BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/01/1985

Cook's Pest Control

Find a Location

Phone: (770) 424-8888Fax: (770) 425-2507View Additional Phone Numbers777 S Marietta Pkwy SE, MariettaGA 30060-2817 Send email to Cook's Pest Control

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/01/1985

BBB has determined that Cook's Pest Control meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Cook's Pest Control's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service9
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 11

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (11)BBB Closure Definitions
05/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: Hired company to address what they determined was a roof rat problem. Contract promised initial inspection, setting up of glue boards, bait, traps, etc., followed by two follow up visits every two weeks. The final visit would be for plugging up any places that pests might be gaining entry and spraying the attic to rid it of smell from pesticide(s) used. Well,the initial visit went well as the traps were set and the serviceman assured me that he'd be back in a couple of weeks to check the status. He never showed. I called the initial salesman and the office but no one replied. I found a corporate number, called them and explained what was happening. The serviceman called and scheduled a followup appointment. He came and said that nothing was on the traps but it was apparent that there had been some activity. However, he then said that perhaps the pest was not a rat but some kind of wildlife and that they don't do wildlife. He promised to be back for the final visit on 1/3014. He never showed and he nor no one else called. Since the weather was bad on that day I thought that they'd call and reschedule but they never called and no one has come for the final check and securing as promised. As far as I'm concerned, it's apparent that they saw a quick $300.00 to get me to sign and once they got their money, I was no longer important. They didn't keep their promise and you need to know that. Besides, I think the serviceman knew early on that I might not have been dealing with a roof rat matter but some type of wildlife but took advantage of an opportunity to get over on a trusting cutomer. Finally, I didn't get what I paid for and that's just wrong. Anyone could have set out traps and glue boards but I chose "professionals" to do the job believing that it would not only get done but get done correctly and as promised.
Product_Or_Service: Pest elimination

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ************@cookspest.com
On 5/6/14,I met with Mrs.****** to talk about complaint filed.Mrs. ****** and I reached a resolution to complaint. Mrs. ****** was pleased and is allowing us to take care of some other pest issue she has going on now.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accepted response from Mr. ****** because of his proactive attempt to bring reasonable resolution to my complaint. The offer of a full refund was acceptable. However, since they determined that there were other pest problems, i.e., ant and roach, I opted to use the refund toward the cost of getting a pest control package, which Mr. ********* agreed to; which included a full year's of pest control service for the refund total. The company will absorb the difference since the refund was less than a full year of service.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

02/11/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to correct billing errors

Complaint: I had a contract with Cook's. The tech called around 5:30 one evening to say he would be there the next day to service my home. I informed him (*****)that I was cancelling the contract and didn't want him to come the next day. He said Ok and that he would put a note in not to service. When I get home that next day, I have an invoice on my door for servicing my home. The problem I have is that the evening before that, I specifically told him not to come to the house the next day and he still comes by at 11:30am. I understand that mistakes can be made because that's a part of us but when I notify the company, they said ok, we'll take it off. Several calls later and no results. The last call made I talked to *********, who said that she was a supervisor, ********* said that she was walking it down to the manager's office for him to take it off. In the meantime, I've gotten a notice that they are sending it to collections and I got another bill today. I don't feel that I owe a bill for their mistake and they have lied each and every time that I've talked to them. It's not the money but it's my house and I have the right to cancel service when ever I want to. Had I not told the tech the previous day not to come by, I would pay the bill gladly. But in this case it seems that Cook's is trying to pad their books, one un-authorized service stop at a time. The customer service of their managers and billing department is one of the worst out there. I couldn't treat customers the way I've been treated and expect to be still employed.
Account_Number: 19PIXXXXXX

Initial Business Response
Cook's has taken care of the charges on ****** ********* account and does not owe us anything. There will not be anything going to a collections dept against her account.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
As long as they live up to their response, I'm good

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

09/03/2014Problems with Product / Service
06/04/2014Advertising / Sales Issues
03/03/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
08/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: We have been using Cooks Pest Control for nearly 2 years and have had multiple issue with poor service and lately very poor and rude customer service. They are non respondent to their customers needs and do not return calls about issues with their service about pests/bugs in the house. We have had a serious ant infestation now for 2 years and they have not yet gotten it figured out as they have a very high turnover employee rate and have unqualified technician's show up. We have promptly paid on time and every month for a service we feel we are not getting. After my conversation today with their Marietta office, I feel she was more concerned about her own feelings than what an upset customer pest control concerns where.
Product_Or_Service: Pest control

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** DM
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *************@cookspest.com
I, ****** ******, contacted Mr. ******* and inspected his home concerning the ant issue. After my inspection and talking with him, I let him know where the ants where coming from and the treatment needed to help control the ants. I also have the Pest Control Manager doing the treatment today with a follow up treatment in a few days, to include the treatment of the entire lawn area.
****** ******
District Manager
XXX-XXX-XXXX



Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This does not address the customer service representative that I spoke to in the Marietta office who was rude and unhelpful while trying to resolve the issue.

Final Business Response
In response to the customer service representative, I have counseled my entire office staff that we are a customer service industry, that it is of the up most importance that we remember that on a daily basis.
I talked with Mr. ******* on the phone concerning this issue as well. I will reming our office staff on a regular basis that we work for the customers.

****** ******
District Manager

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

06/16/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Pest Control Services, Termite Control, Bed Bug Removal, Bed Bug Inspection Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/01/1985Business started: 01/01/1981
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Entomology Board - Department of Agriculture
19 Martin Luther King Jr Dr SW Rm 543
Atlanta, GA30334-9004
(404) 656-3641
http://www.agr.georgia.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 1974, GA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas Tucker (District Manager)Mr. Joey Harris
Number of Employees

120

Business Category

Pest Control Services, Termite Control, Bed Bug Removal, Bed Bug Inspection Service

Industry Tips
Pest Control Companies

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Cook's Pest Control

777 S Marietta Pkwy SE

Marietta, GA 30060-2817

To | From

LocationsX

5 Locations

  • 1830 Atkinson Rd 

    Lawrenceville, GA 30043-5606

  • 777 S Marietta Pkwy SE 

    Marietta, GA 30060-2817(770) 424-8888

  • PO Box 1545 

    Marietta, GA 30061-1545(678) 423-4400

  • 6447 Evans Dr. 

    Rex, GA 30273

  • 3500 E.Hwy 34, Ste 9 

    Sharpsburg, GA 30277

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Cook's Pest Control is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (770) 969-0652
  • (770) 277-5470
  • (770) 506-0120
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Pest Control Services

Pest Control Companies
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.