BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Eyeglass World (Headquarters)

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

26 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues5
Billing / Collection Issues2
Delivery Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service16
Total Closed Complaints26

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (26)BBB Closure Definitions
10/15/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to correct billing errors

Complaint: I had an exam and ordered glasses at this location on 6-29-2013. I was assured my insurance was accepted and the business called my provider to confirm coverage. After having my eye exam, I was asked to pay my copay.No problem I thought. The lady told me it was 35.00. I told her my copay was 10.00 for the exam and showed her my card again. She simply said that their exams were refraction which involves additional charges that my insurance did not cover. I should have been told by this same lady before having my exam since she was the same person who called and verified my insurance. I reluctantly paid the copay.Now on to pick out some new frames. My copay on lens is 15.00 and I have a 150.00 frame allowance on my Blue Cross Vision. After picking out frames, i was seated to begin the lens process. Numerous items were discussed and I always questioned whether the items were covered by my insurance.She informed me that she was checking on each item and that the ovation poly lens were covered and the anti - reflection was also. Total bill 509.XX - XXX.49 ins. plan discount and - insurance payment of 272.50. that left my portion of 54.96 and then I decided to add the 1 year protection plan for 25.00. I paid my 79.96 and left. I picked my glasses up later that week. Thought I was finished.I have now received a bill for 150.00 for items not paid by my insurance.I have contacted Blue Cross and was assured Eyeglass World had access to all that info. I feel like I was totally misled from the eye exam and the glass purchase. My wife got glasses at the same time frame and is going through the same unethical practices. She works for ****** ********* **** and 3 of her coworkers have had similar experiences at the same Eyeglass World - we only discovered that after our visits.I would think Eyeglass World would like to have happy customers!*** *****
Product_Or_Service: Prescription Glasses
Order_Number: XXXXX

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******** CSR MGR
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *************@nationalvision.com
Apparently there was a miscommunication between the customers insurance company and the sales associate as far as what items are covered. I have called out to the store manager to offer assistance to the sales associates on the correct way to validate eligibility and benefits so that this does not occur again. ***** is the store manager and she would like to aplogize for any confustion and to make sure that the accounts are taken care of. Please contact our office should there be any further questions that I can help with. **** ******** XXX-XXX-XXXX

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

09/16/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Product Quality Complaint Issue

Complaint: After 3 months of buying 2 pair of glasses one the glass's lens scratched.
In March 2012, I purchased 2 pairs of glasses from EyeGlassWorld in Lexington Ky. I spent about $400 out of my pocket to add extras to one of the glasses such as non-glare etc. In a very short time the lenses got scratched and I went back to the store around June and showed it to one of the optician who worked on these glasses. He told me that because I did not purchase a scratch protection he could not do anything. I was very upset and tried to show him my point but he kept repeating himself so I gave up and used the other pair which was with simple lenses no additional features on it.
I was out of US for couples of months and after I came back I have purchased another pair from different store because I did not want to go back to EyeGlassWorld. I had to pay $ 600 out of my pocket for a new one and I was very upset. I guess I have to apologize not being enough rich to buy glasses every year. I cannot afford to purchase a pair of glasses that I have to pay large amount of money out of my pocket. So I stopped by EyeGlassWorld again in April 2013. This time a manager listened to me and he told me that I was too late because it is now over a year so he cannot help me. He told me that it was a cleaning problem. I have been wearing eyeglasses for 40 years and did not know how to clean them? It made me more upset. I have no complain about the other pair that I bought same time. If I did not know how to clean glasses how come the other one does not have any scratches? The manager was acting exactly the same way that the optician was acting in June. He kept repeating himself over and over again. I got frustrated and left the store.
Today August 30, 2013 I called headquarter of EyeGlassWorld and talk to a customer service representative. She told me the same thing "because my prescription is expired there is nothing to do other than giving me some discounts for future purchases". At this point I am not planning to purchase anything from EyeGlassWorld. I really would like EyeGlassWorld answer the following questions;
* As a customer do we have to buy scratch protection to be able to wear it more than 3 months?
* Why my second pair has no scratch?
* Does EyeGlassWorld have no confidence on their product so their customers have to buy scratch protection? Or is it the company's strategy selling low quality lenses so they can make profits of selling protections?
* Why other company's lenses do not get scratch within 3 months?
* Why I was not being directed to a manager or someone who would be able to make decision on customer complaint in June, 2012 which my prescription was not expired?

I believe EyeGlassWorld should refund me at least 50 percent of the cost.
Thank you,
****** ******, ***

Business' Initial Response
Better Business Bureau
****** *****
503 Oak Place, Suite 590
College Park, GA XXXXX

Re: Case# 27321344 ****** ******

Dear ****** ******

This letter is in response to the complaint filed by ****** ****** case # XXXXXXXX. I do apologize for the problems she encountered at this location. We do value her as a customer and she deserves the best service that we have to offer. I have addressed these issues with the store manager ****. If the customer is able to either provide a current prescription or pay for an exam at our location to get a current prescription, we will happily remake the customer's damaged glasses for free as a one time customer courtesy. The customer would have the option of purchasing our Product Protection Plan. We can also make the glasses without the AR coating that is on the one damaged pair to reduce the risk of scratches. Please feel free to contact me if you have any further questions or concerns.

Respectfully,

******
Customer Care

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

07/16/2013Problems with Product / Service
03/07/2013Problems with Product / Service
02/11/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 5
01/02/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
01/31/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues
09/23/2011Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Optical Goods - Retail, Optometrists

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.