BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/22/2009

AmericanCGR.com

(678) 721-1700535 Cobb Pkwy N Ste 200, MariettaGA 30062-3304 Send email to AmericanCGR.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/22/2009

BBB has determined that AmericanCGR.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised AmericanCGR.com's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on AmericanCGR.com

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
12/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I called American GCR on November 6th, 2014 to schedule a gutter cleaning. I was quoted $95. The scheduled date of the gutter cleaning was November 13th, 2014 from the range of 8am to 11am. At 1249pm on November 13th, 2014, I called ************ to find out why no one has showed up to clean the gutters. As of 9pm on November 13th, 2014, I have yet to receive a call back why no one showed up.

Desired Settlement
I want this recorded in the BBB records of a service promised that was never delivered and the company notified of this subpar performance.

Business Response
As the owner I personally looked through all the customer sign up sheets for that week.
We have no internal paperwork on this homeowner.
May have called wrong company.We get several calls a month by homeowner thinking they are talking to another company and then realism it's a different company. She was never in our system that's why we call or show up.

Regards,
****

03/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On November 15th, ********* with American CGR came out to my home to clean my chimney and fireplace. On November 23rd, I contacted him at 11:16am after trying unsuccessfully to open my damper in the fireplace. He stated that it must be an "operator error" and that he would have to charge a fee to come back out to look at the problem. We rescheduled for 11/26 after 4pm. On 11/26 @ 5:40pm, I contacted the office after he was a no show and no call. He took it upon himself to come to the house on 11/27 and after calling 5 times finally left a message stating that they had reschedule for this date(without my knowledge or consent). I left a voice message on 12/1 @ 4:05pm requesting that be contacted to reschedule for 12/7 between the hours of 10 - noon. After not receiving a return phone call to confirm, I again contacted them on 12/5 @ 5:04 and advised **** that I had left a voice mail message and had not received a follow up call. He stated that he could reschedule me on 12/7 between the hours of 8-11am. He did not show up between these hours. He did not call until 12pm stating that they were in route. I advised him that I was no longer available and was extremely upset that this was the 2nd time that he not only did not show up but felt it unnecessary to contact me to let me know that they were either running behind schedule or unavailable and heatedly advised him that I no longer wanted his services and would be filing a formal complaint.
Product_Or_Service: Chimney/Fireplace Cleaning

Desired Settlement
I would like a full refund of the services that were rendered OR reimbursement for having the damper repaired by another company.

Business Response
From: **********
Sent: Monday, February 10, 2014 1:29 PM
To: ***************
Subject: RE: BBB complaint


This is my response to complaint #********.
First, Mrs. ****** was American CGR client as we cleaned and inspected her fireplace.
I was personally on the way to solve her complaint within her own previously stated time of 10-12 the day when she called and reamed me out.

She told me she did not want me to come to her house even though I was on the way and would be at her house within twenty minutes.

She is very hard to get in touch with, however, we are normally better calling within the time period to let the customer know if we are running behind. I will take responsibility for that alone.

I have been doing this twenty years and did not notice a problem with the damper when we left.
I was willing to take a look at the damper and fix it if it was something simple to make her happy.

I would like to see a copy of the invoice from the company who repaired the damper.
Regards, ****



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Per my original complaint please see my comments in reference to Mr. ****** inability to communicate effectively or arrival at the scheduled appointments on time:

On 11/26 @ 5:40pm, I contacted the office after he was a no show and no call. He took it upon himself to come to the house on 11/27 and after calling 5 times finally left a message stating that they had reschedule for this date(without my knowledge or consent). I left a voice message on 12/1 @ 4:05pm requesting that be contacted to reschedule for 12/7 between the hours of 10 - noon. After not receiving a return phone call to confirm, I again contacted them on 12/5 @ 5:04 and advised **** that I had left a voice mail message and had not received a follow up call. He stated that he could reschedule me on 12/7 between the hours of 8-11am. He did not show up between these hours. He did not call until 12pm stating that they were enroute. I advised him that I was no longer available and was extremely upset that this was the 2nd time that he not only did not show up but felt it unnecessary to contact me to let me know that they were either running behind schedule or unavailable.

I will be more than happy to provide a copy of the invoice.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Hail Repair, Contractors - Gutters, Chimney Cleaning, Gutter Cleaning, Roof Structures, Roofing Service Consultants, Chimney Builders & Repair, Gutters & Downspouts

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/07/2007Business started: 01/01/1995
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Hyde (Owner)
Number of Employees

12

Business Category

Roofing Contractors, Hail Repair, Contractors - Gutters, Chimney Cleaning, Gutter Cleaning, Roof Structures, Roofing Service Consultants, Chimney Builders & Repair, Gutters & Downspouts

Products & Services

This business provides residential Roofing, Gutter and Chimney services.

Alternate Business Names
American Chimney, Gutter & Roofing
Industry Tips
General Advice When Choosing a Roofer

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for AmericanCGR.com

535 Cobb Pkwy N Ste 200

Marietta, GA 30062-3304

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 535 Cobb Pkwy N Ste 200 

    Marietta, GA 30062-3304

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*AmericanCGR.com is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors

General Advice When Choosing a Roofer
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.