BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/15/2004

Smart Marketing, Inc.

Phone: (770) 255-1576Fax: (770) 209-03702700 Breckinridge Blvd, DuluthGA 30096-4972 Send email to Smart Marketing, Inc.View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/15/2004

BBB has determined that Smart Marketing, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Smart Marketing, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Smart Marketing, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
11/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Product arrived broken and company refused to replace product
Order TC119414 - a customized ceramic frame was ordered as a baby gift and arrived cracked. The gift was shipped directly to the gift recipient, who did not advise me that the gift arrived broken until after 30 days from receipt. The company refuses to replace the product. I sent pictures of the damaged product to the company.

Desired Settlement
Send another frame to replace the damaged frame. Because it was damaged in shipment, the company should be able to make a claim against the shipper.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ********* *****
Contact Phone:*************
Contact Email: ****************************
Hi,

We spoke with our vendor for this order and the replacement order is scheduled to ship by 11-21-14 via ground.

Consumer Response
The business has resolved my complaint. Thank you.

04/10/2013Delivery Issues
03/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Deplorable customer service (or lack thereof)
I placed my order at noon on Saturday, March 1 for personalized wedding ribbons. Later that evening there was a problem with the color chosen and I tried to contact the company. Their website indicated that they were closed on weekends and to contact them via "chat offline" and an email will be sent and reviewed by the company on the following business day. That following Monday I did not get a response and since I am 3 hours/PST behind their EST, I was unable to get a hold of them by phone. By Wednesday morning I called and received RUDE customer service from a *********** who said he would try to reach their 3rd party vendor about the order and call me back. Now keep in mind that until Wednesday they still did not respond to my "Offline Chat Email." ******* did not call me back and sent a short email response that there was nothing they could do since the orders go directly to their vendor and they do not review them. After receiving this unexpected email reply, I tried to call them but their recorded message said that the office was closed. Becoming very livid, I call the next morning on Thursday, asked to speak with the supervisor, left "her" a message and never received a call back. Finally on Friday is when I received my 1st phone call from this "suspicious" online company and was told it was my job to basically handle everything to get the order cancelled and nothing was at their fault. However, their vendor would offer me 10% discount off of another order. Therefore, I would be paying basically the same about again.
I feel that ******************* has dropped the ball on more than one occurrence and had provided deplorable customer service. I wanted to return the item for a corrected one but now, I just want a refund so that I can take my business to a more reputable company.

p.s. I have pictures of my messages sent to the company as they tried to lie about how their service works in regards to contacting them!

Desired Settlement
I will reject the delivery so that it will be sent directly back and wish a full refund so that I can take my business elsewhere!

Business Response
The customer has been credited in full due to delay in responding to her original request. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience this has caused you.

12/04/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My wife ordered 2 products - Flip-flops for him-black and flip-flops for her--women's---Item # (**XXXX-X-Med-2) and (**XXXX-X-sm-3). THe order was placed on 6-23-13 and order # is **XXXXXX. When the order arrived, the sandals did not fit and were never used. Contacted customer service and they were quite rude as we had to pay shipping for the return of the items (which cost close to what the items cost in general)..that does not make sense for any company to do any business. Also, I was advised that this cannot be returned. We have not done anything with the sandals since we cannot fit in the sandals. We thought this would be a great photo gift.
Product_Or_Service: Flip Flops
Order_Number: **XXXXXX

Desired Settlement
Requesting the refund as the items are still with tags. Shipping needs to be paid by **************.

Business Response
As noted on our website:Some items are non-returnable and non-refundable such as edible, personalized, cosmetic and personal care items. Due to the nature of these items, all sales are final. Some examples of non-returnable items are manicure sets, lip balms, lollipops, drink mixes, coffee, tea, jelly, honey, flip flops and olive oil. We will make an 1 time exception and accept the flip flop back as a return since they are in the original package. However, the customer will be responsible for the return shipping cost to return the product to us.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As mentioned in my original statement. If I return the items at my cost (shipping charges), the amount would be the same as the cost of the flip flops.

please advise.

Business Response
I deeply apologize for the inconvenience this has caused you therefore we will make an exception and accept this return back. However the product will have to be returned at your expense. We cannot pick the merchandise up at our cost.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It will cost me more to ship then the refund.


Business Response
Please see our return policy below. We do not accept returns on personal hygiene items but we will make a 1 time exception. However the item has to be returned at your cost. I am so sorry for the inconvenience this has caused you.

Return Guarantee and Exchanges

What is your return and exchange policy?

We pride ourselves on carrying high-quality items, and we hope that you will be pleased with your order. When you receive your order, please inspect it carefully to verify that all items meet your expectations. If, for some reason, you are not satisfied with your purchase within 30 days of receipt, click here to request a return authorization by using our self service returns. Please note: The refunded value for each credit will be reduced to reflect the value of any discount or promotion if the order no longer meets the required minimum for the coupon. ex: (refund requested)-(discount applied)=refund total

Some items are non-returnable and non-refundable such as edible, personalized, cosmetic and personal care items. Due to the nature of these items, all sales are final. Some examples of non-returnable items are manicure sets, lip balms, lollipops, drink mixes, coffee, tea, jelly, honey, flip flops and olive oil. Please note, your return authorization number (RA#) will expire 30 days after issuance. Please follow these easy steps.

Step 1
Enter the RA# in the appropriate space provided on the return label which is part of the packing slip you received with your shipment. If your order is returned without an RA, there will be a $20 processing fee.

Step 2
Affix the Return Label to the original shipping box. Make sure items are in their original packaging, and are appropriately secured within the shipping box. We cannot accept items for return or exchange that are not in resalable condition.

PLEASE TAKE NOTE: The customer is responsible for shipping. We do not refund shipping charges. No credit is given for lost return packages and nonreturnable items returned to us will not be shipped back to the sender nor credited to their account. Items returned without prior authorization will be charged a $20 restocking fee. We do strongly recommend that you use a shipper with a traceable shipping method as we cannot be responsible for damaged or lost return packages.

How long before I receive my refund?

After we receive your package and inspect the items, you will receive an email confirming credit total. Credit will be issued in 3 to 5 business days. Please allow adequate time for your banking institution to process the credit.


Can I return personalized items?

Due to the nature of these items (i.e. they cannot be resold,) personalized favors and gifts are non-returnable and non-refundable.

Can I return edible, cosmetic or personal care items?

Due to the nature of these items (i.e. they cannot be resold,) edible and cosmetic favors and personal care products are non-returnable and non-refundable.

Do you charge restocking fees?

In order to receive a RA# for return, you must contact us within 30 days of receipt. We will not charge a restocking fee on these returns. Orders returned without prior authorization will be charged a $20 restocking fee.

What if I received my order, but some items are damaged?

Please inspect all items carefully when you receive your order. If there is any damage, please call our customer relations advisors Mon-Fri 9AM - 6PM ET at XXX-XXX-XXXX at your earliest convenience, but no later than 7 days after the package was delivered. Keep the original box, packaging materials, as well as any paperwork that came in the box. We suggest that you email us a digital photograph of the damaged box and/or items expedite the claims process.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Wedding Supplies & Services, Novelties - Retail, Party Supplies, Baby Accessories & Services, Internet Shopping, Internet Selling Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/15/2004Business started: 06/01/2003
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 2003, GA

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Holly McKenzie (Customer Care Manager)
Business Category

Wedding Supplies & Services, Novelties - Retail, Party Supplies, Baby Accessories & Services, Internet Shopping, Internet Selling Services

Alternate Business Names
Favor Affair, My Wedding Favors, Too Cute Baby Gifts, Corner Stork Baby Gifts

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Smart Marketing, Inc.

2700 Breckinridge Blvd

Duluth, GA 30096-4972

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2700 Breckinridge Blvd 

    Duluth, GA 30096-4972(770) 255-1576
    Fax: (770) 209-0370

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Smart Marketing, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Wedding Supplies & Services

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.