BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/10/2013

Mr. Transmission

Phone: (770) 719-7676

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service7
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints7

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
03/05/2013Problems with Product / Service
03/05/2013Problems with Product / Service
12/29/2011Problems with Product / Service
10/10/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior repair

Complaint: My BMW 525 it transmission was intermittently failing - ABS/Brake indicators and trans prog fail safe mode. It started on 08/17/2013, Sunday around. This continued to occur over the next 3 days.On 09/10/2013, Monday, around 9am, I called Mr. Transmission, Mr. ****** regarding my car and and the another auto garage findings. I express my concern that another auto garage could not tell if it was the transmission or something else. Mr. Transmission assured me that they could correctly identify what was causing this trouble transmission or some other component - give me estimate of the repair cost. I drove my car to Mr. Transmission on Tuesday afternoon.On 09/11/2013, Wednesday, around 2pm, I received a call from Mr. Transmission, Mr. ****** informing me that their diagnostic testing revealed a defective transmission. The cost of rebuilding the transmission was $ 1695.00 barring finding additional trouble. I thought the problem was a electronic failure. I agreed to the repair work.On 09/13,2013, Friday, around 3pm, I received call from Mr. ***** to inform me that the repair was completed at a total cost of $ 3,025.00. The increased in cost was due to other defective and broken parts found during the rebuilding of the transmissionOn 9/14/2013. Saturday, paid for the repair work but I was told the car had to be road tested before I could receive it but it would be ready by 11:00am. During the road test the ABS/Brake indicator lit and then the transmission was place in the fail-safe mode, displaying the same symptoms that forced me to take it to the repair shop. I was told that the problem was a defective sensor.On 09/19/2013, Thursday, I called and was told the repair was not complete a seal was leaking and the car would receive a call by 09/20/2013, Friday. On 09/21/2013, Saturday, I received a call from Mr. ****** of Mr. Transmission. He told me that after a road test the ABS indicator came on. This time their testing reveal a defective ABS Module. Cost of part $800.00 no install fee.
Product_Or_Service: Auto repair
Order_Number: ****

Initial Business Response
Mr. ******** accounts of what happen during his visit with Mr. Transmission is some what correct however he has left out a lot of additional information regarding the repairs of his BMW.
Mr. ******** states that he was having ABS/Brake indicators problem and the transmission was going into fail safe mode. Also stating that the problem was first noted 8/17/13. Mr. ******** drove his BMW many days with knowing he had a problem with his car. He fails to mention that on the same day before bring his BMW to Mr. Transmission he had his car serviced by All speed Autoworks in Peachtree City Ga. 9/9/13. This repair shop changed the transmission fluid and also flushed the transmission system, and identified several code faults with the car. This shop also checked electrical and connection points and noted all communication ok. They also indicates on their paper work, that they believe the problem to be in side the transmission.
Mr. ********, on 9/9/13 brought his BMW to Mr. Transmission for a FREE PERFORMANCE check. The BMW was driven to Mr. Transmission in a fail safe mode, (the transmission only works in one gear in this condition). The car is unable to be driven correctly when in this fail safe mode, the car will not shift gears and the speed is very slow. It was also noted during the performance check that their where many other trouble code that both related to ABS system, Transmission and computer problems. It was determined that the transmission needed to be removed and dismantled and inspected. All of the problems that where found and our recommendation where given to Mr. ********. On 9/10/13 Mr. ******** gave authorization to begin the work and he was also given a base price for the repairs of $1695.00
After the transmission was removed and opened for inspection, excessive damage was found in the transmission. A major drum component in the transmission failed and was the cause of the problems with the transmission. After the additional damage was found a complete repair price was given to Mr. ********. Mr. ******** authorized Mr. Transmission again to continue with the repairs. Mr. ******** was given the part in the transmission that failed.
Mr. ******** came to the shop prior to the car being completed and paid in advanced. He is correct in that during that time the mechanic's where out test driving the car for its final Quality control checks. The car during all of it test drives, drove just as it should. But it was on the last test drive that the car went back in to a fail safe mode. During testing of the computer no electrical problems were Identified. Just to confirm that everything was OK electrically in the transmission. Mr. Transmission made the decision to replace the already new speed and output sensors. After replacing the electrical sensors the problem still would intermittently, recur. However during the second round of test driving and quality control checks, we where able to see the ABS/computer/ASC fail and stop working. On the BMW type of car that Mr. ******** drives; when the car's main computer see's a problem with the ABS/ASC it will put the car into a transmission fail safe mode to protect it. This will also occur with many other faults with the car. It was at this time we contacted Mr. ******** and provided him a price to repair his ABS system. We also offered to install the ABS/ASC computer module and not charge a labor fee. Parts only. Mr. Transmission has experience mechanics that know the BMW product, we also have several maintenance programs that give troubleshooting for this problem. This problem is not beyond our expertise. Their was not any guess work during this process, the car had multiple problems and the drive ability had to be repaired prior going any further.
Mr. ********'s is inexperience with the operation of his car and his unwillingness to discuss the problem and try to understand what is wrong has caused us to come to this point.
Mr. Transmission fully rejects giving any type of refund to Mr. ******** regarding the Custom Service Rebuild of his transmission, Mr. ******** was given a 12 month and 12,000 mile warranty that cover 100% of parts and labor. Also when Mr. ******** picked up his BMW he also agreed to pay total amount of all services, and acknowledge receipt of services and agree to obligations.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
he car was taken to Mr. Transmission to determine why the car was in "Trans. FAIL SAVE PROG" mode. Mr. Transmission professional advice was to rebuild the transmission to correct this intermittent failure. Trusting their advice I authorized the rebuilding of the transmission. They rebuilt the transmission but that did not correct the trouble. On 09/14/2013 when I paid for the repair with the belief the car was fixed. Then I was told they found a defective sensor. Apparently that wasn't the problem either. On 09/21/2013, I was told that the car has a defective ABS module that is causing intermittent communication failure on the comm bus which is causing the "Trans. FAIL SAVE PROG". It has been explained to me by a trained BMW mechanic that the ABS module failure on 5 series E39 is very common. The speed of the car is one piece of information that the ABS module is putting on the "comm bus" for other control modules that need that information to acquire like the transmission control module. When the transmission control module is unable to acquire the speed of the car it places the transmission in "Trans. FAIL SAVE PROG". The transmission has not failed. I was misinformed by MR. Transmission on the cause of the "Trans. FAIL SAVE PROG" due to incompetent mechanics. I am requesting a full refund because I did not receive the service I paid for...fixing the cause of the car entering in "Trans. FAIL SAVE PROG" mode.

Final Business Response
As stated in prior information provided, Mr. ******** brought his BMW to Mr. Transmission at the advice of another shop that specializes in foren car repair, who advise Mr. ******** he may have transmission problem. Mr. ******** had Mr. Transmission perform a Free performance check on his BMW. After his BMW was check out, Mr. ******** was advised that he had internal transmission problem and his transmission needs to be removed from his vehicle, disassembled and inspected for problems. After the inspection Mr. ******** was notified of all the problems that where found in the transmission, he was also given a rejected part that had cracked out and is what caused the failure of the transmission. Mr. ******** has failed to mention that. Mr. Transmission has a open door policy to all customers to view and see at any time the progress and the continued repair of their car.
The conversation that Mr. ******** had with a "trained BMW mechanic" Is hearsay. The BMW mechanic has not even looked at the car. Mr. Transmission has spent time troubleshooting the problem. Mr. ******** has an additional problem with his ABS control module that is causing his car to go into fail safe. Mr. ******** has been given a price to repair the problem with his ABS module. Mr. ******** is having a hard problem understanding that his car has multiple problems when he brought the car to Mr. Transmission. In discussing this problem with Mr. Transmission technicians and transmission rebuilder our explanation of the problem is that Mr. ******** had a original problem with his ABS system and ignored it. He continued to drive his BMW with this none problem; during his personal explanation of the problem he stated that the car went in to fail safe several times and he would just shut the car off and restart it and it would drive for a few miles and the same problem would happen again. By his negligence of shutting the car off and restarting he was by-passing the safety measures that the car uses to protect its major components from failure. The original problem was with the ABS that caused the failure in the transmission. Now the original problem needs to be repaired.
Once again Mr. Transmission is denying any type of refund to Mr. ********, he was provide with a completely rebuilt transmission and a 12month/12,000 mile warranty on the transmission parts and labor.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

06/23/2014Problems with Product / Service
09/06/2011Problems with Product / Service
07/14/2011Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Transmissions - Automobile, Auto Repair & Service

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.