BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In The Snake River Region

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the sale of automobiles both new and used.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Steve's Hometown Motors, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

This company participates in the BBB's Code of Ethics program which include a commitment to ethical business practices.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Steve's Hometown Motors, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Steve's Hometown Motors, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 01, 1993 Business started: 05/01/1990 Business started locally: 05/01/1990
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Motor Vehicles
ID

Business Management
Mr. Steve Dominguez, President Mr. Linda Six, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Dominguez, President
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS-NEW CARS

Alternate Business Names
Hometown Motors

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 658-5080(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information

Complaint Detail(s)

6/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a new 2014 Ford Focus just before Christmas 2013 from Steve's Hometown Motors in Weiser. All 4 times it has been in for service the service and lube techs have broke and or messed up something on my car. Most recently I had the oil and filter changed on 4-8-14 at 3808 miles on the car. I drove on a trip about 2000 miles after the service. After the trip which I drove through ****** *** ********** desert and through high winds with lots of dirt and sand, I wanted to check the new *** air filter that I installed on 12-24-13. When I removed the air filter I found that it had been removed during their routine inspection and installed improperly as the sealing ring was folded in forcing the engine to inhale unfiltered dirty and sandy air. I called Hometown on the issue and they assured me through the service saying the checked the engine that nothing happened to the engine on my brand new car. I disagree as I do not believe that they did check the engine out or that there is any way on such anew vehicle to tell if any thing is wrong at this point with the engine. Previously before this they took apart the center console around the shifter and damaged and or broke surrounding trim items that have not been replaced yet to date. I believe that the service department at Hometown Motors in Weiser has done at least 100,000 miles damage to the engine of my formerly new car! Also during the first service I had performed by Hometown in Weiser at 615 miles, the techs spilled oil all over the front of the engine and did not ever clean it off. I cleaned the oil off myself.

Desired Settlement: I would like my formerly new car replaced with and exact one to make it right with me buying a new car or a full refund so I can be free to replace it at my own leisure from another dealership.

Business Response:

Mr. Schmerber brought his vehicle in for service on 12-17-2013 at which time customer stated that his USB port was not operating properly.  We checked the port and found it to be intermittent and could not duplicate at the time.
 
On 1-24-14 *** ********* brought his vehicle in for an oil change and stated his vehicle was pulling to the left.  We performed an oil and filter change, lube, check battery and  set tires to spec .  We did find the vehicle out of alignment and performed a wheel alignment and adjust.
 
On 4-8-14 *** ********* brought his vehicle in for an oil change and 5000 mile recommended service.  We changed the oil and filter, lubricated chassis, checked the battery and set tires to specifications.
 
At no point during either oil change did we remove or inspect the customer's air filter which he installed prior to coming in for service.  Our technicians do not inspect air filters that are not OEM at that mileage unless the customer asks us for an inspection.  *** ********* did not ask for that service at either time during his service. 
 
On 4-25-14 *** ********* stated that we scratched his center console during the oil change and wanted us to replace the entire three piece console.  We could not see the damage , however for customer satisfaction reasons we agreed to replace the parts.  *** ********* stated that he did not want anyone here working on his vehicle and wanted ******* ********* ****** to install the center console.  ******* ********* ****** did install one piece as the other two were not needed and are being returned to us. 
 
I understand and can appreciate that *** ********* has had an issue with his after market *** ****** on his new Ford Focus , however we did not install the air filter, nor did we remove it during any service to date.
 
We would be happy to discuss this item with him again, however his frustration is not due to anything that Hometown Motors did with his air filter. We have gone above and beyond to handle any issues that he has brought to our attention to date.
 
I would be happy to replace the air filter with a manufacturer air filter at no charge, however we do not inspect or replace after market parts on vehicles while under manufacturer warranty without owner consent.  At no time did *** ********* ask us to check or replace his air filter that he installed.
 
****** *** ** **** *** ** ****** ****** ******* ** **** ******* ********** ****** ***** ******* *** ********** ******* ******* ******** ****** ************ *************************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau: 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in ********* ** ********* ** ********* *** have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. 

 

First off most of Hometown Motors response is incorrect. I bought the vehicle on 12-17-13, I did not bring it in for service on that date. I did state when we bought it that it puled left then and they wanted me to drive it and find any other faults it had so it could all be taken care of when I brought it in for the first service. I did take the car in on 1-24-14 and the work was performed along with applying *** ****** shield on the whole car inside and out.

 I did have the car back to Hometown to fix the car from still pulling left after the alignment was done 2 more times and the issue was almost fixed completely in that it still has a small left pull. When I took the car to Hometown due to the USB port not interfacing properly with a flash drive as it should the tech took the entire center console apart as he told me that he was told that the car had a bad USB cable. **** had me come out during the disassembly to see if I had time or I could leave the car as the tech had most of the center tore apart at that time. I went to see why and what the tech had apart on my car and explained to him the issue. He at that point put the car back together very upset and forcefully and formatted the radio and it worked again. I inspected the center console in the car and noticed damage from the tech disassembling the console and the shift light no longer working and reported that to **** *** *** which at that point they had new replacement parts ordered and they paid to have them installed at Payette Collision center due to the time it took to get the parts and all the other damage done to my car by Hometown I was not taking my car back to Hometown. They replaced 2 parts that were damaged or broken by the tech at Hometown not 1 as they stated and not all 3 that were damaged by the tech so we still have 1 damaged part on our new car.

 I have not had any issues with my air filter that I installed except that they had removed it and installed it incorrectly and broke the bottom of the air box. Hometown replaced the bottom of the air box and installed a new factory air filter incorrectly so that I had to fix the air box install myself again. Hometown had offered to replace my *** *** ****** with a brand new *** *** ****** and I told them I had reshaped the mounting flange back so it would work. When I had installed ** *** ****** I marked it so I would know if it had been tampered with when I did my personal inspection. Hometown is the only ones besides myself that had touched anything under the hood during the routine maintenance that I had paid them to perform.

  On the service done by Hometown on 4-8-14 they claimed they change the oil and filter, lubed the chassis, checked the battery, and set the tires to spec. They did change the oil and filter and check the tires also do a courtesy wash and vac also it stated on the list I received all the other items they checked including air filter which they had turned from where I had it marked and installed it incorrectly and broke the bottom of the air filter box at the attaching screw holes. There is no place to lube the chassis on this car and being that the car only had 3808 miles when the service was done it only needed oil and filter only. 

  So point being they admitted to damaging the filter, filter box, and console to me and offered to check the vehicle and replace the broken parts they had caused. So *** ****** to claim now that they did not do the damage is false.

******** **** *********

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

2/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Vehicle through steves Hometown motors on august 4th, the salesman that assisted us during the paperwork said there was a service called ********* ******** ***** for around $299.00 for the amount a few days later i called then and thay faxed me the paper work to cancel which i signed and faxed back. I called the first of september still within the 30 days to make sure they got the fax and that everything was ok they said they recived the fax and chould get my refund check in two to three weeks. Still to this day i have not got the check and have on Multiple attepms over the last month contacted them and wach time i reach them the lady i need to talk to is either busy or has stepped out i have also eamiled then and have got no reply. So at this point i feel im out of options and also cheated out the money for a service that was never put in place to begin with.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbersed for the cost ********* ******** ***** on my invoice for $299.00 which i canceld with them well before the end of the 30 day window

Business Response:

 We sent the check out Dec 10th and it cleared Dec 14.
If there is anything else we can do, please let me know.
 
Thanks agaln,
**** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/28/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/30/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1