BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 11/13/2015

DuraCraft Siding & Windows, Inc.

Phone: (770) 921-1992Fax: (770) 995-9742

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues8
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Total Closed Complaints13

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (13)
02/10/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On June 14, 2005 I purchased windows for my entire house from Duarcraft - to include installation. The Windows carry a 50 year warranty for any needed repairs, replacement, etc. The window manufacturer,*******, also stands behind the warranty.

I called Duracraft today to have warranty work done on a few of my windows and was told my warranty was no longer in effect for two reasons : 1. The company I bought my windows from is no longer Duracraft of Georgia - their new name is Duracraft of Atlanta therefore the company I bought my windows from no longer exists so there is no warranty. 2.******* , the manufacturer, was bought by a different company in 2012 so they are no longer honoring the warranty.

I paid a significant premium for the product specifically for the warranty.
Product_Or_Service: Residential windows

Desired Settlement
All I want is the warranty I paid for to be honored as is specified in my contract.

Business Response
We are sorry for the confusion. The labor warranty is still in effect. The window manufacturer has gone out of business therefore the product warranty is no longer in effect. We will gladly honor the labor portion of this claim and assist the owner in purchasing replacement glass to keep the cost down. Please feel free to call us with any questions.

Consumer Response
when I spoke live to the owner of the company he went through a long story about how the owners of the original company - Duracraft of Georgia - had died and that company was out of business. He told me my warranty was through that company and not the new company - Duracraft of Atlanta - there fore leaving me with no warranty at all. Nothing was said that was even similar to their reply below to you.
I think when the window manufacturer, *******, went out of business Duracraft change the name of their company so they would not have to honor the labor portion of the warranty.

*** ****


Final Business Response
We will honor the labor as specified in the contract.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

03/03/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Warranty replacement of windows with broken seals
We purchased 22 replacement vinyl windows and a large sliding door from Duracraft of GA back in summer '09. Just recently we noticed that 3 of the windows are exhibiting a broken seal and have moisture and other imperfections between the glass. I spoke to a representative at Duracraft and was told that the windows they installed, ******* Windows, are no longer supported by the manufacturer and that I would need to have the windows replaced by a third party company at my expense. I was told that the manufacturer filed for chapter 11/13 and went out of business and the new company, ********** isn't honoring the ******* window warranties. I let the Duracraft representative know that I purchased windows from them not ******** even though they are ******* windows, and asked what they are going to do to resolve customer satisfaction and they apparently don't have any plans to make it right with their customers.

Desired Settlement
I would like to see the company stand behind the product they sold me and replace the windows and stand behind the limited lifetime warranty. I invested close to ******* in replacement door and windows and to have seal failure in just over 4 years is unacceptable. ******* windows is what they sold and convinced me that these were "quality" windows and that I wouldn't have to ever replace in the the life of the home.

Business Response
DuraCraft of Georgia understands Mr. ******'s frustration. We too are very unhappy our trusted vendor of 12+ years, ****** Windows, went out of business. Not only did we have to research a new window vendor, but we deal daily with calls from customers with ****** windows that have gone bad. Unfortunately with ********* demise also went their Manufacturer's lifetime warranty against seal failure and glass breakage. DuraCraft of Georgia offered the manufacturer's warranty, but the manufacturer was the one that actually honored it.

Sadly, we have a huge number of calls daily of customers with ****** window seal failure. DuraCraft would love to replace all the affected windows at our expense, however, it is not financially feasible. Even though we love our customers, we don't want to go out of business like ****** did.

We are offering our customers the following options:
* They can call ***** ******, ********** or ****** & **** to replace their bad glass. They Do Not have to replace the entire window or sash... just the glass. These companies can put the gas in between the panes, grids, etc. This would be their quickest option.
* They can pay DuraCraft for material & labor only. Our procedure is to come out and measure; order the glass; install the glass after our vendor ships it to us. The cost for each replacement is based on quantity: 1-2 ******** 3-4 ******** 5-9 ******** 10+ ******** If tempered glass, add ******* A down payment of one half the total amount is due upon measure, with the balance due on installation.

If Mr. ****** would be willing to split the cost with us, we would be glad to do that.


Business Response
DuraCraft has been working with Mr. ****** to replace his affected ****** windows. New glass was installed 2-14-14. We spoke with Mr. ****** X-XX-XX and he is very happy.


Consumer Response
Duracraft of Georgia resolved this back on February 14 by replacing the glass in the windows exhibiting the broken seals. This has been resolved to my satisfaction.

01/02/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ordered a double-door on 9/23/2013. The door never arrived. After calling Duracraft almost every day for 3 weeks,they don't know where the door is!
I ordered a new double-door system on 9/23/2014, and payed $1,012 deposit on 9/24/2013. I was promised the door would be installed in about 3 weeks. Well, the door never arrived.

Worse yet, I've been calling Duracraft almost every day for the past 3 weeks. The secretaries kept promising that somebody would call me back to let me know, but they never did. In very few cases, they were able to connect me to somebody else (either a sales person or manager, don't know). Again, the person I spoke to would promise to get to the bottom of this problem and call me back: they never did! I always had to call back, and the story would repeat: they simply told me several times they don't know where the door is or when it arrived.

They explained they were having several internal issues, ranging from a person being fired (who was handling my order), to the owner of the company ******************.

I don't know if those were simply excuses or not. But one fact remains: they cannot tell me where my door is and when/if it will ever arrive.

I requested a full refund of the deposit I payed, but of course so far I have not yet received an answer, which was to be expected, given the very poor customer service.

Desired Settlement
I would like to simply be refunded the $1,012 I already payed as a deposit for a door system that I never received.

Business Response
Mr. ******** has been so patient with the turmoil DuraCraft has been experiencing. We feel very bad that his order was caught up with the unfortunate events we have had to deal with. With the sudden death of our owner (the second one in less than two years) our business office was closed for an entire week. All business accounts were frozen, so it has taken time to restart "normal" business functions out of temporary accounts. We have no account at this time to return his deposit to him. Prior to our owners death, personnel changes were made that have proven to be not up to our high standards (i.e. no call backs/poor communication). We are working on improving this area of our business. Our goal is for our customer to have a pleasant experience.

We left Mr. ******** a message Monday, December 2, 2013, to arrange installation of his door for any day of his convenience after December 10, 2013. He is first in line for installation. We would love to be of service to him and provide him the custom-made door he has been waiting for. We certainly apologize for the inconvenience and frustration he has been through. We would like to change his perception of DuraCraft and sincerely hope he will return our call. Thank you.

Final Consumer Response
I have received the reimbursement I had requested to the company.

12/03/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
5/30/13-I contacted Duracraft about replacing defective window. Should have been covered under original warranty. ***** said she would put the order in.Takes several weeks. 7/29-talked with **** ****** (*********) and she said she would get back to me. Never did. 8/19-spoke with **** ***** and ***** with no information other than window on order. 9/27-they would reorder window. ***** said orig. company was bankrupt and new company did not honor warranty. We found out window company was bankrupt in 3/2012. We agreed to pay between $150-$200 for the window from new company to settle this.9/30-got email from ***** to email her saying ok to order window. I did right away and have copy for my records. 10/23-called left message for *****, no return call. 11/3-emailed ***** about delivery of window-11/4-rec. email-**** ****** passed away and all has stopped.11/21-called Duracraft and ***** said all assets frozen, call another window company-be faster and cheaper. 11/21-called ***********-got estimate for $469. 11/25 ***** called and said window was in, when can they install? I was told they possibly install next day. I cancelled ** order. ***** would call back if they could get an installer. 11/26-called ***** told her installer has not called, 11/27-called *****-gave phone numbers again and if no call by installer by 3:30, call her back. Installer has not called.
Product_Or_Service: Vinyl Replacement Windows

Desired Settlement
I spoke with **** ****** (*****) (months before she passed away) and we agreed upon replacing the window. I have agreed to pay between $150-$200 just to have this settled. The original window had a lifetime guarantee. I just want the window replaced as soon as possible.

Final Consumer Response
Duracraft arranged for a person who does not work for the company to replace the glass and help settle the claim. He came and replaced the window on 11/29/2013.

08/06/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Eleven of the replacement windows have a brown film between panes of glass. Duracraft won't honor the warrenty.
When I called Duracraft they said the company that made the windows was out of business. They said they had bought Duracraft a few years ago and were not responsible for any repairs.

Desired Settlement
Replace the glass unit in the affected windows.

Business Response
DuraCraft Response to the above complaint;

DuraCraft would like to apologize for the inconvenience. All warranty's provided by DuraCraft are "Workmanship Only" and do not cover "Manufacturing Defects". DuraCraft will gladly honor the labor portion of the warranty as per contract. Unfortunately the Manufacturer of the windows is no longer in business and the homeowner would have to pay for the replacement glass. Once the glass is ordered (and paid for by the homeowner), DuraCraft will install the replacement glass as part of the 'Workmanship Warranty". The homeowners warranty will continue to remain in effect as per contract for any future needs.

Once again we are sorry for the inconvenience and will gladly honor the labor as needed.



01/06/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Last fall I had a $6,000 roof put on my condo. My roof leaks in places where it never had a leak before. In fact it wasn't leaking before, I was told that I needed one by this company. I have contacted the business and they send out someone that said that it had to do with my gutters baking up. The gutters was full of the **** from the old roof. But that was not the case, my walls are bulking because water is coming in between them now. Also I have leaks in various parts of my house now that I didn't have before. I need a new roof for real now :-(I want a refund so that I can get a roof. Or have that company which this warranty is with to replace my roof. Right now the warranty isn't worth the piece of paper it is printed on. They said 50 years and it can't handle one year. If the shingles are warranted by Duracraft, then they need to send someone out to replace the roof!!

Desired Settlement
Refund because I need someone I can trust to do the work.

Business Response
Attention: BBB
*** *** ****** ***** ***
******* ***** GA XXXXX

Regards: Case # ********* ******* ****


DuraCraft Siding & Windows is very sorry for the problems Ms. ******* **** has encountered. Unfortunately this job was completed by DuraCraft of Georgia which is no longer in business. The new DuraCraft Siding & Windows opened business in April 2014 this year. Even though, legally we are not responsible for the previous DuraCraft of Georgia's warranties, we are taking care of Ms. ****'s issues under the new ownership.

As for any future complaints. BBB please place a Flag/Alert and acknowledge that DuraCraft of Georgia and DuraCraft Siding & Windows are two separate businesses. Any complaints where the work was completed prior to April 01, 2014 was completed by DuraCraft of Georgia (no longer in business). Any complaints that come in after April 01, 2014 should be sent to DuraCraft Siding & Windows (note new contact information below). Please update your information as you continue to show us as the old DuraCraft. Also, you show that you tried to contact us about the above case on 10/27/14. If you sent any correspondence by email, the emails associated with DuraCraft of Georgia no longer exist. We have contacted you several times about this situation. If you have any questions please contact us at our new office:

DuraCraft Siding & Windows
*** S **** ******
*********** GA XXXXX

Phone: ************
Fax: ************

Or email at *******@duracraftatlanta.com or ******@duracraftatlanta.com

Thank you for your help in this matter.

Sincerely,

******* ******** Owner
DuraCraft Siding & Windows

03/26/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased ******* of Windows from Duracraft. They told me I would have a lifetime warranty on my windows and that the windows would save me on my utility bills. I order triple pane windows to have even better heat and air insulation. They said my window would never feel heat or cold on the inside of the glass as they showed me a trial window and put a hot heater on the outside of it and you could not feel the heat on that window at all. That window was only a double pane window they used as a sales gimic. After my windows were installed 5 out of 28 windows I purchased had to be replaced one after the other as it seemed like mold was growing on the inside of the glass. Now I have 3 more windows needing replaced and they said the name of the company they purchased the windows from is Bankrupt and no longer in business. I hold duracraft responsible as they made a lot of money on me for a bad product. They should be responsible for installing the windows as they go bad as the cost to them was very minimal and I paid top dollar for these windows thinking I would not have to replace them. Now I am having high utility bills as the windows are not like the sample window they showed me at the initial sale and they are mold filled glass. I need someone to step in and make this company do right by their clients.
Product_Or_Service: Windows 2 orders 1 in2008, 1 in 2009

Desired Settlement
I want the windows I paid for to be under warranty and not dismissed as if they didn't make a profit. I want the 3 windows that are mildewed inside replaced and if I have any others that go bad for them to stand behind it. They charged me a ton and don't want to stand behind what they promised. They chose the window company not I and I feel like they should stand behind the product.

Business Response
DuraCraft of Georgia understands Ms. ****** frustration. We too are very unhappy our trusted vendor of 12+ years, Gorell Windows, went out of business. We had to research a new window vendor and we deal daily with calls from customers with Gorell windows that have gone bad. Unfortunately with Gorell's demise also went their lifetime warranty against seal failure and glass breakage. DuraCraft of Georgia offered the manufacturer's warranty, but the manufacturer honored it.

Sadly, we have a huge number of calls daily of customers with Gorell window seal failure. DuraCraft would love to replace all the affected windows at our expense, however, it is not financially feasible. Even though we love our customers, we don't want to go out of business like Gorell did.

We are offering our customers the following options:
* They can call ***** ******, ********** or ****** & **** to replace their bad glass. They Do Not have to replace the entire window or sash... just the glass. These companies can put the gas in between the panes, grids, etc. This would be their quickest option.
* They can pay DuraCraft for material & labor only. Our procedure is to come out and measure; order the glass; install the glass after our vendor ships it to us. The cost for each replacement is based on quantity: 1-2 $200/ea; 3-4 ******** 5-9 ******** 10+ ******** If tempered glass, add ******* A down payment of one half the total amount is due upon measure, with the balance due on installation.

If Ms. ****** would be willing to split the cost with us, we would be glad to do that. Her (8)windows would be ******* = ******* Half of that would be $600. She is welcome to call us if this would be acceptable.

Final Consumer Response
I talked to a new owner for Duracraft that promised to call me on Wednesday 3/19/2014 so he could give me more options on replacing my windows. I have not heard from him at all. I would like to keep this complaint alive until I get some resolution or repair. Thanks, *******

Final Business Response
This customer has spoken to the owners that purchased a company name and phone number only - not the assets or the liabilities. Even though they are not liable, I understand they worked something out for this customer. The business the consumer purchased windows from no longer exists. Please close this claim as additional correspondence is irrelevant. Thank you.

03/03/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Duracraft of Georgia replaced 32 windows. Within 3 years, 5 of them had severe seal breakage problems so bad that you cant see through them. The windows were sold with lifetime material and labor warranties. They refused to honor the warranty!
Product_Or_Service: windows

Desired Settlement
Replace the five defective windows with like windows to match.

Business Response
DuraCraft is working with Mr. ***** to replace his defective Gorell window panes. We have measured the affected panes and should install next week. DuraCraft is paying all material and labor costs since the Manufacturer's Warranty is null and void with Gorell going out of business in February of 2012.

03/26/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues
Page 1 of 2
08/26/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Duracraft of Georgia has been in the process of performing work on my house, which was damaged by a tree strike, for about a year. Their project manager was recently fired for many reasons. I have discovered that they have billed me fraudulently for work that was in their estimate but not performed. I have asked for a refund but they have refused.The work they did inside was done by people that they say were unqualified. They have had three different work crews walk off the job because they were not being paid by Duracraft, even though I had already overpaid Duractaft for work that they have not yet performed. I overpaid by giving them an insurance check after I was threatened by their project manager who they fired. I have tried to work with Duracraft but they are not communicating.
Product_Or_Service: Home Repairs
Order_Number: **** invoice
Account_Number: XX-XXXX-***

Desired Settlement
I want a refund of $14,733.71 for work that was paid for but not performed,and for fraudulent billing.

08/26/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Called to have them honor warranty. Told they were out of business by someone who said he'd charge us to do repair work. Website implies still in biz.
Purchased windows seven years ago with lifetime warranty. Had issue with window and called number. Contractor called us back explaining that Duracraft was no longer in business. Said he'd charge us $150 to repair window. Went to Duracraft website and found another number which I called and left message. Number still works so can't confirm they are truly out of business.

Desired Settlement
Replace damaged window at no charge

08/26/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Siding Contractors, Soffit & Fascia, Hail Repair, Windows - Vinyl, Windows - Wood, Windows, Windows & Doors - Installation & Service, Storm Windows & Doors, Doors - Installation, Doors - Patio, Doors, Door Frames, Windows - Installation & Service, Stucco & Exterior Coating Contractors, Roofing Service Consultants, Roofing Contractors, Painting Contractors, Home Improvements, Contractors - Gutters, Gutter Leaf Guards, Gutters & Downspouts, Doors - Repair

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.