BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
The Snake River Region

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides sales of new and used Chevrolet, Cadillac and Buick cars, trucks and SUVs.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Peterson Chevrolet Buick Cadillac meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Peterson Chevrolet Buick Cadillac include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

179 Customer Reviews on Peterson Chevrolet Buick Cadillac
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 152
Neutral Experience 7
Negative Experience 20
Total Customer Reviews 179

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 30, 2008 Business started: 01/01/1928 in ID Business incorporated: 08/22/2007 in ID
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Motor Vehicles
ID

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Rod West, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rod West, General Manager
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS-NEW CARS

Products & Services

Peterson Chevrolet Buick Cadillac sells the following brand(s): Chevrolet, Buick, Cadillac


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Peterson Chevrolet Buick Cadillac has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 12300 W Fairview

    Boise, ID 83713 (208) 378-5000 (888) 568-6533

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (208) 378-5000(Phone)
  • (888) 568-6533(Phone)
  • (208) 323-5010 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information

Complaint Detail(s)

3/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/23/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They had advertised a Jeep on********** at a very reasonable price and was very interested in purchasing this vehicle. Called to make an appointment to see the vehicle and possibly buy. I do not remember the ladies name who I talked to over the phone she informed me that it was still available. When I showed up shortly after the call they told me that it was sold four hours ago. They then proceeded to try and show me other comparable vehicles with significantly higher mileage and the price higher as well. Frustrated I left and continued my search online and at other establishments soon to find this phantom vehicle reposted on craigslist. I soon put this together to realize they are using a bait and switch for their customers.

Desired Settlement: Bait and switch is just a waste of time for everyone

Business Response:

 

The Jeep was sold earlier that day. The vehicles that we post to ********** stay on the site for a week at a time. We cannot control this.

I also have no record of *** ****** being in our store or calling. We do record our calls.

Vehicles that get sold don’t even come off of our own website until the office “finalizes” the deal. This could take a couple of days.

Any questions feel free to call or email me.

Thank you.

 

*** **** ******* *******

 

******** ********* ***** ******** ***** ** ******** *** ****** ** ***** ************

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been calling over to Peterson Chevrolet Buick Cadillac of Boise from an overseas location to purchase a Chevrolet Cruze bought and ready for when I arrive home. I had a very detailed description of what I wanted my car to be since I am buying it new. ***** ******(Sales Consultant/Internet Specialist) said they found a Chevy Cruze to fit my description to a "T" but they would have to get it from a different dealership. For them to do so, they needed a $1000 holding fee. I agreed and they sent me the paper work via email, I signed the paperwork and sent it back. I gave him my credit card number to debit the $1000 fee. They told me the car was locked down and they just needed talk to the bank to lock in an interest rate for me. THE NEXT DAY I received an email from ***** ****** saying I need to call the Peterson Dealership... I called ***** and he told me that my car that was "Locked In" was sold out from under me by the dealership they were picking up the Chevrolet Cruze from. However he was sure to "Bait and Switch" me with a car that was just a little more expensive with a few more features.

Desired Settlement: To have Peterson honor their agreement and if the car that was promised actually did sell... To sell me the upgrade Chevy Cruze for the original agreed upon price of the "Lock In" Chevy Cruze.

Business Response:

In regards to *** ******** complaint number ********We cannot control other dealers. She wanted a specific vehicle of which we found 2 in a 500 mile radius. The dealer that we were getting it from sold it out from underneath us. We have returned *** ******** deposit. We have 50 new Cruze’s  in stock, we are not trying to bait and switch her. We wouldn’t have returned her deposit if we were. She can have any Cruze that we have in stock for invoice minus all incentives and even holdback. Part of the problem was *** ****** taking so long to make up her mind  [which is why the other dealer sold it].

*** *********** *******

 

Peterson Chevrolet Buick Cadillac

9501 W. Fairview Ave

Boise, ID 83704

208.323.5000

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/19/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently purchased a 2009 Dodge Challenger with 14,000 miles from Peterson's in Boise. I did not purchase an extended warranty with it for and extra $1,600 due to the fact the vehicle came with a 90 day "No Worries, Drive Happy" warranty. Two months after purchasing the vehicle I broke down on a (before Christmas road trip to see my mother) with wiring problems on top of the Rocky mountains in a record storm. I was stuck there at night for five hours and no heater because the car would not run due to electrical failure. The car had to eventually be towed to a Dodge dealership in northern Wyoming, repairs could not be completed until after Christmas. My mother then had to drive me to billings to rent a car so that I could be home in Oregon in time for the holidays. Two days after the holidays my girlfriend and I were going to drive all the way back, pick up the car, and head back home. The bill from the Wyoming dealership? Try over $700. Four hours out of Cody we broke down (same problem) again in Bozeman, Montana. Five hours later problem fixed, and a price tag of over $300. I let Peterson's know about this being as it was under a 90 day warranty and they said they would get back to me that monday. Two weeks later I had to call back and ask what they were going to do. They said cover half!? They cut me a check for $400 dollars. Now I'm not a math teacher but thats not half, and being under warranty shouldn't they cover all repairs done on the vehicle? Let alone rental car and hotels?

Desired Settlement: I would settle on a full refund on all repairs, hotels, and the rental car, for the extra trip due to my car breaking down at this unexpected time. I would also like to note I will not be requesting a refund for gas, or food, for the additional trip.

Business Response:

Concerning the complaint * *******. The part that needed to be replaced was not covered by our “No Worries” warranty, nor was it  covered by Chrysler’s

Powertrain or “ Bumper to Bumper “ warranty. We did pay for ½ of the correct repair. We are not going to pay for a misdiagnosis [which happened at the first Dodge store]. We pride ourselves on taking very good care of the customer and for us to pay 1/2 of a non-covered item is just that.

Thank you.

 

*** ****

General Manager

 

Peterson Chevrolet Buick Cadillac

9501 W. Fairview Ave

Boise, ID 83704

208.323.5000

Consumer Response:


Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID*******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
Actually it was not a misdiagnosed problem. I talked to both dealers because if it was a misdiagnosed problem and they put the wrong part in then I would be holding them accountable. But since that was part of the problem then I'm holding you accountable. You say that you have paid half? No. What you basically covered ($400) was the problem I had in Bozeman Montana not the one in Cody Wyoming which was close to $800. Because of the vehicles malfunction I had to purchase a hotel two different days and a rental car. So you paid half?! I dont think that is half, sorry. You will be hearing from me for a while to come. I am the wrong person to mess with because of all the connections I have. I have already posted reviews and craigslist adds (where **********advertises). A ton of people I know are looking to buy new, after I told them about your "no worries drive happy warrenty" and the problems ive had, they will not take there business to **********

Regards,

******** ********

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

6/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service