BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/19/2011

3 Options Realty, LLC

(678) 543-6535 ext 9555 Sun Valley Dr STE H3, RoswellGA 30076-5628 Send email to 3 Options Realty, LLC

0TRUSTS
0 People Trust 3 Options Realty, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/19/2011

BBB has determined that 3 Options Realty, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered 3 Options Realty, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Factors that raised 3 Options Realty, LLC's rating include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
12/13/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to correct billing errors

Complaint: I am renting a home from 3 Option Realty. I pay my rent in full 2 weeks early every month. After 10 months into my lease with 2 month left, I called to let my property manager knwo that I will not be renewing my lease. A week later the original property manager transfered and assigned me a new property manager via text. After my last payment (#12) was paid, they said I had an auto renewal on the home for 12 more months since I did not give a 60 days notice in which I did to the original property manager. Now i have a new mortgage and a rent of an empty house which I use as a storage unit since I am payng 950 a month for an empty house. I spoke to ****** *********** who did nothing but make matters worse. Her Supervisor ensured me that I will be out of the house and contract without penalty by Jan 01, 2014 whether the home is rented or not. Today I called to make my final payment for dec 2013. ****** *********** refused to accept my check and told me to drop it off an hour away at their office or pay it online with a NEW $27.00 online payment fee which was never there. This company is shady and does not have any morals or ethics. I do not know how they stay in business. This buisness needs to be evalutaed and investigated. I just want to be out of this house in which I should have been and want a refund for december since I was forced to stay in this house for this month after closing on a home.
Product_Or_Service: rental home
Account_Number: 12 month lease

Initial Business Response
We are sorry to hear that you are dissatisfied with 3 Options Realty. We have been in business for over 5 years, and we service over 450 tenants daily. They do not share your complaint that we have questionable morals or ethics.

Your situation is surely unique, and we have been trying to work with you to avoiding you having to pay early termination penalties. On November 7th you had spoken with our executive broker on the telephone. He had explained the process to your apparent satisfaction at that time. Shortly after that conversation, that same day, you sent an email announcing your intention to not renew your lease, which was due to expire on December 31st 2013. This date does not meet the 60 day "written" notice requirement mutually agreed to in your lease. Nevertheless, we have tried to accommodate your plans, and it appeared that we had a satisfactory solution as a result of the conversation on November 7th.

If you indeed furnished written notice to the previous property manager, please supply a copy of that, as that could change the outcome.

An audit of the payment record indicates that you do not owe rent for December. It had been already paid on 11/30/13.

Personally picking up rental payments by the property manager is not one of our payment options. There are many ways to pay rent. The electronic method that you refer to, and have been using for 11 months is unchanged. The only time a fee is charged for a payment is if you elect to pay by credit card, and that fee is not paid to 3 Options Realty, but rather to the service providing the credit card application. On November 30th you chose to pay by credit card and not by ACH as you customarily had been doing.

We have not forced you to do anything, as you claim. We have only suggested that you comply with the terms of your lease, which you are lawfully bound to do. Regarding your deposit, its disposition will be determined after a move-out inventory is performed and in accordance with state law.

We hope this response satisfies your concerns.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

04/12/2013Problems with Product / Service
03/30/2012Problems with Product / Service
02/07/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to substantiate charges

Complaint: I paid for services and feel that those services were not received.
I was not happy with the services received from this company and when I complained about poor services received, they severed ties with me. Every issue that came up, except one, I handled. This was because I could see they didn't take cost into consideration when it came to fixing issues that involved money. They took to long to respond to the issue or just didn't inform me. I was told that this company sent someone over to my property to check on a septic tank issue. I had informed my property manager to run the all prices with me before allowing any work to be done. This was not done. So when I was told the work was done, I was upset because my property manager said she didn't tell the maintenance man for the realty company to proceed with the repairing of the take. so I have a $700 bill for the repairing of the tank. I call the realty property owner and he tell me he heard about the issue, but he didn't bother to call me about. This is a couple weeks later when I called him. He didn't tell me he was the owner until I called him back a week after leaving a message for him to give me a call. The conversation I had with him was one sided. He was not commenting on any of the issues I had with my property manager, only commenting on what the property manager stated. I knew then anything I said was not going to be addressed.

Initial Business Response
We regret that the complainant feels that our company did not meet his expectations. The case in point, being an emergency repair of a septic tank, was handled in accordance with the terms of the property management agreement, which had been mutually agreed to by the complainant. Under this agreement, the management company was required to contact the property owner in the event of an emergency, but it clearly stipulates that the property manager has the authority to act without the property owner's acknowledgement or instruction if such acknowledgement or instruction is not provided in a timely manner. In this particular case, we had contacted the owner by telephone and spoke with his wife, a joint holder of title to the subject property. This problem was one that needed immediate attention both for the benefit of the owner and as prescribed by law as it affected the tenancy. The fee that was charged for the service performed was a reasonable, market rate.

When the complainant contacted our the office to complain several weeks after the incident, he asked that a new property manager be assigned to manage his property, and that he be reimbursed $150 for the amount of the invoice that he believe was over market for the work completed. In that conversation the complainant was granted his request to change property managers and we both agree that he would go back to his source on pricing and inquire once again about the charge. The work that had been done was a septic tank pumping and a jetting of the field lines to unclog the draining system. In his first inquiry, the complainant had only asked his pricing source about the cost of pumping. It was agreed that the complainant would ask his pricing source what their charge would have been for the additional line jetting service. We told the complainant that we would honor his request for refund without even verifying this claim, trusting that he would be fair and truthful.

Despite our sincere efforts to appease, the complainant remained unhappy. It is our policy to terminate management agreements when a relationship becomes intolerable for either or both parties. We have found this to be best for all parties concerned.

Our offer still stands to reimburse the owner for the difference in line jetting costs if, indeed, his pricing source confirms that this was an unreasonable price.


Business Response
We regret that the complainant is not satisfied with our response. There is little in the complainant's restated complaint that is different from the first, and the answer we have already given was sufficient to address those already established concerns.

It may be that the complainant is not considering that this particular issue was a serious matter of habitability as defined under Georgia Law. So in response to the complainant's comment that the amount of sewage backup had been exaggerated by the tenant's claim has no relevance. The amount of sewage back up does not relate to the urgency of the repair. Sewage of any amount creates an unsanitary condition, which could be grounds for a constructive eviction. As a professional property manager, it is our duty to protect our landlord clients from lawsuits. We acted in a timely manner to avoid that possibility.

It also seems that the complainant is upset that we terminated the management agreement early. We always do this, as a matter of policy, when the demands of a landlord are inconstant with prevailing law.

The complainant claims that when he phoned to complain that we had a one-sided conversation, which we assume to mean that he thought we were unwilling to work with him towards an amicable solution. But this is not the case. We conceded to his every demand, which were different than the demands claimed in this complaint. We addressed this topic in our earlier response.

We are very sorry we could not continue to serve this client. Terminating seemed to be the best course of action for both parties.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

05/13/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Property Management, Real Estate Services, Rental Vacancy Listing Service, Real Estate Rental Service, Real Estate Consultants, Real Estate Brokers, Real Estate Agents, Real Estate, Real Estate Investors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/13/2011Business started: 08/04/2008
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Georgia Real Estate Commission
229 Peachtree St NE Ste 1000
Atlanta, GA30303-1605
(404) 656-3916
http://www.greab.state.ga.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Daniel R. Wilhelm (President)Ms. Teresa Clair (Vice-President Operations)Ms. Tamara Cooper (Secretary) Kofie Silos (Treasurer)Ms. Bianca Wilhelm (Vice-President Marketing)
Number of Employees

2

Business Category

Property Management, Real Estate Services, Rental Vacancy Listing Service, Real Estate Rental Service, Real Estate Consultants, Real Estate Brokers, Real Estate Agents, Real Estate, Real Estate Investors

Industry Tips
Buying a Foreclosed Home? Know the Facts
Buying An Unbuilt Home
Home Fire Protection
Invest in a Home Inspection
Land for Sale!
Preparing to Sell Your Home
Purchasing Your Dream Vacation Home
Storm Clean-up Schemes Cause Additional Heartache
You Need to Hold an Estate Sale... Where to Begin?

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for 3 Options Realty, LLC

555 Sun Valley Dr STE H3

Roswell, GA 30076-5628

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 555 Sun Valley Dr STE H3 

    Roswell, GA 30076-5628

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*3 Options Realty, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.