BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In The Snake River Region

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides new and used cars sales, parts and service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dennis Dillon Chrysler Jeep Dodge meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dennis Dillon Chrysler Jeep Dodge include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

9 Customer Reviews on Dennis Dillon Chrysler Jeep Dodge
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 6
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 9

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 29, 2009 Business started: 04/01/2008 in ID
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Idaho Transportation Department
3311 W State St , Boise ID 83703
Phone Number: (208) 334-8000

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Brad Dillon, President Mr. Dennis Dillon, CEO Mr. Duane Sessions, CFO/Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brad Dillon, President
Principal: Mr. Dennis Dillon, CEO
Customer Contact: Mr. Duane Sessions, CFO/Vice President
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS-NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS-USED CARS


Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information

Complaint Detail(s)

5/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife had gone in to look at a dodge dakota and she was interested so they let her drive it for part of the day because I didn't get off until 5pm. We decided we would like it and returned to see what we could do to purchase it. We had another vehicle that we still owed quite a bit on and were not sure if it would even work. The salesman came out and met us and we said that we would like to buy the dodge. After a few attempts of trying to find a payment and amount that would work for us I told him lets just wait. We owe too much and it would be better if I sold the Jeep first and then came back. He said ok. I asked for our key to the Jeep that he had taken in the beginning so "his people could take a look" He said I will be right back. He came back with the kelly blue book prices but no key. I said no thanks lets just wait and thanked him for his time. I asked again can we get our key. He said ok I will be back. He came back with another salesman that I had seen earlier being very confrontational with some other customers to me. He said hello and started to sit down and I asked were was my key. He said don't you want to hear what I have to say and I said no I already went through all of this with this guy where is my key. He replied that he would get my key when he was done talking. I said no I want my key now. He then told me he doesn't have it. And then started to say the thing is and I cut him off and said please just give me my key. He continued to argue and finally started walking around the office slowly appearing to look for the key. I pulled out my phone getting ready to call the police and the other salesman brought the key. I could not believe that I was in a place of business with adults. It was like playing a jr high game of hide and seek. He always had a smirk on his face and didn't care. I also could not believe no other employees stepped in. I have worked customer service before and I am in management and would never allow any employee to act in that way.

Desired Settlement: I would like an apology from both salesmen in front of the crew that was present.

Business Response: I apologize if your visit to Dennis Dillon did not meet your expectations.  We strive to do the best we can with every customer.  I would like to personally try to remedy the situation with you.  I would appreciate it if you would contact me at ************.



BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 11, 2011 I took my 1994 Pontiac Firebird to Dennis Dillon in Caldwell. I had a coolant leak and oil leak and had other work done. The Service Advisor ***** ******** told me that the oil pan would have to be removed to work on the timing cover gasket and told me they would also do an oil change. Total bill for all work was $2240. Dennis Dillon has a 12 month/12,000 mile warranty on repair work. On March 26, 2012 I took my car back because there was a leak from the oil pan. At that time Service Advisor,****** ********* told me they had never removed the oil pan, even though the previous Service Advisor told me that was part of the job when working on the timing cover. They repaired the leak from the oil pan and the bill was $435.I took my car back on March 25, 2013 because it was leaking oil again. They repaired a leak from the front crank seal, which apparently was a repair done from the first visit. On May 23, 2013 I took my car to another repair shop. They told me that when replacing the timing cover gasket it is required to remove the oil pan or the oil pan gasket could be damaged thus causing a leak. I also verified this procedure with a local GM repair shop. They also said the repair on the front crank seal was leaking again, after only two months. They said silicone was used incorrectly to repair the leak.On May 29, 2013 I took my car to Dennis Dillon on Orchard Street so they could try and find out where the oil leaks are coming from. They power washed the engine and added dye to the oil, but no leaks have turned up yet. They did say the thermostat was leaking which had been replaced during the March 26, 2011 repair work in Caldwell. I called Dennis Dillon to see about getting a refund since the repair work wasnt done correctly and caused an oil leak later. I talked to *** ******* and he refused to give me a refund. He only offered $100, not the $435 that it cost to repair the oil pan leak, and only after I said I would file a complaint with the BBB.

Desired Settlement: I would like $435 refunded.I would also like all the repairs from the original visit on April 11, 2011 fixed correctly according to proper repair procedures.

Business Response:

By looking at the repair order from April 11, 2011 I can’t tell if the oil pan gasket was replaced or not.   After nearly a year, the service advisor *** ************ spoke with on March 26, 2012 would have looked at the same repair order I did and because the oil pan gasket is not included in the description he might have concluded that the oil pan gasket had not been replaced.  Sometimes on repair orders with lots of small parts and gaskets one can be missed.  The technician that completed the repairs is no longer with us so I can’t ask him nor would he probably remember an individual vehicle after 2 years. 

Nevertheless, whether the oil pan gasket was actually replaced or not, the oil pan leak started  within the 12 month/12,000 mile warranty period, therefore we will refund *** ************ the $435 and no other adjustment or work will be performed on this vehicle.  As part of this refund *** ************ will be required to sign a customer goodwill form before the refund will be released.  

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/2/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: New transmission installed in 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan in May 2012. On family vacation in July 2012 vehicle died 2 times on the interstate. Vehicle taken in for service on July 24, 2012 for transmission problems and not returned until August 22, 2012. Continued to drive vehicle and transmission still not shifting properly, returned to dealer for service on September 10, 2012 and told that coolant leak was causing problem. Paid $325.10 to fix coolant leak problem however transmission still not functioning correctly. Took vehicle back to dealer a few weeks later and test drove with service tech, while making a left hand turn at roughly 10 miles per hour vehicle experienced extremely hard shift. Vehicle left with dealer for 3 days after which time we were told it takes a while to break in a transmission and we should just keep driving vehicle. November 3, 2012 a complaint call is made to dealer regarding vehicle still not shifting properly. November 4, 2012 vehicle dies on the interstate leaving family stranded on the interstate. Vehicle towed to dealer and service work performed. November 30, 2012 vehicle dies while in transit and family stranded on the side of the road. Dealership contacted and solution is to bring the vehicle in for service the following Monday,no offer to have the vehicle towed, no offer to send service, no offer to provide a loaner vehicle while we are once again without a functioning van. Ever since the install of the transmission in early summer 2012 we have had serious issues with the vehicle, and it is a major safety concerning for my family. It is a safety concern to travel anywhere in the vehicle, not only concerns with once again being stranded but also concerns with the vehicle dieing in a traffic situation and possibly experiencing a serious accident. Dealer's attitude to whether or not the vehicle is actually repaired is indifferent and the fact that we are once again without a vehicle due to their inability to repair the van is irrelevant to them.

Desired Settlement: It is very frustrating that I have paid over $3,500 for the transmission and coolant issue and I am stuck without a functioning vehicle. I paid this money with the understanding that my vehicle would be fixed. I do not feel that the dealer has kept their end of the bargain - repairing my vehicle. In addition to the cash paid, my family has suffered the trauma of being stranded 4 times and the inconvenience of being without the vehicle for weeks. I would like a cash refund.

Business Response: We understand the situation this customer is in and we are currently trying to help resolve the issues he is having with his vehicle.  Unfortuantely, he has had this vehicle repaired at other non Dennis Dillon facilities and the problems we are dealing with relate to poor repairs completed by other shops.  At this pont we are providing some goodwill repairs for this customer, but we can't be held responsible for poor repairs completed by others

Consumer Response:


We had recently sent in a complaint about Dennis Dillion Dodge in Caldwell.  They have serviced our Dodge Grand Caravan since July.  It has been in their shop 6 times.  .  Please note they took 6 weeks the first time they had our car.  The communication was very poor the first time and we understand the employee handling us in no longer working there.  However, we had to turn around and take it back two weeks later because a pipe was cracked that we did pay for gladly.  Then it still did not shift correctly when yielding to turn a corner or turn in to a parking lot. This led to another visit where they had me drive with the Tech and he witnessed with myself the car shifting hard.  They had for a week and gave it back.  Then my wife was driving it and she became stranded on the freeway with three of our children.  It was towed to the Dealership.  We got it home for a week and my wife was stranded again.  The car visited their shop two times after our complaint on December 10th.  The second time it was in their shop for three weeks.  They did provide a service vehicle which was appreciated.  However, today brings a new story.  My wife was stranded tonight in 6 degree weather with six young girls in a school parking lot.  We have been driving the car for two weeks.  So at this point we are to trip number 7 to the shop.  Please note that the car still shifts terrible when yielding to make a turn or turn into a parking lot.  My wife stated that is was becoming more predominant.  So we still feel the transmission is not working properly and it is under warranty.   We just want the car fixed or our money back.  We do not feel satisfied at all.  Just very very disappointed.

 

 

Business Response: I reviewed the********* complaints with the various Dennis Dillon employees they have dealt with.  As you might expect there is another side to the story.  With that being said I want to review some facts.  First, the********* did not purchase their 150,000+mile vehicle from any of the Dennis Dillon dealerships.  Second, they had extensive repairs completed by an independent shop that created many of the problems with their vehicle.  Third, we went above and beyond to help the ********* with their situation, including providing them loaner cars, customer goodwill and heavily discounted repairs. There are several Chrysler dealerships in the area and I suggest they take their vehicle to one  of those repair facilities for any questions about the transmission.  The warranty on the transmission is provided by Chrysler not Dennis Dillon.  Also, as they were told we would respectfully ask them that in the future they seek repairs on their vehicle elsewhere.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

5/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1