BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Riverside Towing

Phone: (225) 383-5005Fax: (225) 383-1767

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues3
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints8

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)
01/02/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Car towed improperly. Employee used intimidating language, and failed to provide paper work necessary to pick up car.
My car, a 2009 Toyota Corolla, was towed from Summer Grove-Arlington Trace apartment complex mistakenly. There was a visitor tag in the windshield and the car was towed anyway. Upon arriving at Riverside Towing at 4:35 pm, the woman at the gate claimed that they close at 4:00 pm, even though their facebook page claims they are open from 8 am to 5 pm daily. The employee spoke intimidatingly, including using obscene language. I was also told that the form indicating I was allowed to pick up my car (which is in my mother's name) was not correct. I was not given any indication as to what was wrong with it, nor was I told how I could properly provide them with the information they required. Upon calling the phone number listed online, the woman who I spoke to said she did not even think people were required to have a specific form. This business uses intimidating practices and does not properly inform people how to retrieve their cars.

Desired Settlement
Refund on 238.50 charged for tow, plus any "late fees" or additional fees that may be added once the car is picked up.

Business Response
Please include invoice number on your receipt . This will allow us to refer our copy of invoice to better help you . Look foward to hearing from you. Have a happy and safe holiday.

11/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Saturday morning, 10/17/14 my car was illegally towed from my daughters apartment complex. Parking sticker was displayed in the windshield.
My legally parked car was towed from an apartment complex where my daughter is a resident.

The resident parking sticker for the complex was displayed in the windshield with LSU parking credentials - it was clearly visible hanging from the rear view mirror. When we showed this to the people at Riverside Saturday morning, they simply said it was displayed in the wrong location and we were liable.

Is there not some requirement that the Tow driver take some level of due diligence to ensure he isn't towing a residents car? Had he taken two seconds to look this could have been avoided. As it stands, I'm out $250. I believe that because my plates are from Texas, the driver just hooked it up and hauled it without ever checking.

It would seem that the business owner has responsibility to ensure his employees aren't just out 'making the numbers', and that they take some level of effort to ensure what they are doing is correct. In this case, a simple look across the windshield would have verified this was a residences car and was legally parked.

I left multiple messages with the Answering Service requesting a call back but, still have not heard from anyone at Riverside Towing.

At a minimum, I'm requesting a refund of the $250's we had to pay. Surely the owners can look at this situation and see that the tow was invalid and their driver made a mistake.

Desired Settlement
I want my $250 back. This illegal tow also impacted our plans for Saturday as it took almost three hours out of our day to resolve. At this point, I'd be happy for for the owner to admit a mistake was made and to refund my money.

11/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They towed my son car where it should have not been towed.
Refund

Desired Settlement
I want my money back

03/04/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unfair towing, rude service and unfair results
Saturday, Feb. 2nd, I parked under the interstate along with a lot of other mardi gras parade participants. We asked the security guards if we can park there and they said yes if were in the parade, which we were with my 8 year old daughter. We returned from the parade route to find that our vehicles had been towed to a location about 150 yards from the parking spot. This was approx. at 3:40 pm. My wife and I, along with about 4 others walked over to the towing company and explained out situation and what could be done to retrieve our vehicle. *****, who said he was just a worker, then said he was acting as manager, told us they weren't releasing any vehicles until 10pm. When pressed on that issue, he then said it was after 4 pm and it was too late. When we reminded him that we were all there before 4 pm, he became really rude and nonchalant about our situation. He wouldn't explain why or whose decision it was for a 24 hour towing company to hold our vehicle that long. He didn't care how we would get home and didn't allow us to get any of our belongings out of our vehicle. Eventually, he apologize for his unprofessionalism and retrieve my wife's purse himself & were about to leave the premises. That's when we notice that another mardi gras participant whose car was towed was given her keys and allowed to retrieve her suv without payment. When we asked ***** how is it possible that she was allowed to get her vehicle when no one else was. He didn't give us an answer and neither did a 2nd employee. When we told them we know why she was allowed to get her vehicle, they basically ignored us and walked away. The reason is an East Baton Rouge police woman, Sgt. ******, made a couple of calls, talked to them and she influence them to let her get he suv. Sgt. ****** is the woman's aunt and she and Riverside Towing made sure she would be taken care of. If they deny this, just request a receipt. I'm sure they won't be able to produce one for that vehicle. My wife, my daughter and I hitchhiked a ride home and was prepared to wait until 10 pm, missing out on a plans we made previously. We received a call about 6:30 that a 3rd participant was allowed to get her without paying anything(Unlike the 1st incident, we didn't witness this and can't confirmed it). We then returned to Riverside Towing and asked again about our vehicle and about others getting their vehicles without payment. They denied the 2nd incident, but allowed us to get our vehicle earlier then 10 pm, but of course, we had to pay the full amount of $207.22, which included a fuel surcharge of $12.72 to drive about 150 yards and an after hours fee of $45.00, which I don't agree with since we were originally there to retrieve it earlier than 4 pm. I'm thinking they wanted to keep it after 10 pm to charge the after hour fee. I'm contesting the charges because we were given permission to park there by the security guards. Had we known this would happen, there's no way we would have parked there. Also, I'm questioning the fairness of the payment. I'm pretty sure it's not legal to have a police officer have a tow dismissed while others have to pay. If this can't be resolved at this level, please advise what agency/authority I need to contact. Our ticket # is XXXXX and we were driving a green Toyota Camry. Thanks.

Desired Settlement
Being that we were in the same situation, I don't think that it's fair that I had to pay and others didn't. I'm requesting a refund of $207.22, nothing more than the others. It's only fair. Thanks.

12/17/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Riverside towing company illegally towing cars.
On a Saturday November 2012, my car was towed out of Arlington plantation apartment complex where it was legally parked in visitor spots.

Desired Settlement
I want my car returned to me at no cost.

12/03/2012Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This is to file a formal complaint with the Better Business Bureau about Riverside Tow business for excessive towing charges.
This is to file a formal complaint with the Better Business Bureau about Riverside Towing business, ethics and how disrespectful its employees are to customers. My complaint is supported by the following:

1) The business is obviously the exclusive towing company in Tiger Village off of Alvin Dark Avenue and possibly in the general area of LSU. Each home game must be the equivalency of ''Christmastime'' to them all the owners know there will be lots of people attending the games, primarily students, who will park anywhere possible to participate in the activities. It is however, taking advantage of these students and ultimately, the parents (who have to pay for the students to retrieve their vehicles);
2) The business is borderline fraudulent as it has posted in the parking lot at the apartment complex that the minimal towing fee is $102 yet by the time the vehicles were ''available'' for pick up, the cost had more than doubled in most cases. The reason for the increase told to my girls was that 'they charge an additional hourly fee', yet our girls were informed that they could not pick up their vehicle until after noon although they discovered that it have been towed on or about 8:00 am and called the company immediately. How do they justify doubling the cost? and;
3) The employees are rude, disrespectful, lack the social skills to handle the general public and should either be trained to do so or should seek other employment whereby they will not have to relate to people.

I would therefore, like to request a refund of excessive charges paid by my girls and am hopeful that this complaint will assist them in re-evaluating your business operations.

Desired Settlement
I would like to request a refund of excessive charges paid by my girls for the towing of their vehicle and am hopeful that this complaint will assist you properly training your employees to deal with customers. I further think that the apartment complex should re-open the bidding process for companies engaged in this type of service.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Towing-Automotive

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.