BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/19/2013

Capital Property Management

Phone: (678) 651-0804Fax: (770) 387-1684412 Grassdale Rd STE B, CartersvilleGA 30121-7842 Send email to Capital Property Management

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/19/2013

BBB has determined that Capital Property Management meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Capital Property Management's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Capital Property Management

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
12/17/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

There have been numerous issues and complaints with Capital Property Management in regards to this rental property since day one and I have documentation to show the level of what we are dealing with. For what we pay in rent, what "someone" or "some company" deems acceptable living conditions. However the main complaint is that it was never disclosed that this rental property is on a septic tank. We found this out when we had a septic tank back up which flooded a huge portion of the downstairs living area and into the ac/heating vents in the floor . This occurred the morning of Friday the 20th of September. A phone call was made to ******* ************, of Capital Property Management. She was informed that there was a backup and the downstairs area is flooded with raw sewage coming from the downstairs toilet and into the house and ac/heating vents. She would get someone out as soon as possible. Saturday the 21st. A Plumber. He was unable to correct the problem and he determined and found out, as did we at that time, that the house was on a septic tank. She was informed by the plumber and a septic tank company had to be called to come out. Aside from being explained to about "septic" tanks, and the neglect that has occurred with this property and the septic tank and all the backed up raw sewage that flooded this house, we were absolutely disgusted knowing what we now knew.To date, nothing has been done to insure our safety and health. Nothing had been inspected on the inside or underneath the house until Saturday November 9th. We have vents that do not provide any heat and do not have any airflow coming from them. Parts of the laminate flooring where the cut outs for the vents have warped where all the raw sewage flowed into the flooring and down the ducts. Who knows what the contaminant level is under the flooring and anywhere else the raw sewage flowed too, including our personal belongings, our clothes, our carpets, our furniture. Of which we had to dispose of.

Desired Settlement
At this point and at minimum, we require a refund of our full deposit and a full months rent. We contacted ******* ************ of Capital Property Management, November 1st and expressed that we will be moving out. We actually offered to assist with helping to find a new renter and we would even do an open house ourselves and even leave some furnishings to new renter along with decorative items, to not have a lapse in rental revenue BEFORE WE had an inspection done and found out what the real damage was. That was unacceptable to her and the owner. And ONLY until this past Saturday, November 9th, did someone come out to look at a number of issues that should have been addressed immediately following the flooding of raw sewage into the house. This is, and has been, unacceptable to myself and my family.

Business Response
The following is a response to a complaint filed by the lessee about a rental property we manage in ************* Georgia. According to the tenants, problems with the property were not given the proper attention; therefore they have decided to break their lease obligations. The following rebuttal is Capital Property Management's response to these allegations, along with dates and times of any communications particular to the facts.
In response to their complaint that they were never told that the property is on a septic tank. That is a false statement. When we reviewed their lease agreement on August 1, 2013 (the date the lease was signed) they were told that they were responsible for ALL utilities which are City of ************ for Gas, ****** County Water System for water, and Georgia Power for electric. It was never stated that they paid for sewer because it is on a septic. I received a phone call from the tenant at approximately 2:30 on the afternoon of September 20, 2013. She stated that she had taken a shower and when she came downstairs there was a puddle of water in front of the washer/dryer. She further stated that she wasn't sure where the water was coming from, but her daughter had taken a shower and there was water on the floor in the bathroom and down the hall. I told her I would call my plumber to see when he would be out that day. She stated she wanted no one coming out until Saturday as her daughter was home alone, it wasn't urgent and they had already cleaned up the water. I contacted our plumber and scheduled him for 9:00 Saturday September 21, 2013 morning. I contacted the tenant at 3:00 and told her the schedule for the plumber. At no time did she state that anything went into the vents or that it was raw sewage. Our plumber went out on Saturday morning September 21, 2013. He went out into the yard to the tank and discovered that the inlet line was broken at the septic tank. The plumber than contacted me. I in turn contacted the owner and a septic system company. I contacted the septic system company again at approximately 3:45 on Saturday 9/21/13 and was told that the inlet line was broken, that the filter needed to be cleaned and tank pumped. I contacted the Owner and relayed the information. The Owner contacted the septic system company and asked if it was caused by flushing items down the toilet that shouldn't be flushed and was told no by the septic system company. The septic system company was given authorization to make repairs and pump the tank. Again, at no time did they inform our plumber or Capital Property Management that anything went into the vents. We had no further contact with the tenants in regards to this issue until November 1, 2013. We received a rental verification phone call from a property management company in ************ on the tenant. I text both tenants and asked if they were moving? In response to my text I received an email from the tenant stating that they were moving due to the owner blaming them for the broken septic pipe and should move before something major happens. They presented a new list of things that were wrong i.e. vents not working due to water going into them, wasp nests in vents, roaches, 1/2 bath smelling of urine, upstairs tub leaking, windows not locking and electrical issues in a bedroom. They requested to use their deposit as November's rent. And yes they did offer to do an open house. Our response was that the Owner never blamed them for the septic issue, they did owe for November rent and using their security deposit for rent is unacceptable. We told them if they chose to do an open house it would not be done on our behalf. They responded, if they are being forced to stay, when would the list of repairs be done. I responded asking them for a day the following week and a reasonable time frame that we could have our maintenance personnel look at the items they were complaining about. They responded that they would be moving and wanted to schedule a walk-thru on Friday 11/8/13 or Saturday 11/9/13. It was scheduled for Saturday 11/9/13. I received another email on 11/6/13 stating they had a remediation company go out to the property. Supposedly, the remediation company told them that in the crawl space it was bio hazardous with a questionable mold situation. I responded stating that our maintenance personnel would be out on 11/8/13 to inspect the situation and asked them to forward the information from the remediation company so we could compare findings. I went with our maintenance personnel to the property on Friday 11/8/13. He inspected the bathroom, flooring and went into the crawl space. The flooring was not wet or damp, the cut outs for the vents are not warped, there were 2 ducts below the home that had broken away from the home due to water being in the ductwork. There was no evidence of mold. As we were leaving the home, I again asked for the paperwork from the remediation company and was told by the tenant that it would be forwarded to me. To date no paperwork has been received. Had we been made aware by the tenant that water, contaminated water or raw sewage had flowed into the floor vents we would have had it repaired/replaced immediately. We were not made aware of this condition until we received their email of November 1, 2013. I returned to the property on 11/9/13 to do the final walk thru with the tenants at 10:00 as was scheduled. They did not show up. I text the tenants to find out if they were coming to do the walk thru and was informed by the tenant that the keys, remotes are at property. I specifically asked if they were turning the property back over to me and would not be present for the walk thru. Tenant replied "that would be correct".
I welcome you to contact any of our past/present tenants to find out our response time on work orders, whether minimal or urgent.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is almost comical. Why would we make up that we were never told we were on a septic tank? "Their own plumber didn't even know it was on a septic tank" To be honest I don't think Capital Property Management knew either. Once again, regardless of that fact. The fact of the matter is that this property had a "Septic Tank" back up. Both ******* ************ and the owner **** ******* were aware of that FACT. Do you need a definition of a septic tank and what it does? Please let me know and I can provide that information for you. So what do you think happens and where it comes from and what comes with it when you have a septic tank back up??

WHAT PART OF A SEPTIC TANK BACK UP WITH RAW SEWAGE AND FECES IS THE RESPONSIBILITY OF THE TENANTS?? What more do you have to be told? They absolutely were aware. WE, the tenants, called several Remediation Company's only on our own behalf because we were concerned for our health and safety. Both ******* and **** NEVER made any effort or attempt to have anyone come out and look into the matter and its very apparent they BOTH had no care or concern for our health and safety. ******* was in fact told that there was flooding inside the bathroom and the bathroom vent, down the hall and into the vents. I even told her that the floors were warped where the raw sewage and feces water flowed into the vents and the vent cut outs. I also called several HVAC Company's. NOT 1 of them would come out and go under the crawl space let alone touch the ducts until it was cleared and cleaned. My assumption is they called an HVAC Company that they "use" and didn't inform them of BIO HAZARDOUS material they were working in and touching. I will contact that company as well and let them know.

Capital Property Management, ******* ************, was told to her face that the remediation company would not provide a written quote due to the fact that it isn't our property and quotes are done via an insurance tool. Maybe if she would have looked into the matter herself she would have known that information as well.

Another flat out lie. I did in fact make contact with the owner. I went to his house and spoke to his wife Stephanie ******** left her a piece of paper with my name and number with date on it. I also have that documented and photo'd as well. I also have a recorded conversation with ********* ******* on the day I went to their residence. **** ******* was not home and would be soon and that she, *********, would call him and he would stop by. He did. I also have recorded conversation with him on that day when he was at his rental property, our "home", we paid a substantial amount to call our home. He would not enter home. **** then called you, *******, to discuss.


We also have more and if you want to continue with this nonsense, lies, we can keep going and provide more if need be.

So we gave notice to move out. Who wouldn't. ONLY then did THEY make an effort to have someone come out and look at the property regarding the septic tank back up. A "Maintenance" person. HER maintenance person. They literally looked at the property for 6 minutes. I timed it. Of course his and her conclusions were of no findings. REMEMBER they did their inspection almost a month and a half after the incident happened. Also IS HER "Maintenance" person qualified and certified in mold remediation? The handling and inspection of BIO HAZARDOUS MATERIAL? Also did he have a Water Moisture Meter to measure the moisture underneath the linoleum and wood laminate? Or any other tools they use to inspect situations like this? The Remediation Company I had come out did. THERE IS MOLD. The floors were completely saturated with moisture (raw sewage and feces water from a backed up septic tank) A month after the RAW SEWAGE FECES SEPTIC TANK BACK UP. He also stated that the sub flooring would surely be saturated, possibly the dry wall and under the kitchen cabinets as well as all the duct work, the ground that all the feces contaminated and that it ALL should be removed. Inside and out. YOU AND THE OWNER CAN PRETEND YOU DIDNT KNOW. BUT YOU DID. AND DID NOTHING.

As for any other issues with the house. Those were like that prior to us moving in and the lack of an inspection of the home and what someone would actually consider acceptable. Especially after the last tenant had to be evicted and the house was left in total disarray and filth. Along with a dead animal carcass in the crawl space as well. We unfortunately had higher expectations especially for the location and what we paid in rent that the house would not have been rented to us in such terrible condition but had committed so we thought we could take care of what we thought was just cosmetics. Far more issues then we imagined. We have pictures of everything and the filth of what was deemed "acceptable". We will not let that happen again.

Ultimately its irrelevant whether you've been in business 1 year 10 years or 20. Its irrelevant what your past or present tenants say. You were very aware of the issues. You and the owner neglected to have anyone check anything after. We had to because WE were concerned for our health and safety. Again, what part of raw sewage with feces backing up into the property is the responsibility of the tenant? Regardless of how little or how much. They both were totally aware and chose to do nothing. How much more does someone need to be told that raw sewage, from a septic tank, entered the property. They both were called and both we aware. Admittingly stated numerous times.

Why would we want to do a walk through with you. We were so disgusted and disgusted by the fact that you are a liar, a person who runs a Property Management Business and home owner, who has a bid in to run for ***************************, who handles a situation in this manner. I have pictures to show the media, health department, and numerous other channels and am going to share all this information with them as well. There is more as well.

You may want to reconsider making anymore false statements and have a conversation with **** ******* to discuss our original desired resolution before we make our final presentation to our attorney and the other channels. Maybe I will contact **** directly, again, and have another conversation with him as I am sure he hasn't been told everything regarding his property.

Final Business Response
We will stand by everything that we have stated in our past responses. To make myself clear, the tenant did not contact the Owner within the six week period from September 20, 2013 and when Capital Property Management was contacted November 1, 2013 to make a complaint about Capital Property Management. He did make contact with the Owner on November 2, 2013 after we received notice that they were moving. Once again, if there was raw sewage in the home on September 20, 2013 when the first phone call was received from the tenant, why was Capital Property Management not notified of raw sewage? Why was Capital Property Management not allowed to send a plumber out to the home until the following morning? I will not labor over the same issues. We stand firm on our decision and will not refund the security deposit or one month's rent.

03/04/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Property Management, Property Maintenance, Rental Vacancy Listing Service, Real Estate - Rentals by Individuals, Screening - Tenant

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 11/17/2008Business started: 11/05/2002
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Business Management
Principal: Ms. Carolyn Landenberger (President)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Property Management, Property Maintenance, Rental Vacancy Listing Service, Real Estate - Rentals by Individuals, Screening - Tenant

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Capital Property Management has received 5.00 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Capital Property Management

412 Grassdale Rd STE B

Cartersville, GA 30121-7842

To | From


1 Locations

  • 412 Grassdale Rd STE B 

    Cartersville, GA 30121-7842

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Capital Property Management is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Property Management


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.