BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 11/05/2010

A L S Van Lines, Inc.

Phone: (404) 620-4576

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
07/27/2016Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company neglected to load a large piece of furniture when loading on June 13, 2016 in Atlanta. As of this date, have not received the missing item.
We contracted with ALS Van Lines for our move from Kennesaw, GA to Boca Raton, FL. We were required to pay up front which we did although we questioned the practice. Our furniture and household goods were loaded onto a truck on June 13, 2016. Due to an error on their part, we did not receive our property in Florida until June 28, 2016. After unloading, it was determined that a large piece of furniture, (a wooden dresser) had not been loaded onto the truck in Atlanta. After several phone calls to their office, we were told that the dresser had been located in their warehouse and they would make arrangements to deliver to us. It is now July 21, 2016 and we have yet to receive our property. We were told after they located the bureau that every effort would be made to have it delivered to us. I have been in touch with the individual who we signed the contract with (**** *****), a customer service rep (********* ******), and the owner of the company (**** ******). On July 15th, we were informed by Mr. ****** that the dresser would be crated and shipped via UPS to a location here in Florida and we would be notified when it arrived here to confirm the address where it would be delivered. As of today, we have heard nothing from them..our emails and phone calls are not returned. The customer service at this company is seriously lacking. They have a "these things happen" attitude. We are seriously thinking that our property is either lost or irreparably damaged and they have been lying to us all this time. My husband and I are senior citizens who don't need this kind of stress and treatment. We signed with this company because they do business under the Arpin banner and we have used Arpin many times in the past and been very satisfied with their service. We have recommended them to our family and friends. This will no longer be the case. We have moved our household many times in the past and have never been treated so indifferently.

Desired Settlement
We prefer to have our property returned to us but if indeed it is lost or damaged or there is some other reason for this sitation, we demand compensation or replacement.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title:***** ***** Claims Manager
Contact Phone:***********
Contact Email:***********************
We, at ALS Van Lines Service Inc., do not make it a practice of misplacing or delaying our customer's items that we are storing and/or transporting. Unfortunately, with the sheer volume we and others in the same industry are dealing with (75% of our total business within the summer months), incidents do occasionally happen. We, however, try our best to resolve the issues the fastest, most efficient, and best way that is available to us. We agree with Mrs. ****** on most of her statement and facts, with exception that we are not ignoring her calls or not share in her concerns of delivering her missed furniture piece with the rest of their goods. We have been in constant contact with the ****** family and will continue to do so until we have concluded their relocation to Boca Raton, FL. We had attempted to ship their dresser via UPS and Fed-Ex Freight at first, however their delivery schedules were not to our satisfaction (delivery spread was several weeks). We have arranged to have one of our other qualified and quality drivers deliver the piece to the ****** family within the next 7 days (by August 2nd). We will deliver and place the item within their new residence wherever they wish.
Again, we do sympathize with our customer and apologize for the inconvenience of not having their dresser sooner. However, we are relieved to be able to resolve this single issue with them and hope that we can restore their faith with our company and the proud van lines we represent, Arpin Van Lines.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


04/10/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
During an official permanent change of station (PCS) in July of 2014 with the United States Air Force (USAF), ALS Van Lines was contracted to pack our house. The problems started by the crew/company failing to properly prepare our overseas shipment resulting in what should have been a three day process into a single day of calamity. Had we actually ended up moving to Japan (orders were changed late in my TDY), there is no telling what we would have actually ended up with overseas. This rushing became more evident as the movers destroyed my daughters bunk bed during the deconstruction process. They didn't even say anything about breaking it, but luckily it was loud enough to be heard across the house. The damage included the top bunk load bearing side-rail being blown out.I began working with Ms ***** ******* almost immediately. ALS continued to "kick the can" down the road making multiple excuses why we they hadn't addressed the damage yet. They also continued to say they wanted to try to have it repaired irregardless of it being a load bearing member. Pictures of the damages and all email traffic is available. It has been almost a year and we still have not received payment from ALS. My daughter is still sleeping on a mattress on the ground. ALS continues to be non-compliant and vague with their responses.I recommend this company is no longer able to provide moving services for US service personnel.
Product_Or_Service: Moving service for military PCS

Desired Settlement
We have agreed on a settlement but still have not received the settlement check. We are simply asking for the settlement check to be delivered as soon as possible. Since we are coming up on a year, we request that the check be overnighted.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ********, Claims Ex
Contact Phone: ************ ext ***
Contact Email: *************************
ALS was aware of the damage to members shipment. Member was to be sent overseas, which would have given us a 30 day notice of release from storage. At the last minute the members orders changed to a location in the states. With the change in orders we did not have the 30 day notice as we had expected, therefore, we did not have time to repair the furniture before it was sent out on another carrier. Once member was relocated, he submitted his claim to the Van Lines. The Van Lines settled the claim except for the Bed. We started working on the claim in January. We tried to locate parts but did not have any success. We then tried to locate a local company to help with the repairs or finding the parts for us, but we did not have any luck. On February 13, we made an offer of cash settlement, the member accepted. Check request was sent to accounting to issue a check for settlement. The check was cut on March 26,2015 and sent to member.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
While the response was accurate, the business failed in waiting for so long. There is no reason to kick the can down the road. There were multiple times when I was told "we will get back with you tomorrow" and wouldn't receive a response for a week and only after I would call back.

The company attempted to force the delivery company to pay for the damage done during pickup which delayed the process further even though I had been working with ALS since the day they damaged the bed.

There is no reason for an almost year delay.

06/10/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Movers, Storage Units - Household & Commercial, Piano & Organ Moving, Packing & Crating Service, Moving Supplies, Moving Assistance - Packing, Unpacking, Organizing, Moving Services - Labor & Materials, Movers - International, Movers - Office, Moving & Storage Company, Travel & Moving Services, Motion Picture Film Storage

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.