There’s a new phishing scam flooding email inboxes; this time it’s an itinerary for a fake US Airways flight.
The scam involves an email containing a phony itinerary for a flight reservation the recipient never actually made. The email contains a link to “check-in” online for the flight, a fake confirmation code, and flight details. The phishing scam is deceiving because it looks authentic, even including the US Airways logo.
US Airways reminds customers that official emails often include personal information such as their name and Dividend Miles number. However their Web Check-in emails will not contain a name, but will have a valid confirmation code that will either be alphanumeric or all letters.
If you receive the email:
• Check any links by hovering your mouse pointer over the link to identify the URL. A legitimate link will have a URL with “usairways.com.”
• Do not click on any links or download any attachments.
• Delete the email.
See BBB.org’s complete scam directory for more information about breaking scams in your area.









Just got one of those. It does not come from usairways.com, but from “myusairways.com, which was my clue that it is bogus.
Report this comment
BBB, isn’t it about time that the corporations themselves that are impacted by these scams put some pressure on the FTC BCP which is CHARGED by law (CanSpam2003 et al) with investigating and prosecuting these damn scammers to get off their collective arses, and DO SOMETHING!
Report this comment
AGREED! The American “You CAN Spam” law is as weak as water and never enforced anyway.
Report this comment
These are pretty good, too. They even included the nearest airport in the confirmation. I had to search to see if it is a new scam.
Report this comment
when i get those i try to send them to the company that is being fraudently represented. US airways, i can’t find an email to send it to you!
Report this comment
i meant email address (ie phishing@usairways.com or something similar like that banks all have)
Report this comment
Beware of a guy going by the name either frank Harvey or Lloyd anders he states he owns a art gallery in Australia and works in a realstate and would like someone to receive his pkgs..then once u give him thy address he sends out fake checks for 3200 and the checks look real…he made two checks signed by one of the coworkers that her signature was not hers. And the company by the name of nye assessor . This is the number he has
Frank Harvey.*
*Tel:(+61)2939-77545 *
*Tel:(213)-437-6057.*
Report this comment
hình ảnh rất dẹp
Report this comment
My letter was addressed to: “US Air Promotions” but contains the exact same contents as the original scam letter. The Vice President on mine was Sue Dali. (There must be some turn over in their corporation for the VP to be changing like that!)
It also had no return address and was postmarked from Arizona. (Isn’t that the scam state or something?)
Report this comment
The letter I received today said ‘American’ as it’s letterhead. Says I have until May 1st to claim my two airline tickets. I am to call 866-638-9284. Blue ink with no return address…postmarked Phoenix, AZ
Report this comment
RESIDENCE INN Anchorage Ak, is part of this scam!!!
I also got the “letter”. I called THE RESIDENCE INN in ANCHORAGE and warned General Manager (Malinda Caleron) of the hotel, that they are using their hotel for the scam. I was absolutely SHOCKED to find out that the hotel knows this is a scam, however are getting paid to rent the banquet room to these scammers! SHAM ON YOU RESIDENCE INN, ANCHORAGE, ALASKA!
Report this comment