BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Eyeglass World (Headquarters)

Find a Location

View Additional Phone Numbers2435 Commerce Ave Bldg 2200, DuluthGA 30096-4980http://nationalvision.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Eyeglass World is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Eyeglass World's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 27 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

27 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 11 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Billing / Collection Issues3
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service20
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 27

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Eyeglass World

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (27)
04/05/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Please accept my communication as a formal complaint against your vision center located at Walmart @********************************. I have NOT received the committed support consistent with my expectations. As such, I am requesting your intervention. Increasing competition in the marketplace mandates that if an organization is to remain viable, they must take their customers? concerns seriously. There is no substitute for providing good, old-fashioned customer service.

My records indicate I purchased a pair of eyeglasses on 7/9/15. When I picked up my glasses, I noticed immediately that the prescription was incorrect, prompting another visit to the store. I understand the sales clerk failed to enter the correct information in the system. Frustrated, I provided feedback to Dr.*******, who was defensive. It was obvious she did NOT appreciate it. Notwithstanding, the issue was resolved when she placed a new order using the correct information, which ultimately caused unnecessary delays.

In or about November 2015, the right lens fell out. Since I am a DISABLED individual, it is a major inconvenience to secure transportation to visit the store. I do not have the exact date, but I believe I visited your optical store in January 2016 to have my eyeglasses repaired. I waited an inordinate amount of time because there was only one available clerk. The clerk took the glasses to a back room and appeared to have repaired it.

Much to my ire, it popped out again on February 11, 2016, rendering my eye glasses USELESS. I promptly contacted the business to inform them of my concern, & to obtain a resolution to the ongoing problem. One ?*****?? answered the phone. She exhibited RUDE and uncooperative behavior when I requested to speak to a supervisor regarding my dissatisfaction. She said the supervisor was unavailable.

When I asked for the best time to contact the supervisor, she refused to divulge helpful info and simply said ?tomorrow afternoon?. She further stated that she cannot give out information about the supervisor?s schedule. (Never mind, I have an established business relationship with the store despite having been there on FIVE (5) previous occasions due to subpar performance). At any rate, I left my telephone number for a call back. As of the date of this complaint, almost ONE MONTH has elapsed, and, I have yet to receive an acknowledgement. It is clear that your optical store does NOT care about me.

NVI has an obligation to ensure that I receive a five-star customer service experience. Short of this, you have a right to know when you have failed in this regard. I find the store?s abhorrent behavior unacceptable. My goal is to make sure you become aware of those employees who are running your good name into the ground. There is no place in the retail industry for poor conduct. I will look forward to a timely resolution, in hopes that legal intervention will not become necessary. I will not recommend your vision center to others, and, am considering advising the public of my negative experience on social media.

I appreciate your assistance.
Product_Or_Service: prescription eyewear

Desired Settlement
A frames replacement would be appreciated.

Business Response
Hello *******
In regards to ********* *****'s complaint, the general manager ******* called the customer and had her come back into the store. She had her eyes re-examined and glasses re-ordered for free. The glasses were picked up March 25th and the customer was satisfied with the new glasses. I will close out this BBB complaint.

Thank you,
****
Customer Care

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


06/11/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
********** **** advertises that you get 2 complete pair of glasses & a free eye exam for $69.95. Hard to believe, but I called to get more information, then went in and asked questions. It would be more for me because of progression lenses but still looking at around $200 for 2 pairs. As the specialist quickly calculated by cost, after my free eye exam, the price came to $405. I was shocked, asked questions, even asked how much for just one pair of glasses? It would only be $62 less because I would also be paying for the eye exam. I was quite flustered, do I buy one or two pairs which were both quite different than their advertised price. This still makes no sense to me and their explanations of why $405 still don't add up. They falsely advertised and didn't give me honest answers so I could make a wise decision.
Product_Or_Service: glasses

Desired Settlement
I would like my cost to be resettled at between $69.95-$200 for both pairs and for the eye exam.

Business Response

Dear ***** ******

In response to the complaint filed by ****** *** *****, Case#XXXXXXXX, please know this matter has been resolved. The store manager, Chris spoke with Ms. ***** and apologized if the associate did not provide a sufficient explanation to warrant the amount charged. Chris explained that the promotion offered for Progressive glasses does not include any added features, such as Anti Reflection, scratch, UV or a one year protection plan. The glasses Ms. ***** purchased do have added features, such as Anti Reflection, and one year protection plan. Chris advised Ms. ***** that we will refund her $172.50 and not make any changes to her glasses. This would bring her total cost for the glasses to be $231.95. We have processed the refund for $172.50 and the customer was pleased with this resolution. Should you have any further concerns regarding this matter, please feel free to contact me.

Sincerely,
Connie
Customer Care
X-XXX-XXX-XXXX



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accepted their response because they refunded me some of the money. I also believe they understand the confusion and frustration I felt over the matter, and they hopefully will better train their employees in communicating with the customer their options.

05/05/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I went to get a contact lens fitting at this establishment and was made to purchase a whole new exam even though I was there less than a year before to purchase an exam. The doctor was very rude and did not complete this contact lens fitting as he was supposed to. He altered my prescription to fit his preferences for a contact lens he recommended. He was very pushy with his recommendations and with his prescription I was not able to purchase the contact lenses I preferred. I went to another eye doctor and they provided me with a new exam and verified my correct RX prescription. I feel this doctor should be investigated, and license removed. He is only about his bottom line and selling certain brands. With the false report of my contact lens exam I want a full refund. I also saw him pressuring another customer to get contacts that she did not want. That place is very unprofessional and I will never return again. I went to this business to get exams for many years without any problems like this. The doctor that is there currently is the problem.
Product_Or_Service: eye exam

Desired Settlement
I would like a full refund of my eye exam price and for them to be investigated. The doctor is a fraud.

Business Response


Dear Ms. *********

I am responding to the complaint filed by ******* ******; Case # XXXXXXXX. We regret any inconveniences the customer has experienced. After speaking with the manager I was informed that the customer was initially recommended toric contact lenses for her prescription. These lenses come highly recommended given her prescription and the doctor will recommend what is best for the customer at all times.

The customer was not satisfied and she returned to the store to request a prescription that she was familiar with; a spherical prescription. The doctor was able to refit her with a spherical lens, as requested. The eye exam fee is not refundable, as doctor's services have been rendered.

The reason the customer was charged for a contact lens exam on 04/17/2015 is because when she was last seen by the doctor for an exam, in August 2014, she was NOT charged for a contact lens exam. The customer was seen for an eyeglass exam only in 2014 and she paid $39.

The customer's concerns have been addressed with the appropriate department and once again, we do apologize for any inconvenience Ms. ****** may have encountered.

Thank you for your time and mediation.

Sincerely,

Violet
Customer Care

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

04/30/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 3/20 I went to the mentioned location to purchase two pairs of glasses and a free eye exam for $69.95. After getting my all too brief exam, I was transferred to a sales rep. This rep proceeded to tell me that I needed bifocals and that the cost would be some obscene amount like $300. When I asked why it was so much I was told that the promotion only included single vision lenses and that I needed these specialty lenses that would thin the glasses? I opted to not purchase glasses as I was not versed enough to comfortably purchase the recommended lenses. After speaking with my normal eye glass person I was explain that my prescription was in fact for a single vision lenses.

Desired Settlement
I am not looking for any settlement. I believe that this establishment is practicing in bait & switch. As I overheard other similar sales pitches being made to other customers.

Business Response
This letter is in response to the complaint filed by ******* ******** case # XXXXXXXX. ******* *******'s prescription is written as a bifocal by the Doctor. Our 2 for $69.95 promotion is for single vision basic plastic lenses, full rimmed frames from our $59.95 price selection, and a free eyeglass exam only. It does not allow an upgrade into bifocals without an additional cost.
However, ******* was able to purchase 1 pair as distance and 1 pair as reading to fit into the promotional criteria. She purchased this on 4/3/2015. Per the general manager, *******, she has contacted the customer and is giving her a 50% refund in the amount of $34.97. and refunding her $5.00 shipping fee. The customer is pleased.
If you have any further questions regarding this matter, please feel free to contact me.

Sincerely,
*******

Customer Care


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The information stated in the response is simply not true. I have a single vision prescription and I am willing to send a copy of my script written by their on site Dr. as proof. Once I contacted the company after being told by my regular glasses company about my single vision script I was then able to purchase the two pair of glasses for $69; which I did on or about 4/3. This contact and purchases was done before I filed a complaint with your organization. I do not currently or have I ever had separate glasses for distance and reading.

The statement that I was contacted by ******* whom represented herself as a manager is correct. ******* was very pleasant to speak with and advised that I should have never been told that I required bifocals. I was offered a refund for half of my money plus my shipping cost. I did receive a check in the mail on 4-27-15 for $35.00. Which I agreed to accept.

In all, I feel slightly silly placing a complaint about this issue since it is not about the amount of money spent. My entire purpose in this is to allow your organization and other potential customers that this company is engaging in bait and switch practices pertaining to their promotional items.



Final Consumer Response

02/18/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased glasses from this store. I had ordered glasses i liked better (better quality) from a competitor, but purchased from Eyeglass world because of the price. The saleman knew i had already ordered other glasses. I cancelled that order, and went with Eyeglass World. Now I'm getting billed from them for another $107. I would not have purchased these glasses for another $107. The other glasses were less expensive than that. Clearly, there's something criminal going on here. They said my insurance didn't pay as much as they thought, but the salesman told me my price was the total.
Product_Or_Service: Eye glasses
Order_Number: XXXXX

Desired Settlement
Either they remove the additional charge, or they can have my glasses back. I would not have purchased at that price.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******** CSR MGR
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *************@nationalvision.com
We apologize for any misunderstanding we may have received when calling your insurance company for your benefit. There was nothing intentional or criminal, simply a misunderstanding of your benefit. *** pays 50% towards your eyeglasses, and that is the reason for the bill. We will gladly remove the additional bill.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
As long as any charges are removed i accept the response.

Page 1 of 2
05/31/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My wife and I made the mistake of going to Eyeglass World. I?ll explain in a short story.
First my wife; it took two different eye doctors several tries to get her prescription, and it still isn?t right! My wife can see better with her old glasses than the new ones. It took the people at Eyeglass World three tries to get the supposed correct prescriptions in the correct lenses and get them to fit the frames correctly. This whole ordeal took 1 ' months, and like I said, the prescription still isn?t right!
Now me. It only took them two tries to properly cut the lenses to fit the frames correctly, but it took two tries to get the supposed correct prescription for the correct frames. My ordeal only lasted a month! Now I have to say that I am a diabetic. My PCM asked me when I had my diabetic eye check done. When I told my PCM that the eye doctor (or what?s supposed to be a doctor) told me that my eyes looked the same and there was no need for it, my PCM was ready to explode! So I had to go to another eye doctor to get my diabetic exam done. In the meantime he checked my eyes. One of the questions was why I no longer had prism in my glasses. I told him that the doctor at Eyeglass World said I no longer needed it. This was absolutely wrong! After a full examination it was discovered that Eyeglass world gave me the wrong prescription for my glasses. During the exam the new eye doctor showed me what I had, and what it should be, and it?s amazing how much better I can see!
So for all this headache and heartache, Eyeglass World charged me $867.65. Now I have to tell you that I am a 100% disabled Veteran that is unemployable, so my wife and I are on a fixed budget. Now I have to get my wife in to have her eyes checked so she can get the correct glasses that will work for her, but I can?t afford to.
All I want is Eyeglass World to return the full $867.65, I will return the lenses from my glasses, (the frames were mine), and both pair of my wife?s glasses since they are pretty much unusable.
If you need, I have all the paperwork from Eyeglass World, as well as the prescription from the new eye doctor showing just how bad Eyeglass World screwed up!
Product_Or_Service: eyeglasses for my wife and I

Desired Settlement
All I want is Eyeglass World to return the full $867.65, I will return the lenses from my glasses, (the frames were mine), and both pair of my wife?s glasses since they are pretty much unusable.

Business Response

Complaint Case #: ********
Consumer:************
Case Opened: 2016-05-16

To Whom It may Concern:

I am responding to a complaint filed by Mr. *** ***** regarding our Fort Walton Beach location. Mr. ***** is requesting a full refund for him and his wife for the cost of their glasses.
After speaking with ****, the store manager: she has agreed to refund Mr. ***** in full once he returns the glasses.

As of May 27, 2016 Mr. ***** has received his refund per his request.

If I can further assist you please contact me at our Customer Care Department **************

Thank you,
******


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The person that claimed to be an eye doctor screwed up the prescriptions. For this reason, Eyeglass world needs to refund me the fee for what is now known as a quack! I am now out of pocket twice for eye doctor, and Eyeglass Worlds people proved that they didn't have a clue what the hell they were doing!
I want my money back from the person's that claimed to be an eye doctor!

11/12/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Winter Optometry/Eyeglass World are located in the same building at ********************,********** **. where I and my children received optical service which included the eye exams since 1998. Eyeglass worlds promotion always included a free eye exam with purchase of glasses and therefore with all my purchase over the years, the eye exams were free. The receipt of the eye exam was always given to me along with the glasses prescription which was handed to eyeglass worlds receptionist. The purchase transaction with Eyeglass World which included final payment was completed that same day and a few days later the glasses were ready for pick up. The promotion which included a free eye exam was no different in 04/2013 when I purchased 2 pairs of glasses (buy 1 get 1 free), than with any of my previous visit/transaction at Eyeglass world. First I went for the eye exam at winter optometry and then took the receipt to Eyeglass world for processing with the purchase of my glasses. I made the payment of $454.95 to eyeglass world using a debit card for the pair of glasses free with the free exam. Whatever transaction that was needed for eyeglass world to compensate Winter Optometry was most likely left out or omitted in error. As a result, a charge of $59.00 for the eye exam during that visit was generated by Winter Optometry. However I was never notified of that charge and to date I have not received a bill.I became aware of the $59.00 charge as a collection item on my credit report a few months ago. I then placed a dispute with the credit reporting agencies but I was referred to the collection company (Collection service Inc. of**********). I wrote a letter to the collection company with the explanation noted above and requested removal of the collection from my credit report but I received no reply. Without verifying the information, the collection company stated to the reporting agencies that the information provided by Winter Optometry was correct. It is noted on my credit report.
Product_Or_Service: Eye glasses with eye exam

Desired Settlement
Have Eyeglass World/Winter Optometry verify that I ****** ******** and my children *****, ******* and ******* ******** all received free eye exams with purchased of glasses. Have Eyeglass World/ Winter Optometry would correct the apparent error in billing during purchase of a pair of glasses in 04/2013 and provide the information to Collection service Inc. of Pensacola. Eyeglass world/ Winter Optometry must ask the collection company to remove the collection information from my credit report.

Business Response
Prior to January 2009, the independent doctor, Dr.*******, would charge the customer $59 for the exam and Eyeglass World would reduce the cost of the material purchase by $59. After January 2009 National Vision, Inc. purchased Eyeglass World. Since that time, Dr.******* remained independent and charging his patient for the exams, however, the materials were no longer reduced. This issue is one of Dr.*******s as an independent doctor and has nothing to do with the patients purchase of materials from Eyeglass World. Eyeglass World does not report to collection agencies.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
On 10/31/1015 I went to Eyeglass World at the address*********************************** to meet with Dr.******* but he was not available. However I spoke with the manager of Eyeglass world and she was only able to obtain the eye exam record. She stated that the billing records were separate and therefore it would be researched on Monday 11/02/15 when Dr.******* returns.
For 20 plus years I have had Champus/Tricare as my insurance and eye related exams were never a part of my coverage. I do not remember giving any insurance information to Dr.******* when I presented for the eye exam on 04/17/13 and I did not ask for insurance filing on any prior eye exams.
Following the eye exam, I handed the paper work which I obtained from Dr.******* to the Eyeglass world receptionist and after it was processed, I paid my bill of $454.95 in full. If there was an additional bill for the eye exam it would have also been paid. Whenever I am billed for services, my payments are made immediately and therefore if I was given or sent a bill for the eye exam, the immediate payment would be made. My address have not changed since 2013 and to date I have not seen a billing statement from Dr.******* despite the reported 3 billing statement which were sent to me. The bill for $59 was an incidental finding of collection which was noted during a check of my credit report.
The Eyeglass World manager stated that she will look into the above mentioned issue and consult with Dr.*******, then contact me by phone (#************) with the correct information including payment if necessary. However my main concern is not the payment of the $59 but the fact that I did not receive a bill, nor did I receive an insurance denial letter yet I was sent to collection and it is on my credit report.



Final Business Response
I am sorry for your trouble, however, National Vision/Eyeglass World does not send customers to collections. The bottom line is that you paid for your materials to Eyeglass World and we are fine. If Dr.******* sent you to collections, then your issue is with the independent doctor. The doctor is independent. It's my understanding from speaking with them today is that you're being removed from collections by the independent doctors office. Please address any other issues with your exam to the independent doctor. Again, this issue is between you and the independent doctor and has NOTHING to do with Eyeglass World. Please understand that we are separate entities and have NO control over the others collection practices.

10/07/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased my glasses at this EyeGlass world shortly over a year ago. Recently one of the screws on the glasses came loose so I returned to the store to see if they could tighten up the screw for me. They fixed that part of my glasses and asked if I would like my glasses ran thru the buffer to clean them and I agreed. When she was finished with the glasses and gave them back to me there is a very obvious fogginess to the lenses, there is no way to see clearly thru them. I mentioned this to her and she stated that my year protection plan was up and therefore could not help me, she also mentioned that my glasses had a few scratches before she ran them thru the machine. While she is accurate that my glasses did in fact have a few tiny scratches it in no way affected me wearing or seeing thru the lenses.I asked her what she could do to fix this issue and she stated that since my prescription is slightly over a year, and the protection plan is over the year issue date that she cannot help me. My issue is that I came in with glasses that I could see clearly out of and left with glasses that are useless. While I do have vision insurance I paid quite a nice sum of money for these glasses and do not feel I should be out more money to replace something that their technician has damaged.
Product_Or_Service: Eye Glasses

Desired Settlement
I would like for EyeGlass world to replace the lenses at no cost to me, as they are responsible for the issue.

Business Response
Dear****** *********

This letter is in response to the complaint filed by ***** ********* Case #: XXXXXXXX. I do apologize for any inconvenience that has occurred.
We strive to provide all of our customers with excellent customer service. I have addressed the situation with the manager, ******* I have reached out to the customer and offered him 50% off of his lens purchase with a valid prescription. He has denied my offer and wants a complaint on file.
This complaint has been received and documented. If you have any further questions, please contact me directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX X *****

Sincerely,

******
Customer Care



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
While I appreciate the response, I do not feel that 50% off new lenses is acceptable. Had I not gone in to their office I would still have functioning lenses. Due to the tech in their office I can no longer see clearly thru my glasses. I stopped by there for a screw to be tightened in my glasses and left with glasses that I cannot see clearly thru. I have spent quite a bit of money with Eye Glass World up until this point and do not feel I am responsible to pay for this mistake.

Final Business Response
Dear La **** *****,

In response to the complaint filed by ***** *********, Case #XXXXXXXX. The customer referred to his glasses being cleaned with a buffer, which is not our procedure for cleaning glasses. I spoke with the Manager, ****** and she confirmed that the vision center cleaned Mr. ********* glasses in an Ultra-sonic Vibrations solution, which would not cause any damage to his glasses. Again, as a customer courtesy we will be happy to provide Mr. ********* with a generous 50% discount off the purchase of new lenses with a valid prescription. Should you have any further questions or concerns regarding this matter, please feel free to contact me.

****** *******
Customer Care
X-XXX-XXX-XXXX
*****

08/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
So about two months ago i went in for an eye exam where i spent about an hour hearing stories from the doctor, who finally gave me my RX of -3.00 in one eye and -3.25 in the other, gave me a pair of trial lenses to make sure i was satisfied and i was on my way. about 2-3 weeks later when i felt the new RX was good i got out my RX slip and began to order my contacts online (not through eyeglass world) as i was typing in the information from my RX slip i realized it was all illegible, so i had to call the office twice and have them check on the computer to see what the RX was...i was told it was -3.00 and -2.25, i called my wife because i didnt think that sounded right and she didnt either we called back again to double check and they assured us this was right, so we ordered them. When they came in they were WAY off, so we called the office again and they said they must have wrote down the wrong information because the Dr. we had seen, his hand writing was hard to read (Dr. *****) so we go in, see the other doctor, who said no my RX was -3.00 in both eyes and that the previous dr had probably written -3.25 but because of his writing it got entered in -2.25...so we were told to leave the two boxes of contacts there with the office that were wrong (ordered incorrectly because we were given the wrong RX, even after we checked twice) about 30 min later we were called by a lady named ****** and told to come get our boxes and they will not replace them because we didnt buy them through the company and that its written in their policy. I don't care if its in the policy or not, its not my fault you guys gave me the wrong RX. I am now out $50 in contacts, and have been to the office 4 times because of their mistakes and was offered nothing...this place is a sham...so now i've paid $99 for an exam that was wrong the first time and $50 in contacts that are garbage and im told they did their job, i beg to differ
Product_Or_Service: eye exam

Desired Settlement
i would like my exam comped or the two boxes of contacts replaced..

Business Response

In response to ******* ****** complaint #********, please know that this matter has been resolved. As authorized by ******* ****** I have spoken with ******* ****** about this matter. I did apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused. I advised that even though they did not purchase the contacts with ************** the Assistant Manager, ******* will gladly replace one box of contacts for the Left eye. In addition she will provide three sets of trials. ******* will ship the contacts directly to the customer. ******* advised that she as well as ******* were pleased with this resolution. Should you have any further concerns regarding this matter, please feel free to contact me.



04/30/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I went into Eyeglass World to get an exam and some new contacts and glasses. I was treated by the part time eye doctor. I told him I was diabetic and he began to treat me poorly. Before he even examined me he kept insisting that I must have ulcers behind my eyes and would need surgery. After dilating my eyes and looking at my eyes he saw no damage, however, he continued to treat me like I was an awful person. When I told him I wanted colored contacts his response was "wow you want everything!" Even though I was paying cash for the exam and the contacts he refused to write me a prescription for colored contacts because I was paying cash there was no reason that I could not have my colored contacts. After the exam the contacts did not fit right and I had to use reading glasses to read. After he told me I would not have to. I complained to the doctor in charge of the site (the owner) He stated I could come in and get a new exam from him. I set a date and returned to the office. Upon arriving at the office he told me for a new exam it was going to cost at least $50 this is AFTER I paid $150 to get the first exam. I refused to pay the doctor a second time. He did not adjust my prescription he simply did a depth perception test on me and told me to go home. He gave me a trial pair of contacts and because he did not open the package for me I tore one of the contacts. He then told me I could not wear contacts for a week and proceeded to send me home with no way to see. I did NOT have my glasses with me and I had to wait in the parking lot for an hour and a half while a family member brought me my old glasses so I could drive home. I told my husband what the doctor had done to me and he called the office to complain to the doctor and the doctor told him I left happy. This was while I was sitting in the parking lot unable to leave because I could not see! I have tried to resolve this with the eye doctor office and they will not help me. I want my money returned so I can go to an eye doctor who will treat me like a human being, have a better bedside manner and actually give me a prescription that solves my problem. And give me the proper prescription that I need. I feel like my money and time were stolen. I still cannot see with my new glasses and I have to use reading glasses with my contacts. Please Help!!
Product_Or_Service: Eye exam

Desired Settlement
I want a refund and I want my gas money refunded. I have no interest in returning to this office or to see either one of these doctors again.

Business Response
Dear Janice *********

In response to ******* ****** ******'s complaint #XXXXXXXX, we sincerely apologize for the service that she encountered at our vision center located in Albuquerque, NM. I have addressed this complaint with the store manager. He spoke with the Doctor who stated he gave the customer a new eye exam. He changed her prescription and it is noted in her file that it was done as a customer courtesy at no charge.

The doctors at this location are independent. The customer signed a disclosure and was aware of its content. Unfortunately we are unable to provide the customer with a refund. If Ms. ****** would like to purchase glasses at our vision center, we would be happy to offer her a 50% discount towards her next purchase. This discount cannot be used in conjunction with any other discount or insurance. If Ms. ****** would like to take advantage of this offer, please advise her to return to the vision center at her earliest convenience.

This complaint has been documented and forwarded to the District Manager so that he may address this service issue with his personnel. Once again, please accept my apology and feel free to contact me if you should need any further assistance.



Sincerely,

Mary
Customer Care


.

Page 1 of 4

Industry Comparison| Chart

Optical Goods - Retail, Optometrists

Additional Information

top

National Vision, Inc acquired Eyeglass World, LLC from Vision Care Holdings, LLC as of 1/22/2009. Unfortunately we have been advised, because of difficulty accessing the underlying data, the new owners are unable to research and process complaints from consumers who had transactions prior to the acquisition. Consumer with complaints relating to transactions prior to January 22, 2009 should consult Vision Care Holdings, LLC. which is headquartered in Lake Worth, Florida.

BBB file opened: 02/23/2009
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Hodge (Customer Service)Ms. Erika Jackson
Business Category

Optical Goods - Retail, Optometrists

Alternate Business Names
Eye Glass World, Eyeglassworld Express #068, National Vision Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Eyeglass World

2435 Commerce Ave Bldg 2200

Duluth, GA 30096-4980

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Eyeglass World is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 584-4150
  • (520) 293-7031
  • (260) 483-2020

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (520) 293-7041
  • (260) 484-7389
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Optical Goods - Retail

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.