BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 12/01/1983

Houndstooth Carpet & Upholstery Cleaning

Phone: (770) 326-6244Fax: (770) 368-3837

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service6
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints7

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
09/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On September 8 tech cleaned carpet after a few hour carpet had the worst smell and large brown spots started to appear. The smell was so bad.
Smell was so bad a started feeling sick. Called company was told they would send someone in a few hours. Waited several hours no one came. Called back and was told had to wait until next day at 8am. Tech calls at 8:15 said he over slept. When he just sprayed carpet and told me to turn on fans. Smells are still in my house. When I called they said they would send money back. My carpets are smelly and dirty still. ***

Desired Settlement
My carpets should have been re cleaned and deodorizer with proper customer service. Tech was rude and unconcerned. They just wanted me to go away. Even the person in office handling grievance was very unconcerned.

Business Response
We refunded the consumer's entire amount ($62.00, check # XXXXX). We also sent a totally different workman out today to re-clean any problem areas and to apply a disinfectant. I called the consumer back and she informed me that it appears that everything is OK now and that she will contact me if any further action is required.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

03/25/2015Advertising / Sales Issues
04/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company has ruined my parent's rental unit carpet. They came in and sprayed something on the carpet that got rid of bacteria. When it did not dry they said to give it a few days. Well, the next day the company was called back due to there being white spots all over the carpet. They have left what looks like bleach marks all over the carpet. Someone came out to look at it and they said that it looks like they will be replacing the carpet. When we talked to the claims person today they said nothing could be done due to the carpet being old. They will give us the money back and that's it!
Product_Or_Service: Carpet Cleaning

Desired Settlement
The company needs to replace the carpet.

Business Response
We are aware of the circumstances surrounding Ms. *********'s complaint. Unfortunately she has omitted some key facts.

1) The carpet in question was already damaged beyond repair by staining and wear. (I can provide photos taken by Ms. ********* if needed)
2) The carpet, in areas that were not bleached out, is still damaged due to the original staining and wear. (Again, verifiable by Ms. *********'s photos)
3) The carpet, judging by the discontinued, old-fashioned pattern, is approximately 12-15 years old or possibly older. Though she could not verify the exact age of the carpet, Ms. *********'s mother agreed that this approximation was probably correct.
4) Even though the life expectancy of this carpet is approximately 10 years, and thus the carpet in all actuality has no value whatsoever, Houndstooth not only offered to refund the cost of the cleaning, but also offered to giver her AN ADDITIONAL $200.00 toward replacement of the carpet.

Mrs. ******, the owner of the carpet in question agreed to this settlement two days ago.

In an auto accident, if we were at fault, we would only be responsible for the value of the damaged automobile, and not for replacing the automobile. the same applies here. And since the value of her old and damaged carpet was zero, we feel we are being more than fair, and since the agreed upon amount has already been mailed to Mrs. ******, we request that this complaint be closed.

05/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Terrible service. I did not hear anything until I call at 9:15am the next morning, asking for a time frame for "morning". The guy on the phone stated he will call the cleaner man. The cleaner "Kid" showed up around 11am, under a different carpet cleaning company. (Strange) After I showed" him the areas I wanted clean, he said nothing. The cleaner "kid" knew nothing about any of my concerns. Cleaner "Kid" should have stated he could not do the job. After 2hrs he called me to sign a paper. My carpet was soak with the same spots. Cleaner "Kid" stated, we charge extra for deep cleaning..WHAT??? I complained and try to call the manager-no response. Cleaner "Kid" stated "oh they close now. Cleaner "Kid" stated, spill spots won't clean, some are pets spots. Wrong!!! my cat do not piss on the floor. "It would smell, right?" The carpet is still wet almost 24hrs later. My house smell like a damp mop. My son and I used carpet cleaner and "shout it out-stain remover" to try to make the carpet look and smell better. I asked cleaner "Kid" where is the cleaning/deodorizer that he should have used? He said, I did not put deodorizer yet-but remember he said he was done and wanted my signature "NOT". My carpet in the family room and dining room is buckling. I had to put down plastic to put my furniture back in order. Cleaner "Kid" stated, I will clean again, "NOT" the carpet is soak and water patches in my kitchen and my wood floors. This should have been done "PROFESSIONALLY" the first time. Cleaner "Kid" made my carpet worse. This company should be ashamed of themselves misleading customers.

Desired Settlement
fix my buckled carpet in my family and dining room

Business Response
I called Ms. ******* on Monday, 5/5 and left her a voice mail asking her to call so that we could rectify any problems. She called me back on Tuesday, 5-6 and I offered her a full refund. But she informed me that she never paid for the work. She set up an appontment for us to come out to her house today, Wednesday, 5/7, between 5 and 7 PM to rectify any problems. She just called a afew minutes ago to cancel that appointment and said that she would call back to reschedule.

Incidentrally, the "kid" she spoke of is in his erarly twenties. He informed us that the only additional charges he mentioned to her were for what he THOUGHT were pet odors, but he says he tried to make it clear to her that that was opitional. And we do list pet odor elimination as extra charge on all of our ads. But he apparently misdiagnosed the odor, since Ms. ******* assured me that there were no pet odors.

We will update this report with the BBB as soon as Ms. ******* reschedules teh appointment and will notify you of the results.

11/05/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company is not reliable and gives poor service.
I called houndstooth to clean my carpet and they stated they will be out on the Oct 11 between 8 and 10 per **** the manager. no call no show. I called the company to see why no one showed up, they stated it was between 12-4. Finally the carpet tech showed up. When I got home and looked at my carpet, it looked as though he cleaned my carpet with dirty water. I called the company and stated my concerns and **** the manager promised me he would get someone to come back out Tuesday October the 15th to have someone to reservice my carpet between 8 -10. Still no call no show. Called the company again and spoke with **** he states he dont know how they messed uo but could not have anyone to come out until Wednesday to redo my carpet. Im so digusted with this company and they poor service and do not want anyone to have to experience this. As of today my carpet is still the same and the company has not lived up to their guarantees. I will never used them again.

Desired Settlement
I only want my 65.50 refund back

Business Response
Ms. ****** called us on 10/8/13 and set up an appointment for us to clean her carpet on 10/11/13 between the hours of 12-4. We actually arrived a little before noon that morning and cleaned all the carpet in the house for $65.50. The following day (10/12/13), Ms. ****** called our company and expressed dissatisfaction about the work, so we set up an appointment for a free re-service to occur on 10/15/13 between the hours of 8 and 10 AM. We were unaware that our worker did not show up for the re-service until the following morning when we received the BBB complaint in our email. At that point, I called Ms. ****** and reset the re-service for that very day (10/16/2013). We showed up that day and re-cleaned the areas with which Ms. ****** was unhappy. The workman we sent on that particular day stated that Ms. ****** seemed satisfied before he left her house. In addition to that, we also mailed her a full refund check for the $65.50 as per her request to the BBB. Ms. ****** received the check and negotiated it on 10/21/13.

11/18/2014Problems with Product / Service
09/24/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Upholstery & Carpet Cleaning, Air Duct Cleaning, Carpet & Rug Cleaners

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.