BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Select Landscape Management, Inc.

(678) 859-42162095 Highway 211 NW Ste 2F-336, BraseltonGA 30517-3403 Send email to Select Landscape Management, Inc.http://www.selectlandscapegroup.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Select Landscape Management, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Select Landscape Management, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaints filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Select Landscape Management, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
10/20/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We contracted Select Landscape Group, Inc. **** *** *** **** ********** ** XXXXX in the late summer of 2012. We had 3 pallets of zeon zoysia installed in our rear yard on September 8, 2012 at a cost of $2,689.00. Within 4 months all of the sod was dead.In the spring the sod had not recovered. We paid in full for the service the day of the installation. We have made numerous efforts to resolve the issue and the owners have made no effort to return our calls or respond to our emails. We chose this company because they displayed the BBB logo. We wanted a reputable landscape firm. It has been three years. We were told by a local landscape contractor here in Cumming that zeon zoysia sod should not be planted in the fall as it needs a lengthy amount of time to develop a strong root system in order to survive the cold temperatures of winter. They would not sod our yard in September.Our Complaint1. False advertising displaying the BBB logo on their website2. Poor ethics planting zeon at the end of the growing season knowing it would not survive3. Failure to return our phone calls, letters and emails
Product_Or_Service: Zeon zoysia sod installatiion

Desired Settlement
We would prefer a full refund for a failed product. We have photos. We would accept a replacement of the sod in the spring of 2016

Business Response
We did install 3 pallets of Zeon at the *******'s lawn in September of 2012. We also installed 10-15 other Zeon Zoysia lawns in the late summer/fall of 2012. The *******'s are the only one we have heard from and frankly, we did not here anything from them until this past spring, 2 1/2 years after install. There was no implied or written guarantee on the sod that was installed for several reasons. First, sod is living plant material and anytime living plant material is installed there is a risk associated as to whether it lives through a full year. Even under ideal conditions, as anyone who has ever planted anything knows, sometimes things don't live for a variety of reasons. Second, there is no way for Select Landscape Group to control the conditions/treatment of the sod after installation i.e. water, fertilization, weed control chemicals, traffic, harsh seasonal conditions, etc. It is simply unreasonable for us to warranty a living material when we have no control over it after installation. There are several sod companies in the state that sell Zeon and other varieties of Zoysia year round including the largest sod supplier in the state. This is not poor ethics. Conditions vary greatly. The *******'s state that all of the sod was dead in four months. This would be mid January when the sod would be dormant. It would be very difficult to determine if sod was dead during the winter when it is brown and dormant. As to the use of the BBB logo, we were at one time members who payed to use the logo. We have transitioned into a more commercial role and allowed the contract to expire and simply forgot to have the website amended. I have contacted my web designer to have the BBBlogo removed promptly. I'm feel bad that the *******'s sod didn't live, but contacting me 2 and 1/2 years later for free replacement of sod that was never under warranty seems really unreasonable.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Buyer Beware!!! We learned through personal experience that the operators of Select Landscape Management, Inc. do not stand behind the products and services they sell and their customer relations practices are extremely poor.

05/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint

Installed irrigation system on neighbors property line. Land scape crew(s)don't speak English,and do not properly install sod to new lawns.

Desired Settlement
Fix the sprinkler system and properly train employees.

Business Response
Select Landscape did not work directly for this Mr. ******. We worked directly for the builder on this property. This is a new home that was landscaped on 7/22/2013. At the time of installation, there was an undeveloped lot next door and it is entirely possible that a portion of the irrigation could have been installed over the property line as the property lines are not typically marked very well until shortly before closing. My company was informed by the superintendant for the builder of this issue on Thursday, May 16th, 2014 and was resolved on the same day. Two irrigation heads were moved approximately one foot back onto ***'s property and there are currently no other irrigation components across the property line. Lastly, the work on this house and any adjacent house was completed by an employee that has been employed by us for 12 years and has been in this country for 25 years. He speaks English as well as I do. I'm not sure what the motivation is behind this portion of the complaint although, I must be honest, I don't see how that has any bearing on this discussion. The irrigation placement is corrected and my employees speak English. I'm not sure why this couldn't have been resolved with a simple phone call, be in either event this is resolved and I would like this dismissed from our record.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Feel free to call me.

07/19/2013Problems with Product / Service
07/08/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Landscape Contractors, Lawn Maintenance, Tree Service, Nurseries - Plants, Trees

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/13/2006Business started: 04/01/1999
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: August 2009, GA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Bullock (President)
Business Category

Landscape Contractors, Lawn Maintenance, Tree Service, Nurseries - Plants, Trees

Products & Services

This company offers lawn maintainance, pavers, sod, trees, shrubs, installs, Irragation, retaining walls and fences.

Alternate Business Names
Select Landscape Group Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Select Landscape Management, Inc.

2095 Highway 211 NW Ste 2F-336

Braselton, GA 30517-3403

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2095 Highway 211 NW Ste 2F-336 

    Braselton, GA 30517-3403(678) 859-4216

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Select Landscape Management, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Landscape Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.