BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Metro Brokers, Inc. (Headquarters)

Phone: (404) 843-2500Fax: (404) 236-7137

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service6
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints7

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
07/15/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My wife and I (****** ******* and ******** *******) went to Atlanta ******* to buy a property. We were represented by ****** ****** ******* from Metro Brokers Real Estate. We also surveyed a few properties in the area with Ms. ******* and we placed an offer on one property; and shortly thereafter, we entered into a binding agreement which allowed us 10 days to complete our due diligence. Within those 10 days we had to schedule an inspection of the home. Since there was no light and/or water at the premises, we had to request an additional 5 more days to be added to the original 10 days which totaled to 15 days instead of 10 days. The seller agreed to the request and this amended agreement was signed by us and the seller. The agreement was signed and dated on the 03/27/15 along with an estimated closing date of 04/15/15. To bind this agreement we had to sign and make an earnest deposit in the amount of $1,000.00. We were told by ****** ****** ******* from Metro Broker that our earnest money is like a deposit to make sure we want the home and the $1,000.00 will be subtracted from the total at the time at closing. ****** ****** ******* also told us that our earnest money will be giving back to us if we decide to pull out before the binding agreement date expires. The inspection was done and the report revealed that there was mold inside the bedrooms and on the bathroom walls. The report also recommends that the mold is to be removed by a professional. Based on the evidence of the mold which is located in several areas of the house, we decided to pull out of the deal and we made this request before the binding agreement period ended. It has been two months now and we have not yet received our earnest money back. We were told that we should be getting back $250.00 out of the $1,000.00. I spoke to the manager, Mr. ******* *** ****** at Metro Broker Real Estate and he stated that he does not see any reasons as to why we have not yet received our money back because we had done everything within the guidelines of the agreement. I spoke to him again and he told me that I have to call the seller lawyers because they have the money. I called the seller lawyers and was told that they have retired. Could someone please help us to obtain our earnest money back? The property address is **** * ******* ****** ******** *******. Thanks.

Desired Settlement
I would like to obtain my earnest money back. I WOULD LIKE THE PUBLIC TO KNOW WHAT THEY ARE DOING IS NOT RIGHT and I also WANT TO STOP them BEFORE THEY DO IT TO MORE PEOPLE. THANKS.

Business Response
We agree wholeheartedly with the complaint that the *******'s have over the treatment of their earnest money. We have been advising them and trying to assist in getting the return of their earnest money. In our opinion, based on the contract that was signed, the *******'s should have their earnest money deposit returned. The problem for us is that we are not in control of the funds. After the initial offer was made, the seller countered with a clause in the contract allowing $1,000.00 earnest money to be held by ******, ********* and ********** a prominent real estate attorney firm in our market. When the seller did not agree to release the buyer's earnest money after the buyer terminated the contract during the DUE DILIGENCE time period, the holder of the funds was left with the earnest money dispute. The holder has insisted on a signed agreement between the parties. The seller and his broker, 24 HOUR Real Estate, refuse to accept that the buyer had the right to terminate the agreement during the due diligence time period and therefore will not agree to release the earnest money in full to the buyer. The holder of the funds, wants an agreement to release the funds. If Metro Brokers, Inc. was holding the *******'s earnest money funds, we would not have handled it the same way and the *******'s would not have had the problem.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I ******/******** ******* have been advised by metro brokers that the ****** money was held by MR ****** ********* AND ********** I try to contact them by the phone number that was giving to me by METRO BROKERS and I was told that they all not working there no more they retired. I called MR ******* *** ***** from metro brokers he was the one gave me the phone number and told him that I was told that they are not working there no more he gave another number to call that's when i decided to get in touch with you. So please help me the address **** ********* ******* ***** *** ******** **** **********. XXXXX PHONE NUMBER #XXXXXXXXXX THANKS MUCH ****** *******.

07/31/2014Problems with Product / Service
08/15/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
A closed on the purchase of this house on June 29th. My earnest money in the amount of $1000.00 was not used in the transaction and more than two weeks after closing it has not been refunded to me. The agent Todd Hawthorne joked about it during closing. Also said that the refund would come from headquarters. That was June 29. This is July 17 and nothing.
Product_Or_Service: Purchased a home
Order_Number: Na
Account_Number: 2860 hunters pond la

Desired Settlement
At a minimum metro brokers must refund my earnest money immediately. If they are a decent company I would expect them to make further reparation.

05/23/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On January 30, 2016, a representative contact me to inform me that a renter had occupied my home and that the following was noted: 1) one garage door opener didn't work, 2) the walk in door to the garage has water damage. I attempted to receive an update and clarification on several occasions to include, February 23, 2016, March 5, 2016 and March 9, 2016. The only responses I received was February 24, 2016 - "I will check with maintenance and get back to you.", and on March 9, 2016 - "The maintenance person has been ill and has not turned in his invoice. I will send it to you as soon as we receive it." I emailed Metro Brokerson again on April 16, 2016; to date, no response. I would like to note that this isn't my first time having this type of issue, as they have been managing my property for years. On one occasion, I traveled to GA just to pay a surprise visit to personally address issues and dissatisfaction with Metro Brokers service. I am very disheartening, especially since Metro Brokers receives regular, on time payments from my tenant and immediate attention from me. Not fair to me (as I'm out of State) or my tenant.
Product_Or_Service: Property Management

Desired Settlement
Due to the inadequate service being provided by Metro Brokers over years, I would like to terminate my contract with them and be free of any obligations noted in the contract dated May 11, 2012. I also want an update, clarifying issues that were noted by them on January 30, 2016. I do not want them to conduct any work on my home.

05/23/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I am writing the BBB in an attempt to recover my earnest funds deposit from Metrobrokers of Atlanta.


My name is ****** *****, and I am writing this letter to inform you of unethical behavior of an agent of your office Mr. Awatt Awatt. I asked Mr. Awatt to find out the status of home in Forest Park, and if available to place an offer at the listing price. The home was available and we proceeded with the transaction. I received the purchase and sale agreement the following day. At first glance I was concern because the earnest money was listed as 2,000.00 on a sale of 65,000. I thought the earnest money suspiciously inflated. I was not sure if other offers were on the table so I went ahead with signing document. I had a relative to go out and inspect the home and neighborhood with Mr. Awatt. I received an adequate report from my relative. I contacted my home inspector who assigned both home and termite inspectors for review of property. The home inspection came back satisfactory for an older home. I chose to focus my attention on the termites, because I felt termites posed the biggest threat to my investment. I sent a copy of termite report to agent Awatt, asking that he apply termite treatment to sale agreement. *** ***** didn't include any of my concerns in the offer. *** ***** behavior was unethical he was more concerned about his commission, which he mentioned several times in our transactions. In *** ******** own words via email on 04/13/2016, he stated, "Since they did not have a formal agreement in writing promising to perform the repair requested, we cannot hold them to it. Verbal and email communication does not hold up in court. Let's hope for the best." My sale agreement for this property was based not on a contractual agreement, but a (let's hope for the best) agreement. Mr. Awatt behavior is unethical because he omitted my concerns to treat property for termites from the agreement. On 03/31/2016, I sent *** ***** the termite inspection report asking that treatment of termites be added to the contract. Mr. Awatt, see attached. the termite inspection report. there is evidence of termites at the home. Can you apply termite treatment for the home in the offer?

After performing all my duties in due diligence period, I was notified through email, that seller is withdrawing initial offer to treat termites. The seller changed his mind at the final hour of due diligence, and I received noticed the next day after they received my earnest money and due diligence was dead. Instead of Mr. Awatt supporting my concerns, he tried to convinced me that my termite inspection was substandard, stating that the home cannot have termites because it is all brick. This was very discouraging, the person who was supposed to be my support in defending my needs with this transaction seemed only interested in his needs (commission and earnings). After providing all necessary documents and earnest funds during due diligence, the buyer was blind-sided by the seller with last minute withdrawal of initial agreement to treat property for termites. After long and careful consideration of my position in this potentially bad investment, I asked my agent *** ***** to draw up the notice of termination of agreement of sale. This request did not come without much resistance from my agent Awatt, I was told that I would be sued for his commission and possibly lose earnest money. I was asked to write several letters stating why I was terminating sell. The sale was dead when seller decided to withdraw previous commitment to treat property for termites at the final hour of due diligence. The buyer who worked diligently with the bank and agent by providing all relevant information in a professional manner was threaten by Brokers of Metrobroker of Atlanta to reconsider terminating sale in order not to be sued for commissions and losing earnest money. The buyer who was transparent with all information, expectations, and funds was penalized and threaten with being sued for commissions and losing earnest money. I have no regrets of terminating sale, but I

Desired Settlement
I am writing this letter with intentions of claiming full refund of earnest money, and to publicly notify all persons who might consider using Metrobrokers of Atlanta in the future to be aware of such scams and unprofessional representation.

05/23/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
BHGRE made many many promises to me when I signed in under and paid the $250 for the school. Upon Shirley death they transferred me to lettings and then dong and then another agent. After I completed the school they tried to back out of paying for stuff saying Athens was put of their area. I was going to leave the company. They then had me resign the contract. They promised to pay fees provide me with a coach etc... I have attended all of the training for the 25 hour continuing education course successfully passed the test and submitted the required homework they refuse to recognize it with tge GREW. They did not pay the fees they promised to pay nor provide me eith a real coach nor help me as promised my first year in real estate. I have completed 3 open houses for them and have shown over 15 homes and or neighborhoods to other metrobrokers agent (because no one other than myself lives in the Athens area).
Because they have lied to me, caused me problems with my license and cheated me out of money. I believe I am entitled to a full refund of all money including the money for the real estate school (because tgey lied to me from day one). They have cost me my licence because they did not report the 25 hours of continuing education to the GREC.

Desired Settlement
All monies the $250 for school snd the $82 per month I paid them for their support they obviously weren't providing. I paid all board fees and for my key and these were part of the contract that they were suppose to pay. I also want the 25 hours reported to the GREC so that if I want I can sign on with another agency. If not then they should also refund those fees because I went to and completed their training.

04/12/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I went to Metrot Brokers and spoke with ****** **** about beginning real estate classes and during our conversation, I express to her that I had loss my job so I was going to try a new career. I paid $199 and was given a book for class. A week before class started I advised ****** that I could not start class because I was in the process of losing my home. Initially she never disclosed to me that if I changed my mind I would be charged a $30 admin fee and a $55 book fee, although I returned the book in the same condition it was given to me. Even when I went to return the book to ****** she had the opportunity then to tell me about these charges and he policy but again she failed to disclose it.
****** ****** sent me an email the same day I returned the book saying that I had to pay this admin fee and since the book could not be given to another student I had to pay $55. The only time the book was opened is when ****** opened it and flipped through the pages at our initial meeting. ****** **** seemed very shifty and secretive and she's definitely not a confident person so I guess that's why she neglected to disclose this very important information to me. There is no honesty nor trust with Metro Brokers nor ******. I would like the full $199 refunded back to me.

Desired Settlement
I'm requesting a FULL REFUND OF $199 immediately!

Industry Comparison| Chart

Real Estate, Real Estate Services, Real Estate Schools, Business Brokers, Insurance Services, Title Companies & Agents, Mortgage Brokers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.