BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/31/2001

Chastain Roofing

Phone: (770) 486-0820Fax: (770) 486-0823140 Shamrock Industrial Blvd, TyroneGA 30290-2718 Send email to Chastain Roofing

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/31/2001

BBB has determined that Chastain Roofing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Chastain Roofing's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
06/07/2013Problems with Product / Service
12/09/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 10/19/10 Chastain Roofing was paid $7,050.00 to install new roofing materials after storm damage. Also, the following storm damaged items were included. 1. Replace 20 ft. of 1 by 6 boards. 2. Reattach soffit on front left side. 3. Reattach soffit on back walkway. 4. Repair fascia on back walkway.They never fulfilled their commitment. They only completed the roof work. After many calls and waiting for results, I finally paid another contractor to complete the items listed above.After much rain in early spring of 2013, a leak was observed in one of the front rooms. At that time Chastain was contacted. They were slow in responding. On 7/2/13 they insufficiently patched the roof. It is not flat and looks totally different than the other shingles and it still leaks during a hard rain. I have called and discussed this several times. Each time I was told that I will be contacted in a few days to schedule the repair. During one of those calls, **** informed me that they no longer have an office in my area ************ **** He gave me a date when they would be working our area. At that time, I informed him that I am working and could not be available on that day. He promised to get back in touch with me. Since then, no one from Chastain has called me. I have continued to call but get the same response with no results. Meanwhile, the problem still exists.
Account_Number: Invoice # XXXXX

Desired Settlement
I will hire an A+ rated company to make the necessary repairs to the roofing (and ceiling) and Chastain Roofing must pay the bill. Also, I want to be compensated for 4 listed repairs that Chastain never performed.

Business Response
Chastain Roofing has no knowledge of the uncompleted work. Not only were we never informed, we never contracted to do those items. As far as the roofing claim is concerned this is the first time I have ever heard it was leaking, We have been to Ms, ******* home twice since the original call. The fist time we made the repairs. She is not happy with the look and we are aware. The second time was not a good time for her so we could not fix the problem. At the current time we are very busy taking care of physical leaks not cosmetic issues. I informed Ms. ****** that it would be some time in November. If there is a leak I will have a repair man out ASAP. We had no knowledge of a current leak. We have every intention to make the repairs and satisfy Ms. ******

Final Consumer Response
Due to computer problems I was unable to view the the from Chastain Roofing's response until today. I disagree with most of their statments. I informed them about the repairs that they did not complete. Their respresentative at that time was ****. Also, no one told me that the roof repair would be done in November. They are not returning my calls. Please reopen this complaint.

Final Business Response
Ms. ****** was paid from her insurance company 3 years ago to repair her ceiling which she never did. Her daughter who lives in the home told me this on a previously phone conversation. We will not pay any company to do anything. We completed this roof 3 years ago and now she is saying work was not done? This should have been brought up before she even paid the bill. If Ms. ****** can show me a contract that we had to complete any other work we will be more than happy to do so. The contract that I have is for the roof. Which we completed.

02/17/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues
02/10/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues
09/18/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/01/1995Business started: 01/01/1990
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dale Chastain (Principal)Ms. Tina Chastain
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

Roofing Contractors

Alternate Business Names
D T Chastain, Inc.
Industry Tips
General Advice When Choosing a Roofer

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Chastain Roofing

140 Shamrock Industrial Blvd

Tyrone, GA 30290-2718

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 140 Shamrock Industrial Blvd 

    Tyrone, GA 30290-2718(770) 486-0820

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Chastain Roofing is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors

General Advice When Choosing a Roofer
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.