BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Global Painting & Renovations, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (678) 715-2526Fax: (877) 315-1895250 Churchill Ct Ste 100, WoodstockGA 30188-6332http://www.gcatl.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Global Painting & Renovations, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Global Painting & Renovations, Inc.'s rating include:

  • 7 complaints filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 4 complaints filed against business.
  • 2 complaints filed against business that were not resolved.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service6
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Global Painting & Renovations, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
06/10/2013Problems with Product / Service
10/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Our contract states Porter Paint would be used to paint our home. Behr paint was used. There are many places where paint is cracked and/or peeling.
2013
SEPTEMBER 12
INITIAL MEETING WITH ******
PAINT CHIPS GIVEN
1/3 DEPOSIT CHARGED TO CC
HARD COPY ESTIMATE STATES PORTER PAINTS TO BE USED WITH 5 YEAR WARRANTY
NO MENTION OF BEHR PAINT

OCTOBER 2013
PAINTING COMPLETED, FINAL 2/3 OF CONTRACT AMOUNT CHARGED TO CC

2014
JANUARY 18
WE NOTICE PAINT CRACKING IN SEVERAL PLACES


DATES OF CORRESPONDENCE WITH ******, ATTEMPTING TO SET UP MEETING TO DISCUSS PAINT ISSUES:

JANUARY 20
INITIAL EMAIL TO ****** STATING CONCERNS ABOUT PAINT INTEGRITY,
PICTURES WERE INCLUDED
REQUESTED ****** TO CALL OR COME BY

JANUARY 28
****** REPLIES THAT HIS PAINT REP WILL COME BY TO CHECK OUT, HE WILL BE IN TOUCH WHEN GOOD WEATHER

FEBRUARY 4
BEHR REP CAME TO LOOK AT HOUSE - DISCLOSED TO US THAT BEHR PAINT WAS GIVEN TO GLOBAL AS SAMPLE PAINT TO TRY AT NO COST TO GLOBAL. STATES THAT THERE SEEMS TO BE ISSUES WITH PAINT APPLICATION

FEBRUARY 8
EMAILED ****** THAT BEHR REP CAME BY HOUSE. WE STATED WE THOUGHT PORTER PAINT WAS TO HAVE BEEN USED

FEBRUARY 17
EMAILED ****** AGAIN, REFERENCING ABOVE

FEBRUARY 25
EMAILED ****** AGAIN, REFERENCING ABOVE

MARCH 3
****** CALLED ***** (MY HUSBAND) - ***** COULD NOT ANSWER AT WORK

MARCH 4
EMAILED ****** APOLOGIZING FOR MISSED CALL AND ASKING TO MEET ANY DAY M-F, AFTER 4

MARCH 5
****** WILL LET US KNOW

APRIL 8
EMAILED ****** REQUESTING MEETING

APRIL 10
****** REPLIES THAT WE SHOULD WAIT UNTIL END OF POLLEN SEASON

MAY 12
EMAILED ****** AGAIN REQUESTING MEETING

MAY 30
EMAILED ****** AGAIN REQUESTING MEETING

JUNE 17
EMAILED ****** AGAIN REQUESTING MEETING

JUNE 23
****** RESPONDS HE WILL HAVE MEN IN NEIGHBORHOOD, WILL TAKE CARE OF WEEK OF JUNE 30TH

JULY 11
EMAILED ****** AGAIN REQUESTING MEETING
****** RESPONDS THERE WILL BE MEN IN NEIGHBORHOOD 1ST WEEK OF AUGUST, AGREES TO MEET AT HOUSE FIRST

AUGUST 7
EMAILED ****** AGAIN REQUESTING MEETING. ****** RESPONDS TO MEET FRIDAY, AUGUST 8
EMAILED ****** THAT WE CANNOT MEET ON THE 8TH, BUT ANY TIME WEEK OF AUGUST 10

AUGUST 18
EMAILED ****** AGAIN REQUESTING MEETING. ****** RESPONDS HE CAN MEET AUGUST 19

AUGUST 19
****** FINALLY COMES TO HOUSE. WE REQUEST HOUSE BE REPAINTED IN
FULL B/C OF THE UNKNOWN. WE DO NOT KNOW THE STATUS OF REMAINDER OF HOUSE DUE TO THE FAILING INTEGRITY OF SO MANY PLACES. WHAT IF THE REST FAILS?

AUGUST 19
(ALMOST 11 MONTHS AFTER PAINT JOB) - ****** FINALLY MEETS US AT OUR HOME TO DISCUSS OUR CONCERNS.
HIS RESPONSES ARE AS FOLLOWS:
HE STATES BEHR PAINT WAS A PREMIUM PAINT
HE STATES ****** KNEW THAT PORTER PAINT WOULD NOT BE USED
DOES NOT MATTER WHETHER GLOBAL PAID FOR THE PAINT, OR NOT
OUR REQUEST THAT GLOBAL REPAINT HOME USING PORTER PAINTS IS UNREASONABLE
ISSUES ARE INSIGNIFICANT AND CAN BE TAKEN CARE OF

Desired Settlement
REPAINT OUR HOME WITH CONTRACT PORTER PAINT.

Business Response
This is a very special case, it is very unfortunate that the husband ******* does not remember us speaking about the Behr paint upgrade, he even told me that he had used Behr paint in the past and liked it, it is my error to not have put the changes in writing I understand that.
***** said to me "paint is paint as long as it looks good that's fine with me".
so we applied the Behr premium product, when I was contacted about the paint failing, I had the Behr rep come out and look at the problem, He told me it was not much that he even offered to correct it on the spot, but the homeowner said that there was no more paint left so, "no! just have the painters come back and do it" was the homeowners answer.
I did speak to Mrs. ********* and told her lets wait until after the pollen season, because I was planning on rinsing of the house for free as part of customer service.
I did have men in the neighborhood the 1st week of august, but we couldn't coordinate to meet before that.
When we were able to meet, the home owner showed me the items of concern, there is a obvious area at the front steps that the paint did fail on, (scraping priming and repainting will take care of it) and then ***** started pointing out some cracks where the caulk joints are which are not necessarily paint issues its just the caulking cracking, I told the home owners that these items are very easily fixed, its not a big problem.
The integrity on the paint job looks immaculate overall, the siding, trim and accents still are holding the color and sheen.
From day one the customer has been very nice, they were very happy with the project, but there was one issue, one big issue, they did not like the color that they selected for the house, and I don't feel like it is fair that just because they don't remember the conversation about the different paint, that I have to repaint the entire house (knowing it is in good condition) or refund the project cost.
the Behr paint that was used is actually a step up from the paint proposed, so just want to make it clear that I didn't use the paint to cut any corners.
I have painted over 25 houses in that neighborhood and haven't had any issues with anyone.
I am NOT going to repaint the house for free or am I going to refund the project cost to the homeowner.
I will come back and take care of the warranty issues that are in hand, and the warranty will still cover you for the 5 years.
If you want me to change the color of the house for you I can do it for you at a very discounted price, but can not do it for free.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In response to Global's reply of Sept. 9, 2014:

Regarding my husband not remembering a verbal agreement to paint the house with Behr paint: My husband remembers the conversation clearly. My husband stated he had used Behr paint in the the past but was not told and not aware that Behr paint would be used by Global on our home. The first time we knew that Behr paint had been used was when the Behr paint representative came to the house to look at the issues with the paint job. It was at that point we looked in the garage for the paint and noticed it was Behr labels instead of Porter.
Regarding the Behr rep offering to "take care of it on the spot':
The Behr rep did not contract with us to paint the house, Global did. The Behr rep stated he had never seen anything like this before with Behr paint. He did not offer to correct it on the spot but did say, after a long conversation with my husband, that if he could be of any assistance to us regarding the paint job to please call him. Name and number of the Behr rep provided upon request.
Regarding my husband stating that there was no more paint left for the Behr rep to correct the problem:
This is false. All the Behr paint left by the contractor is still in the garage.
Regarding caulking:
Per contract with Global, caulk would be used where needed to seal areas of issue. Global did caulk the house. The paint is peeling not just at caulked areas.
Regarding color of the house:
As to the color of the house, that issue is moot. The green paint that is on the house now is not contracted Porter Paint.

In summary:
Shortly after painting was completed, Global was notified of issues. There were phone calls and emails for 8 months. Not once during this time did a rep from Global Paint come to our house to address the issues. After 9 months, ****** from Global showed up to discuss the issues.
Since the areas that have failed are not Porter Paint, we are reluctant to continue to trust in its entirety the quality and integrity of the balance of the Behr paint on the house. The Behr paint that was used to paint our house was given to Global Paint at no cost, to be used on a trial basis by Global Paint. We were the 'test subject'. It did not work. Global states they have painted over 25 houses in our neighborhood and haven't had any issues with any of them. What brand of paint was used on those 25 homes?
We are very disappointed in the business and customer service practices that global paint has displayed to us. We paid 1/3 of the contracted cost to Global upfront before any work was done. We were trusting and comfortable that a good job would result because of the neighborhood situation. We were mistaken.

In conclusion:
We believe that, per our original contract, our house should be repainted by Global using Porter Paint at no further cost to us.

09/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 26 January 2012 I signed a contract with Global Painting and Renovations to paint my house and detached garage. 27 May 2014 I noticed that some bare wood on my garage. At first I thought it was mildew. After washing the wood I discovered that it was bare. According to my contract GCATL.com was suppose to prime and paint the garage. I called the company several time and have not gotten any positive results. One of the owners called me around 22 May 2014. He told me since the holiday was just around the corner he would schedule someone to come out to access the problem. I called twice since then, but no one will return my call. I do not plan to recommend this contractor to anyone and would recommend no one use them in the future. My review of them would be noncompliance with their own contract.
Product_Or_Service: Painting service

Desired Settlement
Come out to my location and comply with the contract by priming any bare and paint any bare wood.

Business Response
We already have the project manager schedule for this coming Thursday (7/17/14) to check and resolve the problem.

Consumer Response
This complaint should not be closed. PLEASE REOPEN IT. The company representative keep changing his schedule. He say he will come one day and he never show up. Today (July 31, 2014) he was to come and fix the problem. He has not showed up.

I don't no why this company is still in business because of the terrible work ethics.

I still have the problem I originally wrote about. I am requesting you to reopen this case or keep it open.

Thank you.

****** ****** ************

10/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to return an agreed upon deposit for uncompleted work. Totaling $4196.50. No response from ownership after repeated requests.
We signed a contract with **** ******** of Global Painting and Renovation on Feb 24th 2014 to provide a Screened in Porch and Exterior painting and repair service - We left a deposit of 10546.50 for the work.. We received approval to begin the project from our Home owners Association April 22nd. Met with ****** ******* of Global and discussed starting the project in a week.. Global started the paining portion of our project on or around 5/16 and stated that the carpentry portion of the project would begin around 5/26. **** Contacted us on 5/28 stating that the carpenters were taking a vacation and we were scheduled to start 6/16.. No further contact was established until July 16th when I called **** ******** and was told he sold his portion of the Company to ******. I then called ****** and talked thru canceling the project due to failure to perform issues and requested a refund. He agreed to the refund over the phone and ask that I send him the requested amount.. Subtracting the work done for the painting and repair work the outstanding balance owed to us is $4196.50.. Multiple requests have been made for this refund over the last month and we have been unable to reach anyone at the office or on ******* Cell phone.

Desired Settlement
Around Feb 24th I paid a deposit to Global Painting and Renovation in the dollar amount of $10,546.50.

We were only able to get the painting and the wood repair completed.
$5250 and $1100 were the line items for these portions of scope.

There should be an outstanding balance $4196.50 left on my balance that I have requested be returned to me and that you agreed refund.. Can you please mail us a check in the amount of $4196.50. Made payable to **** *******

Please send the check to:

*** ***** ***** *****
********** ** XXXXX

08/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We gave Global Painting & Renovations (representative **** ********) a $4000 deposit for work to be done on our home. This was weeks ago. We have decided not use this company due to delays and we have traded emails with them for weeks.**** ******** agreed to refund our money in an email he sent us. This was in May of 2014. We have still not received the check and after 2 phone calls to the company the only answer I have been given is the woman on the telephone telling me that she would have to consult with the owner.I have not gotten a call back.I have not received my money back.We are requesting our money back for services not rendered and per **** ********'s agreement to do so.
Product_Or_Service: Deposit

Desired Settlement
$4000 deposit to be refunded.

08/15/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We contracted with Global Painting (our contact was **** R.) in 2013 to paint our house. We selected Global over other providers due to their stated 5 year warranty. Along the way we had issues (e.g. bubbling in the paint, surfaces not pressure washed as agreed, we had to provide our own pressure washer during the process because they had problems, etc.). Now, one year later the paint is peeling on the steps and rails and their is mildew. We have contacted **** multiple times. His response was that they are very busy and that their 5 year warranty didn't cover horizontal surfaces (this was never stated previously). He said he would come by to look at the problems, but after repeated calls he did not come by and has not returned our subsequent calls.
Product_Or_Service: Painting/Pressure Washing

Desired Settlement
We want the surfaces repainted.

10/27/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Painting Contractors, Deck Cleaning & Sealing, Deck Cleaning and Waterproofing, Pressure Washing, Windows, Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Windows & Doors - Installation & Service, Kitchen Cabinets & Equipment - Household, Floors - Hardwood, Vinyl Flooring, Hardwood Floor Contractors, Windows - Installation & Service, Remodeling Services, Bathroom Remodeling, Basement - Remodeling, Construction & Remodeling Services, Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Siding Contractors, Roofing Contractors, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures, Deck Builder, Patio & Deck Builders, Painters - Commercial or Residential, Commercial Painting Contractor, Home Improvements, Contractors - Gutters, Gutter Leaf Guards, Gutters & Downspouts, Floors - Laminate, Floor Removal, Resurfacing and Refinishing, Floor Coverings & Installation, Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing, Drywall Contractors, Contractor - Remodel & Repair, Basement - Finishing, Carpenters, Kitchen & Bath Design, Kitchen Remodeling, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/28/2011Business started: 10/20/2009
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 2009, GA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Marlon Hurtado (Owner/President)Mr. Mauricio Aguero (Owner)Mr. Bryan Arias (Owner)Mr. Brad Robinson (Owner)
Business Category

Painting Contractors, Deck Cleaning & Sealing, Deck Cleaning and Waterproofing, Pressure Washing, Windows, Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Windows & Doors - Installation & Service, Kitchen Cabinets & Equipment - Household, Floors - Hardwood, Vinyl Flooring, Hardwood Floor Contractors, Windows - Installation & Service, Remodeling Services, Bathroom Remodeling, Basement - Remodeling, Construction & Remodeling Services, Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Siding Contractors, Roofing Contractors, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures, Deck Builder, Patio & Deck Builders, Painters - Commercial or Residential, Commercial Painting Contractor, Home Improvements, Contractors - Gutters, Gutter Leaf Guards, Gutters & Downspouts, Floors - Laminate, Floor Removal, Resurfacing and Refinishing, Floor Coverings & Installation, Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing, Drywall Contractors, Contractor - Remodel & Repair, Basement - Finishing, Carpenters, Kitchen & Bath Design, Kitchen Remodeling, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling

Industry Tips
General Advice When Choosing a Roofer

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Global Painting & Renovations, Inc.

250 Churchill Ct Ste 100

Woodstock, GA 30188-6332

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 5604 Wendy Bagwell Pkwy Ste 223 

    Hiram, GA 30141-7814(678) 715-2526

  • 250 Churchill Ct Ste 100 

    Woodstock, GA 30188-6332Fax: (877) 315-1895

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Global Painting & Renovations, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Painting Contractors

General Advice When Choosing a Roofer
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.