BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/07/2011

The Painting Company

Phone: (770) 766-5562Fax: (770) 790-3663View Additional Phone Numbers380 W Crossville Rd, RoswellGA 30075-2502

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/07/2011

BBB has determined that The Painting Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for The Painting Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on The Painting Company

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
04/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Performed substandard quality work, damaged personal property, caused substantial dirt all over the house, and did not clean up.
While they did a good job on the easy parts such as painting walls, I was very unhappy about the quality of the finishing on the trims. When they said the job was done I had to go around and show them several places where the trim had not been done properly, and they had not finished a major part of the master bathroom, which then took another few hours to do.

After they left I have noticed several other hard to find places where the trimming was not done right. It seems that the basic idea was that if the customer is not likely to notice it right away, they have no reason to do it right.

When I contracted the job the sales person told me that the job would take at most 3 days and that 3 days was a worst case scenario. The job actually took 4 days, with no reason given for the delay.

My main concern though is the sloppiness in which they left the house. Everything is covered with a layer of thin powder from when they sanded a wall without using proper protection. It is going to take at least a full day to clean this up. It is a good thing I have an air compressor and can air hose upholstery and small items outside. Otherwise I don't know how I would clean up this mess.

They also used my vacuum cleaner without my permission and clogged the filter because this vacuum cleaner is not made for thin powder. In trying to clean it they broke a piece of the filter.

I am discounting the price of a day's work of cleaning plus the vacuum cleaner part from their final bill.

This company may seem very professional when you talk to the sales staff and the "production managers", but their crews don't deliver.

Stay away from them!

Desired Settlement
I am discounting the price of the replacement parts for my vacuum cleaner, the price for pressure washing the patio because that service was never performed, and I am also charging $200.00, $100.00 per person, for the full day's work done by my wife and I to clean the house.
Once these quantities have been subtracted from their bill, I will send the company a cheque in certified mail.

Business Response
On 3.29 we received an email from the customer stating he was upset about a few areas on the job. We were very surprised to find out he wasn't happy since earlier in the day at 3:30 when the crew finished up he stated everything was good and he was happy with the job. We immediately emailed the customer to see if we could come by the next day to look at the job see what needed to be fixed and right the issues. The customer responded by saying he didn't want to have us come out and we had taken up too much of his time. We took a day longer than we had expected due to his trim not covering very well. We wanted to make sure it was covered so we put an additional coat on at our expense.

The customer sent us some pictures of the job and we agreed that a few areas needed to be to fixed and again asked the customer to come back and fix him. He hasn't responded to our emails. We also offered to have a cleaning company come into the home to clean the residual sheet rock dust from prepping the walls. He again said he didn't have time for this.

We definitely had some small issues on this job and our happy to fix them if the customer would allow us. However to this point he hasn't really had any desire to solve the issues. We try to make every customer happy and while we aren't perfect we are the first ones to admit were wrong and fix the problems. We would really just love the chance to fix these issues.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Because the house was not left in a condition that was healthy for habitation, with a thick layer of dust covering everything, there was no time to wait for a professional cleaning service. Cleaning of the house took a full day of two people working Sunday, plus one morning of a single person Monday. Only after that was the house suitable for cooking meals and sleeping. Having the owners clean up the house was the only viable option given the time critical nature of the job. In addition, it must be considered that the price we propose for our labor in cleaning up the Painting Company's negligence is likely much lower than what would be charged by any professional company.

We did not bring up this issue with the Painting crew when they finished the job for two reasons. First, most of the shortcomings in the painting job were cleverly hidden behind furniture or in other hard to see places. Second, the layer of dust left on the house is difficult to see unless it is touched or if air movement causes it to be disturbed. This problem became apparent in the hours after the job was done. Also, the broken vacuum cleaner was stored away in its closet, and because the crew had not asked to use the vacuum cleaner it did not occur to us to check it immediately.

The repeated response from the Painting Company has been asking for a second chance to get correct the issues with the paint job. While we are not happy with the quality of the paint job, we realize that the quality of the job is difficult to quantify, and that different people may have different standards for quality. Therefore, while we note our dissatisfaction with quality, we do not assign it any monetary value in our proposed settlement. We note also that the Painting Company does not take into consideration the fact that allowing them a second chance would come at considerable cost to the home owners, one of whom would have to take a vacation day or forgo a day's pay in order to be present and supervise the work.

All we ask for is the following:

1 - That we should not pay for a line item in the job description that was never performed, in the case of the pressure washing of the patio.

2 - That the Painting Company pay for the parts for the vacuum cleaner that their employees broke.

3 - That we receive reasonable compensation for our labor in cleaning up after the Painting Company's negligence.

These are reasonable requests, and yet none of them are addressed, either in a positive or negative manner, in the Company's reply.

Should the Bureau deem it useful, we will be happy to submit the same photographic evidence that we submitted to the Painting Company, which details the extent of the dirt left in the house as well as damage to the vacuum cleaner.

In closing, I again urge the Painting Company to consider the specific grievances numbered above, and not peripheral issues.

Final Business Response
I appreciate ****** resolving the matter.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
While what is written seems acceptable, the response I got is truncated in the middle of a sentence. It is impossible to judge the intention of the writing at that point. Please correct that so we can resolve this case.

08/24/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After two days of painting, the paint is already peeling and The Painting Company can not explain why.
I hired The Painting Company July 28 to paint my home. They didn't check in with me daily per the contract and after 2 days the paint started peeling. It is over 2-weeks now and they keep coming out to repaint, but the paint is still peeling.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking for a refund because I will have to pay another company to come and fix The Painting Company's work.

Business Response
Issue is with the trim paint which we have a plan to fix. Waiting for the customer to confirm us fixing it 8.17.



05/14/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Business has failed to honor a contract of warranty for work performed after multiple requests to do the same.
Paint on concrete was not done using proper techniques and as such has bubbled. Contractor was paid for an extended warranty and has refused since August 2013 to honor the warranty. Certified notice was sent as a final request on April 8, 2014 to request service. Paint problems are explicitly covered under the warranty as stated on company website.

Desired Settlement
Completely re-paint area properly using proper priming techniques or pay for another contractor to do the same. Refund is acceptable as well.

Business Response
I tried contacting Mrs. ******* about two weeks ago to schedule a time to remedy the issues on the job. I can have someone out May 21st to fix the issues. Also, if the customer has better contact numbers please let me know.

Thanks,

*****

Industry Comparison| Chart

Painting Contractors, Deck Cleaning & Sealing, Deck Cleaning and Waterproofing, Painters - Commercial or Residential, Commercial Painting Contractor, Painting - Faux Finishing, Floors - Garage, Contractors - Ceiling

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/25/2007Business started: 09/01/2006
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: September 2006, GA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris Camp (Owner)
Business Category

Painting Contractors, Deck Cleaning & Sealing, Deck Cleaning and Waterproofing, Painters - Commercial or Residential, Commercial Painting Contractor, Painting - Faux Finishing, Floors - Garage, Contractors - Ceiling

Products & Services

This company offers commercial & residential painting and minor carpentry repairs.

Alternate Business Names
East Atlanta Painting Company, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

The Painting Company has received 3.7 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for The Painting Company

380 W Crossville Rd

Roswell, GA 30075-2502

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 380 W Crossville Rd 

    Roswell, GA 30075-2502(770) 551-0101
    (770) 766-5562
    Fax: (770) 790-3663

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*The Painting Company is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (770) 551-0101

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (404) 303-8993
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Painting Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.