BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/27/2007

Berger Transfer & Storage, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (770) 682-7386Fax: (770) 339-0075View Additional Phone Numbers750 Progress Industrial Blvd, LawrencevilleGA 30043-4651 Send email to Berger Transfer & Storage, Inc.

0TRUSTS
0 People Trust Berger Transfer & Storage, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/27/2007

BBB has determined that Berger Transfer & Storage, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Berger Transfer & Storage, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues2
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
03/17/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Credit, Billing or Collection Complaint Issue

Complaint: Berger is billing us for estimated 16 hours to move however they only worked approx 12 hours on the move. Berger refuses to correct
We are writing to dispute the ******** charged by Berger Transfer on Feb 25, 2014
We sold our house and were moving to a townhouse neighborhood, and had a tight timeframe to move our belongings, schedule a deep clean for our house, then have the carpets cleaned. Our plan was to move the belongings on Feb 21 and 22, with the cleaner scheduled for 8 AM on Feb 23, and the carpet cleaning 8 AM Feb 24. Those contractors were committed and confirmed.
In our original estimate from Berger, it was specified that we would have a 2-day move, Feb 21 and 22, with pick up and delivery on both days using a mid-size truck. It was estimated to take 16 hours, with a 5-man crew. It was also specified that the crew would be non-smoking. Total estimated charges were *********
On Feb 21, Berger sent a giant truck with the intention of loading everything the first day, storing it overnight, then delivering the next day. It was also noted that one of the crew members was a heavy smoker. We refused the truck/crew, and after much back and forth agreed to reschedule for Feb 22 and 23. My husband also informed our salesperson, **** ********* that we would begin moving things ourselves that day since we did have a tight time schedule.
We had previously rented a Budget 16 ft truck to move items to storage, and arranged to keep it another day. With the assistance of a neighbor, we loaded most of the boxes, pictures, chairs and small furniture items into the 16 ft truck, filling it almost to capacity. We then unloaded at the townhouse ourselves as well.
The 5-man moving crew arrived on Feb 22 around 8:30 AM and worked until approximately 3 PM. They arrived at 8 AM the next day and worked until about 1:30 PM. Total time to move 12 hrs as we had moved a large load ourselves the prior day. It should be noted that one of the movers, *******, had hurt his leg the day before, so he was unable to move or carry boxes. He spent the 2 days folding blankets, directing the others, etc. and was otherwise underutilized. Had he been fully functional the total moving time would have been further reduced.
We were informed by the driver, ******* that they would be sending a 6th mover the second day to compensate for his inability to participate in the move. A 6th mover was sent, however one of the original 5 (Francisco) did not show up.
Due to the revised move schedule, our cleaner, who was previously committed to arrive at 8 AM on Feb 23 had to move her arrival to late morning, to allow the movers to clear out the house. This caused her to be unable to finish the cleaning on that day, and had to adjust her schedule for the next day to be able to finish our cleaning. An additional **** fee was added to the cleaning for the return trip.
On Monday morning, Feb 24 we called our salesperson, **** ********* and left a detailed message explaining the above issues. No response or acknowledgement of my call. He was called again in late afternoon on Feb 24, again no response. On Feb 25 we saw that ******** was billed to the ******** ******** In mid-morning on Feb 25 we left Harrison a third message, and also called ***** ******** the move coordinator in the ****** office. She also was unable to provide an invoice of how the charges were calculated, referring us to the estimate. She was going to speak with the dispatcher and have him call us.
We received a call on Feb. 26 from ***** that Berger would provide **** credit for the additional cleaning fee and adjust the hourly rate to $145 per hour, but no mention of an adjustment to the actual hours worked. ***** would again have to speak with the dispatcher. We called ***** again today and she feels they gave the appropriate adjustment for hourly rate and cleaning fee. She would not address the hours.
According to our calculations, our bill should be adjusted as follows:
Original estimate Charged to **** Revised/actual Comments
******** ******** revised to 12 hrs worked @ $145/hr
******

Initial Business Response
Berger orginially collected ********* based on the estimate of ********** for 5 men as our biller was unaware of the injured crew member. After learning of the injury we readjusted our rate to $145.00/hr which is our 4 man rate we also added compensation of ******* for their cleaning fee expense.(a total of $500.00 has already been sent to be rufunded to their card) We didn't realize the move took only 12 hours as the customer signed for 16 hrs. We will adjust the additional ******* to the card bringing their total charges due to **********

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accept the adjustment to ******** however this is a ridiculous response that they were unaware that the move only took 12 hours. As explained in my original complaint, I left numerous messages for **** ******** with these facts, then spoke twice with ***** ******* who told me Berger refused to make accommodation for the hours worked - they would adjust only the number of men and **** towards the cleaning trip charge. It took this complaint to the BBB plus disputing our credit card to get them to do the right thing.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

02/14/2012Delivery Issues
09/18/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: A Western Digital "My Passport" 1TB external hard drive was taken from our home during packing on 8/26/2013.
Our home was packed on 8/26/2013 and moved on 8/27/2013. A Western Digital black "My Passport" 1TB external hard drive was taken. Other items from the drawer in the office area were packed together, but the external hard drive was not packed and remains missing.

Initial Business Response
Thank you for forwarding this BBB complaint to us for review and response. Mr. ********* did report the missing hard drive to a representative of our company. She advised him to file a police report. We are not certain if that has been done. Additionally, we spoke with the packers who packed the cartons for this shipment and unfortunately, neither of them recall seeing or packing the hard drive. Aditionally, we spoke with the driver and his crew. They did not remember seeing the hard driver either. We also checked the driver's trailer to be certain it was not left on the trailer, but nothing was found. We have no way to know if this hard drive was lost in transit. Mr. ********* has filed a claim for his missing hard drive ($100.00). The valuation he purchased for his shipment carries a $300.00. If we did issue settlement for the hard drive, it would fall within the deductible, so no monetary settlement would be issued.
Thank you.
***** *******
******** ** ******
Berger Transfer and Storage
Phone) XXX-XXX-XXXX
***********************


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Please do not send a check. Any money will be returned to you. There is no amount of money that can replace pictures from my wedding or photos from when my daughter came home from the hospital. No amount of money can replace my talks which took weeks and months to put together. I am disgusted that someone would steal from us. The only acceptable solution is the return of the external hard drive.

Final Business Response
We have received your reply. We strongly encourage you to ask the police to pursue their investigation by contacting our Atlanta office and requesting to question every individual involved with your shipment. We have been unsuccessful in obtaining your hard drive or in anyone admitting to taking your hard drive in our questioning of the crew members involved with your relocation. We are unable to return your hard drive as we have not been able to locate it. We wish our response could be more favorable, however, this is a police matter since you are claiming theft. We will cooperate in full with a police investigation. Unfortunately, there is nothing further we can do.

Regards,
***** *******
******** ** ******
Berger Transfer and Storage
Phone) XXX-XXX-XXXX
***********************

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

06/17/2014Delivery Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Movers, Storage Units - Household & Commercial, Moving Services - Labor & Materials, Movers - Office, Travel & Moving Services, Relocation Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/28/2002Business started: 01/01/1910
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 1983, GA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rick Waickman (General Manager)
Number of Employees

13

Business Category

Movers, Storage Units - Household & Commercial, Moving Services - Labor & Materials, Movers - Office, Travel & Moving Services, Relocation Service

Alternate Business Names
Berger Atlanta, Inc.
BBB Program Participation
This company participates in the BBB Identification Program and has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.
Industry Tips
Movers
BBB Warns of Deceptive Travel-Related Promotions
Planning a Cost-Effective Move
Relocating Across State Lines? Know Your Rights and Responsibilities
Spotting Rogue Movers Before They Have Your Goods
Tips on Renting a Self-Storage Unit

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Berger Transfer & Storage, Inc.

750 Progress Industrial Blvd

Lawrenceville, GA 30043-4651

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 750 Progress Industrial Blvd 

    Lawrenceville, GA 30043-4651(770) 682-7386

  • 2950 Long Lake Rd 

    Saint Paul, MN 55113-1050

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Berger Transfer & Storage, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 221-8458
  • (770) 962-6600
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.