BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/31/2001

Chastain Roofing

Phone: (770) 486-0820Fax: (770) 486-0823

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
06/07/2013Problems with Product / Service
12/09/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: On 10/19/10 Chastain Roofing was paid $7,050.00 to install new roofing materials after storm damage. Also, the following storm damaged items were included. 1. Replace 20 ft. of 1 by 6 boards. 2. Reattach soffit on front left side. 3. Reattach soffit on back walkway. 4. Repair fascia on back walkway.They never fulfilled their commitment. They only completed the roof work. After many calls and waiting for results, I finally paid another contractor to complete the items listed above.After much rain in early spring of 2013, a leak was observed in one of the front rooms. At that time Chastain was contacted. They were slow in responding. On 7/2/13 they insufficiently patched the roof. It is not flat and looks totally different than the other shingles and it still leaks during a hard rain. I have called and discussed this several times. Each time I was told that I will be contacted in a few days to schedule the repair. During one of those calls, **** informed me that they no longer have an office in my area ************ **** He gave me a date when they would be working our area. At that time, I informed him that I am working and could not be available on that day. He promised to get back in touch with me. Since then, no one from Chastain has called me. I have continued to call but get the same response with no results. Meanwhile, the problem still exists.
Account_Number: Invoice # XXXXX

Initial Business Response
Chastain Roofing has no knowledge of the uncompleted work. Not only were we never informed, we never contracted to do those items. As far as the roofing claim is concerned this is the first time I have ever heard it was leaking, We have been to Ms, ******* home twice since the original call. The fist time we made the repairs. She is not happy with the look and we are aware. The second time was not a good time for her so we could not fix the problem. At the current time we are very busy taking care of physical leaks not cosmetic issues. I informed Ms. ****** that it would be some time in November. If there is a leak I will have a repair man out ASAP. We had no knowledge of a current leak. We have every intention to make the repairs and satisfy Ms. ******

Final Consumer Response
Due to computer problems I was unable to view the the from Chastain Roofing's response until today. I disagree with most of their statments. I informed them about the repairs that they did not complete. Their respresentative at that time was ****. Also, no one told me that the roof repair would be done in November. They are not returning my calls. Please reopen this complaint.

Final Business Response
Ms. ****** was paid from her insurance company 3 years ago to repair her ceiling which she never did. Her daughter who lives in the home told me this on a previously phone conversation. We will not pay any company to do anything. We completed this roof 3 years ago and now she is saying work was not done? This should have been brought up before she even paid the bill. If Ms. ****** can show me a contract that we had to complete any other work we will be more than happy to do so. The contract that I have is for the roof. Which we completed.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

02/17/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues
02/10/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues
09/18/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.