BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In The Snake River Region

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tom Scott Motors Toyota / Scion meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Tom Scott Motors Toyota / Scion include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Tom Scott Motors Toyota / Scion
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 01, 1984 Business started: 12/01/1970 Business started locally: 12/01/1970
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Motor Vehicles
ID

Business Management
Mr. D. H. Moss, Principal Mr. Tom Diebert, Parts Manager Mr. Butch Fisk, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. D. H. Moss, Principal
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS-NEW CARS

Alternate Business Names
First Sales Leasing, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 15933 Idaho Center Blvd.

    Nampa, ID 83687 (208) 455-2272

  • PO Box 1550

    Nampa, ID 83653

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information

Complaint Detail(s)

3/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my Toyota Prius in for them to service with new tires,oil change, spark plug replacement, transmission service, temp sensor, and temp gauge. My car was running perfectly with no apparent issues. All the things I took it in for were routine maintenance except the temp valve and sensor. The "check engine" light was on which is the only inclination I had that something needed fixed. The dealership ran all the diagnostic testing when I dropped my car off and provided a list of codes that came up on their system requiring repair. There were NO BATTERY CODES that came up on that list. When I went to pick up my car the next day when the work was complete ALL the dash lights were on! They ran more diagnostic tests and came up with the hybrid battery needing to be replaced! They then called me back later that day to tell me they had not put the car back together correctly or taken it out of "maintenance mode" and that is why the battery code came on. Again, I was scheduled to pick up my car when I received a call from the dealership stating that the lights were back on. The manager, *****, was on vacation so I had to wait for her to get back. When she returned she was unable to assist me, she stated I needed to meet with the GM, ***** ****. I met with ***** **** today and all he had to say was that he didn't know exactly what was wrong with the battery but it was not their fault and they would not bare the cost of fixing the battery. I paid over $1,500 for the initial repairs and now my car is not drivable. ***** refused to provide me with his superiors information. He stated only that I could have a second opinion.

Desired Settlement: I took my car to them in running condition to fix and better its condition. The only outcome I will accept is for them to replace the battery and return my car to me in not only the condition I left it with them in but better condition that I paid over $1,500 for. I refinanced my car to make the appropriate maintenance and repairs. As someone who takes excellent care of their vehicle I expect them to return it in an acceptable condition.

Business Response: 26 February 2014 To Whom It May Concern: We appreciate *** ****** taking the time to share her feedback with us. We understand this has been a frustrating experience due to the high cost of the needed repairs. The customer’s vehicle was brought into our dealership on 2/11/14 @ 154,671 miles for a check engine light, spark plugs, transmission service, 5k service, tire replacement, key fob battery replacement, alignment inspection, and brake light switch. All repairs were completed as requested, the vehicle was test driven and re-scanned to confirm repairs. No codes or problems were found in the system and the repairs were verified. Customer’s vehicle was then parked in customer parking area. When the customer came to pick up her vehicle on 2/12/14, she immediately came back in because numerous dash lights were illuminated. We let the customer take a courtesy vehicle back to work while our technician checked out the customer’s vehicle. Our technician scanned the vehicle and found code P3000, indicating the battery control system. Our technician then placed the vehicle in maintenance mode to clear the codes and re-test. When the vehicle was scanned and re-tested, code P0A80 came up indicating to replace the hybrid battery pack. Our technician analyzed the codes in the system and determined the codes in the system were not related to any repairs that were completed. He diagnosed hybrid battery replacement was needed (approximate cost of $3300). The customer did not authorize any further diagnosis or repairs. We continued to allow the customer to continue using our courtesy vehicle. Our customer met with our General Manager seeking for the hybrid battery repairs to be covered by Tom Scott Toyota. Based on the sequence of events, customer satisfaction, and the cost of needed repairs, our General Manager offered to get a second opinion from another Toyota dealership at no cost to the customer. We paid to have the vehicle towed and diagnosed at another Toyota dealership. The diagnosis from the Toyota dealership was “Perform health check, retrieved codes P3000, P0A80. Perform diagnostics on P0A80 found cell 11 in Hybrid battery below voltage threshold. Base on code and data for battery cell voltage Hybrid battery is malfunctioning and needs replaced. Previous repairs performed would not have caused this malfunction in the battery.” As an effort of goodwill, Tom Scott Toyota offered a 10% discount on repairs needed. The customer declined to have any repairs performed at our dealership and had the vehicle towed to an independent shop.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/19/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I leased a 2010 Toyota Tundra Limited from Tom Scott in Nampa in 2010. Not long after I leased the truck I noticed unusual paint peeling spots on the front bumper. When I took it in for a basic service, I brought the peeling to the service department's attention for them to take a look at it. They looked at it and also had **** ****** (their service manager) look it over as well. The paint issue is noted in their service records (they have confirmed), she took pictures and came out into the lobby to tell me personally that the peeling was very unusual. "That is weird" were her exact words. She told me in person that day that getting it repaired would not be a problem, but still needed to run it by a supervisor of hers prior to giving me the OK to go get the paint issue fixed. She never got back to me. I am at the end of my lease now and just bought the truck so I followed back up with her last Friday, explained the entire scenario again and, as I did, she agreed that everything I said was in line with what she would have said and had to do. She typically needs to get upper approval to move forward with a fix of that nature. I also sent her another couple of pictures per her request of the paint peeling and her word were exactly as they were before, "That is weird." I took the truck to a local body shop per her request to have them give me an estimate to see if she could get it handled for me. That body shop guy told me that that kind of peeling would be extremely likely, if not impossible, to happen unless there was repair work done. The Toyota dealership had an employee of theirs driving the truck (according to sales when I bought it). He or she put about 10k miles on it so I asked them to find out if maybe there was body damage done prior to my leasing it and also, unbeknownst to me, i.e. undisclosed at the time of the sale. I emailed Sara a couple days ago with all of this information and have not heard back. Seemingly, they don't care to follow up.

Desired Settlement: The dealership needs to take care of the cost of repainting the bumper. The only reason the repair was not done when originally noted is due to the simple fact that Sara/Toyota neglected to follow up on the issue. As of today, there is no other body damage to the bumper. The paint spots are spreading, however, but that is it. Their handling this is the right thing to do.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern: 

We appreciate *** ****** taking the time to share his experience with us.  Our Service Manager, ****, was already looking into the situation when we received this complaint.  She was waiting for a response from our Toyota Representative regarding the status of any possible damage that could have occurred prior to Tom Scott Toyota or *** ****** possessing the vehicle.  Our records indicate that this vehicle was previously a Toyota Corporate Demo vehicle prior to *** ****** leasing it from us in February 2010 @ 10,198 miles.  Based on the Toyota National Service History records, our Toyota District Service & Parts Manager, and the vehicle’s CARFAX report, we have been unable to confirm that there had been paint work performed on the vehicle prior to *** ****** leasing the vehicle.  However, we do have record of *** ****** voicing a paint concern on October 28, 2011 at our dealership @ 24,834 miles, and we are uncertain about where the miscommunication occurred after this visit.  We are currently working with *** ****** to help resolve the situation.  He has emailed pictures of his concern to our Customer Relations Manager and we are waiting to receive a written estimate for the work needed to repair his paint concern. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/18/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our 2010 Prius is still under factory warranty when the driver side arm rest broke. Tom Scott Toyota claims that it is not a factory defect. They want us to pay almost $300 (a discounted price) for the repair. Our vehicle only has 15,200 miles on it.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to honor the factory warranty and repair the arm rest.

Business Response:

17 June 2013

To Whom It May Concern:

******* ******** brought the 2010 Toyota Prius into Tom Scott Toyota on May 28, 2013 for routine maintenance and an arm rest concern, stating the driver’s door arm rest had a gap in the lower area.  Upon diagnosis from the technician, the arm rest had been broken off from the door panel.  In order to remedy the concern, the door panel would need to be replaced.  Our Shop Foreman and Service Manager were advised of this diagnosis because it was not a warrantable item since it had been broken.  Our Service Manager carefully reviewed the information and spoke with ******* ******** to present a possible solution to resolve the customer’s concern.  Since this was not a manufacturer’s defect, Tom Scott Toyota offered to split the cost of the repairs as a one-time goodwill gesture if the repairs were completed within 6 months.  The total cost of the repairs would be $536.85 + tax, leaving the customer responsible for approximately $270.00 of the repairs.  

On June 4, 2013 our Customer Relations Manager received notification of a review from our website about The ********** concerns with the arm rest.  The Customer Relations Manager called the customer and left a voicemail asking to speak with them about their concern.  **** ******** returned the phone call and expressed disappointment in the arm rest breaking and felt it should be covered under warranty.  Again, our goodwill offer was presented and the Customer Relations Manager advised *** ******** that she would contact their Toyota Representative and share the concern.  Upon further investigation, we were able to confirm that this is not a common issue for the 2010 Toyota Prius at our dealership or in our Region.  The Customer Relations Manager called **** ******** back and left a detailed message sharing this information.  Unfortunately, since the arm rest appears to have been broken we are unable to repair the arm rest under the factory warranty.  Tom Scott Toyota is still willing to honor the one-time goodwill gesture to split the cost of the repairs if the customer chooses to do so.   


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau: 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. 

Tom Scott Toyota claims that the arm rest was "broken".  Insinuating that we abused or damaged the arm rest beyond normal use.  The arm rest wasn't broken, it broke, under normal use by resting an arm on it.  When an item is under warranty and breaks without any signs of abuse, negligence or wear then it should be repaired under warranty.  Offering for us to pay $270 for a repair that should be covered is not acceptable.

******** **** ********

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

7/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1