    Boise, ID 83704 (208) 323-6005

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information

Complaint Detail(s)

12/6/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Vehicle from Alic Motors on October 19, 2013 with the agreement with the owner ****** who agreed he would take care of the vehicle repairs I noticed that needed to be done while I test drove it. (The tire sensors need replaced.) In turn, I put a down payment of $2000.00 in cash with the agreement that come the following Monday October 21, 2013 I would pay the vehicle in full with a cash payment of $12000.00. I purchased my vehicle on Monday being told that I did not need the title and the paperwork I was provided would be efficient enough in getting the vehicle registered under my name. On October 31, 2013, I drove to the Ontario DMV expecting to get my vehicle registered since the vehicle only has a 30 day temporary license. When I arrived at the DMV, I spoke to **** who was assisting me in registering my vehicle. **** stated without the title, She could not assist me any further. I looked through my paperwork, asked me to call Alic Motors and I called them and they had stated they had already mailed the title to Salem, OR. Alic Motors could not state if they had mailed it to my home address or the DMV. **** asked to speak to them,They had stated to her that they had mailed it also, but would not disclose any information to it's whereabouts. **** verified the VIN number and Odometer reading while I was there. I had Called Alic Motors back and they had verified they had not mailed the title and they still had the title to my vehicle. Alic Motors told me they would over night the title to the Ontario, OR DMV. I agreed to wait, and I waited until 4:30 P.M on the same business day and ****** the owner who was supposed to follow up with me had left for the evening and the title still had not been sent to the DMV in Ontario, OR. I was hungup on with a sales person from Alic Motors and I called back and spoke to ******* who simply said that I had a 30 day permit and the title would be sent when it got sent. I recieved no resolution to an agreement or help to obtain my title for my vehicle

Desired Settlement: I would like compensation for my time and gas that I spent to drive to the Ontario, OR DMV, The orginal agreement of the repairs done for the vehicle before I purchased the vehicle in full. The title expedited to the Ontario, OR DMV.

Business Response: ** **** ** *******. I handled most of this situation with **** ********** **** called us from the DMV with questions on why he couldn't register the 2004 Lexus GX470. I talked to the lady working with him at the DMV and she stated that OR was a title in hand state and they couldn't allow him to register the vehicle without first having possession of the title. She asked me if the title had been sent out and if so where the title was sent too I told her I believe it was sent to the main head quarters in OR. But the owners wife handles all the titling paperwork and she was not in so I had no way of verifying it.  I also told her that's why out of state customers receive a 30 day temporary permit. At this point it was only a week after the initial sell and there was still plenty of time before his temporary tags would expire. After hanging up with her he called me back and said we are lying and rip offs and was cussing me out and yelling over the phone. I tried to explain to him that we had a 30 day window to process out of state transactions and that's why he had a 30 day temporary tag. He continued to threaten us with a lawyer and so forth I asked him to stay yelling at me because its rude and I don't have to listen to it. He proceeded to cut me off and yell so I hung up on him. After that he called back ready to listen to what we had to say. He said he wanted the tracking number to the packaged documents that we had sent out. We paid for rushed shipping and supplied him with a tracking number so he could monitor it's arrival. Even know this is maybe two weeks into the transaction and we still had two weeks before the title had to be sent we went out of our way to meet the needs of ****. He left our office with a tracking number for his title and a check for $100. The check was for the arrival of his newborn baby we simply wanted to reach out and help with the purchase of something for his newborn. He was very happy with this and thanked us several times he also apologized for the way he had treated us. When **** left he was happy and had no more concerns about the title. Not only did he receive the title he had the vehicle registered before the 30 day temp was expired. If you have any questions feel free to call thanks very much.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** ** **** ** *********** ****** and I just traded my 98 Tacoma 71,000 miles for a 98 Dodge Durango 141,000 miles at Alic Motors in Boise on Fairview- phone number ************ straight across plus $1350 in check form to me. He told me his mechanic had gone over the vehicle and it was tip top. I didn't notice anything wrong with it until the next day when I had my oil changed. It leaked everywhere! I have an invoice from ***** **** explaining leaks. Also, bad brakes, and battery. After severe complaint to him he paid for the battery, but played dumb when it came to all of the other problems. He told me he would give me his price on all of the parts, but then had a salesman from the car lot next door order them. Coming to find out the manager at Orielly auto parts on Fairview wont deal with him because he is shady. manager name- Jeremy. I have had to put a lot of money into this vehicle that he said was just fine. A lie. I spent 15 hrs this weekend making it drivable. It's sad. All I wanted to do was upgrade to a bigger vehicle for my family. I feel he is responsible for the parts I purchased, AT LEAST. Please help. *********** ******

Desired Settlement: Refund on the money I had to pay for the parts to fix the vehicle.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/9/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had my Volvo listed on Craig's List, and got a call today from a young boy wanting to know if I'd take $6500 for my car, I told him $7000 was my bottom line. He said he could do that. He asked me if I could meet him at a friend's used car dealership at noon. I got there and when this boy showed up with his brother, his brother took over. Took a drive in my car with me, and got back and looked the car over and said he could only offer me $6500 for the car. I said I couldn't consider less than $7000 as the retail value according to NADA is $8400. He then said, "I'll have to talk to my dad, and went to the owner of the dealership, his father, and came back to say no. My issue is the dishonesty this car dealer uses to buy cars wholesale off of Craig's List. ******* **** *******

Desired Settlement: Just want people to know how this lot operates.

Business Response: ** *** *******. I'm the general manager at Alic motors We called this gentleman on craigslist and told him that we were interested in purchasing the vehicle he had posted on craigslist.  When he showed up to the dealership we looked over the vehicle and found many issues that we didn't expect to be wrong with it. so we offered him what we felt as a fair offer on the vehicle because of its condition. we explained to him that we were not going to pay retail for is car because he cant as a private party person sale it at retail. we offered him fair market value for a private party sale according to kbb.com  we did nothing wrong he was selling a car and we wanted to buy it. if for any reason he didn't want dealerships contacting him to purchase his vehicle he could had simply posted that in his add.  we are sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused but we did nothing wrong this gentleman is just upset at the amount his vehicle is worth. thanks very much Alic motors.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

received the following from someone at the dealership this afternoon, and my response follows:

I work for Alic motors I'm the general manager. I just responded to your complaint. I'm sorry you feel upset with what happened but as a dealership we have the right to try and buy any car for sale that we want to. If  you do not want to sell it to a dealership you can refuse to that's your right. you can also post that you don't want to be contacted by any dealerships. you expressed that you wanted retail for your vehicle but you cant expect to get retail for it. retail is designed for new and used car stores that have overhead cost to pay for that's why kbb.com has a private party value designed for you to value your car. We did nothing wrong by trying to purchase your car we offer what it is worth for us and you simply take it or leave it.  I'm sorry you feel that you were taken advantage but based on the condition of the vehicle it just wasn't worth what you wanted to us. good luck on your sale and I hope you find a buyer soon. thanks anyway and have a nice day.


Sir. It's not so much the price ultimately that I was offered, but the fact you used the two boys to lie about them buying the car. And, retail according to NADA, is $8400.00. Since the boys represented they were buying for themselves, I was within reason selling for $7000. 


As I say in my response, I'm more concerned about how they got me to the dealership using the boys to lie about who the car was for, instead of the dealer calling me directly to say they were interested in purchasing. The boy initially told me they were friends of the dealership and wanted to meet there to get their "friends" opinion on the car. As we wrapped up the negotiations, the older boy said in response to my final proposal, "let me go talk to my dad", and walked into the dealership. This is when I knew I'd been had. Following is the first email exchange after I got back home.

 

On Jun 17, 2013 3:31 PM, "craigslist 3865810081" <

cfhwt-3865810081@sale.craigslist.org

> wrote:


I feel tricked and lied to, you said the dealer was a friend of yours, turns our you were buying for the dealer. Also, I came there thinking you were okay with $7000. I intend to contact Craigs list and the BBB of your business practices. 

His Response: 

Thats our friend buddy and we would of paid 7 but its gonna need some work we gave you a more than a fair price at 6600 good thing we didnt buy it though we were nothing but nice to you have a good day

I am mostly interested in the dealer admitting they used the boys to lie for them, and own this is not an honest way to deal with people. Would also like to keep this incident on record at the BBB so people will see this coming if it happens to them. Thanks, Jeff Johnson


 

Regards,

**** *******

 

 

Business Response: The owners son contacted this gentleman about purchasing his vehicle. He said he wanted his friend to look at it talking about me. After reviewing the Volvo I told him not to pay more then $6,600 for it. We never once said we were not a dealer and we had him come down to our dealership to show us the car. We did nothing wrong and I'm sorry he feels that way.

BBB's Final Determination: The parties could not provide sufficient information to support their positions nor were they were agreeable to make reasonable efforts toward resolving the issues of the dispute.

4/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: About three weeks ago we went to Alic Motors to buy a Volkswagen Jetta, when signing the papers to purchase the car, we asked about a warranty and the salesman went over two options, a 90 day warranty and a 5 year warranty. He went over the pricing and the 5 year warranty option we were seriously considering to purchase (which he quoted around $700), but the salesman told us he had the exact same car and buying a warranty is unnecessary as the car is in such good condition and will most likely not need any repairs any time soon, despite the fact that when we test drove it there was a slight whirring sound from the motor, he still insisted the car was in excellent condition. In essence the salesman talked us out of buying it. Almost exactly three weeks later the water pump and belt went out on the car, my mechanic is estimating about $650 in repairs. When we went back to the dealership to ask about the warranty or to see if the might cover a portion of the repairs, the owner was very disrepectful and raised his voice, he said he sells the cars "as is" even if the are defective. He told us all the cars he sells are defective, and he said we couldn't have afforded the warranty and that's why we did not purchase it. When we asked about buying the warranty again, he told us it would be $2000 if we wanted to buy it. He was completely unwilling to work with us and asked us to leave, all while he was yelling at us, it was extremely unprofessional.

Desired Settlement: I would like the company to pay for or pay for a portion of the repairs to fix my car, or to buy the 5 year warranty at the originally quoted price.

Business Response: On 3-7-2013 ********** and *********** came down to Alic Motors looking at a 2001 volkwagon jetta.
After driving the said vehicle they were interested in purchasing the car. At that point we went inside my office where we discussed optional warranties that were offered thre an outside company called elite warranty. As a dealership we offer no warranty on any vehicles. They were interested in possibly purchasing the 5 year warranty but didnt have the funds to do so at the time. I told them that the warranties could be purchased at a later date and didn't have to be purchased that day. l also told them that they would be better off purchasing the five year warranty over the 90 day warranty. They decided at that time to wait for the optional warranty. When we sale a car it is Asis no warranty and have all the proper documents that were Signed by them showing that's how the car was purchased. Our customers test drive the cars and hove the option before they purchase then to have them inspected at their cost. We try to sell the best possible cars we can. A water pump is impossible to tell if I its gonna go out they either work or they don't. Its very unfortunately this happened and had they came into our office and not threatened us an yelled at us we may have been willing to help them but out of goodwill. not because We are obligated to do so. Thanks you for your time

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.