Facebook users should beware the latest scam making the rounds on the social network. Users are promised 2 free tickets from Southwest Airlines just for posting a link to Facebook and then ‘liking’ it.
While the offer looks too good to be true, it is! Clicking on the like button provides the scammers the opportunity to collect your information.
They try to say that there’s only a select number of free tickets left but when I refreshed the page, the number actually went up, perfectly outing this scam.
Here’s what it looks like (click to enlarge):










Why is this not illeagal and stopped? Why is Southwest airlines allowing their name to be tainted? Is there any action/s we can take in this?
Report this comment
These scams are hard to stop but I’m sure Southwest is doing what they can to shut it down.
Report this comment
These scams are easy to stop because all you have to do is not post them on your wall. Be skeptical and vigilant about all things at all times!
Report this comment
These scams are hard to stop because your average facebook user is not familiar enough with the internet to realize how many scams are out there.
Report this comment
These scams are difficult to stop from the root, is, I believe what Greg means. People will continue to click for free things the same way they continue to buy lottery tickets. Often and without an understanding that – most of the time – if it looks to good to be true, it is. It would be easy to stop anything if the people who were doing the continuation of the act would do a little research, but those are the people who are long on wishes and short on wisdom.
Report this comment
So what do we do to block it if we’ve already clicked on it?
Report this comment
Bill – did you fill out any info. Hopefully not. If not, just make sure to delete it from your Facebook profile and not a bad idea to run your anti-virus software.
Report this comment
Yeah unfortunately I filled out the “survey” attached to this so they have my phone number even tho I didn’t confirm the number when they asked. Still got a text this morning to claim a $100 prize of some sort tho the text had a “reply stop to this message to unsubscribe” on it. Any idea if a charge of some sort will appear on my phone bill?
Report this comment
EB – you should only get charged for a text message (would be minimal) if sending/receiving is not part of your data plan. Just make sure to unsubscribe.
Report this comment
Unfortunately you will probably receive lots and lots of spam text messages over the coming months, your cell number will be sold many times over to various spammers. Best thing to do is attempt to unsubscribe, but that can also cause you issues. I tried that reply to this message with STOP to unsubscribe once and I started getting bounce text messages non-stop every minute or so. I ended up calling Verizon and they put a temporary block on text messages to my phone until they could sort it all out and credited me for any text messages I had received. A lot of providers have implemented spam block lists, check with your cellphone provider to see if they have such features.
I was hoping it was legit, since people do run marketing campaigns via facebook. I started filling out info, first red flag was the fact that cell phone number was required but home phone was optional. Next red flag was the “complete these offers” page followed by asking for a cell number again.
I wouldn’t worry too much about information theft since all they asked was pretty publically available information, but I would be concerned about getting spammed incessantly on your cellphone. I would however change your facebook password (as you should every so often anyways). The company running this “scam” is dailyonlinerewards.com, which I haven’t seen anything indicating virus distribution, nor have I seen anything so far indicating any infections coming from them so far. Mostly they just run fake campaigns to get you to sign up for other stuff like cd/dvd clubs, credit cards, various “educational” services etc.
Report this comment
I also was stupid enough to fall for this scam. (Free tickets are definitely too good to be true!) And now I am getting spam on my cell phone. At least it was just my cellphone number.
Thanks for the suggestions on stopping the spam everyone.
Report this comment
I filled it out as well..any way to get off the phone lists?
I’m already on the Do not call registry :\
Report this comment
At least one of the involved parties is Robert Wence, who is registered on the realtraq.net website, which I found in the website’s source code. You can send him spam texts if you like, here: +1.8324344948
Report this comment
I clicked on this by mistake while on my iPad and it dropped a calendar reminder into schedule. Any idea on how to remove it?
Report this comment
Awesome
Report this comment
I clicked on it, filled out the survey, then changed my mind and deleted it from my timeline, but now my facebook account is temporarily blocked. It says it has malware and to click on a program to fix it, but that link doesn’t work. Any ideas on how I can get facebook up and running again?
Report this comment
I checked it out and this was the marking company Fosina Marking Group the offer. So i thought it was oK.
Report this comment
WHAT? This is a BBB site and all I see are peoples comments/sharing their experiences . BBB, aren’t you here to advise us?! Resoulutions? Well, I guess not cause you’ve
gotta cover your arses. Perhaps you can direct us as to WHO,WHERE or HOW
we can get out of these scams! Would be much appreciated by thousands, I’m sure.
???? Thx!
Report this comment