BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

MailChimp

Phone: (678) 999-0141Fax: (678) 999-0142675 Ponce De Leon Ave NE STE 5000, AtlantaGA 30308-1829 Send email to MailChimphttp://www.mailchimp.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

MailChimp is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered MailChimp's rating include:

  • Failure to respond to 9 complaints filed against business.

Factors that raised MailChimp's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

25 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Billing / Collection Issues3
Problems with Product / Service19
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 25

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on MailChimp

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (25)
04/06/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
All of a sudden I am receiving 5-10 emails a day from this company with no way to contact them to complain and correct. I've looked at their website - no contact info, no email addresses, no telephone numbers. They send out emails with no return addresses and they have removed them so you can't put their address in a spam filter to remove these junk emails. In fact, on their website the tell you have to avoid being spam filtered. They aren't honest if they don't provide a way to communicate with them so I can BAN their emails from the emails I receive daily for business.

Desired Settlement
Remove my email address from any and all of Mailchimp customer lists

Final Consumer Response
The company sent me an email stating they would remove my email address from their solicitations. However, it was only thru filing a complaint thru the BBB that they reacted. Their website leaves no way to contact them, find them, email them, telephone them. Besides as I stated to them in my reply, their website encourages their customers to REMOVE any contact info on their SPAM emails that are trying to solicit business from unknowing and uninterested folks like me.

So THANK YOU for contacting them about my complaint. I have not received any more SPAM emails. It was ridiculous to all of a sudden receive 5 - 10 a day of unsolicited SPAM where they removed the sending email address so no way to respond or put them in a spam folder.

05/21/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
MailChimp offers a two-step authentication feature to safeguard access to customers email newsletter accounts. The passcode to access the account is generated by the ****** ************* mobile phone app. I have recently changed my mobile phone and have subsequently had to reinstall the app. To setup the app, I am prompted for the (MailChimp) key or the option to scan a QR code to generate passcodes. This key and QR code can only be found within the MailChimp account settings, which I cannot access without getting through the two-step authentication.Further to this, I have no way of contacting MailChimp, as they only allow technical support to be contacted by customers that are logged in. No general email address, no telephone number, nothing to get in touch with them except an online form to report abuse.I have filled in this form twice but have had no response from MailChimp.The urgency and magnitude of the problem has resulted in loss of earnings, as I cannot retrieve email records send to customers of price increases, resulting in the customers disputing our increases and our company having to charge the customer at the old price prior to the increase. Now who is going to reimburse me for these loss of earnings?I feel this is extremely bad service that I, as a paying customer, have been subjected to on the following grounds:1. There is no way for me to contact MailChimp to explain my situation.2. There is no documented information online on rectifying this problem.3. My requests through the Abuse Desk online form have purely been ignored.Thank you.
Product_Or_Service: Email Newsletter Online Software

Desired Settlement
I would like to be urgently contacted by email (*****@tapeshapes.com) by a senior member of the MailChimp technical support team to remedy this error on their behalf. I will waive the loss of earnings if I am contacted very, very urgently.Thank you.

Final Consumer Response
I have since resolved the issue with the service provider and would like to withdraw my complaint.

Thank you,

***** *******
General Manager

08/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In August 2014 I used Mailchimp's email services to send a newsletter to 8,500 recipients on my mailing list. The purpose of this newsletter was to inform my customers that it was cider season (we manufacture a cider concentrate), and to let them know we had a new website. To highlight this website we included several hyperlinks to access the website, which we placed within the content of the email. When this email template was tested, everything worked fine. When we launched the actual campaign however, none of the links worked. My recipients were directed to a page with the words "page not found". Mailchimp notified me that this had occurred because the Google Analytics feature in their campaign settings had altered the hyperlinks in my email. At no point was it made clear to me that making this selection would disable the links. In the meantime, not only did the intent of my email fail, but my credibility and reputation with my customers was damaged. When I asked Mailchimp for a credit on the emails sent, they refused saying it was my fault for clicking the Google Analytics option (which they offer). Despite numerous attempts to get the 8,500 credits reimbursed to my account for the failed email, they have declined.
Product_Or_Service: Email campaign service
Order_Number: MCXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like the credits used on my campaign to be reimbursed. Failing that, I would like a full refund of $250 for the 25,000 credits originally purchased, so that I may switch email service vendors.

Final Consumer Response
Mailchimp responded and agreed to credit me for the email campaign. They will look into making it more apparent that the "Google Analytics" campaign feature can alter hyperlinks, and will strive to keep improving the user experience.

05/22/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Downgraded my account and was still overcharged by $100. Attempted to resolve directly but no longer receiving responses.
Recently started using Mailchimp as the ESP for our weekly newsletters. Upon importing our original list of 26,000 subscribers our monthly billing was around $175/Month. After the first month we decided to prune the list to remove inactive subscribers. On the April 23 list was pruned down to 10,000 subscribers. On the April 24th they charged me for the billing period of April 24 - May 23 based on having 25,000 subscribers. Contacted company and made every effort to resolve directly but have not been receiving replies to emails.

Desired Settlement
Partial refund of $110

Business Response
The way our billing system works is that If a user's subscriber count changes during the current billing cycle, the renewal system will automatically upgrade or downgrade the account on the next billing cycle (not the current cycle). *. *******'s account was billed appropriately though the subscriber number dropped during the billing cycle. As a courtesy, we refunded he difference between the bill and the amount the account would have been billed with the lower subscriber number. The refund was processed and communicated to *. ******* on May 9th. We consider this matter resolved.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Difference was refunded.

12/11/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Mail Chimp is a company that sends out tons of unsolicited emails for companies who want to hide, like ******** ******* a company who nobody can contact. I'd told Mail Chimp previously not to sell my information off, as either they, or whoever they got it from, got it fraudulently to begin with. People scam your email address by posting bogus ads on ********** for cars, TV's, or other items really cheap, and when people think it's a great deal and email them about the car or whatever it is they're "selling", the scammer signs them up for all kind of things they never wanted, like stock reports, business travel emails, vacation travel, etc. Mail Chimp is right there to help these scammers out by sending out tons of emails, and probably reselling your email address to even more bogus companies. Of course, you really can't contact Mail Chimp either. They never answer their phones, (they used to because I talked to them before I think), and sending them an email would probably just guarantee me more spam.
Product_Or_Service: Bogus emails

Desired Settlement
I don't want Mail Chimp to email me anymore, or sell my info off to any other bogus companies.

Business Response
Mr. ** originally contacted our Compliance team on Nov. 12 in the form of a direct complaint about one of our users. As a result that user was suspended for violating our policies. Mr. ** then contacted our Support team on Nov. 26th with another complaint regarding a MailChimp user's account. That account was also found to be operating outside of our policies and was suspended. Additionally, Mr. ***** specified email address has been added, by his request, to a list that ensures he will not receive email of any kind from MailChimp in the future.

We take issues regarding SPAM and the best-practices surrounding email marketing very seriously. You can read more about our limitations of acceptable use here: ( http://mailchimp.com/legal/acceptable use/ ) MailChimp does not condone, support, or encourage SPAM in any way and we have strict policies and guidelines to ensure we keep our system as free of bad content as possible.

Mr. ***** complaints have been replied to and his email address has been added to our "no send" list. We believe this issue to be resolved to the best of our ability.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
This is fantastic service and response from Mail Chimp. Unlike many companies who do anything for a buck, it turns out Mail Chimp is a company people can trust.

Thank you.

Page 1 of 2
11/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Refusal to acknowledge and help fix inoperable Mailchimp app through Shopify over 4 week period with no customer support.
We have requested service 4 times with tickets from live chats and emails. We have sent two emailed screen shots of the Mailchimp app not working. The integration that we pay for has been impaired for weeks after some system upgrade they made and has not fixed itself. We have spent hours on the live chat with no resolve. We have followed through with all requests to email screen shots with no resolve. We currently pay for one of the largest plans. The system exchange from shopify to mailchimp has been broken for weeks and their support has no answers and simply tells us not to use the app. The is beyond unacceptable accountability.

Desired Settlement
We need to have this resolved effectively with the lost data from last several weeks accounted for and a good will gesture of a monthly account statement credit should be issued. This company should have a published telephone number in which they do not. That's unethical!

Business Response
We reached out to Ms. ******** directly via email to resolve the matter. We have not received any response from her. We consider this matter resolved.

07/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I opened an account with MailChimp.within 24 hours, they suspended my account.I asked them to refund my money. They refused.They insisted that I need to log in and delete the account myself, and that they would prorate my account for the month and refund the remaining balance. This doesn't make sense because I was never able to use the account in the first place.After repeated emails, they still refused to refund my credit card.Here is the sequence of emails from these scumbags:Hello ****,Thanks for your response. If you'd like for us to refund, please respond when the account has been deleted. Otherwise, please feel free to reach out if you have any questions. Thank you,****** Become an email master:Search for answers in our knowledge base.VISIT THE KNOWLEDGE BASE Hone your email skills with our help.VISIT THE RESOURCE LIBRARY Your ticket code: ******************* Make sure you include this code in all emails regarding this issue. QUOTED MESSAGE SUBJECT:RE: Fwd: MailChimp Compliance - He Should Have Known This Was Illegal (*******************)CONTENT:You are the one that shut my account down, and now you want me to follow steps to delete it? I am filing a charge-back today. Regards,**** ******** P.S. I am also filing a complaint with the BBB. On June 8, 2014 at 10:03 AM MailChimp Billing ********************* wrote: Hello ****,Writing in from the MailChimp billing team. We can issue a courtesy refund for the unused monthly bill, but would ask the account be deleted first. Taking this step ensures that billing no longer runs on the account.An account can be permanently deleted at any time by logging into our system and visiting Your Username == Account Settings ==Account Settings Dropdown == Pause or delete account.Noting system account security and privacy policies, we can not access an account to delete it from our end.Please email us back after this has been done, and we can move forward with a refund.Thank you,******

Desired Settlement
I would like my credit card fully refunded. And I would like to warn others not to use this company. They billed me, shut off my service, and refused to refund my card.

Business Response
A refund has been issued to Mr. ******** and we
consider this issue to be resolved.

07/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
MailChimp is refusing to issue a refund.
In May I violated MailChimp's guidelines when I mailed a dormant mailing list for the first time.

I take responsibility for doing so. My mistake. No excuses.

I was told this was my 1st warning. I was told I would have 2 warnings and that my account was re-instated.

For the past 30+ days MailChimp has been consistently inconsistent:

MailChimp permanently disabled my account after the one warning and never allowed me a second chance.

MailChimp said they made a mistake by putting in writing that my account had in fact been re-instated.

I asked MailChimp to honor their 2 strikes you're out and was denied.

I asked MailChimp to honor that my account was reinstated and was denied.

MailChimp suggested I reach out to the billing dept. and find an alternate mailing vendor.

I have requested a refund as they have suggested.

MailChimp is now saying they will not issue a refund--no exceptions made--until I close the account.

The account is closed.

Why is MailChimp having me jump through so many hoops?

What assurance do I have that MailChimp will issue a refund given their inconsistencies?



Desired Settlement
I would like my AMEX credit card refunded in full for $250.00.

Business Response
Mr.********** experienced two issues, one which resulted in a temporary suspension and the second which resulted in a complete suspension. Mr. ********** was initially sent an email notifying him that the account had exceeded our abuse limits and was suspended. Since he exceeded our threshold his account was directed to our compliance department. Upon review of the account, it was determined that the content sent by the account was prohibited by our Terms of Use. Mr. ********** was then notified that his account was completely suspended due to its content and advised to find a new email service provider.

Under our Terms we state that we will not issue refunds to accounts closed due to Terms of Use violations. Our billing team informed Mr. ********** of this but added that as a courtesy we would provide him a refund so long as the account was permanently closed. We require Users to permanently close accounts in these cases to prevent any future charges to the card on file and to remove certain flags we have set up in our system. Despite several messages indicating we would provide a refund as soon as the account was permanently closed and instructions on how to do so the User refused to take the requested action. We have not received any reply from Mr. ********** indicating the account has been closed. We can do nothing further to resolve this matter at this time.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No, I do not accept the response from MailChimp

MailChimp continues to:

#1 be careless in its treatment of paying customers
#2 stretch the truth
#3 deny responsibility and refuse a refund

#1 careless in its treatment of paying customers
Despite several messages and receiving payment from me, MailChimp has carelessly misspelled my last name. My last name is *********. Not **********.

I find it telling that I am not a paying client nor a paying customer of MailChimp's, I am simply a "user."

#2 Stretching the truth:
MailChimp says "I experienced two issues."

I experienced one issue.

As a result of the content I mailed one time

So we are clear: the "content" was a single email.

That's correct: I mailed one time. I sent a single email one time and my account was permanently suspended. I take responsibility for the content of the email.

MailChimp would have you believe that "content" was several emails over a period of time. Not true.

MailChimp would also have you believe that having your account suspended temporarily or completely suspended are two issues when in fact they are one.

Either way, you cannot mail and therefore your account is closed for business.

If MailChimp were a utility and provided water or electricity, if your water or electricity is suspended you do not have access to your water/electricity. One action i.e. a suspension whether temporary or permanent equals one issue, not two.

MailChimp says I "refused to take action" and they have "not received any reply."

Nothing could be further from the truth:

I have in fact replied. I responded several times.
I requested that they refund my money.

When MailChimp failed to respond, I escalated the issue and I took my complaint to the BBB.

#3 denying responsibility
Despite several messages to MailChimp's Customer service to refund my account after closing my account, MailChimp refuses to issue a refund.

Because of the above inconsistencies, stretching of the truth and denying responsibility, MailChimp cannot be trusted to issue a refund. It is obvious that they simply do not care.

If they did care, they would issue the refund.







07/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I cannot import from spreadsheets and despite 3 emails over 4 months I have had no return contact from mail chimp. No telephone number found works!!!
I cannot import any contacts from the spreadsheets I have spent months creating. I first emailed mail chimp through their support system back in January. I figured they may be catching up after Xmas. However I still had not received any reply by mid February so emailed again. Still nothing. April came around so I had another go at contacting them. This time I received an email on the 16/4/14 with a ticket code "****************" and a statement to say one of their staff would be in contact soon. Guess what I have heard Nothing!!! I have trawled through the internet looking for a telephone number to call and speak to a human none of the ones found work!!!! Really fed up of trying to contact an effectively invisible company.


Desired Settlement
I would like an answer as to why this issue has not been dealt with?
Why no one bothered to answer my emails?

And the big one I would like to know why there is no telephone number to contact a human being on if all the other avenues have been exhausted!!??:

Business Response
We initially received Ms. ******' email at 11:14am on Wednesday, April 16. Within six hours of receipt our support staff sent a reply email, and then sent another followup response 24 hours after that. There were no bounce messages or errors received from our replies. At the time of filing this BBB complaint, Ms. ****** also submitted a new support ticket (****************), which resulted in an active dialogue. Our staff replied, as did Ms. ******, and the last email was sent from the support team on May 9 at 4:35pm. There has been no reply to that email. Our reply noted that Ms. ******' is making use of a beta feature within Google Apps which is causing her specific issue. Beta features are labeled as such because there may be limitations on how well they interact with our application. Since there has been no reply to that email, we consider this issue to be resolved.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As you can see from this response below received 9/5/14 @ 09:44 that after my email dated the 16/4/14 there were indeed a couple of responses that have not come through to me. "Taking a look in our ticket history, I am able to see a recent ticket that was originally submitted on April 16th. I am seeing one response to that ticket timestamped April 16th at 1:17pm and a follow-up timestamped on April 17th at 1:28pm, that unfortunately don't appear to have come through to you. "

So for mail chimp to state that "Within six hours of receipt our support staff sent a reply email, and then sent another followup response 24 hours after that. There were no bounce messages or errors received from our replies." is a load of rubbish.

I have indeed now received two emails from mail chimp both stating the same solution to my problem despite my reply to the first email stating that the offered solution was not an option.

"I do not have the option to turn new sheets off in my settings. At the minute I am having to copy and paste all of my import sheets into sheets that were created in the old format. This is a very tedious process!!! Please could you arrange an update of your own to counteract this problem. By the sounds of it I am not the only person to be having this problem!!!"

This is the reason I have not replied to the email as it seems rather pointless me stating the same thing again!!!


Final Business Response
We have communicated to Ms. ****** the only currently available solution for the problem she is experiencing with the beta feature within Google Apps. This solution does not seem to meet her needs. We provide the services to best of our ability but cannot guarantee that any particular feature, especially those that are still in beta, will meet the needs of an individual user. She has ceased responding to our emails and thus we consider this matter resolved.

06/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have had this service for the past two years. I have always paid on time and have attached bank statements to prove the same. I recently resigned from my former employer and before leaving I failed to notice that the email on record for this marketing tool was my former employment. I am a loan officer and all of my contacts which I collected for the past two and a half years are in this account which I cannot access. The phone listed is an answering machine and no one ever answers or calls back. I wrote to mail chimp and explained to them that I had changed job and needed access to my account and they don't return my calls & they have not given me access to my acct for the last three weeks even after they have asked me for several credentials which I provided right away. Still have not been helped. I have worked hard to come up with marketing campaigns and ideas which technically Mail Chimp has allowed whoever has access to my old email access by now! All flyers had my picture displayed and each month I pay for this service. Even that has not been enough for them to acknowledge me as being a loyal customer for over two years. I have lost time and money chasing something that is mine and they should be ashamed of how they treat paying customers. When I call I get an answering machine or if I email I get an email response in which they ask for more information. The last suggestion is that I call my former employer to ask them to help me by giving me the information I need. Unbelievable that I need to beg for access to years of my hard work for paying for this service which is holding my database hostage.
Product_Or_Service: Internet Email marketing service provider

Desired Settlement
I need access to my personal information which is in this account. I need to reset the former email on record ***************************** to my new email which is either ****************************** or*************************. I am going on four weeks of back and forth communication with this company which has absolutely no moral compass, compassion for someone who needs to earn a living. No customer service skills at all or consideration for paying customers. I need this resolved Now!

Business Response
Ms. ******* went through our standard account recovery process and was given access to the account on 6/2. She accessed the account on 6/6. We consider this matter resolved.

Page 1 of 2
04/18/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I inherited a MAILCHIMP account from a now deceased member of a group. As I transitioned I spoke with someone at MAILCHIMP and received guidance. The account is an account with fewer than 2,000 'subscribers' and therefor falls into a no-fee category. In an attempt to once again get guidance from MAILCHIMP to condense two lists and eliminate redundancy I paid a one month fee . I never received any of the help I needed. I discovered that the charge was ongoing. When I went to dispute the charges with American Express their representative suggested I dispute all the charges including the initial fee because I did not receive services.

Mailchimp has shut down the account and blocked me from sending monthly announcements for the past four + months. ****** at MAICHIMP states that they feel services were rendered and are holding the account hostage until I 'repay' the billed amounts.

The list(s) created services a group that addresses loss, isolation, suicide. It allows members to build community and create connection in order to support those at risk. EVERY SECOND I am unable to reach the members puts people at risk. I have been jumping through hoops to reconnect with people who now feel disenfranchised. The actions of ****** (billing) and MAILCHIMP are thuggish at best.
Product_Or_Service: Free on line mail service
Account_Number: Living Soulfully NYC

Desired Settlement
I want the ORIGINAL full free service restored IMMEDIATELY.

04/05/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Heavy-Handed Bullying of customers
On or around 3/7/2016. ******** (aka Mailchimp) paused our service. They asked us to confirm some of our business practices to ensure we were not breaking any service terms. We replied and confirm we were NOT breaking any rules. The agent, acknowledged receipt, but declared it didn't matter, as they had already judged us guilty. The said they had received a complaint, however they refuse to give us any information about this complaint. They also deny us any opportunity to defend against or confront the accuser.

They currently hold hostage 1000+ emails in a backlog. These emails are to our customers and were entrusted to the company for delivery. They refused to give us a list of these emails so we can attempt to redeliver them.

They also intend to completely delete (currently the account is paused) our account on 3/11/2016. This will result in us being unable to monitor the email delivery statistics or tracking for email that we PAID this company to deliver and provide statistics and tracking services. They have not refunded any monies for the statistics and tracking services they intend to not supply, despite us having already paid.

We have written to the company several times, without any progress.

As a result of their unilateral decisions, our company has suffered substantial harm. We have lost business, had emergency reprogramming of our internal systems and website and wasted time and resources.

Below is a copy or our most recent email:

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dear Sir/Madam,

CC: Better Business Bureau

I have not heard back from you regarding my last email (attached below). In addition, your actions have left us with several problems that I would like resolved.

1.....There are 1000 emails in a 'backlog', there is no report or export that identifies which emails are in this backlog. We need to know which emails are backlogged, so we make alternate delivery arrangements.
2.....It appears we have been charged for these backlog emails. This needs to be undone.
3.....The total disablement of our account denies us the ability to monitor the success /failure of our emails, already sent, during the next 30 days or so. These statistics are part of the service we have paid for. Therefore we request that our account be left open for at least 30 days for the ability to collect delivery statistics/open rates on email we have already paid for. Closing the account on 3/11/2016, as currently scheduled, would result in us being denied services already paid for.
4.....We would like to know the appeals process, we believe we are being unfairly dealt with. It is only fair that we are allowed to defend against complaint leveled against us. Instead you have denied us any information about the complaint.
5.....The heavy handed, unilateral decisions made against our company have inflicted harm against us. We have lost business, had emergency reprogramming of our internal systems and website and wasted time and resources. We have reviewed all the terms and conditions posted on your website and we feel that none were infringed upon.


Desired Settlement
We seek the following;

1. Ideally an apology and immediate restoration of our account.

Failing that;

2. Proper and fair discussion, where we are allowed to defend any accusations, including information on what we are accused of. In addition an Appeal of all unilateral decisions up to this point.

3. Account restored to at least a 'paused' condition so we may continue to collect stats/tracking on emails already paid/sent.

4. A full list of emails held in 'Backlog' so we can make alternative deliver arrangements.

5. Refund for any emails held in Backlog.

6. Refund for any emails sent in last 30 days, should we be denied full stats/tracking service.

03/21/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Mailchimp claims that: "Your MailChimp monthly plan gives you 20,000 ******** emails each month." But it requires you to pay for********* as well.
Monthly payment to Mailchimp: $75/month
date of issue: 2/23/2016
username for mailchimp: *******
username for*********:*********************************
Knowledgebase article that says you can get free********* emails with a paid Mailchimp account: ***********************************************************************************

Desired Settlement
I would like them to honor their advertising of Bundled pricing, where my mailchimp monthly payment would get me 20,000 mandrill emails/month

01/18/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Over Billing
This company for the past two months has overcharged me $30 twice. Contact to their representatives today exposes faulty billing practices. How can you charge someone for lists that dont exist and are not being used? If a list is uploaded in error a charge occurs. There is no way to contact the company via phone only email. I am not interested in a refund that can be used at their website as they have offered because it doesnt help me pay for what I am being over charged just an incentive to continue to allow them to do so. I would like a refund for both November and December where I was overcharged a total of $60. Im an independent worker for a large company that does this on the side and am able to make no profits was their blantant scam.

Desired Settlement
Refund for costs of overcharge $60.

11/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Mailchimp suspended our account without cause nor notice, impacting our ability to do business
We have had an account with MailChimp for more than three years. It has been a paid account for some time now. On September 30, 2015 as we were preparing to send a weekly newsletter, MailChimp suspended our account without warning or notice. The company has no phone support. A "chat" with their support team sent us to the "compliance" department. The company's compliance department is not responding to our emails and has no other means of being contacted. Meanwhile, our current flow of business has now been impacted.

Desired Settlement
Unblock our account immediately, so that we can again send email. Refund our payment for this month. Provide a full explanation of what occurred, why it occurred, and written commitment that it will never occur again.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Web Design, Internet Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/22/2005Business started: 04/10/2000Business started locally: 06/01/2000
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ben Chestnut (Partner)Mr. Dan Kurzius (Partner)Mr. Eric Munz (Vice President of Product)
Business Category

Web Design, Internet Services

Alternate Business Names
The Rocket Science Group, LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

MailChimp has received 1.7 out of 5 stars based on 3 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of D-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for MailChimp

675 Ponce De Leon Ave NE STE 5000

Atlanta, GA 30308-1829

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 675 Ponce De Leon Ave NE STE 5000 

    Atlanta, GA 30308-1829

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*MailChimp is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Web Design

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.