BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/2013

JD Homes Management, LLC

Find a Location

Phone: (770) 506-2630Fax: (404) 420-24845005 Ruby Mitchell Ct, EllenwoodGA 30294-6626 Send email to JD Homes Management, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/2013

BBB has determined that JD Homes Management, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered JD Homes Management, LLC's rating include:

  • 4 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised JD Homes Management, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
08/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
For the 2nd time my rental property had over $2500 worth of damaged due to ** ***** giving the lock box code to unknown persons. ****** knows better.
Repayment for the damage do to my property that was managed be JD Homes.

Desired Settlement
Payment for damage done to property for the 2nd violation after knowing about having a manual lock box after the 1st violation.

Business Response
We are sorry to hear about the break-in that occurred 5 months ago. We do not share lockbox codes with unknown persons. Only licensed agents are given the code to show prospects.

Unfortunately, break-ins are common on vacate properties in the Metro Atlanta Area.

We cannot be responsible for breaks ins and/or damage. The home owner would need to file a claim with insurance company for any losses.

However, as a good faith effort, we did agree to credit Mr. *****'s account the leasing fee of $895.00 to help with deductibles. We believe this is more than fair.

Again, break-ins are unfortunate (but common) and we would like to continue to work with this owner by offering a credit equal to our leasing fee of $895.00.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I will consider this matter resolved upon my receipt of $895.00

03/20/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
JD Homes Property Management LLC... business practices are unethical regarding property owners. I solicited the management company a year ago and to date the management company has not inspected my property or accessed damages to my property. The current section eight tenant that resides in my home has destroyed two stoves, the walls need painting, and the carpet is soiled. I decided to end my relationship with the ******* ******* ********** therefore, a 60 day notice was given to the tenant as well as the ******* ******* ********** The owner JD told the tenant I was given her (security) deposit along with one of the monthly payments that the housing authority made to JD Homes, LLC. This is not true...I have documentation from my bank regarding the payments JD Homes deposited into my account during the 2103 calendar year while under contract. Additionally, the tenant was introduced to JD Homes by a real estate company in which a fee was paid by JD Homes to the broker for obtaining the tenant. The tenant paid JD Homes in installments ******** over a three month period. JD Homes is holding my payment for March 2014.
Product_Or_Service: Security Deposit
Account_Number: No active contract w

Desired Settlement
I would like for the Better Business Bureau to please investigate the business practice of JD Homes. This company does not have the right to take money from tax paying citizens. Additionally, I was informed by law a security deposit account has to be set up by the business that tracks the funds separately.

Business Response
We no longer manage this property.

Owner approved tenant prior to move in.

We requested that the owner change payment from *** to him and not us. Owner did not change payee. We have contacted *** in regards to this.

Owner now has final payment that came to us again this month. Contract has been terminated. Owner manages property for last three months, not us.

Issue has been resolved.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have records from my banking institution that JD Homes has not deposited (****) in my account for the tenants deposit. I will not pay the tenant once she moves out.

The receipts that the tenant has in her possession were paid to JD Homes and not the owner.

JD Homes is the most unprofessional business I've ever experienced in my life and they continue to take money from people without services rendered.

I do not have an annual inspection of my property for the duration of the contract from JD Homes.

The companies owner showed up the day the contract was signed and has not returned to the property during the duration of the contract.

Again, the tenant has gone through two stoves, my carpet is soiled, and the house is in need of painting.

JD Homes would not be aware of this because they have not been or have not inspected the property for the duration of the contract.


Final Business Response
Owner is holding tenant's security deposit.
Tenant acknowledges this also. Call tenant and tenant will verify. We also have signed Management Agreement AND Lease that states; Owner is holding deposit. Tenant also states that she did not break stove. Tenant says that the stove was used and defective when she received it from owner. A copy of the signed Management Agreement is being sent to ******* ******* ********* and the owner.

02/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I moved out of **** ******* ***** the house had no heat and a boarded up window. I was told by ****** of JD Homes I would get my money in 3 days.
I moved into the house at **** ******* ***** and I don't have any heat. The unit was stolen and they have yet to replace it everyday it's something different.My window upstairs has a board up to it and no window which means air is coming throw the cracks. The owner ****** ****** ************ brought over three portal heaters. One I couldn't use because it was burned on the cord.I have a 3 bedroom 2.5 bath house with a garage.On Saturday he stated it wouldn't be a problem getting the unit replaced but now he has to wait on the insurance company so I guess me and my kids have to suffer while he's at home warm.

I'm the parent of two boys ages 18 and 12 that have to sleep in the same room because of the heat problem. I advised the owner and management company that I will be moving out due to the issues.It's very cold in this house I have bronchitis and I'm a diabetic also my son has asthma.

I moved out of their property on January 3, 2013 and was told that I would receive all of the money that I paid in 3 days. It has been 24 days and I still haven't received any funds. I called ** ***** January 27th and asked for ****** he answered the phone. I then told him it had been 24 days and I haven't heard anything about my money. He then stated you have been talking about us on the internet and you have to get your money from the owner ****** ******* I told ****** that he told myself and the lawyer that I would receive my money in 3 days he then stated I didn't tell the lawyer that can you prove it. I told him I would see him in court. It makes no common sense that a company and home owner would keep your money. I guess what the other report said was true. I would never rent from JD Homes again they don't conduct their business right. I was adviced to send ** ***** and the owner ****** ****** certified letters which I have the people signatures who signed for them. I will post a update after court.
I paid them $693.00
Photos:

Your report is now ready for submission.

By Posting this report, I attest this report is valid. I am giving ******* Report irrevocable rights to post it on this website. I acknowledge that once I post my report, it will not be removed, even at my request. Of course, I can always update my report to reflect new developments by clicking UPDATE. Further, I agree that by posting
I moved out of their property on January 3, 2013 and was told that I would receive all of the money that I paid in 3 days. It has been 24 days and I still haven't received any funds. I called JD Homes January 27th and asked for ****** he answered the phone. I then told him it had been 24 days and I haven't heard anything about my money. He then stated you have been talking about us on the internet and you have to get your money from the owner ****** ******* I told ****** that he told myself and the lawyer that I would receive my money in 3 days he then stated I didn't tell the lawyer that can you prove it. I told him I would see him in court. It makes no common sense that a company and home owner would keep your money. I guess what the other report said was true. I would never rent from JD Homes again they don't conduct their business right. I was adviced to send JD Homes and the owner ****** ****** certified letters which I have the people signatures who signed for them. I will post a update after court.




Desired Settlement
I want to be compensated for having to live in a house with two space heaters during the coldest part of the winter. Also for having to move again I was only there for about 2 weeks and I want all my money back for moving expenses. $693, $200 moving expenses, $250 for light bill I had to pay almost triple the amount for running those two space heaters, and $400 for pain and suffering. Totaling $1543

Business Response
This tenant's lease was terminated because of "Violation of Lease". "No pets" are outlined in tenant's lease (page 4). Tenant violated lease terms and was terminated. Owner of property visited property and saw dog personally. Certified notice was sent to tenant explaining lease violation. Even IF tenant was going to receive deposit back, it is outlined on front page of lease that OWNER HOLDS DEPOSIT, not our company. Owner must clean property of pet odor which exceeds partial deposit paid.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There was not a dog at the house I was told by ****** and also he told my attorney that I would receive all my funds back in 3 days. I even have the owner on recording saying that I would get my money back and also that I had not been there long enough to do damage. JD Homes is just upset that I did a *** *** report and also a *** report. I will see them in court where they will have to pay more than what I'm asking. I have pictures and recordings as proof.

Final Business Response
All refunds are due from the owner of the property, NOT JD Homes (as stated in the Lease Agreement page 1 and page2).
The owner did see a pet personally at the property.

01/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On the night of 1/7/2014 around 1am, the temperature was below freezing and the heat stopped working in this rental property. I contacted ****** ****** attempted ****** *******, ******* and JD homes but was told that I had to wait until the office opened the next morning. I have 3 small kids that DO NOT deserve to have to sleep in a COLD HOUSE, especially since we PAY OUR RENT ON TIME EVERY MONTH. I was told that there was no 24 hour maintenance, but I felt this was an issue that needed IMMEDIATE ATTENTION. I would like to be contacted by the OWNER of this company and not ANY of his slackers that work for him.

Desired Settlement
This matter resolved ASAP and lease agreement TERMINATED w/o any legal actions or prejudice involved. This company has taken there time to resolve other repair issues. When we moved in, the dead of summer, the air conditioner did not work. So therefore we had to buy fans, that only circulated MORE HEAT. And, we would like our $900 deposit refunded ASAP.

Business Response
Yes. Due to record low temperatures, many tenants experienced problems with heating units not working and busted water pipes (Beyond our control). On 01/07/14 temperatures dropped to lower than 8* degrees! (Record breaking temperatures for Georgia). All HVAC companies were overwhelmed and could not handle the amount of emergency calls. Therefore response times were slower than normal (Beyond our control). However, we were able to find (and pay) a company to repair this tenants heat - THE SAME DAY although many "one hour" emergency HVAC companies were scheduling visits 3 to 4 days out because of the sheer volume of calls.

This was an unfortunate situation that JD Homes or HVAC companies could not control. As neither of us control the extreme weather.

Again, this tenant's heat was repaired the very same day she complained that it stopped working. We don't understand much more that we could have done.

However, we would like to meet the tenants desired demands;

+The heat has been restored to the unit on 01/07/14 (THE SAME DAY)
+The current lease has been terminated without any legal action or prejudice, per the request of the tenant, effective immediately.
+ The tenant has agreed to move out of the property by 01/31/14
+ The tenant is entitled to receive a full refund of security deposit paid according to the terms of the Lease Agreement


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
THIS WAS NOT TRUE. THE HVAC TECH DID NOT ARRIVE UNTIL 6PM THE EVENING OF 01/08/2014. THE TECH DID NOT HAVE ANYTHING TO FIX BECAUSE I HAD ALREADY HAD SOMEONE TO COME IN AND FIX WHAT WAS CAUSING THE SYSTEM TO BLOW COLD AIR ONLY. THERE WAS NO EMERGENCY MAINTENANCE WITH JD HOMES, PER CONVO WITH ONE OF THEIR EMPLOYEES, SO THEREFORE, THIS WAS JUST SOMETHING THAT HAD TO BE CALLED IN WHEN SOMEONE ARRIVED TO WORK IN THEIR OFFICE.

Final Business Response
Yes. The tenant's heat has been restored as quickly as possible and the tenant's lease has been terminated, per her request. We have meet all of the tenant demands.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Real Estate Rental Service, Screening - Tenant, Real Estate Services, Real Estate - Rentals by Individuals, Property Management, Real Estate Agents, Eviction Service, Property Maintenance

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/10/2007Business started: 02/05/2007
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Georgia Real Estate Commission
229 Peachtree St NE Ste 1000
Atlanta, GA30303-1605
(404) 656-3916
http://www.greab.state.ga.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Joseph Clanton (Property Manager)Mr. J. D. Homes (Broker)
Number of Employees

4

Business Category

Real Estate Rental Service, Screening - Tenant, Real Estate Services, Real Estate - Rentals by Individuals, Property Management, Real Estate Agents, Eviction Service, Property Maintenance

Alternate Business Names
JD Homes

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for JD Homes Management, LLC

5005 Ruby Mitchell Ct

Ellenwood, GA 30294-6626

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 5005 Ruby Mitchell Ct 

    Ellenwood, GA 30294-6626

  • PO Box 2358 

    Stockbridge, GA 30281-8920(770) 506-2630

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*JD Homes Management, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Real Estate Rental Service

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.