BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/25/2001

Lincoln College of Technology

Find a Location

Phone: (770) 226-0056Fax: (770) 226-0084View Additional Phone Numbers2359 Windy Hill Rd SE, MariettaGA 30067-8638 Send email to Lincoln College of Technology



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/25/2001

BBB has determined that Lincoln College of Technology meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Lincoln College of Technology's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Lincoln College of Technology

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
12/22/2015Problems with Product / Service
11/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I attended this college at night, because of doing contract work during the day. I expressed my concern about the externship only being accessible during day hours. I spoke with the program director Mr. **** and he stated: well it was in the requirements, and it has to be done in order to receive your degree. My contracts consist of being available during the day, which is how I provide for my family. I also spoke with Mr. *******, and still hit a brick wall. Going to school at night basically means you have things to take care of during the day. Now that I have cancelled contracts, my kids and I are homeless now. This school has made several threats to drop me from the program, instead of trying to help complete the program. I have paid to much money into this school ad time. But none of that matters except the externship only during the day. Now if you have day and evening classes,then you should have day and evening exterships. My kids and I are forced to move because I can't pay my rent or my bills. I expressed this several times to all parties and all they seem to worry about is 90 free hours during the day. So this school basically saying that if you are a night study, you have to quit you day obligations, not making a living for your family, and live on the streets just to complete externship during the day. This is frustration to uproot my family, possibly live in a shelter if there is room or a waiting list. Or be forced to live in a car. All because the school only caters to the day classes, and leave the night classes in a bind. I took Information Security at night and completed my classes with a 3.89GPA.But the school is not worried about the night students at all. But they can make harassing phone calls everyday of the week like bill collectors. But worse. I still haven't been assigned a voucher for taking my A+ certification on top of all this, and I have several attempts to take.
Account_Number:********

Desired Settlement
Being able to acquire evening hours for the externship for evening students. My certification voucher which is stated in the contract.They haven't fulfilled their end on that. Give me my Associates Degree, for making me lose my place of residence. Having me become homeless in the process. Also, assist with housing for my kids and I for causing me to lose money to pay rent and bill.

Business Response
*** ******
Trade Practice Specialist
Better Business Bureau

RE: Case # ********: ******** ********

Dear Ms. ******:

Ms. ******** is currently an evening student in our Computer and Network Support Technician program. She originally started in our day program on October 1, 2012 and later transferred to our evening program on January 19, 2013.

Ms. ******** indicates in her complaint that she expressed the need to have an externship during the evening hours. Externships are a requirement of the program, and as noted on page 10 of the catalog Ms. ******** received upon enrollment "The Information Technology externship is a full-time commitment of 90 hours at 30 hours per week for 3 weeks. Externship hours are daytime hours for both day and evening programs. All weeks exclude holidays, course changes days and make-up hours for absences during externship. Actual times are set by the externship sites. Students are responsible for transportation to and from the extern site, as well as meals." However, we do encourage our students to find their own sites.

********, is currently assigned an externship site at ITProact where she has completed approximately 60% of her required hours. She states that she completed her classes with a GPA of 3.89, and feels she should just receive her degree. The externship is a part of the education process in which Ms. ******** has not yet complete, and therefore we cannot just grant her a degree.

Ms. ******** has had several conversations with multiple directors at the campus, for which we have all tried to accommodate her. The attendance policy applies to both groups of students, those that are in the campus and those out on externship. Ms. ******** only attends her site once a week.

The college does care about its evening students which is a significant portion of our total school population. We do our very best to make the same opportunities available to our evening students as we do for our day students. Ms. ******** made reference to the school making threats to drop or withdraw her from the program. These are not threats, when a student is in danger of being withdrawn from class; we will do our best to reach out to the student to be sure they are aware of their situation. This is even more important when we have not received the necessary attendance documents for students on extern. Students are required to submit their time to the campus on a weekly basis.


Lastly, Ms. ******** was provided with a study guide for the A+ Certification however she never followed up with her instructor. The voucher is available for Ms. ******** at any time she would like to sit for her certification. We will continue to look for evening opportunities for Ms. ******** and other students.

Sincerely,

***** ********
Campus President
Marietta Campus


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I don't agree with this at all. I am a night student regardless how I started out. I have spoken with several people about the situation and nothing is being done about it. Currently, my kids and I are homeless because the school is not willing to do what's needed for the night students. An externship doesn't mean not work to provide for your family. I have three kids and a grandchild to support. This school is saying they are trying to help, which in fact is a lie. Calling and making threats about withdrawal or dropping is the norm for them. On top of that, it's about 4 different people calling every week. Mr. ******* did not mention that my externship started 2 weeks late, and had me in a graduation ceremony when I was not even starting my externship. This school is so full of bull. The staff is only concerned with enrollment. I will make it my business to let people know this school is high priced for the basic education for any program. I did ask for my voucher, and was never contacted as to when it could be taken. Mr. ****** is going to stand by his staff seen if they are wrong. Then why would I find a place and for them to try and make a connection. They helped me on the street and then want to speak jargon about how things started. Going to school at night means things are being done during the day. They need to find something for the evening, instead of trying to say you better do this or you will be dropped. So what I'm basically hearing is the school is going to take my money, time, and means of work so they can look good. Provide an evening externship and stop harassing me. No job, means no money. No money, means can't put gas in the car.

Final Business Response
Ms. ******** and I met in person on November 4th. Ms. ******** is currently trying to firm a schedule that works for her family and work life. Ms. ******** agreed to reach out to myself and our Director of Education once she had a better idea of what her schedule was going to look like. Once we hear back from Ms. ********, we will work with her to complete the remaining hours of her externship.

02/25/2016Billing / Collection Issues
06/11/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Schools - Business & Vocational

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/30/2001Business started: 01/01/1967
Business Management
Principal: Mr. Brian Capozzi (Campus President)
Contact Information
Ms. JoAnn Janusek (Director of Administrative Services)Ms. Michelle Lockett (Director of Education)Ms. Donna Smith (Director of Financial Aid)Mr. Truitt Taylor (Director of Admissions)Ms. Diane Walker (Director of Career Services)
Business Category

Schools - Business & Vocational

Alternate Business Names
Lincoln Technical Institute

Additional Business Names and Locations are viewable by clicking Find a Location

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Lincoln College of Technology

2359 Windy Hill Rd SE

Marietta, GA 30067-8638

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • Career Education Institute

    2359 Windy Hill Rd SE 

    Marietta, GA 30067-8638(678) 969-0019
    Fax: (770) 226-0084

  • Computer-Ed Institute

    5675 Jimmy Carter Blvd 

    Norcross, GA 30071-2965(770) 226-0056

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Lincoln College of Technology is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (678) 969-0019

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (770) 226-9854
  • (678) 966-9687
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Schools - Business & Vocational

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.