BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/2007

Gem Shopping Network, Inc.

Phone: (770) 622-5505Fax: (770) 622-5502View Additional Phone Numbers3259 Duluth Highway 120, DuluthGA 30096-3652 Send email to Gem Shopping Network, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/2007

BBB has determined that Gem Shopping Network, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Gem Shopping Network, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 8

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)BBB Closure Definitions
01/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a platinum ring setting with all VVS diamonds. Received an identical ring not platinum and less quality diamonds
Was observing GSN program. Host displayed and described an all platinum ring with all VVS diamonds for sale. He displayed the ring tag which also verified the ring as "Diamond 1.46ct VVS 18KW/PT Ladies Ring semi mount size 6 (PT&18KW Head)" We purchased the ring. When we received the ring, it was of the exact design but the appraisal identified it as 18K gold (NOT PLATINUM) and indicates some diamonds are VS (less quality) and the ring was stamped as it being 18K and no indication of it being platinum. They switched the ring. I have been trying to get a manager to call me with no results since December 20, 2013, the day i received the ring. I have a lack of faith on the integrity of this company as it appears they are selling certain products and then shipping a lower quality product in its place, just like we have experienced. We have a recording of the show describing the ring and tag on the ring.

Desired Settlement
I want the product that we purchased as specifically described and that quality verified. We further believe this situation warrants a discount for the emotional frustration of GSN not adhering to the contract, our time and effort, and their failure to follow up by not having management call us, although we have been told they would be calling by the customer service personnel on several occasions.

Business Response
To: Better Business Bureau
From: Gem Shopping Network
RE: ******* * ****** *********
BBB Case #: XXXXXXXX

January 17, 2014

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to the above listed complaint # XXXXXXXX.

On 22 Nov 2013, ******* * ****** ********* purchased a ************ Sapphire (Sales Order XXXXXXX). On 2 Dec 2013, ******* * ****** ********* purchased a Platinum Setting with VVS Diamonds (Sales Order XXXXXXX) with the request to set the above ************ into the Platinum setting, but ******* * ****** ********* received a Diamond 18K 2-tone setting by error.

Gem Shopping Network contacted ******* * ****** ********* and apologized for the inconvenience. Ms. ********* and the customer service department have had several conversations and have come to a final satisfied agreement.

During our conversation on 9 Jan 2014, Mrs. ********* made a request that we discount the ************ Sapphire $3900 and provide her the original Lab Report and she would keep the 18K 2-tone setting and close this BBB Case #: XXXXXXXX as satisfied.

On 15 Jan 2014, ******* * ****** ********* were issued a credit of $3900. Gem Shopping Network provided ******* * ****** ********* with the original lab report. Ms. ********* called customer service on 17 Jan 2014, and confirmed she has received the lab report and is satisfied.

Gem Shopping Network provides honesty, integrity and education to all our customers. Gem Shopping Network hopes this is a satisfactory resolution for ******* * ****** ********* and welcomes them to continue receiving our high quality merchandise at great prices.


*** ******
******** *******************


Final Consumer Response
The merchant resolved our case to our satisfaction. We withdraw our complaint

08/08/2014Delivery Issues
10/12/2012Problems with Product / Service
09/13/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues
02/16/2012Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
08/02/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Jewelers - Retail, Jewelry Designers, Television Home Shopping

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/01/1998Business started: 01/01/1997
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 2007, GA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Pat Kelley (Customer Service Director)Customer Contact: Mr. P J Lynch (CEO)Mr. Frank Circelli (Founder/Chairman & GG)
Number of Employees

150

Business Category

Jewelers - Retail, Jewelry Designers, Television Home Shopping

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Gem Shopping Network, Inc.

3259 Duluth Highway 120

Duluth, GA 30096-3652

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3259 Duluth Highway 120 

    Duluth, GA 30096-3652(770) 622-5505
    (770) 814-0773
    (888) 791-8805

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Metro Atlanta, Athens and NE Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Gem Shopping Network, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (770) 814-0773
  • (888) 791-8805
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Jewelers - Retail

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.