BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Woodstock Gas Company

Find a Location

(770) 926-6675111 Towne Lake Pkwy STE 110, WoodstockGA 30188-4852http://woodstockgas.net/

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Woodstock Gas Company is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Woodstock Gas Company's rating include:

  • BBB does not have sufficient background information on this business. BBB made two or more requests for background information from the business. BBB has not received a response from this business and/or has not been able to verify information received from this business.

Factors that raised Woodstock Gas Company's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
04/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
iN oCT 2013 WE SOLD OUR HOME AT *** ******** **** ** ******** *******. WE WERE PROMISED IN WRITING FROM PRESIDENT ( AT THAT TIME) OF WOODSTROCK THAT WE WOULD RECEIVE OUR $200 DEPOSIT AND PAYMENT FOR FUEL LEFT IN TANK. PERSON WHO BOUGHT HOUSE AT *** ******** WAS CHARGED FOR THE PROPANE LEFT IN TANK( 450 GALLONS) AND WAS TOLD HE HAD TO PAY THIS AS THEY WERE GOING TO REFUND THE PRIOR OWNERS BASED ON A SPECIAL DEAL MADE WITH THE COMPANY. WE DID GET THE $200 DEPOSIT BUT NEVER ANY MONEY FOR THE PROPANE THAT WOODSTOCK GAS HAS NOW COLLECTED MONEY FROM TWO PEOPLE FOR SAME FUEL. THEY WILL NOT RETURN CALLS, ANSWER E -MAILS ETC. ETC. I HAVE TALKED TO A ******* - FINANCIAL PERSON AT COMPANY AND SHE SAYS THERE IS NOTHING ELSE THEY WILL DO. I UNDERSTAND OUR ORIGINAL CONTRACT SAYS NO REFUNDS FOR FUEL IN TANK, BUT SINCE TANK WAS FILLED AFTER WE REQUESTED IT NOT TO BE FILLED THE PRESIDENT **** **** MAKE THIS AGREEMENT WITH US. PLEASE HELP US GET OUR MONEY BACK, I DO HAVE E-MAIL FROM MIKE HILL PROMISING US THE REFUND, PROBLEM IS HE HAS NOW LEFT COMPANY AND NO ONE WILL ACKNOWLEDGE THIS LETTER.

Desired Settlement
Payment made to us for 450 pounds of propane left in tank.

Business Response
Dear ****,
I am responding to the complaint you filed with Better Business Bureau regarding the deposit and payment for the fuel left in the tank when you moved.
I reviewed your recent case notes and it is noted that you had left 450 gallons in the tank. The actual gallons were 200, not 450. You stated that a former employee of WGC (Woodstock Gas Company) **** **** had stated that you would receive a refund of $200.00 and the gallons left in the tank. According to your contract (I can have a copy sent to you) signed by Mr. **** ********* of the same address it states; Option A- $200 was a non-refundable lease. I can't find anywhere on your lease or in your account where a deposit was required. It also states in bold letters "There will be no refund given for gas left in tank if tank is picked up or customer moves away".
As you stated, a refund of $200.00 was given to you. That as it has turned out was an error in our accounting department. I believe ******* sent this to you on your word, and trying to help out. This was don before she was able to retrieve the actual lease; the leases were archived in another office up in Tennessee.
I apologize for the confusion about the refund and hope this will help resolve this matter.

Sincerely,

***** *******
President


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
**** ***** letter was the last agreement made and the original paperwork was voided when he agreed to pay us for the $200.00 and the unused fuel. The new owner of house we sold was charged for that propane and was told by Woodstock that he had to pay for it as Woodstock was refunding us the money as a special agreement. I have letters from Woodstock stating that had went and went the tank and there was 450 left in tank. He stated it cost him $1300 (approx) to fill the tank and that covered the portion we were to be refunded. I do not understand how Woodstock can say and do all these things ( including double billing) and then deny they owe us for the propane. It is not like they did not get paid for the propane they got paid for it twice.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Natural Gas Companies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/08/2004
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Pearson (President)
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Natural Gas Companies

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Woodstock Gas Company

111 Towne Lake Pkwy STE 110

Woodstock, GA 30188-4852

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 111 Towne Lake Pkwy STE 110 

    Woodstock, GA 30188-4852

  • 8650 Main St 

    Woodstock, GA 30188-4937(770) 926-6675

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Woodstock Gas Company is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Natural Gas Companies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.