BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/26/2013

The Furniture Taxi

Find a Location

Phone: (404) 228-7404Fax: (404) 941-70074060 Peachtree Rd NE Ste 147, AtlantaGA 30319-3020 Send email to The Furniture TaxiView Additional Web Addresses

2TRUSTS
2 People Trust The Furniture Taxi

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/26/2013

BBB has determined that The Furniture Taxi meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered The Furniture Taxi's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • 14 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised The Furniture Taxi's rating include:

  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service13
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 14

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (14)BBB Closure Definitions
11/18/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor promised refunds, exchanges, or credit

Complaint: On 12/1/12 I filled a claim involving our newly purchased ** Refrigerator Model **XXXXXX**/00. Front freezer drawer dented. Item was not protected.
On 12/1/12 I filled a claim involving our newly purchased ** Refrigerator Model **XXXXXX**/00. Front freezer drawer dented. Purchased 11/20/11. Purchase price $2,899.00 from **** ****** ***** said he could not find anyone to provide him an estimate for repair. I checked and sent him an email with some information regarding repairs, he said he checked on it but they only replaced the drawer not repaired dents. He asked if I would be willing to accept $400.00 as recompense for the damage done by his crew. I agreed to this amount. I have never received a single penny of this money. I have emailed ***** several times but he has failed to respond regarding this issue.

Initial Business Response
*******,

I just wanted to apologize for the damages that occurred to your refrigerator. I thought this money was paid already but you are correct that you have not been paid this but you have been compensated for the floor damage. I will send your check right away. What address should I use? Thank you for your business and cooperation in the matter. Have a great day!

Sincerely,

***** ****
***
The Furniture Taxi

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Please mail check to *** ***** *** ************* ** XXXXX
Thank you very much

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

08/01/2013Delivery Issues
07/18/2013Problems with Product / Service
07/24/2012Problems with Product / Service
06/14/2012Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
08/05/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Refund or Exchange Complaint Issue

Complaint: During my move on May 14, 2013, the four movers dropped and shattered our large Big Green Egg. The movers immediately stopped and came to my husband advising they would have the Big Green Egg replaced due to falling while in their hands during the transportation to the truck. Once they arrived at our new home, the movers immediately told me when introducing themselves that it would be replaced and not to worry. On my Bill of Lading the mover also placed a note stating Broke Green Egg Smoke. Need to check on another one for the customer which was placed with the intent to have the owner contact us and provide a new one as the movers advised. Once I contacted the moving company, I was advised that since the Egg was not crated it would not be replaced but would receive 60 cents per pound being around $100. Although the information signed by us states that they will not move the item without being crated, they continued to do so without our consent. I advised in writing to the owner, ***** ***** that the movers did not state they would provide 1/8 of the cost but advised it would be replaced since in their hands while moving to the moving truck. I emailed the owner on June 17 2013 and have not received any response nor have we received the check he advised he was sending on May 31 2013 to cover 1/8 of the cost. I have emails and all documents signed for further information if needed.
Product_Or_Service: Moving Services
Order_Number: FXXXXX

Business' Initial Response
May 31st
******,

Your claim has been received and I will be in touch with you next week. I have to look into which insurance valuation coverage you elected to move with prior to the move. As well what do you think the Egg weighs?

Thanks for your participation in getting this resolved. As contractually agreed upon on the Order For Service claims are done in writing and could take up to 90 days to fully resolve whether we accept the claim or deny it. I hope you have a great weekend and I will follow up with you accordingly next week in writing.

Thanks in Advance,

***** ****
_______________________________________________
May 31st

***** *******

Attached is a copy of all of your documents pertaining to your move. Within these documents you will see that your signature is recognized on every line. This signifies that you understood everything being stated prior to the move. Upon our arrival **** the foreman explained the documents prior to your signature. Each section is individually attached for your reference. The Bill of Lading serves as your receipt for the move, The Performance Confirmation serves as the agreement between the homeowner and movers that nothing was damaged on the property or left behind either at the origin or destination, The terms and Conditions explains our policies and procedures, and lastly the Addendum that declares the valuation.

Your signature on the Terms and Conditions explain the value of each item if additional Replacement Valuation Coverage is not purchased. This line item has a signature on it explaining we offer $0.60 per pound per article for any item if it is damaged beyond repair.

The Addendum- is the legal document that explains valuation coverage. This form is also required to signed prior to our beginning of any move that gives the homeowner the opportunity to purchase additional valuation coverage outside the free basic coverage of $300 based on depreciated value. This coverage is based on the entire move and the contents within the move.

The Bill of Lading states that the staff did admit to breaking your Green Egg. It also states that we should look for a replacement for the Green Egg. However, on our Order For Service the 1st & 3rd Paragraph clearly states we can not be held responsible for Green Egg grills due to their fragility and weight. These are items that have to be packaged or crated before transporting to ensure their safety. This line items were also signed or initialed. This document is presented to you prior to our arrival as well upon our staff arrival for the move. We send this ahead of time to any and all clients to ensure that all the details are correct and as well to allow the consumer to read through our policies and procedures prior to our arrival. This gives the consumer the ability to digest everything and respond with any questions prior to our arrival. This procedure is so much better than our competitors standard practice because they do not show these policies and procedures ahead of time.

Due to these documents being signed and agreed upon. We can not warrant the Green Egg. Our Order For Service that was delivered to you prior to our arrival clearly states that in order to properly and safely transport any fragile items to include green egg grills these items of extra value or needing extra care needs to be crated or packaged before transporting as well as discussed with the moving consultant upfront within the reservation. The Green Egg was never mentioned or crated. If so it would have resulted in an additional fee.

I'm sorry for your loss as it was never our intention to damage any items. This item unfortunately is particularly very fragile, heavy and cumbersome. But based on our agreement that all items are warranted up to $0.60 per pound and you stated the grill weighed 150 pounds, we will send you a check for **** next week. Again, I'm very sorry for the loss and I hope you can find it in your hearts to please forgive the movers whom caused the damages. Thanks for your business and enjoy your new home!

Sincerely,

***** ****
_______________________________________________

Recently *** ***** contacted me and we had a long discussion about the fact he signed the documents and agreed he did not purchase the crate for the green egg grill nor was it ever mentioned to me as we were setting up the move. I have offered $100 to the ***** family as a settlement however *** ***** said before I mail a check he was going to price out the stand it sits on because the grill portion is not broken. I then requested him to get a rate on this as well as send me a few pictures to support his claim. Since this conversation i have not heard back from him.
_________________________________________________


Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
*** ****,
The conversation was not discussed as advised above. When speaking to *** *****, you advised that you wanted to make this right and agreed that the Big Green Egg was not be moved without crating. As discussed, the movers moved the item without discussing even though the information signed states the egg has to be crated before moving. The Big Green Egg should have never been moved since not properly crated as stated in your business terms. It was moved by your employees without us signing documents it was ok to move without crating. When speaking to you, you admitted to that mistake and stated you were going to review the business polices with your employees to make sure they understood. You also understood from both sides that we were advised on the day of the move that the Big Green Egg was to be replaced. Also, when speaking to *** *****, he advised the bottom of the Egg was shattered (as picture show). It was discussed that you were going to look into having that piece replaced. We have not heard back from you nor have we received any funds to replace the item. Considering every time we call to discuss you state everything need to be in writing, please send me documentation reflecting that *** ***** was going to locate the avenue to have the bottom portion replaced. I request at this time, The Furniture Taxi needs to research if they can order the bottom portion of the Large Green Egg or they should order a full replacement.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

09/19/2013Problems with Product / Service
07/17/2013Problems with Product / Service
05/21/2013Problems with Product / Service
04/25/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Movers, Moving Assistance - Packing, Unpacking, Organizing, Moving Brokers, Movers - Office, Moving & Storage Company

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/31/2011Business started: 05/24/2010
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Aaron Polk (Owner)
Number of Employees

44

Business Category

Movers, Moving Assistance - Packing, Unpacking, Organizing, Moving Brokers, Movers - Office, Moving & Storage Company

Alternate Business Names
Atlanta's Furniture Taxi Moving & Storage, A P M C Moving & Delivery, LLC, Atlanta Furniture Movers
Industry Tips
Planning a Cost-Effective Move
Relocating Across State Lines? Know Your Rights and Responsibilities
Spotting Rogue Movers Before They Have Your Goods
Tips on Renting a Self-Storage Unit

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for The Furniture Taxi

4060 Peachtree Rd NE Ste 147

Atlanta, GA 30319-3020

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 2740 Apple Valley Rd NE 

    Atlanta, GA 30319-3139

  • 4060 Peachtree Rd NE Ste 147 

    Atlanta, GA 30319-3020(404) 228-7404

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*The Furniture Taxi is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.