BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/15/2002

Brown College Of Court Reporting

Phone: (404) 876-1227Fax: (404) 876-4415View Additional Phone Numbers1900 Emery St NW Ste 200, AtlantaGA 30318-2570 Send email to Brown College Of Court Reporting

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/15/2002

BBB has determined that Brown College Of Court Reporting meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Brown College Of Court Reporting's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Brown College Of Court Reporting

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
02/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I called Brown college inquiring about applying for the Spring program, Ms. ***** told me that Friday Dec.20,2013 was the last day I could enroll and a $50.00 application fee was required. I informed the admissions rep. that I was on a fixed income and my pay would not post until Dec.31,2013, I also explained I had to meet a deadline to use my VRAP military education benefits before it expired and that my FASFA benefits had been applied for back in Sept.2013; she told me to come in to enroll before 3:00 p.m. Dec.20,2013 and that she would hold my check until Dec.31, 2013. I went to apply at 2:00, I wrote/gave a check for $50.00, took a grammar and typing test, was handed a package then escorted outside. Once I returned home and went through my package; it did not include documents of my applying, no receipt, no student i.d., no schedule, NOTHING except a brochure about the college. I contacted VA and learned the school did not have me enrolled as a student. I contacted the school and learned I was not in the system. I called MS. *****, she refused to answer, then my check was prematurely deposited on Dec.30, (insufficient funds) and it was redeposited Dec.31.2013 where it cleared.They never enrolled me into the school, they just took my money!
Product_Or_Service: admissions to college

Desired Settlement
I request my $50.00 application fee returned plus $30.00 bounced check fee and $25.00 for other charges applied to my account because of her DELIBERATELY SUBMITTING MY CHECK PREMATURELY.

Business Response
Brown College of Court Reporting has carefully reviewed the customer's complaint by reading the prospective students concerns, reviewing the file, reviewing employee notes in our database, and talking with the involved employees (Director of Admissions and Admissions Representative).
The customer arrived for her appointment late on Friday 12/20/13 (close to the end of our business day, 3pm) and expressed her urgency in applying for the program. She was walked through the process by the admissions representative and chose to submit an application fee via a check that was not postdated. The admissions representative did not understand that the customer expected her to hold the check for over one week. It is important to note that the college is not in the practice of holding checks and would typically ask that a student submit their application at a time when they can pay the fee.

The customer applied at the very end of our business day on Friday and called early Monday a.m. (approx.. 8:30am) to complain to our Director of Admissions (DOA) that she was not "enrolled". This is basically true because her application had not been processed since our registrar's office did not receive the application until Monday morning. However, the DOA assured the student that her application would be processed for the winter term, beginning Jan. 6th and, after finalizing the call, promptly submitted the application and emailed a receipt dated 12/23/13(the admissions representative working with the customer on Friday was not in the office, yet). In addition, per the students complaint, there was no class schedule given, student ID generated, or acknowledgement to the VA between Friday afternoon and Monday morning because the college does not operate during weekend hours. The information being requested by the student (schedule, ID, etc.) would have been generated beginning on Monday when the application was officially submitted and the student accepted. I have records in our database that show our financial aid advisor left the customer a message on Monday to discuss tuition payment expectations. So, the college was following our normal application process for this student and eagerly preparing for the January start. This was not, as claimed, an intentional effort by the college to create any hardship for the student. We are a small college that prides itself on building a good rapport with our students from the very first meeting. From what I can determine, it was clearly understood during both conversations (admissions representative and director of admissions) and, from the date on the customer's check, that the she wanted her application to be processed (this includes the fee). I do not want the customer to be out the fee if she truly is not interested in attending our college, therefore, I will initiate a refund of the customers application fee of $50 and the bounced fee of $30 this week.

09/30/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The college allowed a disbursement from a deral gov't loan and I am no longer a student. They are not cooperative to reverse the disbursement.
I was a student of BCCR Spring Quarter of 2013. I left due to financial aid, and found a more affordable court reporting institute. I have been encountering complications with my federal student loan (disbursement when no longer enrolled) and I reached out to the Accounting and Financial Aid departments for support to find that I was blocked. My first few messages to BCCR were sent successfully days before and two former classmates has assured me that BCCR email addresses or staff has not changed! Not only does this staff exhibit a lack of interest while you are currently a student the post student support is atrocious as well! This college has 5 complaints on the Better Business Bureau, please refrain from pursuing their services!

Desired Settlement
I need my student loan reversed or furnished documents indicating that the scheduled disbursement was cancelled.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** *******, *** ********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********************
******* ***** began at Brown College of Court Reporting in the Spring of 2013. She applied for financial aid on March 20, 2013 prior to the April 1st class start. During that first quarter ******* realized that she was not doing well in her studies and her last day of attendance was June 20th, the end of the first quarter.

She came to the school on the first day of the quarter, July 1, 2013 and was informed that her grades were not passing from the prior quarter. Therefore she was dismissed academically and lost her financial aid. The financial aid paperwork had been completed for the upcoming quarter, however once the dismissal happened any pending disbursements were canceled. We have documentation available to support this.

I apologize that her emails were returned to her, but we never "block" emails or email addresses. My only resolution to that is that she may have had the wrong address on the email. My staff takes the utmost care with both current and previous students which is why we have a very good reputation curently and for the past 41 years.

In regards to the five previous complaints, Brown College of Court Reporting has explained each situation thouroughly and resolved each case.

If a person desires to be a court reporter, it is to their advantage to check us out. We are the only school approved in Georgia by the National Court Reporters Assoc.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Final Business Response
Brown College of Court Reporting responded directly to the consumer by providing the necessary documentation to show that all pending loans had been cancelled out.

01/16/2013Billing / Collection Issues
12/06/2012Problems with Product / Service
10/09/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities, Schools - Business & Vocational

Additional Information

top

This college is a division of Coyne American Institute, Chicago, Illinois.

BBB file opened: 11/20/2002Business started: 02/01/1972
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Business Management
Principal: Ms. Marita Carey (Executive Director)
Contact Information
Ms. Shirley Sotona (Director of Education)
Number of Employees

32

Business Category

Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities, Schools - Business & Vocational

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Brown College Of Court Reporting

1900 Emery St NW Ste 200

Atlanta, GA 30318-2570

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • Brown College

    1900 Emery St NW Ste 200 

    Atlanta, GA 30318-2570(404) 876-1227
    (800) 849-0703
    (404) 876-1227

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Brown College Of Court Reporting is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 849-0703
  • (404) 876-1227
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.