BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In The Snake River Region

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is a Mazda and Subaru dealer.  Team Mazda Subaru also carries all varieties of pre-owned vehicles.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Team Mazda Subaru meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Team Mazda Subaru include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 7
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

23 Customer Reviews on Team Mazda Subaru
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 13
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 9
Total Customer Reviews 23

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 20, 2005 Business started: 06/29/2005 in ID Business started locally: 06/29/2005 Business incorporated: 03/28/2005 in ID
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Motor Vehicles
ID

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Rob Studebaker, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rob Studebaker, General Manager
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS-NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS-USED CARS AUTO PARTS & SUPPLIES-NEW AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE

Hours of Operation
Monday through Saturday: 9am to 7pm Sunday: 10am to 6pm
Service Area
Southwest Idaho
Alternate Business Names
GoTeamSaveMoney.com

Additional Locations

  • 6218 Cleveland Blvd

    Caldwell, ID 83607 (208) 455-0322

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information

Complaint Detail(s)

5/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 8, 2014 I went to TEAM Subaru to browse inventory and talk to them about trading in my current company car for a newer vehicle with less miles. As we were looking at a few different cars I was greeted by sales associate **** ********** I talked with him and explained what I was doing and that I had no intention of leaving with a car that day. He said okay and proceeded to show me some of the features of the vehicles I was looking at and we test drove a GMC Acadia. After talking with my husband we decided to see what kind of payments we might be looking at. I knew the guidelines that I was given and knew what I could and couldn't do. *** ********* also understood this as well as I explained to him that this would be a company vehicle and would not be purchased using my credit. He told me that all they would need was my bosses social since he is the principle of the business and that all they would do was run a credit check to help determine what the payments might be. I provided that and after about 45 minutes finally he returned with what I thought were approximate monthly payment amounts which were way to high and I told him that and left. I did not know that in reality what they had done was actually applied for a loan in my my boss's name until Monday March 17, 2014 when I arrived to work and learned that my boss had received letters from 2 banks concerning an auto loan. I feel I was deliberately mislead as I was not informed that I was in fact applying for an auto loan rather than just having a credit check done. The fact that they applied for a loan rather than just running a simple credit check violates several laws with regards to privacy. I myself almost lost my job over this incident. I will not go back there EVER!!!!

Desired Settlement: I feel that each perspective buyer should have to sign something saying that they understand and agree to allow the dealership or it's financial officers to open or pre-qualify a person for an auto loan. I also feel that rather than calling it a "credit check" they should be honest and call it what it is. An application for a car loan not a simple credit check.

Business Response:

The credit was checked as we told her it would be in order to apply for a vehicle.  She was not mislead, I did try to explain all of this to her twice, however she hung up on me both times. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/1/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went in to this car dealership on 1/31/14 with my mother who wanted to see if she had won a car through a mail promotion. My mother and I are lower in cognitive functioning and my sister who is developmentally disabled was also present. I am certain the salesman was quickly aware that he was dealing with "babes in the woods". Suddenly I found myself under pressure to buy a car. I am inexperienced in this and did not even know of the existence of helps such as Kelly Blue Book until after the fact. I bought a car, but when my wife and I discussed things we knew we could not afford the payment. I also found out later that they sold it to us at a price well above its value. We tried to return the car on 2/12/14 but they would not listen to us, instead talked us into writing two checks each for $1,000 saying they would cash one around March 1 and the other around April 1. However they insisted we date the checks on that date. We thought our tax refund would come in time to cover these checks. We realized when we left we still had an unsolved problem and went to my in-laws for help. My father-in-law went with me on 2/14/14 again to return the car but they had already sold it to the bank and we had to wait until they contacted us to have them come and repossess the car.Meanwhile they cashed one of our checks in February overdrawing our account by over $900 and causing lots of problems. My mother-in-law helped me write this complaint, but I agree with all of it. We would like other people to know that this business can be underhanded and to be very cautious about going there.

Desired Settlement: I gave them my deceased father's sterling silver and turquoise ring as collateral. It is of great emotional value to me and I would like it back. They said they have never held on to anyone's collateral before.

Business Response:

Called and left messages for him to call me.  Nobody has returned my phone call.

*** **********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought my first car from Team Mazda with the help of my dad as the cosigner on July 23, 2013. I was sold a 2010 White Toyota Corolla. Around the end of September I had received a call from the sales man that had sold us the car asking me for the vin number of my car because it was a routine check up that the dealer did, was not told anything else. The same day my dad got a call from the bank that financed us and asked for a verification of the vin number. She told us that the vin number on our paper work was different than the car. I then proceeded to check and the vin number from the car that I was given did not match my paper work. The whole time I was at the dealer I was told over and over that I was being sold a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The car that I am driving is a 2009 Toyota Corolla with a different vin number than what is shown on my paper work. We kept getting calls from the dealer to go in and sign the new paper work. When my dad and I went in they automatically wanted us to sign the new paper work. We said no and began to ask questions and no one was giving us answers. We were there for an hour and only got talked to for a total of about five minutes. We were told to go and that they would give us a call when they figured out the problem. We haven't received a call since. I am currently still driving the 2009 but my insurance, registration and paperwork all are under a 2010 Corolla vin number. My payments are going towards a car that I have no idea where or in what conditions it is in. We got charged for a 2010 not a 2009. The people from the dealer were very secretive and not giving us any information or answers to our questions.

Desired Settlement: I want to get a full refund of my down payment, the amount I was given for my trade in and my payments so I can purchase a car somewhere else. The contract and my loan terminated. I would like to be given answers on how this could of happened.

Business Response: She came in and we refinanced in her name only....she left happy.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/12/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a 2009 Subaru Outback from Team approximately 6 months ago. The salesman told us that the cost was 19,500. Then another salesman explained that the new salesman made a mistake and the price was actually $24,000. Through the whole process we were told how well Subaru holds its value. We trade in two vehicle that gave us $12,000 in equity. I recently went to see about trading the vehicle in, expecting to have approximately $7,000 in equity, and the Team salesman told me that the car only appraised for nearly $12,000 and returning my warranty they could make it even on the vehicle we were considering. I asked about the equity and what happened to Subaru's holding there value. He told be the Subaru wasn't $24,000 and that my transaction didn't have the equity I thought it did. I told him I had figured that was the case and I would just keep the Subaru and forget about any further business with them.At the time of purchase they showed us a car fax and document showing the car valued at $24,000. From everything I can tell they showed us an appraisal of a car with more features than the one we purchased and the car we purchased was only worth $15-$17,000. Essentially they have stolen $7-9,000 in equity from us by misleading us through the deal and showing us numbers that were used to intentionally mislead us. I am willing to bet that this is a standard practice and the reason they don't receive a lot of complaints is because most people don't try and come back to trade the vehicle within a short amount of time. I cannot express the amount of disgust I feel, and I have been telling everyone, especially ones I sent to Team, how bad they ripped me off and how I wouldn't recommend them to anyone.

Desired Settlement: First I will say, I know they will deny this and nothing will come from it.If they were really an honest and trustworthy company they would make an attempt to make us whole without any pressure from the BBB or litigation(if it were to come to this). I would consider credit shown as a down on a vehicle from the dealership, however I do not know that I would even trust them in another transaction of any sort. They should also have to price every car so customers can see it prior to any negotiation

Business Response:

I called and spoke with *** ******** went over all of the numbers with him. I told him to contact me directly when he wanted to trade the car in. I wanted to assure him we did not rip him off and to give me a chance to change his mind.

Thank you,

Rob Studebaker

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/4/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is in regard to the ad which states, no matter what your credit rating, even if you filed chapter 7, we will be able to get you into a new or used car. My rating is far from perfect due to the chapter 13 I filed, and paid up early, I was told they could not help, banks will not supply a loan...all I need to do is put up $2,000.00 down. In times we are facing today this is not the proper approach to our citizens, or the state of Idaho. I really need any form of transport with my job in and out of Boise.I appreciate your help in this matter. ***** ***************** ** **********

Desired Settlement: It would be a great help if they could provide a vehicle in my price range, and the financing.

Business Response:

We can get him a car but there are restrictions because of the credit situation.  If he would like to contact us we would be more than happy see what we could get him into.  He however needs to realize there will be restrictions and certain requirements from him to get him a car.

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

7/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/4/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/6/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/15/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
1