BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/14/2003

Tallman Pools of Georgia, Inc.

Phone: (770) 603-0058Fax: (770) 477-2820View Additional Phone Numbers8993 Tara Blvd, JonesboroGA 30236-4908

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/14/2003

BBB has determined that Tallman Pools of Georgia, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Tallman Pools of Georgia, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Tallman Pools of Georgia, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
04/30/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
BEWARE of this company, I have Blister's all over the pool floor. When I contacted them The response was its your problem. YOU BEEN WARNED !!
Beware of this company, Bought a pool from them 10 years ago and know I have Blister's all over the pool floor. When I contacted them The response was sorry its your problem. We will not fix it. So know Have to get a Lawyer involved to get the problem fixed. I don't want anyone else to have to go threw this. This is not where you want to buy your pool from. I will be posting on all there social places to warn everyone of the danger that they will be facing dealing with this company. They do not STAND behind There Warranty. I was quoted $12,000 to Fix The pool That should have been fixed by Tallman Pools under Warranty. There Warranty Means Nothing Please Beware of this company.YOU BEEN WARNED!!!!!!!

Desired Settlement
Stand behind your products Warranty.After reading on the WEB that others have had the same problem and got the same run around that I'm dealing with. Its just not right to take advantage of people who buy your products. I'm going to do my best to warn everyone about your company.

Business Response
On April 10, 2014, ******* ***** contacted our office via email and telephone regarding a blistering issue he is experiencing on the gel-coat of his pool that was purchased from us in 2001, 13 years ago. Upon receipt of the email, his original email and contact information were forwarded to our lead technician whose job it is to follow up on all requests for repairs, determine if they are covered under warranty, and then coordinate the resolution or repair from that point forward. Based on the information provided by Mr. ***** in his email and on the phone with our technician, it was determined that the issue he was experiencing was in fact a surface issue and cosmetic in nature. The blistering, as he described it, is not a structural issue that would have an impact on the structural integrity of the swimming pool. When Mr. ***** purchased his pool in 2001, the surface warranty on the pool was for one (1) year only. At the time, this was an industry standard for surface warranties as the length of time is determined solely by that of the gel-coat/resin manufacturer, not the pool manufacturer. There is a Fifty (50) Year Structural warranty, however, that does not apply in this case based on the nature of the problem. I would also like to state here, for the record, that Mr. ***** did not actually return the bottom portion of his warranty card, which is required to be done within 30 days of sale, therefore his warranty was not technically valid. Although this was the case and although this particular repair would not have been covered under the warranty regardless, we offered to complete the repair for him but there would be a charge which would be very reasonable. Mr. ***** was not interested in hearing this information and stated to our technician that we would need to explain it to his lawyer. Please note that no one from ******* Pools ever said or implied to Mr. ***** that "its your problem" and "we will not fix it" as he stated in his initial complaint. We simply tried to explain to him that it was not a warranty issue that would be repaired at no cost.

The following day, we received an email from Mr. ***** requesting our attorney's information and stating he was prepared to take legal action. In the following days, and to date, Mr. ***** has also defamed our company and Mr. ** *******, the owner of Tallman Pools, by posting his negative opinion continuously to all of our social media sites. He has also created a blog using our company name (www.tallmanpools.co), a Google+ account under the name ** *******, and a facebook page entitled Tallman Pools BEWARE. If you take the time to look at any of these sites/postings, you will see that there are nothing but positive comments about Tallman Pools from our customer's. The only negative postings you will see are from Mr. ***** and his wife and those he has requested make comments. One in particular on his blog was a post from someone who claimed to be a customer of ours but is, in fact, not.

On April 18, 2014, our attorney, Mr. ******** *********** sent a letter to Mr. ***** c/o ******** **** & ********* Co., Inc. requesting that his counsel be in contact with ours as well as directing Mr. ***** to cease and desist all defamation of character for ****** ******* and Tallman Pools. He was also directed to cease and desist the use of any trademarked material belonging to Tallman Pools. As of today, April 21, 2014, he has yet to return the Defamation Settlement Agreement and neither he nor his legal counsel have been in contact with our attorney.

At this point, we feel that we have done all that we can and are unable to speak directly with Mr. ***** any further because of the legal implications that this may cause. Our stance on the matter is that the pool issue he is experiencing is not under any type of warranty. In the beginning, we were willing to repair the pool for him at a reasonable rate but, at this point, we do not feel that doing so would be prudent based on the actions of Mr. ***** to date. In response to his requested resolution, we are a reputable company and stand behind our products and our warranty. If there were any indication that this were a warranty issue, we would have proceeded with a warranty repair, without question. We do not take advantage of anyone and we do not have negative complaints against our company for this or any reason.

We would like to provide to you, for the record, the initial email from Mr. *****, his emailed response to his conversation with our technician, a copy of the warranty card from the time period in which his pool was purchased, a photo of the pool in working condition (as provided by Mr. *****), as well as the letter drafted and sent by our attorney. Please advise where this additional information may be sent.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design, Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/01/1993Business started: 01/01/1959
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: September 1972, GA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Edward K. Tallman (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Rebecca Tallman (Vice President)
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design, Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies

Alternate Business Names
Discount Fiberglass Pools, Inc., Tallman Pools, Inc.
Industry Tips
Swimming Pools

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Tallman Pools of Georgia, Inc.

8993 Tara Blvd

Jonesboro, GA 30236-4908

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 8993 Tara Blvd 

    Jonesboro, GA 30236-4908(770) 603-0058
    Fax: (770) 477-2820

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Tallman Pools of Georgia, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 305-5931
  • (770) 478-2257
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

Swimming Pools
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.