BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Atlanta Medical Institute, LLC

Find a Location

(404) 264-95533365 Piedmont Rd NE Ste 1250 Tower Walk, AtlantaGA 30305-1708http://www.atlantamedicalinstitute.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Atlanta Medical Institute, LLC is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Atlanta Medical Institute, LLC's rating include:

  • 5 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Atlanta Medical Institute, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues3
Problems with Product / Service1
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Atlanta Medical Institute, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
09/20/2012Billing / Collection Issues
10/10/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have requested a refund for services unutilized several times from the Buckhead location with no response.
I enrolled in a 3 month program and was told that supplies and instructions would be mailed to me--but only after having blood work done. Which would be covered by insurance. I was then charged $2000 for the 3 months worth of services that I had not used and ended up with an additional $395 dollar charge for blood work not covered by insurance.
When I lost my job shortly after the first appointment I called and was told that I would need to leave a message for the office manager and that she would return my call promptly. I left a message politely requesting to cancel the program and asked for a refund of the portion not used. I have since written two letters requesting the same with no response.

Desired Settlement
I am simply requesting a refund and would agree to the 30% cancellation fee.

Business Response
In response the complaint, once a refund notification was received multiple attempts to contact the individual issuing the complaint were made via phone without success. When the individual made her initial decision to commit to and purchase a 3 month program, she signed the financial policy indicating that her program was not refundable, but could be transfered for use on different services and products. Any refunds would be based on an inablity to qualify for the program, determined by the Medical Director and would include a 30% restocking fee. This individual did not have any disqualifying circumstances. When the information was received regarding a request for a full refund, more than half of the dollars spent had been used. Given the unique circumstances of this individual, a return of funds was issued for the remainder of the funds.
There is a cost associated with medical services and products/medications that have been provided for a patient. These expenditures cannot be included in any refunds made.

05/05/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I went to this institute with a ******on that I had purchased. When I met with someone who was not a doctor they would not even discuss with me the ********** that I came in with. Instead they pushed to sell me on an HCG program. While in my appointment, I had the consultants daughter in and out of my appointment when I am being measured, weighed, talking about my goals, etc. The consultant was talking on the phone about her plans after work to her ex husband, etc. I was "sold" into a program that I was not even told the full parameters of- the food requirement or lack there of. I also disclosed that I had certain pre-existing conditions and the consultant did not take that information into account. When I got home and had the time to actually research what I was pushed into because I felt as if I was preyed upon because I had a low self image of my self I realized that the program was exactly what I told her from the beginning that I could not do and that my specialists and GP had both specified it was not a program for me (I have this in writing from both doctors as well). I also looked in the mystery bag at the products which included a weight loss supplement, whey, which I let her know that I am allergic to milk. I called and emailed the facility immediately- they were closed so I called first thing in the morning I spoke with a manager explained how this program my doctors who treat my disease said it will not be okay for me to be on, how I was never notified of the entire program, how I was given supplements I was allergic to, and how I have doctor letters stating that I can not do this program. I never did hear back from the manager until weeks later when she called and let me know that she spoke with the doctor on site and he said the program is safe for me. The doctor who has 1) never met me 2) only seen blood work results that I provided them 3) that was generalizing my disease and not looking at me as an individual.
Account_Number: I signed bc I was th

Desired Settlement
I would like the partial refund to which I am entitled even with the 20-30% they keep. I submitted only for a portion of my credit card charge to be refunded. I did this out of being a good consumer knowing their policies and how they only refund a certain amount so I did not submit a claim with my credit card company for the full amount. I have had no one contact me from the facility regarding my treatment plan, changing my plan- which I also emailed about the evening I left the facility.

Business Response
This issue was placed under ******** ******* of ******* in Duluth and was not clarified as an Atlanta Medical Institute issue. We are Atlanta Medical Institute. ******* ******** came to our clinic desiring to lose 35 pounds. During her initial consultation it was recommended that she make some additions to her promotional month of medically assisted weight loss in order to be successful in attaining that goal. Ms. ******** made a decision to invest in the recommended additions, which included hCG, a medical weight loss aid that she had previously used in a couple of years ago. After leaving our clinic, Ms. ******** said that she was medically unable to use the hCG due to Hashimoto disorder of the thyroid and wanted her money returned. It is not a medical contraindication to use hCG with Hashimotos disease as indicated by our medical director, ******** ****** M.D. If it had been a contraindication, we would have offered a substitute for the patient as stated in our intake paper that the patient acknowledge with her signature. Ms. ******** stated that she was given a product that she had stated she was allergic to. She was given whey protein. She stated her issue was with lactose. Our whey protein does not include any lactose.
Ms ******** did communicate some issues in her meeting with her consultant, which have been addressed. These particular concerns did not involve incorrect or inappropriate recommendations for the patient. We offered Ms. ******** credit toward any products or services that our clinic offers if she did not want to participate in the fashion she had originally determined would be good. This information is clarified in her initial paperwork and has the acknowledge of Ms. ******** with her signature.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have letters from my physicians who know my conditions and have met me personally stating that I can not be on the HCG program. I asked about switching my program the initial night and was never talked to about that either. I also was giving whey protein that on the side of the bottle states "contains lactose". I would like to switch my program but prefer to go to another location which was not offered either. My initial voice email and email to Atlanta Medical Institute stated switching my program and no one discussed this with me- even when I called and talked to a supervisor the next day and said that I need to switch my program. When I did not hear back from the company again is when I discussed a refund because I was not given the option to go to another facility or switching programs.

Final Business Response
I do understand the Patient's concerns. To clarify, the whey protein does not state that it has, nor does it have any lactose in it.
As before, we are happy to assist Ms. ******** in moving forward in achieving her weight loss goals, making any needed adjustments in product substitutions that comply with medical concerns stated by her physician. As stated in our clinic financial policy, Ms. ******** has been given credit from her program purchase that is not being used in the originally discussed manner.

09/27/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I paid over $1000.OO to Atlanta Medical Institute. They were really nice the first visit. I purchased 2 months worth of services. They made promises and said product would me mailed out to us. By the time we got to the second visit the lies started showing up. They then said they would not mail it until after our blood test came back. After waiting a month to get the product they did not enclose any instructions on the medication said we should look it up in the book they gave us. Then when we returned they said that the B-12 shots that we were told was a part of of program that we need to pay extra for those. After much ado they said they would add them on . Every time you go back to this office the story changes. When I told them I wanted a refund ***** told me she would get back to me by the end of the week. Its now been 2 months and I had to track ***** down and of course she had excused why she had not called me back. Then I was told they don't do refunds and if they would decided to do it I would have to pay a 30% penalty fee. This company is a rip off and full of deceit. There customer service is not up to par with the promises they make. They are crooks and that is putting it mildly. I have used one month and would like a refund of my 2nd month. Atlanta Medical Institute will rape you and tell you to smile!

Desired Settlement
I would like a full refund of $537.50 for my second month of service. I would not like to be ripped off by them any longer. This company will rape you and tell you to smile.

Business Response
Well, I am not sure where to go from "Atlanta Medical Institute will rape you and tell you to smile!" and create a win win situation, but I will try my best! So, it seems this patient got off track when she came into the office and received a consultation from a consultant in training. I asked this patient to sit in on the consult so everything was said and understood corectly, but this patient declined to have me sit in for one reason or another. Since I did not hear the consultation, I regret that I did not know what the patient was told, but she did sign up for a program, was given an itmeized receipt, and paid for a two month program. When the patient came back in, I met with her and listened to some of the tools that she was promised that she did not receive. I assured her that if she was promised something, we would honor it, but it was not something that she had paid for, but would take her word for it because it is very probable she was told something incorrectly. I tried to explain how the progra worked, how shipping, and process flow worked, but this patient was sosure we are trying to "take advantage of her", I am sure she had her mind made up and is mixing up a legitimate poor communication with "lies". Given the corcumstance, I did not feel it was the patient's fault and was happy to honor some injections she had expected, and I thought we were on the same page and the patient was eager to start and was happy.

At some point, perhaps due to a slower than average weight loss program or a perceived customer service issue, this patient asked for a full refund for month two. This patient was provided a copy of our financial policy which states " I understand my program is non-refundable. If I choose to cancel my enrollment early, I will be given a credit towards any additional services the clinic provides". This patient was not happy with that answer, was rude, and promised she would do everything she could to make life difficult for us. So, I guess this is one of the steps she feels is necessary to live up to that threat. Usually, when patients do not do well, they do everything they can to get out of the obligations that have agreed to. We do not have a way to know what is truely motivating a patient to cancel, so we have a policy in place that we ask patients to acknowledge in several places. It is hard to tell if this patient has legitimate concerns or does not understand certain parameters of what she agreed to, or has just changed her mind. Regardless, I do not see what she would like us to do when our policy is clear and her only attempt at resoluion equalls win lose. At this point, this patient has a full credit on her account for the second month of her program. We even suggested treating her like a medical release patient and refunding her program fee minus a 30% early termionation fee, but this was rejected as well. If this patient had gone about this in a different way, I truly believe she could have been very successful on our program and gotten great results. We are even willing to continue to wrok with her to finish her program successfully and leave on good terms. What else seems fair? I will be happy to provide clear policy terms and the patients signatures.

01/07/2015Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Physicians & Surgeons - Weight Reduction, Pharmaceutical Products - Wholesale & Manufacturing, Laser Therapy, Health & Medical - General, Weight Control Services, Skin Care, Reflexologists, Physicians & Surgeons - Cosmetic, Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery, Physicians & Surgeons - Dermatology, Health & Wellness, Health & Fitness Program Consultants, Hair Removal - Laser & Electrolysis, Exercise & Physical Fitness Programs, Chiropractors D.C., Vitamins & Food Supplements, Minerals, Herbs, Health & Diet Products - Retail

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/22/2010Business started: 04/01/2009
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Georgia Composite Medical Board
2 Peachtree Street, N.W., 36th Floor
Atlanta, GA 30303-3465
(404) 656-3913
http://www.medicalboard.georgia.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Marie Allen Dr. L. Jack Cheng MD, PhD (Medical Director)Mr. Jeffrey Semel D.C.
Number of Employees

6

Business Category

Physicians & Surgeons - Weight Reduction, Pharmaceutical Products - Wholesale & Manufacturing, Laser Therapy, Health & Medical - General, Weight Control Services, Skin Care, Reflexologists, Physicians & Surgeons - Cosmetic, Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery, Physicians & Surgeons - Dermatology, Health & Wellness, Health & Fitness Program Consultants, Hair Removal - Laser & Electrolysis, Exercise & Physical Fitness Programs, Chiropractors D.C., Vitamins & Food Supplements, Minerals, Herbs, Health & Diet Products - Retail

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Atlanta Medical Institute, LLC

3365 Piedmont Rd NE Ste 1250 Tower Walk

Atlanta, GA 30305-1708

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 3365 Piedmont Rd NE Ste 1250 Tower Walk 

    Atlanta, GA 30305-1708

  • Wellness Centers of America

    6470 E Johns Xing 

    Duluth, GA 30097-2511(404) 264-9553

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Atlanta Medical Institute, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Physicians & Surgeons - Weight Reduction

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.