BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In The Snake River Region

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used auto sales.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dennis Dillon Auto Park & Truck Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Dennis Dillon Auto Park & Truck Center include:

  • 28 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Dennis Dillon Auto Park & Truck Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 28 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

28 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 7
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 17
Total Closed Complaints 28

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

9 Customer Reviews on Dennis Dillon Auto Park & Truck Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 6
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 9

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 01, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1975 in DE Business started locally: 01/01/1975 Business incorporated: 01/01/1975 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brad Dillon, President Mr. Dennis E Dillon, CEO Mr. Duane Sessions, CFO/Vice President Mr. Jason Wood, Comptroller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brad Dillon, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Duane Sessions, CFO/Vice President
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS-NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS-USED CARS

Products & Services

Dennis Dillon Auto Park & Truck Center sells the following brand(s): Fiat, GMC, Isuzu, Kia, Mazda, Nissan, Suzuki

Dennis Dillon Auto Park & Truck Center offers the following product(s): Cars, Crossovers, Minivans, SUVs, Trucks

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
T: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
W: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Th: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
F: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
S: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Su: 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Service Area
This company serves Boise and the surrounding area.
Alternate Business Names
Dennis Dillon Nissan

Additional Locations

  • 2777 S Orchard St

    Boise, ID 83705

  • 8727 W Fairview Ave

    Boise, ID 83704

  • PO Box 7944

    Boise, ID 83707 (208) 336-6000

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 343-4930(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information

Complaint Detail(s)

7/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Thursday the 29th of May I took my Suzuki Forenza in for an oil change.On Sunday the 1st of June when my wife moved the Suzuki Forenza from the garage I noticed a 2ft by foot and a half oil spill on my garage floor.I took it back to Dennis Dillon the following Monday, because I believe they forgot to tighten the bolt on the oil pan. Someone then placed my vehicle in the third bay in the front. I watched them lift my car and tighten the bolt and clean the underside of my engine. Then my car was lowered and watched someone pour a new quart of oil in, to try and top it off. I then saw the same person pick up a large milky white jug will a dark liquid in it, and pour that in my car. Until it is proven otherwise I believe they put used oil in my car to top it off. After, I watched my car taken to the front parking lot. I walked inside to wait for my key. I was informed that the bolt was not loose, that there was residual oil on the under carriage and that is where the oil was coming from. I have 3 problems with this: 1) I saw them tighten the bolt on the oil pan. I stated this and was told they were just checking to see if it was tight already. If it was tight already the wrench would not have moved. 2) Residual on the bottom of the engine would not have caused the large oil spill in my clean garage floor. Dennis Dillon denied that there was a problem after I already told them what was wrong and watched them fix it. My car is not leaking oil anymore. Now my Third point. 3) What was in the large milky white container/jug? Was this used oil, used to top off my engine? And if so, why did I pay for an oil change where I was given used oil?

Desired Settlement: I want an explanation of these events, and what are they willing to do for me to keep me as a costumer. As of right now, I cannot trust them.

Business Response: I am sorry I have taken so long to respond to this complaint.  We have been working with Mr. ****** regarding his concern.  At this point I believe we have resolved his concerns.

 
Thanks,
 
*************
Dennis Dillon Automotive Group

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

All I was given was an email asking me to come in and see how they run things. I do not have time to waste going back down there at this moment. I have already wasted my time going back there because the original oil change was not done correctly, and then get lied to. This is my response to Dennis Dillon’s offer

"Thank you for the response to my concern. I have received your email. I have been very busy with work. With regards to your terms, of showing me around, I will come in but, I am not sure as of right now how this is going to build my trust with you guys. I am not sure when I will be able to come in. I will keep you inform of when I have time to come in.”

I find it an insult to think this complaint is closed. I have not set up a time to come in yet. I have not even come close to thinking this business has any integrity. Their rush to shut this complaint down shows me, shutting this complaint down is more important than my actual complaint.

Regards,

****** ******

 

 

Business Response:

I apologize it took me so long to respond to this complaint.  We were working with Mr.****** to get him into the shop to help him understand that there was no used oil put into his vehicle or any vehicle serviced at Dennis Dillon.  He has a very busy schedule and it took some time to make this happen.  During Mr. ******** visit we were able resolve his complaint and concern.

Thanks,

***** ********

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 10, 2014 we took our Mazda 3 into Dennis Dillon for an oil change. Our service advisor was ***** **** who immediately checked the auto transmission fluid and smelled it. He then asked my husband if he smelled the burnt smell. My husband said he did not smell it. He proceeded to tell my husband that it needed a transmission service. He also looked at the previous services done on the vehicle. At that time my husband did not recall that the transmission was serviced 8,000 miles ago by the previous owner. We feel we should not have been sold this service. The previous service records should have shown that it had been done. The transmission did not show any signs of any problems. It shifted smoothly without any indication of any problems. Upon getting home we saw on the Carfax report that the transmission had indeed been serviced about 8,000 miles ago at Dennis Dillon. After about 5 calls to different people in the service department and messages left no one has returned my calls. We even had a customer satisfaction person call and ask us about our visit and service received. I informed her about our complaint and she said she would contact ** ********* and have him get in touch with us. Same old story NO RETURN CALL.

Desired Settlement: We would like to have a full refund of $140.00

Business Response:  I am sorry that Mr. and Mrs. ***** are unhappy with our services.  We will gladly refund the $140.  It should be noted that the previous transmission service was completed almost 2 years ago and even though the car only had an additional 8,000 miles on it, miles don't properly dictate what the actual driving conditions were, heat, dirt etc.

 
We will mail out the check shortly.
 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This could be very hard to explain so bare with me. I bought a car from ****** ******** ***** in Boise, Idaho on 7/14/2012. The car that was sold to me was a 2001 Pontiac Trans Am WS6. A year and a half later I traded that car in to Dennis Dillon Mazda in Boise and they told me it was just a Pontiac Trans Am, and not the WS6 package. I didn't get near the trade on it that I had hoped because a Firebird Trans Am is not as valuable as a WS6. So at this point I'm thinking either ***** or Dennis is doing me wrong here. A few days later Dennis Dillon starts advertising the Firebird as a WS6 on the internet. I have pictures of this, and I had a staff sergeant with me the day I traded it in when they said to my face that it wasn't a WS6. I traded it in in mid November them promptly got sent on a TDY and haven't had the time until now to get started on handling this. I have called ***** and they have been very helpful with me. I have called Dennis Dillon 6 times now and no one has answered yet. I have had a E-mail conversation with a member of the sales team at Dennis Dillon. I got around to asking her if the Firebird had since been sold she said "yes" and I asked was it sold as a Firebird Trans Am WS6 and she said " I believe so". So this is where I am at right now. I would appreciate any help. If there is any questions that I can answer to help with this please do not hesitate to call or email me. The phone signal on base is not great so if I don't answer just leave a message and I will get back to you as soon as possible. Thanks.

Desired Settlement: The car was in very good condition and at the time of trading in I owed $13,000 and would have liked to get at least $11,500 for it. They gave me $8,000. The car on KBB has an average trade in of $11,398. I want $3,000 as a settlement.

Business Response:

I discussed the appraisal with the used vehicle manager that appraised the 2001 Trans Am for the Patterson’s.  He indicated to me that he appraised the vehicle for what he felt the vehicle was worth, whether it had the WS6 package or not.  With this being said, we decline to offer any type of adjustment to the value of the vehicle traded in.  If the Patterson’s are interested in any vehicle service or accessories I can help them with an additional discount.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Four months ago I purchased a used vehicle from Dennis Dillon Nissan. At the time was very happy with the way I was treated. And I bought a service plan from them for a hefty price. Only because they promised if anything at all broke on the car they would fix it, at no cost to me for five years or fifty thousand miles. Over the weekend things started going wrong with my vehicle. I dropped it off at the Dennis Dillon service center. I was later given a call by an employee who told me that only one of the many things wrong with my car was covered. So I told him I wanted to speak to someone because I was told something different when I purchased the vehicle. He said I should talk to finance. All day I tried to call them and they never answered. I left a message they never called me back. Frustrated I called the service center and asked them how I could talk to someone in finance. Randy said he would transfer me and if they didn't answer to call him back. They didn't so I called him back, he said he would take them my number and tell them to call me but no one ever called. So then I called the parts center and asked them how I could speak to someone in finance. They said they didn't know but would give them the message. Still no calls, apparently Dennis Dillon cares until they get your money, after that consider yourself screwed.

Desired Settlement: Fix my car like they said they would or give me back the money I paid for this useless service plan.

Consumer Response: After filing my complaint with you, Dennis Dillon has reached out to me and resolved the matter. 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/21/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dennis Dillon KIA Automotive center has had my car for over two weeks and has had problems figuring out what is wrong with my car. On Tuesday October 29th, **** at Dennis Dillon called my fiance ******* ******* saying they will be not warranting my car because we have been getting my oil changed at *** ***** **** ****** ** **** ****** ** and they have been putting the wronf oil in because on the invoice it says they used 5W20 and my car recommends 5W30 but does not require it but Dennis Dillon has not ran an oil analysis test to confirm that the oil is what has caused failure to possibly my engine or turbo. They are wrongly denying my warranty without shadow of a doubt proving that the oil is the problem. We have asked Dennis Dillon to run an oil analysis test but they are refusing to unless we pay for it or *** ***** since they are blaming them but *** ***** has contacted their distric manager who informed them that the oil *** ***** uses is directly from the Nissan Kia Oil distributor and the API that is required for my car is the exact same between those two oil types in my car. We have informed Dennis Dillon for our findings but they refusing to help us in any way and they have stopped trying to find what is wrong with engine and wont run the necessary test to prove their warrany deny. I am feeling cheated and lied to and that Dennis Dillon is not truly trying to help me and they are refusing to even get me a rental car in the mean time and it has been very stressful and difficult getting to and from work and getting my son to and from school with only one car between me and my fiance.

Desired Settlement: We are wanting a full refund on our car because we are not wanting to deal with KIA ever again after this horrible customer service and we do not feel like this is a good honest company to stand behind us like they should do for a customer. If we are not able to get a full refund then we would like to be able to trade in our car for the car we choose at the amount we would like.

Business Response: First, this vehicle was not purchased from Dennis Dillon.  Second the warranty on this vehicle is provided by Kia Motors not Dennis Dillon.  Dennis Dillon can only perform warranty repairs as approved by Kia Motors.  The warranty repair on this vehicle was denied by Kia Motors because the wrong oil was used in the engine and performance parts have been added to the vehicle. Unfortunately our hands are tied on this repair.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

11/7/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On October 18, 2013 I purchased a new vehicle from Dennis Dillon Mazda. During the signing of required legal documents and dealer-specific documents I was given a form to sign labeled "Pro Mark Security Label System," "Guarantee Registration Form."Before signing I asked, "What is this?" The response was, "Oh, that's something we put in at not charge to you." The bottom of the form was not visible, apparently covered by other papers at that time. The bottom of the form stated, "Purchase Price: 299.50," and the remainder of the page is a statement is bold lettering: 'ACKNOWLEDGEMENT: Purchase of the PrOMark...label system is optional..." There is a line with an "x" next to it next to for initials to indicate concurrence or understanding. This line is not initialed because I did not see that part of the form.The next evening, October 19, I was reviewing all the purchase documents, and only then did I see that this was a contract for a "299.50" purchase.On the purchase order there is a charge of $299.50 for "THEFT DETERRENT SYSTEM" in a column labeled "INSURANCE INFORMATION." The price I paid for the vehicle included that charge, but I did not notice it at that time. I am 65 years old, and in spite of my age, I still trust people, and I'm usually right to do so. I realize that my ability to observe and make judgements is not as clear as it was when I was younger, and I believe that Dennis Dillon Mazda took advantage of that to intentionally mislead me to believe that a product was being given to me at no charge. I also believe that part of the form stating "Purchase Price..." and "Acknowledgement..." was intentionally hidden to disguise the nature of the document. NOTE: I caught the seller trying the same ruse when my daughter was buying a car at another Dennis Dillon facility and spoke to *** ****** about the incident. Yet I fell for it myself only two months later.

Desired Settlement: Although I believe that this issue may affect thousands of customers, I can only speak for myself and ask for negation of the contract and a prompt,full refund of $299.50.NOTE: I have made no complaint to the seller because they know exactly what they're doing, and even if they gave me a refund, I believe it would have no impact on their practices.

Business Response:

*** ****** should have already received the full refund of the Pro Mark Security Label System as it went into the mail several days ago.  I am sorry if you feel like the forms you signed were not clearly explained to you when you purchased your vehicle from Dennis Dillon. I assure you it is not Dennis Dillon’s practice to mislead our customers.  As a point of clarification and maybe part of the confusion, the Pro Mark Security Label System is installed on all vehicles at Dennis Dillon and then the customer has the option to purchase the product.  Also, the purchase price and the acknowledgement is clearly displayed in the center of the form not at the bottom. 

Again, I am sorry for the confusion and hopefully our prompt response to your concern will help you feel we do care about our customers and try to make each customer’s buying experience a positive one.  If your daughter feels like she did not fully understand that she was purchasing the Pro Mark Security Label System please let me know so I can get her a refund as well.  My number is ************.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/17/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I'm not exactly sure how to categorize my issue. I apologize if I made a mistake. Here is a copy of the letter I wrote. I hope you are able to assist me. Thanks.To whom it may concern, I am begging for someone to assist us and do the right thing. My 90 year old grandmother purchased a car for my mother. At first, my grandmother was going to pay for part of the car and finance the rest. After leaving the lot, my grandmother changed her mind and decided to pay for the entire car. My mother went back first thing the next day and paid off the car. All the paperwork was to show my mother as the first and only owner of the car. The fact that the paperwork was never correct didnt become apparent to us until just recently. My grandmother passed away the beginning of July. My mother is going through a very difficult time. When my mother took her car in to get some servicing done, she was told that her ten year warranty was now chopped in half because she is the second owner of the car. I dont understand why Kia would do this to a grieving lady. I dont understand why it is a big deal. Is my mothers model of car expected to have a lot of problems after five years? My mother has tried to be very calm and tried to speak to multiple people in an effort to have someone assist her and treat her with some empathy, courtesy and common sense. No one has been willing to understand our unique situation and helps us. Since my mothers efforts have failed, I am now going to intervene and advocate on her behalf. My Grandmother just passed away, so she can't support my mother and help clear up this mess. It feels as though people are trying to take advantage of my mother when she is at her most vulnerable and I don't understand what is gained by taking all this stuff away from my mother. Is there anyone that will step up and help us by reinstating the warranty? I appreciate your time. ****

Desired Settlement: I just want the warranty and all applicable services offered at time of purchase to be reinstated as my mother is the first and only owner of this vehicle.

Business Response:

I am sorry for your loss. 

 I have reviewed all the paperwork associated with ****** *********** purchase of a 2013 Kia Rio.  The purchase took place on **** ** ****.  I found nothing in the file to indicate that anybody other than **** ********* was going to be on the title for the vehicle.  I also got a copy of the registration and it only has **** *********** name on it.   

Kia is very clear on the warranty that it only applies to the original owner.  The number at Kia to call regarding this situation is ************. 

There is an option to allow the warranty to be reinstated through the dealership.  The cost for this is $400.  We would need to inspect the vehicle and then collect $400 (our actual cost) in order for this to occur. 

Please contact me to make arrangements to have the vehicle inspected.  My number is ********. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought in my 2008 Nissan Altima that was making a gear noise and was determined by Dennis Dillion Nissan that it was the CVT (Transmission) and it would be covered 100% under Nissan's CVT extended warranty. I received a phone call while it was being replaced and was told by the service advisor "The starter solenoid was cracked" and the whole starter had to be replaced. He explained "Its hard to explain but needs to be replaced" "If we remove the it it will crack" Looking at the wiring diagram why was this even touched during the removal of the CVT? Also the car did not have any starting issues at all. I do not believe this is a correct charge. When I picked up my car from the dealer on 8/14/13 there was a wire hanging from bottom of it in plain sight. They pulled it back in and said "Sorry it was only a O2 sensor not plugged in"

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund of the $393.15 since the starter should have not been needed to be removed to replace the CVT.

Business Response: *** ******* is correct that the transmission was replaced under warranty on his 2008 Nissan Altima.  According to Nissan repair procedures, because the starter is attached to the transmission, it is has to be removed in order to replace the transmission.  As the technician began the process he noticed that the solenoid on the starter was broken.  At this time *** ******* was contacted and informed of the condition of the starter solenoid. *** ******* approved the repair and the starter was replaced.


We are not willing to refund *** ******* the cost of the repair.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

7/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car into Dennis Dillon because my air conditioning was not working. I was told after they inspected my car that an evac of the air system and refilling of the coolant was all that was needed to fix it. They gave me a quote of $123.33 which I approved and paid. After I paid them, I got my car back and the air conditioning was not fixed. It was blowing hot air. I called *** who was handling my service. She told me to bring my car in and they would resolve the issue. I was then told that now my AC Expansion Valve was broken and needed to be replaced. They want to charge me $393 additional to do so. I told *** that I would not like to proceed with this repair, and that I want my $123.33 back from the "repair" they made that did not fix anything. She refused saying that the evac and refilling of the coolant would have needed to be done anyways. I told her I would have never approved an amount of $123.33 + $393.00 and that it was her techs responsibility to find what is wrong with a car, and properly quote the repairs.I said I was quoted a price of $122 to fix my A/C. You claimed this would get the job done and it was not done. Now, you are asking me for $393 more, which I would have never agreed to if originally quoted as such. You did not fix anything, and I want my $122 back as I will go to a more reputable place who can repair my car for the costs they quote. She told me in no way, shape or form would she refund my money. So now, I have a car with no working A/C and I have paid $123.33 for essentially nothing.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund in the amount of $123.33 for the amount I paid for repairs that were not done. I was quoted a price by which to repair my air conditioning and now I am being told the cost has doubled.

Business Response: Brandi's vehicle is in our shop at this time and we are trying to resolve the issue she is having with her vehicle

Consumer Response:

Dennis Dillon had my car, then told me it would be $1500 to fix. *** *** ******* ******* told me I had two choices. To have them fix it for an additional $1500 or he would refund my $123. I chose the refund and he told me I would have it by today. I have received nothing. 

 

 

Business Response: Check was cut on June 26 and cleared our bank on July 5 so everything should be taken care of.


BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i financed a car and put$1000down.drove of the lot,filled fuel tank.drove to work a few times&parked the vehical.received text"call asap"text back"ok"they text"thanks"went to get my car and it was gone.had no clue what happened.the dealer repod saying insurance not good,but i had insurance.went to insurance company.they gave proof of full insurance.manager@dealer said good to go.salesman came over and said,since they repod i would need to refinance,need another down payment,pay tow fee&d.o.c.fees.again,i had no idea this was going to happen.no warning about what was happening.i just want to make things as to undestand.all records i had were in the car@time of repo&did not get them back w/personals thank-you.

Desired Settlement: to be determined.thank-you.

Business Response: I have reveiwed the situation described by *** ***** and i disagree with the chain of events described.  Based on the review i have completed no refund is due.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

2/6/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: October 28th 2012- Visit Dealership and select a vehicle to purchase, bring in Trade in vehicle. Amongst other documents to speed things along we supply them with a copy of the current payment info for our trade in vehicle a 2010 Jeep Wrangler. Our payment coupon on the Jeep showed current balance, account number, financial lender and their contact information. They took copies of said document. The Financial Lender on the Jeep was ********. Part of the agreement to purchase new vehicle was for a full tank of fuel and a set of floor mats for the new vehicle. They put a dealer plate on the truck so we can take it home. Say they will take plate back once do paperwork. At this time, they take $300 off of our debit card toward the purchase of the truck.October 29th 2012-WE revisit Dealership to finalize the new documents on the new vehicle a 2006 GMC Denali Pick UP Truck. We surrender all necessary items for Jeep, spare Keys etc. Ask about the tank of fuel and floor mats and am told that we need to speak with the salesman about that. Go speak to the sales dept and tell them to get their license plate and they put fuel in the truck and say I need to go to the parts dept to get the floor mats. They do not take back the license plate. Parts dept says that there is no record of them agreeing to give me floor mats and that I am out of luck, that I signed a waiver that they owed me nothing. I complained to them and instructed that I signed no waiver and was instructed go see them about it. They said if it is not in the computer then there is nothing they will do. That they can talk to their Manager when he came back on Thursday of that week. I left my name and number. I have never received a phone call about floor mats. In the new paperwork we were told that if we take this certain form to the dealership that we purchased the Jeep from we are entitled to A Pro Rated Reimbursement of the GAP insurance we purchased. That afternoon I visit said dealership which in this case is *********, and take care of the reimbursement paperwork. I am informed that it will take up to 8 weeks for the reimbursement.October 30th, 2012Receive phone call that I need to return the license plate to the Dennis Dillon Dealership because they forgot to take them off the previous day when advised to take it. November 9th, 2012-Receive phone call from *********requesting a payment on Jeep, Inform them that vehicle was traded in on 10/28th and we are informed that there has been no pay off nor has a call ever been received about payoff total. Proceed to call Dennis Dillon and get transferred around to an unnamed voice mail, leave message with situation, name and phone number. November 12th, 2012 ****, with Dennis Dillon, calls and advises that our voicemail was left in an office that no one is using. We fill them in on the no payoff on the loan and they say the payment was made. **** advises that he will need to research and call us back. He then calls back and states the payment was sent on November 7th and someone signed for it on 8th. He doesnt know who. We call ********* and have not received anything, they even check for payments that came in with no account number. November 14th, 2012 ****, calls from Dennis Dillon, and asks who our loan was through for the Jeep. Advise ********. He advised that they messed up and on paperwork put GMAC and that is where payoff was sent. We advised him again that GM Financial had said that no one had called them to get a pay off. He states will contact them get a payoff amount and get it sent overnight. At this point, we think that all issues are resolved.Mid December-We receive the payoff letter from ******* saying loan is paid in full and closed.Beginning of January 2013We start wondering when we will see our Reimbursement of the Gap insurance. We contact ******** and we are informed that they cut a check for the reimbursement, they cut a check for $453.76, with check number 64961, on November 1st and it was cashed on November 8th. They had to cut the check to ****** since the loan was not paid off when they issued the reimbursement and that we would have to contact *******. We contact ******* and are advised that we would need to contact Dennis Dillon to get reimbursement since payment from ****** came in before Dennis Dillon even called them for pay off amount and that they paid the remaining balance. While on the phone with *********** we ask about a check that we received for $77.81. We are advised it is for the over payment of the balance.January 7th 2013Finally get to talk to someone in Finance we do not get her name at 1:39 PM, she says that she is the one who prepared our loan and that they were going to do nothing about the reimbursement. We would have to contact ******** to get it. Asked to speak to a Manager and got transferred to the unnamed mailbox. We did not leave a message. Called back at 1:57 p.m. Got in touch with a man named **** that said he was the Finance Manager or Sales Manager, do not recall which one, told the entire story to him and he said he would do a little research and call back. We do not receive a call back.January 9th 2013 1:12 p.m. At this point, we still have not received a call from anyone. We call ask for **** and are asked if I want the finance manager and say yes get transferred to the unnamed mailbox, leave message with name and phone number and instruct that it was important to get a call back today. Never receive a call back.January 10th 2013Called and got in touch with a ****, he said that he did not work on Monday the 7th, apparently there are 2 **** in Finance. We tell him the whole issue and he said he would get someone who can help and have them call us, informed him that we had heard that before and never got called back. He Promised someone would call back.As of when this complaint has been filed, we have not received any return calls from Dennis Dillon.

Desired Settlement: We would like them to rectify the issues that they have created and honor what their sale people say they will do. We feel that they owe us the $453.76. This would take care of the amount for the Gap Insurance and it would cover the cost of floor mats for the truck. We fulfilled our end of the purchase. They need to take responsibility for their actions and step up to make things right.

Business Response: I reviewed the signed Retail Order for Motor Vehicles (Purchase Order) dated 10/28/2012.  This document clearly shows a payoff of $25,759.  The customer also signed a “Payoff Agreement” that also clearly shows a payoff amount of $25,759.  Included within this document is a statement as follows, ”If the amount owed is greater than the balance agreed to by buyer and seller, buyer will promptly pay the difference to seller.”  This document clearly outlines that if the actual payoff is more than what was signed for on the purchase order, the customer would owe the dealership the difference.  In this case we obtained the payoff of $25,759 on 10/28/2012 and the payoff was received by ** ********* on November 14th for $25,760.54.   With this being said, regardless of what happened with the GAP refund, the payoff on the vehicle was $25,760.54 and in order for Dennis Dillon to get the title that is what we had to pay and also, as stated in the Payoff Agreement, the customer would have been responsible for any excess payoff amounts, we will not refund the requested amount. We will be glad to provide the********** carpeted floor mats for their troubles, if they are available.  I can be reached at ******** in order to make arrangements to order the mats as we do not have them in stock.

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

12/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a used 2012 Nissan Altima 2.5 S vehicle on 10/29/2012 from the dealer. We brought to their attention 27 days later that we noticed that the layout of the dual exhaust pipes were not even. The service department folks were great at inspecting the vehicle and after 45 minutes they decided that since we had driven 2000 miles (high mileage due to work) in such a short time the vehicle had hit something to displace the exhaust pipe of which we are confident none of that allegation occurred. They are unwilling to fix the problem which we believe we purchased the vehicle with that problem. Unfortunately it is our word against theirs and no one in management has bothered to call and offer us a way to remedy the problem. Instead they wanted us to file collision claim with our insurance company so that they can replace the whole muffler system of which after seeking a second opinion is a unnecessary fix. In filing a collision claim, this would affect my insurance premiums for a problem that I did not create.

Desired Settlement: I would like the dealer to take responsibility and remedy the problem. This is the third vehicle we have purchased from them in the past few years.

Business Response:

First, this cusomter purchased a "used" vehicle, as is, which means we have obligation to do anything.  Second, I reviewed the used vehicle inspection report, that was completed by the shop when the vehicle first arrived on the lot, and saw that there was nothing noted regarding any damage to the exhaust system.  Third, the customer admitted they hit something with the vehicle subsequent to taking delivery of the vehicle.

We believe we have a compromise, but we have not been able to get a hold of the customer. *** ******* has left mulitple messages for the customer over the past week or so and has not heard back.  He can be reached at ********.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

11/28/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When purchasing my new Suburban, I was told when upsold extended warrenty, i would be recieving up to seventy percent refund on that warrenty if not used. So through the life of my loan I kept that in mind when doing any work on the vehicle. Therefore did not use it and when it came time for Dennis Dillon to refund me that portion of warrenty money, they claimed they know nothing about it.

Desired Settlement: Refund of the warrenty that was agreed upon.

Business Response: As I explained to *** ******* during a phone conversation on August 10, 2012, I have reviewed all the paperwork associated with their purchase, including the “we owe,” and there is nothing that indicates or implies that they would receive 70% of the cost of the extended service contract if it was not used during  the contract period.  The signed “we owe” clearly states “NOTHING ELSE PROMISED OR IMPLIED.”  Also, as I reviewed the service history, it appears that the ********* did in fact use the extended service contract to complete repairs on their vehicle on at least one occasion.   As a goodwill gesture, I would offer the ********* a discount on their next service at Dennis Dillon.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

8/29/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a used vehicle from Dennis Dillon is August of 2011 with 99,000 miles on it. The finance person sold me an extended warranty that offered SUPREME COVERAGE for 48,000 miles or 48 months. 6 months and 10,000 miles later (3/14/12), there's an issue with transmission. We have it towed to the nearest dealer who tells us the Banks Chip (that was on when purchased) has to be removed (and cost $200) to determine what the problem is. If the Banks Chip is still on the truck when/if an investigator came out, the warranty would be void. I visited the finance department at Dennis Dillon on 3/21/12 asking whether or not my warranty would provide the coverage I paid for with the modifications that were done to the truck. On 4/2/12, I completed the paperwork to cancel the warranty when another finance person told me he would find out if the parts were approved by the manufacturer. I heard NOTHING from ANYONE, despite the 4 times I called & stopped in. Finally, 4/24/12, I just completed another cancellation request (which by this time the truck had another 3,000 miles on it). When checking the status of the cancellation on 5/30/12 - nothing had been received by the insurance company. I contacted *** ********** - the director of the program and he ultimately got the contract cancelled but I'm still out of pocket $915 for an extended warranty that would never have covered half of what it was supposed to cover, plus the $260 bill to have the chip removed to find out what the issue was to begin with.I will NEVER do business with this dealer again!Their customer service AFTER you sign on the dotted line is the worst I've experienced!

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed for the $914.43 difference between the cost of the warranty & the refund from the cancellation. This service contract would not have provided the level of coverage that I paid for due to modifications on the truck as it was sold to me.

Business Response: According to **********, the extended service contract company, no claim was ever filed on the vehicle and therefore no claim or repair was denied nor was the contract ever “void,” until the customer cancelled the contract.  The customer did call ********** and inquired as to whether a vehicle modification would void the contract.  The response from ********** was that it was possible that if the failure to the vehicle was a direct result of the modification that coverage may be affected for that specific failure, but that her coverage was not void simply as a result of a modification.  She was then instructed to have the repair facility call in a claim prior to commencing any work.  As mentioned above no call was made nor was the vehicle ever inspected by an independent inspector as a result of commencing a claim.  I have reviewed our paperwork associated with this transaction and there is nothing to indicate we had any knowledge of this vehicle having a “chip” installed.  We also have no way to know if the chip was installed after the vehicle was sold. Finally, if we knew the vehicle had a chip installed we would have been able to provide a service contract that covered this type of modification.  It is also my understanding that *** ***** offered to help the customer with an extended service contract, at a deeply discounted price, that would provide coverage for a modified vehicle.  This offer was declined. I would be happy to work with *** ******** regarding the offer *** ***** made to her.  

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9126072, I have a few points I'd like to reiterate.

Firstly, when I spoke to the Claims Supervisor at Protective Insurance on 6/26/12, he simply stated that "the contract would be limited and that he wasn't sure they would want to put a contract on that truck with the pre-existing modifications." There was no suggestion to have the repair facility call in a claim as this conversation took place a full 6 weeks after the visit to the repair facility. When I had the truck into the repair facility on March 14, 2012 - the issue was with a wiring harness coming from the Banks Chip to the transmission - therefore, no coverage (on a modification) & no corresponding claim. According to my conversation with **** at Protective on 6/14/12, there was a claim filed but nothing was paid out on it. I have no further details of what that claim entailed.

Secondly, to imply that I'm "fabricating" the Banks system being on that truck when I bought it is pretty bold. Apparently, Dennis Dillon doesn't do a 76 point inspection on all pre-owned vehicles. During our purchase, *** *** ***** was extremely helpful in printing off the owner's manual for the Banks IQ system & providing it to my husband along with the CarFax report. And, I've got a documented conversation with ***** ***** from 7/25/12 stating "we all remember the truck and we all remember that Chip being on there."

Finally, according to *** ********* response to my complaint, there is a service contract that covered this type of modification. That statement implies the one I was sold at the time of purchase DOES NOT cover this type of modification. Therefore, I would like a full refund of all monies applied toward the service contract I originally purchased. The balance to make me whole is $914.43.

Dennis Dillon was wrong in selling me a service contract which would not provide coverage for a modified vehicle.

Business Response: We have made the decision to refund *** ******** $914.43.  In exchange we will ask her to sign a full release and confidentiality agreement we have prepared.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle 6 months ago from this dealership. Not once was I contacted for a follow up on my vehicle, whether I was satisfied with my purchase or had any questions. I took my vehicle into Dennis Dillons service department to have a check up and was informed that I needed a new alternator and it would cost me $520.00 becuase I did not buy an extended warranty. This cost should not have come from my pocket but should have been taken care of buy the dealership who sold me this car 6 months ago. They explained to me that they could not help with the issue and that it needed to be a consumer cost. This is outrageous, this company should have worked with me to help settle this matter.

Desired Settlement: I would like Dennis Dillon to replace the alternator for my vehicle without charging me to replace it. This should of been handled before the vehicle was sold on thier lot.

Business Response: ******* ******** purchased a used vehicle.  She also signed the Federally required “Buyers Guide, As Is No Warranty” Form that clearly explains the vehicle was sold as is. In order to help ******* out we agree to reduce the alternator repair estimate by the amount of the diagnostic fee, which is $90, as a good will gesture.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/2/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/17/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
9/26/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/6/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
1