BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/17/2003

Grassroots Tree & Turf Care, Inc.

Phone: (770) 917-8200Fax: (770) 917-8289View Additional Phone Numbers100 Holt Dr, AcworthGA 30101-2023 Send email to Grassroots Tree & Turf Care, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/17/2003

BBB has determined that Grassroots Tree & Turf Care, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Grassroots Tree & Turf Care, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Grassroots Tree & Turf Care, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
05/11/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They have not serviced our lawn in almost two months. Supposed to come every 2 weeks, Complaints to ***.******* and ****** ****** have done no good.
When I signed up with them approx. 3 years ago they came every two weeks and did a great job, then about 6 months ago they changed the team that does my yard, and its hit and miss at best. They do not trim shrubs as needed, don't show up when scheduled. I have spoken with ****** ****** on numerous occasions and promised he would fix it, and it never happens. I also spoke to ********* and he promised they would credit me for April and he would get things corrected. They were supposed to come on Thursday (yesterday and never showed up) They also tried to tell me that they had been out here earlier in when they had not. I am an amputee and therefore not mobile. The only time I leave the house is when my Wife has to take to the DR. And the day they said they came I was here all day and never saw them as my office is on the back of they house and I can hear and see them when they come. I have asked to speak to the owner only to be told that he can not be disturbed.

Desired Settlement
I want to see face to face the owner or *** and get this resolved and have my yard taken care of as agreed in the contract. I also want a full refund for the month of April.

Business Response
I was able to speak with Mr ***** today in regards to his concerns. He discussed the issues he was having with me and I also explained that due to rain this week we were a day behind. Mr. ***** and I had a great talk and agreed that a credit for one month of service would make up for the lack of service he felt he recently received.
**** ****
CEO

02/04/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I DID NOT sign up for Turf Management Program, however, am getting bills right and left from this company. We signed up for 6 Weed Control application
This company tends to sign up and add services to the customers account with out any notification to the customer OR request FROM the customer. For example, I have been signed up for the Turf Management program without my CONSENT OR knowledge.
In the past, I signed up for Weed Control program and 6 applications. This company tends to execute unsolicited unilaterally decided applications on top of the 6 applications we signed up for and then we are liable for paying for these services.
These practices of signing up the customer without their consent is FRAUD.
Please help GrassRoots cancel the unsolicited Turf Management program bill that we never received or signed up for.

Desired Settlement
Please cancel bill for services not render or signed up without our consent.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** **** CEO
Contact Phone: **********
Contact Email:*************************
We changed the name of our program this year from deluxe lawn program to "turf management program". Several letters and emails were sent communicating this change. The homeowner has been a customer of ours for three years and knows that our service continues every year unless we are notified otherwise. We have attempted to contact the customer via phone, email and mail but have had no response. As far as additional services added without consent, there were three times in the past three years where we performed "service calls" for weed control. These were all at no charge. This customer has always had 6 chargeable services each year. This year is the same, just under a different program name.
I have cancelled the account and there is no monies due at this time.

08/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Weed killer application was ineffective, yet despite call to resolve, the only option given was an attempt to up-sell to an annual contract.
Early this spring my mother was approached by a neighbor who was having their lawn treated by a Grass Roots tech who had offered the neighbor a $15 discount for each additional lawn in the neighborhood for treatment that day. My mother, who is 90 years old, consented to having the weed killer treatment. A full two weeks after the treatment date, my mother called Grass Roots and spoke with the owner, and stated that she was very dissatisfied with the service given weeds were growing aggressively and in fact few, if any, had actually died from the treatment. She stated that she had received the invoice for $64.00, but she didn't feel that she should have to pay given the treatment simply did not work. The owner attempted to up-sell her to a full-years service contract, but she insisted that she was not satisfied with the service she had received and certainly did not want to commit to spending more money on a service that was not effective. The owner stated that this was the only option available. She has continued to receive statements for the initial service - she called back again but still no resolve, and stated that the customer service person she spoke to on the phone was "not very nice." When she explained to me the status, I offered to call to see if I could negotiate a settlement with the owner myself. Yesterday I called and spoke with ******* *********** who identified herself as a customer service manager. After I gave her a full explanation, she told me that she was very aware of my mother. She stated that she recalled my mother's calls and confirmed that she had in fact spoken to the owner. She also confirmed, while referring to the notes on file on her computer on my mother's account, that an annual service contract had been offered, and that without the full years service that the weed control would not be effective. I told her that I felt this was unacceptable, and that my mother had found another service company that was providing a very satisfactory service for almost half the cost that the Grass Roots tech had charged my mother. I was quite frankly incredulous of the tact and threats that Ms. ********** made - not only was she very short and rude, but she stated that "they really don't care - if my mother does not pay the amount due they will turn the account over to collections." Other than an offer to up-sell to an annual agreement, there were no other options given whatsoever. Ms. ********** also stated that "your mother sure doesn't sound like a 90 year old....she seems to have it all together when she has called." The insinuation and tone were really not appreciated. My mother has used a very well-known major competitor for years - their service always comes with an offer that not only would they come to re-treat the lawn if there was any dissatisfaction, but also that there was a 100% money back guarantee. This was never necessary in all the years she used them. The only reason that she used Grass Roots was because her neighbor would benefit with the $15 discount. The account/customer number on the account is XXXXXX. The original charge was $64.00, but the balance has grown to $66.92 with interest charges that are being added.

Desired Settlement
We want nothing less than a 100% credit for a service that was ineffective. We have written proof of the fact that we had to go to another lawn care company to have the lawn treated which was effective - this was a full month after the application by Grass Roots and the weeds were out of control.

Business Response
As the owner of GrassRoots I have never personally spoke to Ms or Mr. ********* regarding this account. At GrassRoots we thrive on giving all of our new and potential customers the proper expectations when starting our service. We do offer unlimited service calls to any customer once at least 2 applications have been performed on the property. As we do not require any contracts for our service a customer is able to cancel at anytime without penalty. Ms. ********* received one application in April and later called with concerns in which we then expedited her next application. We stand by our program and our excellent customer service reputation. Since Ms. ********* was not satisfied we have credited and closed her account.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
We appreciate the response relative to the resolve to credit /close the account, although the explanation provided certainly conflicts with the previous offers and statements made by the customer service representative - sincerely wish we never had to go to this extent to resolve what should have been quite simple. Thank you BBB.

09/19/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Lawn Maintenance, Home Services-Lawn & Garden-Tree Care Services, Land Clearing & Leveling, Tree Service - Pruning

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/23/2003Business started: 10/01/2002
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 2002, GA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Josh Wise (Principal)
Number of Employees

18

Business Category

Lawn Maintenance, Home Services-Lawn & Garden-Tree Care Services, Land Clearing & Leveling, Tree Service - Pruning

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Grassroots Tree & Turf Care, Inc.

100 Holt Dr

Acworth, GA 30101-2023

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 100 Holt Dr 

    Acworth, GA 30101-2023(770) 917-8200
    Fax: (770) 917-8289

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Grassroots Tree & Turf Care, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (678) 321-4080
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Lawn Maintenance

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.