BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In The Snake River Region

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Peterson Toyota Scion meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Peterson Toyota Scion include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

280 Customer Reviews on Peterson Toyota Scion
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 250
Neutral Experience 20
Negative Experience 10
Total Customer Reviews 280

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 01, 1970 Business started: 01/01/1928 in ID Business started locally: 01/01/1928 Business incorporated: 11/10/1958 in ID
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Motor Vehicles
ID

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark Peterson, General Manager Ms. Tanier Glauser, Marketing Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Peterson, General Manager
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS-NEW CARS


Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (208) 378-9030(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information

Complaint Detail(s)

7/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought a **** ***** ***** in late December 2013 from Peterson Toyota Scion Lexus. We drove it for a little while until we needed gas. Went to fill it up & after it hit the full mark it spit out a ton of fuel all over the vehicle & the ground & our shoes. We tried calling & getting in contact with our Salesman, but he no longer worked there. Then we tried contacting a Sales Manager for 3 days & never received a phone call back. We finally had to drive down & wait for the Sales Manager to finally talk to us. The Sales Manager kept pushing that we should have bought the extended warranty. Why push the extended warranty so hard? Do they know that they are selling lemons? However, our salesman assured us that the 90-day warranty would cover any problems & that we would be taken care of. Called the Service Manager at Peterson Toyota Scion Lexus about our problem & said for us to bring it in for a diagnostics test. They found that it was the fuel neck that was the issue. Needed to replace it & that would fix the problem. Took it in to get it fixed. Service Manager called & said it was fixed & ready for us to pick up. Got in the car & saw that they didnt even fill the tank to be sure it was really fixed. On our way home, we stopped by a different gas station than before & filled it up. Guess what happenedit spilled out gas all over the vehicle & the ground & our shoes AGAIN! You would think that before they called us & told us it was fixed they would have tested it out first. Called the Service Manger & told him it wasnt fixed. Took it back the next day. They ran more test, but called us telling us they couldnt find anything wrong & that we had to waste a half tank of gas before they could figure out the problem. Couldnt they have just siphoned out half the gas & then filled it again? Is that against the law? We picked the car up & wasted half a tank of gas along with adding more miles onto the car. Once we got to half a tank we took it back to the Service Manager to run more We bought a **** ***** ***** in late December 2013 from Peterson Toyota Scion Lexus. We drove it for a little while until we needed gas. Went to fill it up & after it hit the full mark it spit out a ton of fuel all over the vehicle & the ground & our shoes. We tried calling & getting in contact with our Salesman, but he no longer worked there. Then we tried contacting a Sales Manager for 3 days & never received a phone call back. We finally had to drive down & wait for the Sales Manager to finally talk to us. The Sales Manager kept pushing that we should have bought the extended warranty. Why push the extended warranty so hard? Do they know that they are selling lemons? However, our salesman assured us that the 90-day warranty would cover any problems & that we would be taken care of. Called the Service Manager at Peterson Toyota Scion Lexus about our problem & said for us to bring it in for a diagnostics test. They found that it was the fuel neck that was the issue. Needed to replace it & that would fix the problem. Took it in to get it fixed. Service Manager called & said it was fixed & ready for us to pick up. Got in the car & saw that they didnt even fill the tank to be sure it was really fixed. On our way home, we stopped by a different gas station than before & filled it up. Guess what happened it spilled out gas all over the vehicle & the ground & our shoes AGAIN! You would think that before they called us & told us it was fixed they would have tested it out first. Called the Service Manger & told him it wasnt fixed. Took it back the next day. They ran more test, but called us telling us they couldnt find anything wrong & that we had to waste a half tank of gas before they could figure out the problem. Couldnt they have just siphoned out half the gas & then filled it again? Is that against the law? We picked the car up & wasted half a tank of gas along with adding more miles onto the car. Once we got to half a tank we took it back to the Service Manager to run more test. They finally filled it with gas & saw the problem that we were telling them about. Peterson Toyota couldnt figure out why it was doing this, so they had to drive it over to Peterson Stampede in Nampa to see if they could figure it out. Peterson Stampede told Peterson Toyota that we would have to replace the whole gas tank, which is an absolutely ridiculous price to replace. They brought the car back to Peterson Toyota for us to pick up & didnt even bother filling up the gas they used to drive it to Peterson Stampede. So RUDE! We were offered a trade, but we were going to have to eat more money than we had already purchased the vehicle for (bought vehicle for $15,200 Trade offered $13,000) which ends up to be $2,200 more out of our pocket. Not a reasonable trade-in offer!

Desired Settlement: We would like to resolve this problem 1 of 3 ways 1)Give us a reasonable fair trade-in 2)A reasonable buy-back 3)Completely fix the problem at no cost to us

Business Response: We contacted and paid for their gas tank.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We found a 2003 Honda Accord EX-L V6 Sedan on the Peterson Toyota website. After an online chat and a phone call, a price and purchase date were agreed upon and we made a $1000 good faith deposit. We drove from Great Falls, MT to Boise, ID on 12/20/2012. Upon arrival, we learned the vehicle had been vandalized while in their lot. The rear window had been replaced but was not yet tinted to match the other windows. Interior plastic trim was damaged from whatever went through the rear window. We expressed our displeasure and requested that the deposit be returned. The dealer said that the deposit was non-refundable. The dealer said they would cover the cost of the rear window tint, but that we would have to pay for it and send them a reciept. We reluctantly agreed and test drove the vehicle. The dealer handed me one of several keys and told me it was the master. It was a single key with a separate remote fob. Test drive was fine and we agreed to purchase the vehicle. After completion of the paperwork, we were sent on our way. After we left the dealer, we realized we forgot the other keys. I don't know how many there were. I called the next morning and spoke with my salesman. He agreed that he still had the other keys and would send them to us. We were given a valet key. It does not work in the glove box, trunk, remote trunk release or rear seat release. The rear window was tinted on 12/28/2012. Invoice and receipt were emailed to dealer. After many phone calls to find out why we had not received the keys, I finally spoke with a manager. He assured me that indeed there were other keys and they would be sent with the check for the tint ($85.00). Received the check for the tint on 1/28/2013 but no keys. Today is 1/30/2013 and still no keys. I have received emails stating "I appreciate your trust and confidence. If you ever have any questions, please don't hesitate to give me a call. I was hoping you could help me with feedback about your purchase." This is followed by a link that doesn't work.

Desired Settlement: I now believe this level of service is intentional and I will never see any keys from them...or maybe I will but they won't work. I called a Honda dealer in the Seattle area closest to the vehicle location and inquired about the cost to have keys made. It is $160 for the first key and $100 for the second. Request an immediate payment of $260.00 and we will have the 2 keys made at our convenience. This really can't be asking too much.

Business Response: I have spoken to **** ******** & *** *********; they have told me if there were additional keys they would have been sent to *** ****. There is nothing in the paperwork to say there were any other keys.I will offer a good will gesture of 100.00 for *** **** to use towards the purchase of a new key.Please let me know if this is acceptable and I will mail the check out.
**** ****** 

Consumer Response:

I accept the good faith sum of $100.00.

Considering the business has never even acknowledged, much less apologized, for lying to me over and over again, I reserve the right to publish this story at my discretion.


Regards,

 

 

******* ****

 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: *** ******** ***** ******** If ** ******** feels insulting my wife over the phone is his way of customer service, we will use our freedom of speech to expose these details to the fullest extent. We shall start with ** and work our way to the local press. The insults and shame he expressed to my wife while she was at work far exceed any issues I thought this dealership would stoop to.*** ******** *** **** ** ******** **** *********** ***** ** * ******** ******* **** ***** ** ****** *** ** ******** ***** *** ******* *** ******** ********* ***** **** *** ******** **** ***** * ******** *** ***** ** ****** This is our version of the story that Mr. Peterson insulted my wife about during a direct call to her cell phone as she was at work teaching disabled children.As an Army Nurse, we were stationed in Idaho, but transferred to Maine for a short time. We purchased a 4-Runner in Maine. Great car in great condition. On our return to Idaho, the used car reached the 100K mile mark. As always I took my car to Petersons for service and had the required services done AND anything that needed to be fixed or replaced. Spent more than $2k.During this time, we spoke to their *** ***te department to transfer all our *** ********* over to their *** ***te. *ack in March-ish, we specifically told the *** ***te rep to transfer ALL our insurance on our cars to the exact insurance we have with *** (this was FULL coverage). The agent was fast, outstanding and cooperative beyond belief. Documents were signed and annual payments made on house and auto insurance.Several months later, we had made some trades on cars and went to Peterson *** ***te to ensure these used cars had basic coverage on them. I stressed at this time the 2 cars we already had insured should remain FULL coverage, but put basic coverage on the 3 used cars we had acquired since they would not be with us long. At the time of the office visit, the Peterson *** ***te rep (***) was kind and helpful, but the amount of data he presented was confusing and overwhelming to me.EXPLAIN Im an Army nurse that on 1-11-08 suffered a traumatic brain injury and now have significant issues with details and other stuff that seemed simple years ago. Not the fault of Peterson dealership or *** ***te however.During my meeting with *** a few months ago when our cars were added, I became very upset and short with him because the amount of details was overwhelming. I expressed that I was sorry for my childish-like behavior, but I was over-whelmed. I expressed CLEARLY that I did not understand what he was telling me and that I just wanted to have FULL coverage on my 2 longest own cars and basic coverage on the new (used) 3 we had acquired. *** told me to sign the papers so we had coverage and he would email me documents. I did as he expressed. Data was sent to me and I just quickly agreed to what *** was sending me because the data again was too complicated. All I was left understanding was the *** (Peterson *** ***te) had me covered as I expressed. I have NO CLUE on the terms and details outside the words of basic and full coverage.Many weeks later I was driving my 4-Runner from *oise area to Montana. The drive was at night and a trucker came into my lane to miss a deer and I had no choice but to drive off the road. Simple story no harm to people etc. and as I was in shock, I continued my drive with significant damage to the outside of the car. I felt like crap because the trucker never stopped, but I was not hurt nor was my service dog in the car. It was a very odd miracle that there was a field there and not the usual drop off and water on the road side. *ecause we were OK and I knew we had FULL coverage I was not too shaken up.When the sun came up and on my return home, I called my insurance company (Peterson *** ***te) and spoke with ******. She took the report and looked at our coverage. Said we were all set and had rental coverage etc. We agreed that I would bring the car to the dealership to have *** ***te do an inspection. I told her I would not need a rental as we had other cars.All was well UNTIL the *** ***te Company called and said our claim was denied! I was shocked and thought this was odd. I reported the issue to ****** at Peterson *** ***te. She said there was a misunderstanding and we ARE covered and not to worry about it. So we did not worry. Again we were called by the big *** ***te people and said we were not insured. I again called ****** at Peterson *** ***te. She told me there was confusion on the plan, but again to be assured we were insured. We would not have rental car coverage if we did not have the full coverage.Long story short WAYback when we transferred the insurance from AAA to Peterson *** ***te, *** did NOT insure us with the requested FULL coverage. Odd and strangely, we had everything on this car, except collision. There is email documents to show that *** communicated this to me, *UT the details were confusing because; after all, I requested FULL coverage and just assumed that my agent did what I asked. I never assumed we had anything less than FULL coverage.In working with *** and ****** with ***** Peterson *** ***te, we had been assured the issue was a simple error and we did have the coverage. Later it was showed how *** took the collision OFF my policy and I had agreed with him (still just assuming I had full coverage and nothing major was done to my insurance). I trusted the agent to reflect my insurance as I requested.When the insurance agents called us in to show us how the error and change in insurance was made, my wife and I were VERY shocked. ****** (senior *** ***te agent I believe) said even she was VERY confused and over-looked the far past communications from *** and assumed we had full coverage. She showed us the details and how SIMPLE it was to NOT see or understand what was on the paper. Since SHE even missed it, we assumed the dealership would be understanding and

Desired Settlement: We have asked and emailed for a 1:1 with the business owner and NOT a call to my wife's cell during work hours to insult us and call us names and point to us as just people looking for a hand out.

Business Response:

 **** * *******has been settled. We are fixing their car and they are only paying a **** deductible.
Thanks,

 

Mark Peterson

Peterson Toyota Scion

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/29/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Here is an email request for the service records for a vehicle I bought. They were to be provided months ago. There were many other problems. Notice that the dealership thinks I am out of line for complaining about problems they caused and had to fix:On Nov 17, 2012, at 2:09 PM, ******* ******** *************************** wrote:Hi ********if you are still the service manager...I never did receive the service records for the Scion xB I purchased from ********. You can look up the screwed up records and find out the information as ******** has been NOTORIOUS for it's lack of service with me and I'm not going to get into that with you. The dealership here in Cathedral City (AND I) would like to know what has been done to the vehicle so that they have an accurate up to date records (Carfax) as well so we are keeping the vehicle in best shape.Here is the reply I got:T*** **************** Sales Manager******** Toyota ScionBoise, Idaho********n't send anything. *** ******** bought an "as is" car. His new dealership should be able to pull all records thru the national data base. If they don't...well then...that's pretty sad. If *** ******** had shown an ounce of appreciation for anything we did to try and fix our mistakes, I'd be happy to help. He's been nothing but condescending and rude, and at this point we decided to part ways with him. Thanks *********** **************** Sales Manager******** Toyota ScionBoise, IdahoNotice how *** ********* admits that ******** made mistakes...yet I'm the bad guy for making them make it right. After 6 months of waiting for them to send the service records on the vehicle I bought, I still don't have them and this is what I got back when I asked for them.I believe they need to take responsibility and provide the Carfax records as originally agreed.Thank you!

Desired Settlement: Send complete Carfax Records to me or the dealership, as requested.

Business Response: This letter is in response to the complaint written into your office by ******* ********. We started with *** ******** by selling him an "as is" car in April of this year. The vehicle he purchased was a 2005 Scion XB with approx. 96,500 miles. Attached is the service history he requested, which we did email him as seen in the attached email. We have tried to be as accommodating as possible with *** ********, but it seems as though he didn’t view it the same way we did.

In response to *** ********s way of doing business with us in the past, I was not interested in sending him anything as we are not required to do so. But, after thinking about it, I didn't really see any reason we should deny him the records. I emailed *** ******** the complete service records the next day. Please feel free to contact me directly if you have any other questions in regards to this complaint.
Thank you.
**** *********
General Sales Manager

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

9/20/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/17/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1