BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/1997

Gene's Plumbing Service

Phone: (404) 766-1195Fax: (404) 766-7567View Additional Phone Numbers3288 Main St, College ParkGA 30337-1415 Send email to Gene's Plumbing Service

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/1997

BBB has determined that Gene's Plumbing Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Gene's Plumbing Service's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Gene's Plumbing Service

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
02/17/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I called ****'s Plumbing over a year ago to provide plumbing services. I scheduled appointments several times and no one showed. After finally getting someone out one of the workers talked about how ridiculous it was that I had to wait so long and I told him I didn't know another plumbing company in the area. The worker tore my tile from the bathroom wall and I was later told that he could have accessed the plumbing through the other side of the wall. The charged per hour to install new valve. I purchased the valve from them for $170 + tax and they charged $333.99 to install it. Not to mention they came out the day before to unclog a sewer line that cost over $300 as well and could have completed the job that same day. The person in the office stated that I'd already waited a year and 1 more day wouldn't hurt!!( r u serious) Every time I asked for an estimate, they would refer me to the owner **** who continued to send me estimates on the wrong thing. When I called regarding the wrong estimates the customer service people were rude. After work was completed I had an issue the next day with my water coming on and they said I probably had frozen pipes. They did not complete the job that I contracted them for and the office assistant told me that they weren't going to because I asked the workers if they did side work. The same worker that asked me why I waited so long went back and told the owner that I tried to get him to do work on the side. I should have chosen a different company when the 1st worker came out and assessed the situation, promised to come back the next day, and never showed. This company is very unreliable and unprofessional. I would not recommend their services. I wish I'd read the reviews and listened to friends before using their services. The water is still not working properly and they don't not repair the tile or other work that needed to be completed. I paid in full for them to fix the valve and unclog the pipe. The next day I had problems with the service.
Product_Or_Service: Plumbing

Desired Settlement
I would like for them to pay another company to come out and finish their unsatisfactory work or refund me the amount for the unclogged pipe and leaky toilet.

Business Response
Jan. 27, 2015

- January 16, 2014 Ms. ******* called our company and made an appointment for the next day for and estimate to find out where the water in her basement was coming from and the cost to repair it.
- January 17, 2014 our company went out and looked at the job, our plumber called Ms. ******* to give her the price to repair the leak but couldn't leave a message because her mailbox was full.
- We tried several times to contact Ms. ******* until January 22, 2014 and still couldn't leave a message because her mailbox was still full.
- February 19, 2014 Ms. ******* called to schedule for the next day for us to come out and give her an estimate on replacing some duct work, furnace not working, and to replace a tub faucet.
- February 20, 2014 our company went out and looked at the work that Ms. ******* wanted done. We emailed Ms. ******* the estimate to replace her furnace& a/c unit, a 3 tub valve and shower faucet and installing a gas water heater.
- February 24, 2014 emailed the estimate again to Ms. *******.
- We received no response until May 7, 2014 Ms ******* called and asked for a price breakdown on the estimate for the heating and air, furnace and tub faucet work.
- May 7, 2014 Emailed the price break down estimate to Ms. *******.
- No response.
- January 5, 2015 Ms ******* called our company stating that she is having the same problem as she did a year ago which was a stoppage and she asked if we could come out.
- January 6, 2015 Our company went out and ran our machine and unstopped her line. The cost was $212.50 not $300.00 as Ms. ******* stated. Work was complete. We do not guarantee stoppages as it is noted on each one of our invoices. Ms ******* also asked the plumber if he completed work on the side off the clock.
- January 6, 2015 Ms. ******* called for us to come out and install her supplied tub and shower valve.
- January 7, 2015 Our company went out and removed a portion of her tile to install the tub valve that Ms. ******* had purchased prior to our company coming out, our plumber advised Ms. ******* that we cannot guarantee her supplied part from another company so Ms. ******* said she will come into the office (Gene's Plumbing) purchase the valve and call the plumber when she gets back home so that we can install it. We returned and installed the valve that Ms. ******* purchased from our parts department counter for $170.00. Ms. ******* told our plumber that she had the tile and would have it put back for him not to worry about putting it back. Job cost $333.99. Job complete. There was no other way to access the tub valve to make the necessary repairs unless the customer requests otherwise. Ms. ******* has not advised our company of any issues with the already completed work nor has she stated so.
- Ms ******* called regarding no water we did advise her that her pipes were frozen and that they needed to thaw our diagnosis was correct.
-Ms ******* also asked the plumber again if he did side work off the clock on Thursday. When Ms. ******* came into the office and purchased the valve she bragged to my office staff on how nice the plumbers were as well as good job they completed.
- After receiving the statements from several of our plumbers that they were asked by Ms ******* to complete work off the clock we decided that we should no longer complete work for Ms. *******. Ms. ******* is simply mad that refused to complete further work for her.


Thank you
Gene's Plumbing Service

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Gene's Plumbing did not clear the blockage in the sewer line because when they left the toilet was still leaking and backing up into the tub. They did not turn the water on until they came out the next day to install the valve. They never followed up and the staff was friendly each time explaining to me that Gene was suppose to follow up with pricing. Several times I was also emailed an invoice on pricing for several repairs, which were repairs for things that I didn't even need. I was also sent an invoice of completion for a job done for someone else. Each time the office staff was nice and apologized for their unprofessionalism. that

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/01/1976Business started: 01/01/1964
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Secretary of State- Professional Licensing Boards
237 Coliseum Dr
Macon, GA31217-3805
(478) 207-2440
http://www.sos.ga.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 1973, GA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gene D. Lee (Principal Officer)
Number of Employees

44

Business Category

Plumbers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Gene's Plumbing Service

3288 Main St

College Park, GA 30337-1415

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3288 Main St 

    College Park, GA 30337-1415(404) 766-1195

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Gene's Plumbing Service is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (404) 766-7200
  • (404) 766-3348
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Plumbers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.